Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horrific, Intelligent and Incredible
Torchwood had trouble carving out its own niche after becoming a major Doctor Who spinoff. After all, it's hard to build a reputation after branching out from a series that has been around since the 1960s. Seasons (or make that Series for you U.K.'ers) 1 and 2 followed the same serialized structure as Doctor Who, and followed the exploits of the immortal Captain Jack...
Published on July 20 2011 by Derek Draven

versus
1 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is Torchwood?
After watch this 5 extrordinary hours, I leave with a bad taste. Firstly you forget someone who should be name and the name is Gareth David-Lloyd because not him, the show would be more boring. Secondly, the show not talk about Torchwood but a government who deal with an alien. That was absolutely no meaning with the two others series. I give one star because I don't see...
Published on Aug. 31 2009 by J. Renaud


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horrific, Intelligent and Incredible, July 20 2011
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
Torchwood had trouble carving out its own niche after becoming a major Doctor Who spinoff. After all, it's hard to build a reputation after branching out from a series that has been around since the 1960s. Seasons (or make that Series for you U.K.'ers) 1 and 2 followed the same serialized structure as Doctor Who, and followed the exploits of the immortal Captain Jack Harkness and a team of specialists that formed a branch of Torchwood, a secretive U.K. organization well above the government and MI5 who investigate and defend against alien and paranormal activities.

Children of Earth swapped the 13 episode formula for that of a 5-part mini-series, and the result is much more effective. The Torchwood narrative is better streamlined as it tells the story of an alien race known as the 456, which have returned to Earth after initial human contact to claim 10% of the world's children. As the story progresses, we learn of the horrific conspiracy regarding the 456 and why the government is trying to cover it up. This culminates with the attempted assassination of the Torchwood team and the betrayal of Jack Harkness who is now on the run from his own government. As the story continues to unfold, the darkest parts of human behavior are dragged into the light, creating a stomach-turning revelation that must be seen to be believed.

The series deserves its accolades and praise. This is not a show that is written haphazardly or irresponsibly. The sheer weight of the "what-if" scenario depicted in the series is enough to stimulate even the most average of minds. For perhaps the first time in a long time, Torchwood forces the viewer to consider the ultimate question. "What would you do?" And when you're forced to answer that question, you can't help but feel guilty and helpless all at the same time. It's literally that intense.

That however, is hard to prove unless the story is spoiled for you. That won't be happening here. This is a colossal experience for a TV show, and once again proves that Russell T. Davies' writing skills weren't exhausted on the smartly written Doctor Who. This is a VERY adult program so brutal in tone that it's impossible to feel good after watching it. Should you avoid it? Absolutely not. It's a riveting experiment in storytelling that is now being expanded upon with Torchwood: Miracle Day. It seems the spinoff has finally found its niche. Now all it has to do is flourish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, Jan. 11 2013
By 
J. R. Laycockartelle (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
Loved this BBC series and would recommend to anyone that likes this series. Like the complete series and it is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intrigue, Aug. 26 2009
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
Very well done. Intrigue till the end, must see all, each sub story holds on its own. Very realistic concerning gouverment attitude towards population. Was very delightfully surprised! For science-fiction fans that also want to get knowledgeable on british perspectives and humour. Story all the way not just special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm now a Torchwood fan, Aug. 18 2009
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
As a big Doctor Who fan, I dutifully watched the first two seasons of Torchwood without ever really getting hooked: good but not great sci-fi. But this five-part season three is among the best sci-fi on TV: ever!

You'll be hooked in the first ten minutes, when all the children on earth stop -- I'm getting chills just writing this -- at the same time. And when they start to speak together. . . I can't think of anything more terrifying. And the series just gets better from there, exploring loss and sacrifice, scary new aliens, the corruption of governments and the frightening compromises of civil servants, and even more horrible ways to kill poor Jack. Barrowman, Myles, and David-LLoyd are at their best, Russell Davies' writing is as good as it's ever been, but the most extraordinary performance is Peter Capaldi's as the civil servant who kept his head down and . . . well, I can't tell you more than that.

Much darker than Doctor Who, this is a series that will really appeal to fans of the morally and politically complex Battlestar Gallactica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, July 31 2009
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
For those that thought the first two seasons of torchwood was good, but not sensational their opinions of the series will be changed by watching these five episodes. The pace is very quickly found, all the characters get enough screen time and plot, it has some very well executed twists and there will be parts that have you cheering or crying (all in five hours). I totally recommend this for any fans of the series, and even those that aren't. It completely steps up as the best arc of the entire show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away!!, Oct. 18 2009
By 
Cindy Webster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
I loved Seasons One and Two of Torchwood, but I was blown away by Children of Earth. It is utterly brilliant, beautiful and tragic. It is set over five days, and each day has an edge of your seat ending. If you are the sort to sit around and nitpick, there are plot holes, but taken as a whole, it is stunning. It made me laugh, and it made me cry. It also made me think, which is what it is designed to do. If you've never seen the first two seasons, you can still watch this, as all you need to know is provided for you.
The only flaw? Not enough goodies. I would have enjoyed a blooper reel at the very least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci Fi series. Keep them coming!!, Sept. 11 2009
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
I love this series and hope it hasn't ended!! The Children of Earth created many varying emotions and makes you wonder if this ever happened how Governments would react. The traumatic decision Jack had to make at the end was heartbreaking. I anxiously await the return of Jack Harkness and wonder if the chemistry between the two remaining members of Torchwood will ever develop into a serious relationship. Please continue into a Season 4!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Ride!!, Aug. 8 2009
By 
Dave and Joe (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
We set aside the day to watch Torchwood: Children of the Earth. It's around 5 hours long so it's the perfect length for making it a day long event. This is like a 5 hour movie as put's it's focus on one plotline. Luckily they have talented writers who manage to create something that can sustain interest across 5 hours. The temptation here is to tell you some of what happens, but instead, go into this knowing little of the plotline and allow yourself to be swept away by the story. On our little breaks throughout the day we chatted about what was going to happen, we worried about the characters, we actually CARED about what was going on. Now, that's good writing. Amazing, amazing work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Mini-Series Ever!, Aug. 23 2009
By 
Aaron Phibbs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have seen alot of mini-series's over the years and up till this point the best i'd ever seen was "Taken" by Steven Spielberg. Now I have to say this is the absolute best I have ever seen. It has everything from action to drama, it literally addicts you to the series.

I started on Day 1 and only dare shut it down when i was forced to go to bed cause of work the next morning.

Anyone who was into torchwood or Doctor who will love this series. It is worth every penny you pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five hours without pause, Aug. 15 2009
By 
James Connolly (Montreal, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Torchwood Children of Earth (DVD)
This is one of those stories that just runs well. After watching it twice, I still marvel at the fact that both times we ended up watching straight through without a break. The characters and plot are compelling and drive the story. While the ending is a bit Deus Ex Machina, this is de rigeur for Torchwood. Fans of Russell Davies's other creations will perhaps miss the gratuitous sexuality which would be out of place in this setting.

The characters remain unresolved and complex - like life - think "remains of the day" but in a sexy stylish Welsh sort-of-way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaffc3dec)

This product

Torchwood Children of Earth [Blu-ray]
Torchwood Children of Earth [Blu-ray] by Euros Lyn (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 43.98 CDN$ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews