Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audition
The other reviews will give you a description of what the film is about (though probably too much of one), so I won't dwell on the subject. It's a film that Should be seen and not described anyway. This Is one of my all time favorite films, so I am going to be incredibly biased. This film is excellent: Takashi Miike (the director) is perfectly in his element with this...
Published on July 4 2004 by C. James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars special rythm slow.... but mainly no subtitle (((((
i enjoyed the product a lot... pretty much like it was advised and even more... i can say im satisfied coze im a curious viewer for j-Horror style
Published 7 months ago by james 007


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audition, July 4 2004
The other reviews will give you a description of what the film is about (though probably too much of one), so I won't dwell on the subject. It's a film that Should be seen and not described anyway. This Is one of my all time favorite films, so I am going to be incredibly biased. This film is excellent: Takashi Miike (the director) is perfectly in his element with this kind of film. The best way, I think, to describe this film is to say that Audition is to Japan, what Silence of the Lambs or Psycho is/was to America. The lead actress, Eihi Shiina, does a frighteningly great job in her film debut. Simply put, Audition is an awesome and exceptional film :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My foot was lost in trasnlation (and my ear and tongue), March 9 2006
By 
John E. Lawson "bizarro author" (Hyattsville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audition [Import] (DVD)
Audition illustrates how our expectations and interests color what we perceive. There seems to be a lot of debate about whether it's horror or romance, but really it's both - and an excellent example of both genres at the same time. I don't believe there's really a sucker punch here either, as it's clear throughout that something doesn't add up about the woman, and the man is too blind to listen to reason. What happens, though, is your emotional investment in the characters in the first two thirds of the film makes you hope against hope that there can be a happy ending. We're used to the Hollywood kid-glove treatment. The gore, violence, etc. isn't as bad as most reviewers would lead you to believe; watch Jack torture suspects on the USA television show 24, or see some episodes of Oz, and you'll find scenes as bad as this. What makes the snakes slither in your gut and bite your spleen is the emotionally crushing element, which - in this era of anything-goes desensitization - is a testament to Miike's directorial prowess. There's also a wonderfully bizarro sequence where Miike finally pulls out all the stops and plunges you into the pain, skillfully show you the what and why without "explaning" things in the typical dumbed-down Hollywood way. Audition is a must-see film, especially if you're into cross-genre work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ta-ra-ta-ta, May 10 2002
By 
S. Foster (Moira, Co Armagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, the sound of the movie's anti-heroine as she sticks needles into her man's eyes stays with me. Audition is a gross melange of styles (love story/personal angst/macabre horror) which builds into a cresendo of harrowing & dramatically brilliant cinema where Asami, the seemingly ingenue girl who auditions for & wins a widower's love, leads him into a spiral of psychological confusion, so much that you wonder if the final scenes happen. Asami's tortured past creeps up on her & the boudnaries of reality & paranoia devastate Asami & the audience (let alone her partner!) to alarming effect. Let's just say that this movie is a rollercoaster of moods culminating in some of the most unsheathed & suggestively horrific images ever put into cinema. A movie which Hollywood doyenne's would never even entertain creating, cheesewire & pins will never be looked at in the same respect again!! Never did I imagine that Japanese cinema would be so brilliant (watch also Ring & Ring 2 for testimony) nor so grittily realistic. As a lover of horror, this movies not only whet but satisfied my appetite. Okay, it starts off a bit slow as a love story, but that's the point. The gripping transformation in Asami makes her acts of brutality increasingly powerful & downright scary. May put you off looking for Mrs Right:-)))))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “You Can Say He Went Into It With Both Feet..?, Feb. 11 2014
This review is from: Audition Collectors Bluray [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
“If you ever need your Foot to be lost in-translation”this is the movie for you,sometimes it’s not always
good to trust a woman who can be,well a woman,they always seem to want more space than the
universe,what a subtle (suttle) little movie this is, it creeps up on you like a ton of bricks,
“Auditions”are open to find the woman of his dreams, “Shigeharu Aoyama” (Ryo Ishiashi) (the Grudge) is looking for the
perfect woman,after the death of his first wife,it’s been Seven years now and his son wants him to get married
or go dating,so his film producer friend “Yasuhisa Yoshikawa”( Jun Kunimura),(Ichi the Killer)set up a fake Audition,
after seeing about Thirty women he picked the silent one,that was a big mistake,his producer friend did not like the
idea of him seeing her and warned him to stop,but you know when you’re smitten with love nothing matters,
This,{you can call it what you want} Horror/Torture,it’s the way I see it,will make your Skin crawl with pain,
There’s a saying on the back cover of this Disc cover,that say it all, “Mainstream films don’t come much more disturbing
than this,sometimes I wonder why film-makers make movies like this,then I remember {Jeffery Dahmer}and a-lot more,
Runtime 115 Minutes. this two disc one Blu-ray (movie).one D.V.D.special features has and extra 90 min.of footage,
5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio.
16:9
widescreen.
“You Can Say He Went Into It With Both Feet..?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japan is doing what the US film industry can not, May 8 2002
By A Customer
By far one of the best horror movies to come out in a long time. Stylish, funny, romantic, terrifying and disturbing all wrapped up into one incredible movie.
The end of the movie is extremely brutal, but so well done....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars special rythm slow.... but mainly no subtitle (((((, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i enjoyed the product a lot... pretty much like it was advised and even more... i can say im satisfied coze im a curious viewer for j-Horror style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, Aug. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Audition (DVD)
Wow, this is one of the best horror movies I have ever watched. Love the sub-titles.
A real roller coaster ride that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A True "Femme Fatale", April 3 2004
By 
This asian romantic comedy-gone-wrong has a couple of neat and compelling ideas yet as a whole ends up being a disappointment. "Audition" tries to play with some conventions regarding the oriental female stereotyped role (shy, loyal and submissive women), delivering a strong and unexpected twist by the end of the movie. While this concept is somewhat interesting, the plot moves at a terribly slow and tiresome pace, being nothing more than flat mumbo-jumbo for about 3/4 of the movie.
This effort is forgettable and not very enticing for the most part, presenting a japanese romantic comedy (not very funny though) about a middle-aged man that makes an audition in order to choose an actress for a movie. Simultaneously, he`s also trying to find a girfriend in the process (and he manages to get one). "Audition" develops this scenario and suddently delivers a strong twist that provides some shocking and disturbing scenes, giving a new perspective into the protagonist`s recent (and apparently innocent and fragile) girlfriend.
Director Takashi Miike tries to raise subjects like the effects of isolation, the possibilty of love and the old "looks can be decieving" idea, yet this cinematic experience is flawed overall and just fails to convince. Sure, "Audition"`s last 20 minutes are strong and memorable material, still that doesn`t make for the unengaging and bland previous events.
An interesting failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of the Best Movies I've Seen!...so far, June 1 2003
By 
Vecha Keason (Mobile, AL USA) - See all my reviews
I couldn't help but draw a relationship with Ringu 0. I'm probably sound ridiculous, but i felt the same way with this movie, at the end, that i did with Ringu 0. It seemed to me he loved her to the very end like in ringu 0, and hoping this never had to happen and it was all just a dream. I watched it at night thinking it was a horror flick, but in my opinion it was more freakish love than a horror film, yes i admit the scenes of chopped of tongues and fingers was a little scary, but i believe it was a weird love story....very weird....very...very...weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Horror Masterpiece, July 5 2007
This review is from: Audition [Import] (DVD)
Takashi Miike's Audition is a disturbing and at times confusing film. That being said, try to judge it for yourself while watching it, as the film takes you on an interesting and deceptive ride that plays on our definitions of film genres and cliche devices. In this respect Miike is not unlike Tarantino. He is a director who thinks outside of the box and seemed to recognize the potential in expressing himself with this story...and used this wisely to scare the hell out of me.

The story is about a widower who decides to finally begin a search for a new wife at the suggestion of both his son and his movie producer friend. But how will he find his new bride? Well, this man's friend is of course a filmmaker and he decides to hold an audition for this widower, so he can look for an attractive girl with a history in some kind of artistic discipline (i.e. dancing, piano, ballet etc.). Our protagonist possesses a handful of applications and must choose 30 girls to audition for a part in this faux movie. His friend agrees that he must find a girl who is happy to be his wife, and happy women are never good enough actors, so whoever he chooses will convincingly not be acceptable for this fake movie role to being with. However, contrary to his friend's advice our protagonist chooses a girl named Asami, who is profoundly unhappy. She used to be a ballerina but broke her hip and feels that having to quit something she loves can be paralleled to accepted death itself. Asami is not happy but she is an attractive 24 year old girl who has intrigued our hero and he more or less chose her before the audition happens anyway. The film takes a turn as we begin to see some hints as to what kind of person Asami is and all her mysteries are gradually revealed. Trust me when I say there is plenty about Asami to reveal.

Miike gives us a film that comes off as a Romantic Comedy in the first 80 minutes and then slowly transforms into a thriller/mystery kind of film, and then smacks us over the head with it's intense climax and conclusion that is shock, horror, gore and utter madness. Audition could've easily become a one-trick-pony in it's goal to play with our understandings of genres and what to expect, but it actually goes far beyond that and rarely gets credit for doing so. This is a very sharp film on many levels and in many ways. It is smart and surprising. I highly recommend this film to anyone willing and able to deal with it's violent content. I also see this as a gateway and introduction to Miike's films and other films like his. You shouldn't regret discovering this filmmaker.

I have heard people say this is exploitative but that is likely a judgement on Miike overall, as Audition is one of his few films that really isn't exploitative at all. In fact, in terms of `gore' films Audition is not even close to Ichi the Killer but it should be taken with a warning as it is still very violent and realistic. I don't think this film deserves beyond an R-rating when we take into account the violence portrayed in "The Passion of the Christ". The limits have been pushed enough to allow films like Audition wider release in the United States without forcing either an NC-17 or no rating at all. There is almost no nudity in Audition but the violence and torture is creepy and well beyond acceptable for children to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Audition Collectors Bluray [Blu-ray]
Audition Collectors Bluray [Blu-ray] by Takashi Miike (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 29.95 CDN$ 20.99
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews