Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but Goody, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tales of Hoffmann (DVD)
Knowing that I would be seeing the opera live, I thought it best if I prepared for it by seeing this DVD. Glad I did. Moira Shearer's Doll Song alone was worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic combination of music and dance, Jan. 4 2006
By 
alberto Behar (Scarborough, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
Being very familiar with the opera, I found this combination of music and dance fascinating. Acting and singing of the singers is superb as is the dancing. Orchestra and tempi are just right: no surprise, since John Barbiroli is the conductor...
Given, there are some deviations from the original opera, but, who cares, when the result is as is.
Strongly recommended for both dance and opera lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars triumph of opera-on-film, Jan. 3 2010
By 
This review is from: Tales of Hoffmann (DVD)
This is a must-have for anyone who enjoys great film makers creating cinematic art out of opera. It's definitely not the right DVD if you're looking for an accurate document of "Les Contes...". There are massive cuts throughout, the basics are screwed around (eg. Stella, Hoffman's main squeeze, has been transformed from an opera diva to a dancer) and it's all sung in English. But this film ranks, in my opinion, among the best opera films, up there with Losey's Don Giovanni and Syberberg's Parsifal, because Powell and Pressburger have actually tried to make an inventive, artistically challenging film, rather than merely filming a live performance. Highly recommended.
P.s. In the same vein, I would also recommend "U-Carmen", a stunning film of Bizet's masterpiece, transplanted brilliantly to a South African township.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A BENCHMARK FOR OPERA ON FILM, Oct. 2 2003
By 
Rene (California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
It is true that, as other reviewrs have asserted, this may not be "Tales" as Offenbach originally concieved it. A case can be made that the current 2nd act was originally intended as the final act. (where can you go after loosing and retrieving your soul?). And the english translation used in the film has some awkward phrasing - Crespel to Antonia: "Now did you not swear that that you'd not do?". This said, The film nevertheless stands as a brilliant, imaginative interpretation in its own right.
The current issue on VHS states that it restores scenes eliminated prior to its release. This is not the case. (I attended the initial release in Southern California). The restored scenes are those eliminated from the film for its application to U.S. television release - a real hatchet job to its last act. As might have been expected it had no home on American TV.
In addition to making it whole with the initial theatrical presentation color has been substantially improved as compared with the original VHS release. This makes it true to what was seen in comercial release and well worth the price of admission.
However, there are still scenes tantalizingly referenced in the video packaging which wound up on the cutting-room floor before comercial release of the film and which do not appear on the VHS video. First is Franz's aria "Day & Night I Am Always Slaving" and brief exchanges with Crespel which serve to establish his deafness (These can be heard on the London LP recording of the sound track, and a still of Massine during this aria appeared in the color program which was sold at the Premier). Second was the scene in which Nicklaus became Hoffmann's golden-gilded muse.
Should this film be released on DVD, which it certainly deserves to be, some effort should be made to find these missing pieces so the film can finally be seen as Powell & Pressburger originally intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Opera Becomes A High Class Fantasy Film, Feb. 25 2003
By 
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
The same producers behind the magic of the 1949 film, "The Red Shoes" (about a ballerina doomed to dance to her death), bring you the colorful 1950's film adaptation of the Offenbach French opera "Tales Of Hoffman." The Tales Of Hoffman was Offenbach's last opera and his most revised work. In this production, there have been alterations and only the highlights from the opera are showcased. An extraordinary cinematic sequence is the entire "Venice Act", featuring the famous Barcarolle and a sumptuous display of costume and color. Moira Sheer (the heroine in "The Red Shoes" and herself an accomplished ballerina, appears in this film as Stella. They have changed Stella's original career as an opera singer to a ballerina (in an effort to show more ballet sequences). None of this really matters, nor does it ruin the opera as film. In fact, French opera tradition has used ballet sequences in the grand operas of Meyerbeer (Robert Le Diable, La Prophete) and Gounod (Faust).
Moira Sheer's performance is excellent, an equal match to her previous performances with this director and his team. Hoffman is genuine, romantic and effectively portrayed as the dreaming artist. Every scene is full of magic, full of rich and colorful fantasy (the Doll Olympia has her moments) and striking visuals make this film worth going after. If you enjoy ballet, if you enjoy opera and if you are interested in this particular style of film (surrealist, fantasy) then you will enjoy this film. Even more specialized for fans of "The Red Shoes", for which this film is a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful film, Feb. 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
This is a wonderful film - I only wish it were available on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Please Criterion - WHEN?, Feb. 12 2003
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
I've owned this as a vhs and view it often. Perhaps Powell and Pressburger's most beautiful film, the scenes with Ludmilla Tcherina are spellbinding - especially walking on the sculptered faces! The forming of gems from candle wax. The Daliesque landscape near the conclusion. The...the...there's just too much. I better go watch it again. I hope CRITERION will issue this one on DVD soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eagerly Waiting, Aug. 27 2002
By 
Richard M. Teeter (Walnut Creek, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
I want this on DVD, not VHS. That's when I will buy it. Pass the word along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY SUPERB IN EVERY RESPECT NOT TO BE MISSED, Jan. 20 2002
By 
ARISJ. PETERSON (BETHESDA, MARYLAND United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
an extraordinary perfomance
of this visualy and musically exceptionalOpera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Powell's Vision of the Arts as "art!", Oct. 18 2000
This review is from: The Tales of Hoffman (VHS Tape)
I like to think Leonard Maltin did not himself view - or review - this film. If he had, he wouldn't use terms like "engages in bizarre dreams" because, afterall, the entire story is a "dream" and a "fantasy" to begin with. I am biased! I am a Powell and Pressburger fan! And, having said that, I believe this movie is simply the most creative work of cinema ever achieved. Powell and Pressburger, and their team, The Archers, truly have combined all of the major Arts into a comprehensive whole - a "composed" art form which is almost too beautiful to look at! Even if opera and ballet are not one's taste, this film should be seen for the exquisite sets, costumes, make-up, cinematography etc. Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger are sorely missed today! Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of Hoffmann
Tales of Hoffmann by Michael Powell (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 80.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews