Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an 80's Classic
While it does not star any of the *Brat Pack* this is definitely an 80's classic. It was one of those movies that used to come on HBO or Showtime like 4 times a day because there were no other movies to show...and I watched it every time. Then in the 90's it turned inot one of the movies that would come on at noon or 1:00 in the afternoon on Saturday on one of the...
Published on Jan. 8 2000 by elmaro

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Won't Dance
Originally filmed under the title "I Won't Dance" due to the protagonist's crippled leg, the last-minute switcheroo might've doomed this movie's chances(it now sounds like a rip-off of Billy Joel's unctuous song!). McNichol is really 2 people in this movie: subdued, blandly pleasant Susan in the first half--sassy and silly Susan in the second. What went wrong...
Published on Nov. 25 2000 by Jon Sieruga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Won't Dance, Nov. 25 2000
By 
Jon Sieruga (San Bernardino, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Originally filmed under the title "I Won't Dance" due to the protagonist's crippled leg, the last-minute switcheroo might've doomed this movie's chances(it now sounds like a rip-off of Billy Joel's unctuous song!). McNichol is really 2 people in this movie: subdued, blandly pleasant Susan in the first half--sassy and silly Susan in the second. What went wrong? McNichol left the project in real life due to a chemical imbalance, and the movie was put on hold for an entire year!(McNichol "recovered" in 2 weeks, but the film's snowy second-half required waiting for another wintry season... No wonder her character doesn't hang together) Fortunately, the script is good, relying on clever dialouge rather than slapstick or farcial situations. And McNichol, despite seeming a bit schizophrenic, really gives this a boost. It would be unwatchable with another, less capable actress. Overall, an enjoyable, breezy couple of hours. Yet the film's real-life troubles can't quite be masked--and what happened to the ending?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an 80's Classic, Jan. 8 2000
By 
While it does not star any of the *Brat Pack* this is definitely an 80's classic. It was one of those movies that used to come on HBO or Showtime like 4 times a day because there were no other movies to show...and I watched it every time. Then in the 90's it turned inot one of the movies that would come on at noon or 1:00 in the afternoon on Saturday on one of the low budget local stations that had no national affiliate (before upn and wb) and you just had to watch it. Now it makes a rare appearance on television, generally on the romance channel, and if you're lucky enough to catch it you just have to watch. It's a really bad story line and the acting isn't oscar calliber, but the cheesy background music and the weirdness of the plot keep you hooked. If you don't buy this video for yourself at least put it on your wish list and maybe someone will buy it for you....that's what I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Frank Look At Differently Abled Discrimination, March 16 2004
By A Customer
I found this movie to be very sweet, tender and thought provoking. Kristy goes from being frumpy and introverted to bubbly and outgoing and all with the aid of a cast. She uses this cast to make the world forget she has a leg brace due to a childhood illness. The movie does a great job at showing how the world treats her differently once they don't realize she is differently abled. Very 80's and no wonder, that's when it was filmed. The soundtrack is one of the lesser dated ones, due to all the Abba music. The ending is a little short, but promising none the less. On a personal observation: Why do people who hate movies so much they'd rather throw them off a cliff than watch bother to reveiw them? I mean they obviously have less boring lives than I do since I liked it and they didn't. Hmmmm. Like the look of their own words in print maybe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this movie, June 25 1999
By A Customer
I have seen this movie more than once. Besides Kristy McNichol, there are many other great actors in it, such as Robert Carradine. I also really like the soundtrack (ABBA!) There are many cute moments in the movie, such as the dance scene and her "wonderful way of speaking french." It is a good movie to see on a lazy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great First Date Movie, March 17 2000
By 
I forgot about this movie until I was asked by a friend what he should rent for a first date with this lady friend of his. "Just The Way You Are" I said!
Romantic, FUNNY, and it's PG. (PG is good for a first date!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Film Unworthy of Kristy McNichol's Talent, Jan. 19 2003
I understand why Kristy McNichol had such a hard time finishing this movie -- it really wasn't "just the way she was" and was unworthy of her and her immense uncultivated talent. The only thing I liked about this movie was the photo of Kristy McNichol with her finger over her lips as if she had a secret. The "secret" is that she really should have been in Flashdance and not this disaster of a film!
I really wanted to like this movie simply because Kristy was in it, but have to say that it was phoney, unrealistic and didn't convince me that it was a script worthy of ever being put into production. It seemed that it was designed to promote the careers of men, at Kristy McNichol's expense.
After seeing this movie I actually had fantasies of throwing the video off the cliff into the ocean here in San Francisco, but I didn't want to break the law. Anyone who actually enjoyed this movie -- must lead a very boring life. Overthrow the status quo establishment that put this thing together is all this movie says to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could've Been Better, June 12 2004
By A Customer
I like Kristy McNichol's acting, but this movie was boring. There just isn't enough depth to any given character or scene for the viewer to connect with the movie in any way.
The dance scene where Kristy and Patrick Cassidy dance is suppose to "symbolize" the main character loosening up. Instead, it's just goofy dancing to bad music, even for 1984 standards.
I think the actors did their best with the material they were given. Sorry Kristy, it just wasn't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just the Way You Are [Import]
Just the Way You Are [Import] by Édouard Molinaro (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 21.45 CDN$ 14.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews