Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are you out of your Vulcan mind?
As entertainment this reimagining of Star Trek delivers great action, and great surprises. It's quite exciting to see the familiar characters being reintroduced and played by new actors.

One hopes that Abrams who brought us Lost and Alias, and wrote space epic Armageddon would take the treasure that is Star trek, and boldly go where no one has gone before. By...
Published on April 9 2012 by L. Power

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Overdose of Stupidity
Warning: This movie should be restricted to persons 18 years of age or YOUNGER. This movie is an insult to the Star Trek legacy. An overdose of bizarre technology right from the start, a strange plot and stranger actors. I was tempted to trash it after the first 5 minutes, but let it continue hoping for some improvement or clarity. But I finally clicked it off when the...
Published 11 months ago by Reid Tucker


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are you out of your Vulcan mind?, April 9 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
As entertainment this reimagining of Star Trek delivers great action, and great surprises. It's quite exciting to see the familiar characters being reintroduced and played by new actors.

One hopes that Abrams who brought us Lost and Alias, and wrote space epic Armageddon would take the treasure that is Star trek, and boldly go where no one has gone before. By that I do mean not going where he has gone with Lost, which had me totally confused, with myriad time travel plot lines, who the good and bad guys areguy, but going somewhere fresh, new and exciting.

JJ Abrams has done a great job first time at bat with this franchise. The actors playing the lead roles Pine as Kirk, Quinto as Spock, and Urban as McCoy all do incredible jobs. The Spock character is by far the best developed, and when you see the movie you will understand why.

Part of what I loved about this movie was the paradox. For instance, Time Travel. It was fun picking apart the logic afterwards.

Romulan villain Nero travels back in time, to avenge the destruction of his planet Romulus, destroyed by a supernova (exploding star).

The very fact that Nero can travel back in time, means that he can save his planet, which at the time of this Star Trek still exists, yet he does not.

Nero waits 25 years for Spock to emerge from the time space continuum, which in Spock time is only 5 minutes. How long would you wait for someone to turn up? If you're like me, not that long.

Nero attacks Star fleet before Kirk is born. If he can travel through time, then why does he wait until Kirk is all grown up before launching his next attack?

I was surprised by the Romulan ship, all these walkways high in the air with no safety handrails. Someone could fall off. They have time travel, can destroy planets, have red matter, but no safety rails.

Kobayashi Maru Simulation

In order to pass this test and become a star fleet captain, you must fail the test. Nobody has ever passed the test. Yet there are star fleet captains. Kirk has failed the test twice, before becoming the first person to beat the test. How many times must one be allowed to take the test and fail, before one is deemed to pass the test?

When he beats the test designed by Spock, he is put on trial for cheating. Spock designed the simulation to test the fear response, so how can someone who has no emotions be the arbiter of someone else's emotions.

Using that standard Spock is unqualified to be a starship commander, yet Spock is a commander. Wouldn't Spock have to pass his own test, and therefore with his advance knowledge would he not achieve the same result as Kirk who he accuses of cheating by cheating? I enjoyed how screwed up this whole thing was.

The movie felt a little off in two places, one was the Uhura storyline, so vaguely told as to be semi apologetic. The other I felt was capturing Kirk, portrayed here as a hedonistic thrill seeker. It's unlikely that anyone in a captain role would take the risks he takes. That's what crew members are for.

It has to be said that I have seen the movie more than once, as there was so much action, it was difficult to take it all in in one go.

I think it is superb entertainment. I think if you love the previous series and movies, you will also love this refreshing take. I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic new wave, May 25 2013
By 
tornitons - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The characters are introduced one by one in an interesting way, when they are young, as usual in that kind of sci-fi movie. The story is great, the pictures are nice and 2 hours flow smoothly. The actors are good and they get intense at times, making me a bit anxious, feeling the stress. I will probably watch it again with my son. Time well spent on this rather cold rainy day. Not a big fan of Star Trek, I did enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll take it..., April 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek (Bilingual) (DVD)
As a third generation Trekkie...I will take whatever they can come up with to keep the vision alive! Movie or TV franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making way for the Future of Star Trek, Nov. 27 2010
I have been a die hard fan of Star Trek since I watched the first epsiode of ST:TNG. After that I started scouring the channels to find the original series. After that I was glued to DS9 and Voyager (say what you will about them). Most of that devotion was due to the constantly evolving universe that is Star Trek. Any Trekkie will tell you that you get very involved in the history. You know the key events in the histories of the different races. You know who did what and when and what the outcome was. All of that and more has created the Star Trek universe that for the past 44 years has mesmorized countless fans.

Then along comes J.J. Abrams. He takes all of that 44 years of history and basically erases it in one fell swoop. He uses a time travel story to restart the universe. TIME TRAVEL!!! A story device that has been used in ST too many times to count. The only difference is that in every other use of it, the "timeline" is preserved. Not in this movie. The timeline is drastically altered and their is no mention of a fix or a way to get it back to the status quo. As a fan, to watch all of the episodes and previous movies basically go up in smoke drove me mad. How could he do this? How could Paramount allow this? Is there a petition somewhere that I can sign to fix this? The worst part of all...?

This was a really good movie! It had an engaging story that was reminiscent of ST:TOS with more action and less technical talk. It had a good cast that was true to the spirt of the original cast. Obviously the special effects were top notch. It even had a dose of Spock for us that needed it.

Am I upset that this movie has radically changed the Star Trek universe in ways that we cannot yet determine? Yes. Do I recognise that the ST franchise was in danger of becoming stale and needed a change to be relevant to futures audiences. Yes.

I'm saddened that "my" Star Trek may be gone but happy to see it continue in ways that will be equally exciting, and hopefully, lasting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Je ne m'intéressait plus à Star treck depuis longtemps et ..., Aug. 3 2014
By 
Jean Fortin (Quebec,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek (Bilingual) (DVD)
Je ne m'intéressait plus à Star treck depuis longtemps et ce film m'a réconcilié avec le concept . Les liens entre les personnages s'inicient de belle façon , l'intrigue est soutenue et les effets spéciaux sont nombreux et réussis .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whoa, watch the Spock(s), June 10 2014
By 
There was some agonizing over the move to replace the seemingly irreplaceable original cast of the iconic series. This vanished when people recognized just what a fun and imaginative movie J.J. Abrams had created. It was clear from the beginning that this was a happening story where all the actors were going to dive into their characters and have some fun. Even the dastardly Romulans are kind of cool. The big challenge was how respectful they needed to be to the original series and where to monkey with the premise. Abrams strikes the balance beautifully; remember above all this movie is fun. I think Chris Pine makes a good Kirk, Zoe Saldana an amazing Uhura. Karl Urban and Simon Pegg are great comic relief but casting both Zachary Quinto and Leonard Nimoy in the same movie is a stroke of brilliance. Nimoy made the original series and Quinto is a worthy heir. Having them both in the film is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a complete movie, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
has everything. could do without the beast chasing, noisy, uninteresting, non-plot vital scene but the rest is eminently interesting. Gives one hope that the next star wars will be an updated adult version of a space story with good philosophy and dilemmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture!, May 21 2014
By 
BJ (Camlachie, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is he one I mentioned that is now on dvd. My girlfriend is so happy now that she has both. Since she doesn't have a Blue ray player I couldn't lend her mine and now I don't have to. Great show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't help but love it!, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw "Into Darkness" before seeing the original and couldn't help but be ridiculously entertained. I figured I should see where it all began so I paid a visit to Amazon, and snagged this one. Well, there's something about the way the movie pays homage to the camp and absurdity of the original series (which I love) while still being a solid movie in its own right that I find pretty incredible. The cast is fun and thoughtfully put together. They all seem to work so well off of one another and the chemistry feels genuine. Chris Pine is adorable as a Kirk just cocky enough to be charming and not arrogant, and Zachary Quinto pretty much nails the essence of Spock while making him more multi dimensional and relateable. Definitely worth checking out, Trekkie or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek (Two-Disc Special Edition) (2009)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 26.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews