Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent western!
A fascinating, wickedly funny, violent, seedy and provocative exploitation of the western genre. Like 'The Unforgiven,' this movie stands traditional western values on end, and with Sam Raimi directing, it's an intensely odd and hilarious journey. This movie really grows on you too. I think this is Sharon Stone's best film--she perfectly illustrates the cynicism,...
Published on Sept. 13 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars autant de vedette et si plate
ce film est les western le plus plate que j'ai vue de toute ma vie
c'est désoland de voir ce gachie de potentiel
et de salaire $$$ pour une cénario digne des serie B
Published 1 month ago by Benoit


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent western!, Sept. 13 2003
By A Customer
A fascinating, wickedly funny, violent, seedy and provocative exploitation of the western genre. Like 'The Unforgiven,' this movie stands traditional western values on end, and with Sam Raimi directing, it's an intensely odd and hilarious journey. This movie really grows on you too. I think this is Sharon Stone's best film--she perfectly illustrates the cynicism, simmering rage, and faux toughness of an adult with a traumatic history. It's interesting to see her grapple with her fears and the amorality of the old West. Russell Crowe, Gene Hackman, DiCaprio, Kevin Conway--everyone in this film is exceptionally good, including the extras. More than anything else, it's funny as hell. I'm especially fond of Spotted Horse, and Foy and his kids--they don't go to church too often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE BLAST with a GREAT CAST!!, Jan. 19 2003
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
Okay, so it's not the greatest movie ever made...or even a great western. What is is, however, is lots of fun, with lots of showy filmmaking. Sam Raimi shows off his craft very well here...and the actors get to really have fun playing archetypes...or maybe spoofs of archetypes.
Basically, the movie is about a famous "quick draw" contest in a dusty little western town with no other apparent reason for existing. There are LOTS of great contests.
Sharon Stone doesn't have to do anything but look cool (and sexy when she's under all those furs). Gene Hackman is virtually the same character he played in UNFORGIVEN, but more one-dimensional...on purpose. DiCaprio is a hoot (try to remember him before you saw TITANIC and he got overexposed...he was really a fun actor). An unknown Russell Crowe is moody and handsome, and one gets just a tiny glimpse of the full-fledged "quiet, tortured hero" he would become with GLADIATOR. Lance Henrickson is funny, and all the other characters are totally over the top. The plot is so simple and straightforward, yet the movie is a lot of fun. Don't see this movie as an example of a great western...see it if you want to enjoy some great actors having fun with a bit of good-looking fluff. I've seen the movie three times now over the past 6 years...and I enjoy my 95 minutes every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars autant de vedette et si plate, March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (1995) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
ce film est les western le plus plate que j'ai vue de toute ma vie
c'est désoland de voir ce gachie de potentiel
et de salaire $$$ pour une cénario digne des serie B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars British DVD, Dec 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
not compatible for Canadian players so could not see it. did not realize it was coming from England, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Functional and reasonably priced, Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this as a gift for my mom (it's one of her favourite movies) and can't speak for the actual story but it arrived on time, was priced reasonably, and was fully functional when I tested it. No complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Corny but Cool..., May 13 2012
Right off I will admit this movie is corny - but I love it anyway. Full of predictable themed little 'isms, which for me added some comic relief, but with just enough character to keep you watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh, those wacky westerns!, April 16 2002
By 
Dustin Dunaway "Cool Channel Films" (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Other than being a Sharon Stone vanity piece, this is okay. Stone's performance actually winds up being the worst thing about the movie. She plays Ellen (I don't know if she's actually named throughout the movie, but the box says Ellen), a drifter seeking revenge on the gang that killed her pappy.
She runs across a small western hamlet where the undertaker is the busiest man in town. Herrod (Gene Hackman) has the town in an iron grip. As a coincidence, Herrod is the leader of said gang. To top it all off there is a gunfighters tournament with a crazy assortment of characters dueling to the death. The supporting cast is a who's-who of before-they-were-stars. Gary Sinise, pre-Lt. Dan, as Ellen's father. Leonardo DiCaprio, pre-Titanic, as "The Kid". Russell Crowe, pre mug-shot, as the preacher (!).
I guess Stone's performance wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't directly ripped from Clint Eastwood's Man With No Name Trilogy. Also, Crowe seems to be playing the same stoic put-upon character and doing a better job of it. Lance Henrikson is the main standout as "Ace". He puts an ace in his deck for every man he kills. That's pretty cool. I was hoping for him to make the finals, but it was not to be.
If you like traditional westerns this probably isn't for you. If you like Sam Raimi's loopy direction (you can see through the bullet hole in someone's skull at one point) you'll want to pick this one up. If you're looking to see what a lot of these actors were doing before they "made it" you could do a lot worse.
Recommended for fans of quirky movies, but not for fans of traditional westerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better then the Average Western, Dec 4 2008
By 
E. Conway (Masonville, Tx) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like Westerns then you should enjoy this movie! The big difference in this movie is that it has a female lead (Stone). She is not the best actor, or character, of the group. The directing, visuals and acting are all very good in general. The characters are all archetypes of one sort or another. Very similar in style to Clint Eastwood's Spaghetti westerns. So if you like those, you should like this as well. The big difference is this movie is more "stylised" which makes it loose some of its grit. But it has stood up well over time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Hackman is evil incarnate., Dec 24 2011
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (1995) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This film released as an instant classic. All the must haves in any western with the cinemetography, direction and execution of modern day filmdom. Well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cast and terrific apadtation from the original, April 17 2004
By 
One of the most recognizable westerns is 'the quick and the dead', this is one of the best westerns i've seen, not that i like westerns but this one is different, with the greatest cast ever and that tournment that happened, like kid (DiCaprio) vs. Harrod (Hackman), then Cort (Crowe) vs. lady (Stone) AND FUNNY CHARECTERS LIKE Ace, with great plots, directing and script, this one outbeat the original, this is a must see for western drama action lovers. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb21c4270)

This product

The Quick and the Dead (1995) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews