Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story light but still entertaining
Not the best story I have seen in terms of quality of filming and play of the actors. Nevertheless, the subject is very interesting, the movie lasts a while and my interest stayed focused all the way. You must see that movie at least once because of the unusual theme. Relationship to Egypt is interesting, but underexploited. I think that the rythme there is better...
Published 14 months ago by tornitons

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate? Strings Attached
I was expecting a cleaned-up picture, perhaps along the lines of what Lucasfilm did for the Star Wars films. But you can still plainly see strings on the gull-wing gliders, along with artifacts galore.
Buy this one used.
Published on March 14 2003 by gjzkjhfgarzdfgluirhzh


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate? Strings Attached, March 14 2003
I was expecting a cleaned-up picture, perhaps along the lines of what Lucasfilm did for the Star Wars films. But you can still plainly see strings on the gull-wing gliders, along with artifacts galore.
Buy this one used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stargate Special Edition, Nov. 23 2002
By A Customer
The low rating I am giving this disc does not reflect my opinion of the film, but rather my opinion of the discs poor quality. The below average image quality is surprising, considering the fact that this is already the second DVD release of this movie. Not only is the overall image quality not as good as it should be, but to top it off the entire film features a video burn on the right hand side of the picture. Lower end monitors may cut this area off and therefore hide it, but a good screen will feature this irritating flaw. One can only hope that a Superbit or Criterion version of this film will be released one day. The disc presently available is certainly a disapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story light but still entertaining, May 11 2013
By 
tornitons - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not the best story I have seen in terms of quality of filming and play of the actors. Nevertheless, the subject is very interesting, the movie lasts a while and my interest stayed focused all the way. You must see that movie at least once because of the unusual theme. Relationship to Egypt is interesting, but underexploited. I think that the rythme there is better than in the TV series. Anyway, it looks like a low budget film, not Spielberg... Image quality is questionable at times, mostly in dark scenes, when it can be quite grainy. Otherwise, it is always a pleasure to watch a movie in 1080p.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Transfer not Great!, June 5 2012
So having just viewed this Blu Ray version, I must say, aside from the majority of the scenes being very nice by Blu Ray standards, I found the rest of them lacking detail, or simply grainy and fuzzy. Not enjoyable!!! So I'm not sure if it's just my copy or if this was done from a poor source. The difference is very noticeable and almost brings the quality of VHS tape to mind.
Two days prior, I viewed my original DVD version and found it was good all the way through. A consistent 480p by DVD standards. This aside, the extended scenes were great adding much to a already familiar story. Here is hoping they improve the next release. Five stars for the content, but only three stars for the poor transfer. So 3 it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen Pleasure..., April 7 2009
By 
Seamatron (Williams Lake, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought myself this DVD for my birthday as it has been a favorite for a long time. I prefer wide-screen version and the featurette interview was a nice bonus! It would have been nice if it had closed-captioning or english sub-titles but the picture is clear and sharp and the sound is good. Get a copy for yourself and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just an attempt to get more bucks from fans, July 3 2004
By 
If you're like me, you are really - really - getting tired of producers, film compaines, whomever there is to blame re-re-re-releasing the same DVD with different packaging, and calling it the "Ultimate" or "Supreme" or "this time it really is a Limted edition" special releases. The motivation? Raking it in from fans who expect and want more. You'd be better off spending your bucks elsewhere.
There is NOTHING to make this DVD stand out from any of the numerous previous releases. Save your money! Sure the director's cut is great - but it's on what, three previous releases?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Steelbook sci-fi film was excellent in video/audio quality for viewing on HD screen, July 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This Steelbook sci-fi film was excellent in video/audio quality for viewing on HD screen. Fictional story was entertaining; with lots of action, some romance, and surprising twists, as the story unfolded. Details about 'STARGATE" film can be read elsewhere on the Internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 stars-An underrated movie that spawned many imitators., Nov. 18 2009
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Stargate released in 1994,was a film that was underappreciated by most critics at the time garnering mixed to poor reviews.But the general public liked what they saw and gave out,much to the delight of its' producers,at the box office.The movie went on to influence other subsequent films(such as the opening of the Fifth Element) and spawned video games(direct and indirecty),along with the ever popular TV series franchise.
The film opens with the discovery of a circular device and the fossilized skeleton of a being of some sort,buried in the Egyptian desert in 1928.Fast forward to modern day and a Dr.Jackson(James Spader) who is giving an ill-received lecture on who exactly built the great pyramid in Egypt.Afterwards an elderly woman arrives and invites him to join her at a research facility run by the military in Colorado.
There they have in their hands the device found in the sand and want Jackson to decipher the writing.He does and inadvertantly gives the military brass the code to start up a working replica of the device.The project is headed by Col.O'Neil(Kurt Russell) and he leads a military team along with Dr Jackson through,what is now referred to as,the Stargate.The "other side" is light years from earth and is a planet much like the Egyptian desert,complete with their emergence point in a similarly structered building,dwarfed from behind by a huge pyramid.
In due time they find a colony of human slaves who are mining the material that composes the Stargate.Dr Jackson slowly but surely learns the language and eventually finds the key that will enable the team to return to Earth.But in the meantime the beings who oversee all this,return and wreak havoc with Col.O'Neil and company.It is learned that the aliens have taken humans as hosts and actually are the ones responsible for creating civilization on Earth thousands of years before.But the alien leader informs them they should never have opened the Stargate and plans to send back a bomb to destroy the Earth.In a race against time,an uprising by the slaves and a ticking bomb that can't be turned off,O'Neil and Jackson narrowly manage to turn the tables on the aliens as they try to escape and thus destroy them.Dr Jackson stays behind while the remaining team members return to earth.The movie ends as O'Neil says to Jackson that he will "see him around".
This left the movie up for an obvious sequel but,much to my disappointment,none has ever been forthcoming despite numerous rumours to the contrary.The latest rumour is that once the TV series has finally finished then we will see a sequel;but that remains to be seen.
Russells' career at the time had been a mixed one up Stargate having had more hits in the 80s(The Thing,Escape from New York,Used Cars,Big Trouble in Little China)with little of substance/success after,other than a notable supporting role in the hit Backdraft in/91.Spader on the other hand had been a pretty hot property at this time(his most popular time in fact) having had a more consistent string of recent successes(Mannequin,Pretty in Pink,Wall Street,Sex,Lies and Videotapes)than the more established Russell.That is why both share top lead.However while Spader had the lions share of screen time,Russell manages to dominate every scene he is in which says much about his acting chops.
The story generally flows well but the action gets bogged down on sideplots concerning the slaves working for the aliens.All concerned do a wonderful job but it is the (then)unique concept and angle this film gives us that really manages to fascinate and ultimately sell it.It must have made an impression,for while we have yet to see any sequels at the theatres,there has been a wildly successful little screen franchise going on for years.
This so called "Directors Cut" is clocked in,on the sleeve at least,as 119 minutes.Well the ACTUAL screen time is just over 123 minutes,with the credits extending it to around 130 minutes!Underselling their product.
The sleeve also tells us that this film has been remastered.Well I think someone needs to do some more work on this.The picture can get slightly washed out and grainy at times;not what a "remastered" print should look like.The sound however is very good,available in Dolby 2,5.1 and 6.1 DTS.The "ultimate" features are just an audio commentary by the director and producer and a small 10 minute film on the concept of alien vistors in ancient times and its'conceptual "father" Erich Von Daniken.Not much for an"ultimate edition",so it loses marks there also.The film is in its' original widescreen format.The copy I received of this film is a bit different than the one shown here for sale.The DVD I got is in a case with the same artwork as depicted(brown colour with the ring over the pyramid).However THAT case,in turn,has a nice looking sleeve over IT;a colourful holographic version of the case cover.I hope yours comes this way also.
In the end this film still holds up quite nicely after 15 years,both in the acting and concept departments.And while the film does needs a proper tweaking on the remastering,overall I think you will still enjoy what you see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate: 15th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray], June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Le titre devrait être Stargate: 15th Anniversary Edition (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]

Langue originale: Anglais, Français.
Sous-titres: Anglais, Espagnol.

Le film qui est à l'origine des séries télévisées Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis et Stargate Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sci-Fi Flick, April 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With numerous spawned TV shows and TV movies, the original helps you believe that sci-fi like this could be a reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate (Ultimate Edition) [Import]
Stargate (Ultimate Edition) [Import] by Roland Emmerich (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 16.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews