Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 50th Anniversary!, Nov. 4 2009
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
For having so many greatest hits packages, the first question is why another? 2009 is the 50th Anniversary of the Bee Gees and the first time they announced that they would, after all, reunite as the Bee Gees. When Maurice Gibb passed away in 2003, it was declared the Bee Gees were over and Barry and Robin went their separate ways. This is a celebration.

The nicest surprise is that fans are now given an official video disc of 18 of the Bee Gees more popular songs. "Spicks & Specks" is the original grainy black and white version, but "New York Mining Disaster 1941" is a rare clip, interspersing montages of children and coal miners which is a more direct reference to the lyrics. "Tomorrow, Tomorrow" represents the year the Bee Gees temporarily lost Robin but is a great song from their TV special "Cucumber Castle" and a nice addition even if a bit fuzzy. "For Whom The Bell Tolls" is one of their under appreciated gems and this video is one of their best (I miss "When He's Gone" as a video). "Still Waters Run Deep" is a rare video in that it is the single version of the song with an electronic harpsichord (not the album version). However, the most professional video has to be "Alone" with its images over the years spliced into the song.

The sound is far superior to all previous releases (other than the videos), including Tales from the Brothers Gibb and The Bee Gees - Their Greatest Hits: The Record. It appears that `most' of the songs chosen were all in the Top Twenty either in the USA or the UK. This makes for a nice Anniversary Edition, even if you already own most of these songs. The box is (as most are nowadays) a cardboard foldout with a slipcase. But the insert has a nice write-up from Sir Tim Rice with some photos of the group as they progressed over the last fifty years. Its not extensive, but gives enough information to sum up the Bee Gees career (so far).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, Jan. 30 2011
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
I was a little unsure about buying a product that was previously owned, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised at the great condition of the CD I purchased...I would recommend this way of shopping to everyone....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEE GEES, Nov. 28 2009
By 
DOUGLAS VALLEY "PORKY4UGAMES" (OTTAWA;ONTARIO;CANADA;) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I never purchased anything by the Bee Gees but this combo on disk has great music. It comes with a 3rd disk which I have not watched. Our type of music is from the 50's and mine is more in the 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 5 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
just a great CD...all i expected & more--tks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even FlapJack is trying to sing like them, May 25 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
This is a great set of CDs. No one can reach high notes like Barry Gibb can.
I will let my Parrot listen to this but not Opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disco Heaven, March 8 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
Cheesy disco goodness, for a blast from the past this was great, play it while doing the housework and before i know it i'm dancing and singing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, Aug. 16 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
CD is great. A few songs not worth listening to, however will be burning most onto another CD to enjoy my favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, Aug. 9 2013
By 
Marilyn Roach "maroach" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
anyone who loves the Bee Gees will love this album. it's a combination of the greatest hits. recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars such talent !, May 23 2013
By 
trupar (alberta , canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
they are in a class of their own. when you hear the bee gees you know who they are ! today , everybody sounds the same-no distinct talent. these guys bring realization as to how much talent they have in their writing, composing and producing. sets their generation apart. love them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST COMPILATION, May 15 2013
By 
Suzanne L. Mcgee "Suzanne Gagnon McGee" (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) (Audio CD)
This cd includes all of my favorite BeeGees songs, from Words, Tragedy to Heartbreaker, I never tire of their music. The booklet included has a biography and a few pictures of the brothers as well as a list of all the songs clearly identified. This will replace my old cassette that skips now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD)
The Ultimate Bee Gees (2 CD) by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews