Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somehow... I relate.
Have you ever been stuck in a rut? Stuck in a dead end job? Tired of dealing with all those brain dead Zombies? Then this is the movie for you.

Shaun wakes up one day to find he's screwed up his life, lost his girlfriend, disappointed his mum, oh, and the world's been overrun by the Undead!

This movie is pure comic/horror genius from start to finish...
Published on Oct. 13 2007 by Joseph Kayne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not in the best condition
i personally love Shaun of The Dead but the steelbook isn't the best. As soon as i took it out of the packaging i saw the case had several dents and scratches. Overall the quality was very disappointing
Published 3 months ago by Poopy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somehow... I relate., Oct. 13 2007
By 
Joseph Kayne (Victoria, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
Have you ever been stuck in a rut? Stuck in a dead end job? Tired of dealing with all those brain dead Zombies? Then this is the movie for you.

Shaun wakes up one day to find he's screwed up his life, lost his girlfriend, disappointed his mum, oh, and the world's been overrun by the Undead!

This movie is pure comic/horror genius from start to finish. A perfect Halloween treat.

The transfer to HD is top notch. This movie truly benefits from the image depth and clarity this format presents. With this much detail, I feel I could easily navigate through north London by the movie visuals alone.

The sound was simply excellent. Heavily dialog driven, every word comes through crisp and clear. When the action really heats up, the Zombie hoard feels like they are shuffling and groaning through your living room. (Darn Zombies. Always shambling through my living room. And I just vacuumed!)

The special features are all here, and highly fun to watch. It's clear this crew had a blast making this film, and all the extras are there to invite you along, and include you in on the joke.

Absolutely worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not in the best condition, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i personally love Shaun of The Dead but the steelbook isn't the best. As soon as i took it out of the packaging i saw the case had several dents and scratches. Overall the quality was very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shaun of the Dead (steelbook), Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the multi-format of Blue ray / DVD and digital / ultra violet all in a steel case. Plus it could not have arrived in a better condition if I delivered it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best zombie movie ever! Finally, a reason to own a cricket bat., July 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shaun of the Dead / Shaun et les zombies (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Must see thriller! Simon Pegg is a comedic genius. This is the best zombie movie ever! Also loved his movie Hot Fuzz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, July 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie..so funny and it has zombies. I have watched it about a hundred times and I laugh every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great package, shame about the menu., May 26 2012
By 
G. Bird (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those who love the film, there is no point in saying much about it aside from great picture and sound quality (you can't ask for better).

The only thing that was a disappointment on this was the bluray menu had not duplicated the dvd navigation menu (it was film themed, and added to the watching experience) - although the addition of D-Box functionality can be thankfully ignored (is a waste of time to me, its the worst idea to be attached to film watching).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wink Wink Nudge Nudge...., Dec 18 2004
By 
Trauma (Gotham City) - See all my reviews
SOTD is a british comedy about a man with no ambition in life who lives with 2 men one who is cocky and sure of himself the other a lazy slob with no intrests except to annoy and harass anyone who may cross his path.
Poor Shaun suffers from the all too common middle man middle child syndrome living with these two men as well as being stepped on at his middle management job.
Plus he competes with his stepdad who makes Shaun feel like a big wussy for being a spineless mommas boy.
Oh and he has a bossy girlfriend who wants Shaun to stand up for himself and take some kind of action in his life.
With all this commotion in his life Shaun fails to see the big picture including the fact that zombies have risen from the grave and started a bloody rampage in his hometown.
By the time he realises this fact two days have passed and those demanding people mentioned above are in danger becoming food for the undead.
Thus springing Shaun into action as he bumbles his way from here to there trying to save these people with no clear reason why or how.
The gore and horror aspect take a backseat here for obvious reasons but are very intense and realistic but funny as hell because we see it all happening in the background as in one scene where Shaun shuffles to and from the store without ever noticing the feeding frenzy going on up and down the street or even when in another scene he mistakes a zombie for a drunk girl in his own backyard!!!
The direction and pacing is all very linear for a movie that juggles horror comedy and romance without ever losing its main objective or your attention.
Smart Funny and bloody.
Hell Yeah!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dawn of Shaun!, Feb. 22 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Zombies are one of those horror staples that have gotten putrid, after one too many idiotic blood'n'gore-fests with a revolting script. Like poor Dracula, they run out of things to do.

But zombie films are revitalized by the wickedly funny "Shaun of the Dead," a tale of music, love, pubs, and the slobbering undead. In the vein of Peter Jackson's "Dead Alive," it's full of twisted humour, funny dialogue and plenty of gore.

Shaun (Simon Pegg) and Ed (Nick Frost) are the poster boys for adolescentus slackeritis, living in a London flat with their peeved roommate Pete, who has actually grown up and gotten a real job. Ed plays video games all day, and Shaun's immaturity has just gotten him dumped by his long-suffering girlfriend Liz (Kate Ashfield).

Wrapped up in his love life woes, Shaun fails to notice a little news item: Human beings all over London are transforming into zombies. At first, Shaun obliviously drowns his sorrows, and has a nasty encounter when he goes to pick up a soda. Now he must mend his relationship with Liz and defend himself and his family from the hordes of ravenous zombies... by barricading them in a pub.

"Shaun" makes the whole genre seem fresh just because it doesn't take itself seriously. The heroes don't even have guns (since the UK public don't get them), and so our heroes fend off the zombies with vinyl records, shovels and cricket bats. That gives an idea of how serious this movie is.

"Shaun of the Dead" isn't so much a zombie movie as a love story with zombies -- a very funny one, with lots of gore. We're treated to slackers in love, Shaun drifting obliviously around London withoutn noticing the undead, and some very entertaining dialogue ("Just look at the face: it's vacant, with a hint of sadness. Like a drunk who's lost a bet...")

Later on, he's forced to shake off his obliviousness in order to save his loved ones, with a bat as his only weapon. And maybe some commandos in a tank. It's gory, and the ending gets a bit cliched and overserious, but the ride up until then is wonderfully scripted and full of hilarious crude comic moments. Not sex-organ/bathroom humor, but definitely not highbrow.

Everybody knows guys like Shaun and Ed. Pegg perfectly plays a slacker with a heart of gold, who would like to be more than he is, but doesn't have the slightest clue how to go about it. Frost is a good annoying sidekick for Shaun, and Ashfield does a good job as the long-suffering girlfriend.

As a bonus, music geeks will laugh themselves silly over such important decisions as: which albums should our reluctant heroes throw at the zombies? "Stone Roses?" "No." "...Second Coming?" "I liked it." "Dire Straits?" "Chuck it!" Good choice, Shaun m'boy.

While it's a hilarious movie, it's not a spoof -- rather it's a zombie movie with wit, love and comedy. By not taking itself too seriously, "Shaun of the Dead" ends up revitalizing a genre that seemed like it was... well, almost dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dawn of Shaun, June 12 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Zombies are one of those horror staples that have gotten putrid, after one too many idiotic blood'n'gore-fests with a revolting script. Like poor Dracula, they run out of things to do.

But zombie films are revitalized by the wickedly funny "Shaun of the Dead," a tale of music, love, pubs, and the slobbering undead. In the vein of Peter Jackson's "Dead Alive," it's full of twisted humour, funny dialogue and plenty of gore.

Shaun (Simon Pegg) and Ed (Nick Frost) are the poster boys for adolescentus slackeritis, living in a London flat with their peeved roommate Pete, who has actually grown up and gotten a real job. Ed plays video games all day, and Shaun's immaturity has just gotten him dumped by his long-suffering girlfriend Liz (Kate Ashfield).

Wrapped up in his love life woes, Shaun fails to notice a little news item: Human beings all over London are transforming into zombies. At first, Shaun obliviously drowns his sorrows, and has a nasty encounter when he goes to pick up a soda. Now he must mend his relationship with Liz and defend himself and his family from the hordes of ravenous zombies... by barricading them in a pub.

"Shaun" makes the whole genre seem fresh just because it doesn't take itself seriously. The heroes don't even have guns (since the UK public don't get them), and so our heroes fend off the zombies with vinyl records, shovels and cricket bats. That gives an idea of how serious this movie is.

"Shaun of the Dead" isn't so much a zombie movie as a love story with zombies -- a very funny one, with lots of gore. We're treated to slackers in love, Shaun drifting obliviously around London withoutn noticing the undead, and some very entertaining dialogue ("Just look at the face: it's vacant, with a hint of sadness. Like a drunk who's lost a bet...")

Later on, he's forced to shake off his obliviousness in order to save his loved ones, with a bat as his only weapon. And maybe some commandos in a tank. It's gory, and the ending gets a bit cliched and overserious, but the ride up until then is wonderfully scripted and full of hilarious crude comic moments. Not sex-organ/bathroom humor, but definitely not highbrow.

Everybody knows guys like Shaun and Ed. Pegg perfectly plays a slacker with a heart of gold, who would like to be more than he is, but doesn't have the slightest clue how to go about it. Frost is a good annoying sidekick for Shaun, and Ashfield does a good job as the long-suffering girlfriend.

As a bonus, music geeks will laugh themselves silly over such important decisions as: which albums should our reluctant heroes throw at the zombies? "Stone Roses?" "No." "...Second Coming?" "I liked it." "Dire Straits?" "Chuck it!" Good choice, Shaun m'boy.

While it's a hilarious movie, it's not a spoof -- rather it's a zombie movie with wit, love and comedy. By not taking itself too seriously, "Shaun of the Dead" ends up revitalizing a genre that seemed like it was... well, almost dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spitzensteelbook, Dec 13 2011
By 
Also ich kann und werde hier nur das Steelbook bewerten, da der Film auf meinen Player nicht läuft. Aber das wußte ich im Vorfeld. Ich finde dieses Steelbook einfach nur toll. Dafür gibt es von mir 5 Sterne. Danke, für diese Sammlungserweiterung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacfb3ba0)

This product

Shaun of the Dead / Shaun et les zombies (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews