Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the Grinch Steals Christmas and our hearts year after year
As first a beloved children’s book and then a classic TV special, Dr. Seuss’ Grinch has been entertaining kids of all ages on Christmas every year for decades. The story (which premiered on TV in 1966) follows the grumpy, holiday-hating Grinch’s evil plot to ruin the Who’s Christmas. Can he steal their holiday spirit by stealing their presents? Or...
Published 20 months ago by Jamie MacDougall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sound quality is poor
Even with the volume turned to max, the voices were 'thready', AND I remembered incorrectly: this is not a full-length movie; it's only 26 minutes' long.
Published 18 months ago by m


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the Grinch Steals Christmas and our hearts year after year, Nov. 19 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As first a beloved children’s book and then a classic TV special, Dr. Seuss’ Grinch has been entertaining kids of all ages on Christmas every year for decades. The story (which premiered on TV in 1966) follows the grumpy, holiday-hating Grinch’s evil plot to ruin the Who’s Christmas. Can he steal their holiday spirit by stealing their presents? Or in the end will they teach him that Christmas means just a little bit more?

There’s a reason that this has become the much-loved Christmas classic it has. It captures the spirit of Seuss, his book and viewers alike, offers beautiful animation by the amazing Chuck Jones, some truly unforgettable and catchy songs, and boasts the loving narration/voice talents of the late great Boris Karloff. I’m a real sap at Christmas and the old classics like the Grinch and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer are my favorites.

This 50th Birthday Deluxe Edition DVD of the Grinch features both wonderful video & audio quality highlighted by vivid colors and a clean crisp soundtrack. Special features include ‘Dr. Seuss and the Grinch: From Whoville to Hollywood’ (16 min), ‘TNT’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas: Special Edition’ (20 min), ‘Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!’ (26 min), ‘Songs in the Key of Grinch’ (8 min), ‘Who’s Who in Whoville’ text-based biographies, song selections, and three pencil tests.

With a great eye-popping video transfer, solid audio and a nice collection of special features, the 50th Birthday Deluxe Edition DVD of ‘Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas!’ comes highly recommended for viewers both young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Feb. 22 2012
Short but a great movie for christmas time. Don't don't bluray is that great since such an old movie. Dvd would be fine for older films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars haha, what a movie!, April 4 2011
this movie is very old and not long, but o man does it make you laugh. i watch it every year at christmas and it realy never gets old. This is a hilarious movie that can be viewed by the whole family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Christmas Special, May 10 2014
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: How The Grinch Stole Christmas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There isn't a way for a viewer to hate it,
dislike it, abhor it or even berate it.
It's Doctor Seuss, Silly, and what you don't know,
is it's your heart, not Grinch's, that happens to grow.
It's easy to love L'il Cindy Lou Who,
who tugs at your heart strings with her babyish coo.
Her eyes are the size of those great pumpkin pies,
and she ties up your heart strings the moment she cries.
But, like I said, "easy" to love such a tot,
but loving the Grinch, well, I'll tell you, it's not.
But Seuss makes it possible, even for me,
to learn to love Grinches, despite what I see.
In fact, to be honest, I see some of me
in that Green Grinchy carcass who hates heartlessly.
But as he is touched by the Spirit of Christmas,
and I'm able to peer into that Green Grinchy carcass,
I discover that everyone needs to grow too,
that everyone does things that make others "boo."
And If a cold, hard heart like mine can still grow
by seeing the Grinch's while watching this show,
then everyone else's can grow just as well,
so thankfully Amazon can this cartoon sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love this?, Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A movie that will never grow old for me. Updating my tired VHS to a nice new DVD was a needed change. 30 minutes of fun music and the classic lessons of the holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned way!, June 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is just magic for everyone no matter how old you are. It's the pure Christmas spirit with so great drawing fora movie made in the 50's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christmas Movie, May 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: How The Grinch Stole Christmas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie was received on time and as described. This was a gift for my Dad and he really enjoys it and so do his grand children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The grinch that you love is on Blu-ray!, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: How The Grinch Stole Christmas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Okay, so they could have just put it on a DVD, since the quality isn't improved at all, but I couldn't find a copy on DVD, so it had to be this one. No regrets! It's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie, good quality, March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: How The Grinch Stole Christmas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
No complaints as this is the classic movie. The only thing that could make it better would be to package the DVD with the bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do you really need a review?, March 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss: How The Grinch Stole Christmas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its the grinch, seriously what were you expecting? Yes is on blueray, it looks a bit clearer, but really? its a cartoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. Seuss: How The Grinch Stole Christmas [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 10.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews