Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Magic Returns to the Portable
It's been a long time since NSMB (New Super Mario Bros.) came out for the Nintendo DS and it's high time we got a platforming Mario title for our portable devices (Bowser's Inside Story is great too, though!). Super Mario 3D Land brings the Mushroom Kingdom to light in a brilliant blend of classic Mario platforming and a more contemporary flair.
When I first started...
Published on Nov. 23 2011 by DrFThickett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is a good experiment...
I had fun, and I won't spoil it if you didn't get Luigi yet, but there is a lot more to this than you expect and Bowser was never more relentless. It is worth owning, but it isn't as awesome as the side view and multiplayer ones.
Published on Aug. 6 2012 by Golok Z Buday


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Magic Returns to the Portable, Nov. 23 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
It's been a long time since NSMB (New Super Mario Bros.) came out for the Nintendo DS and it's high time we got a platforming Mario title for our portable devices (Bowser's Inside Story is great too, though!). Super Mario 3D Land brings the Mushroom Kingdom to light in a brilliant blend of classic Mario platforming and a more contemporary flair.
When I first started playing I felt like the levels were too short and the worlds didn't have enough to extend the game play and, while I still feel this, I have a deep appreciation of this feeling now. The levels were so well crafted that no two play the same, they all have a unique je ne sais quoi. While the levels are short they are fun, and definitely memorable. Granted I managed to beat the game in a matter of hours (5 I believe) the coin and secret searching is proving to extend the fun. The levels are fun to revisit, even once you know them like the back of your hand you can still spend a few runs searching for that last special coin for completion.
The game controls really well, the 3DS joy pad is perfect for bringing a truly 3D Mario to the handheld. While NSMB was a fun little side-scroller this game can boast the full 3D levels (not meaning the effect of the 3DS but of the level design)which allows the developers to offer us the unique worlds I praised earlier.
The soundtrack is Mario to the core. If the music doesn't make you smile you likely don't have a heart. As I played this game I was buried in nostalgia but I also took all the new tracks and appreciated them because, despite being recorded more recently they line up with the best of the classic Mario songs.
This game is brilliant simply for presenting itself for what it is, a Mario game that pays homage to the old while pressing forward for a new generation of gamers. If today's kids are going to play Mario and love it as much as I did when he was 8-bit then I'm ready to pass the torch. Mario is still the king.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is a good experiment..., Aug. 6 2012
By 
Golok Z Buday (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
I had fun, and I won't spoil it if you didn't get Luigi yet, but there is a lot more to this than you expect and Bowser was never more relentless. It is worth owning, but it isn't as awesome as the side view and multiplayer ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Awesome game; provided hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Mario never dissapoints!!! Any fans of regular Mario needs to get the 3D version its really fun to play with lots of cool levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Was a little skeptical as some reviews said it wasn't worth they hype, but after playing for hours I really enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars back to basics, March 30 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
great instant classic mario on the 3ds. graphically comparable to mario galaxy on the wii. ton of extras, good level of challange (although some parts of the game are a tad too easy). overall great mario game with no real gimmick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Exactly as described and quick to ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first original AAA title for the Nintendo 3DS has arrived., Dec 2 2011
By 
R. Southam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
While Starfox & Zelda were great games, Super Mario 3D Land is the first true ORIGINAL AAA title on the 3DS. It's simple, if you own a 3DS you should own this game. If you own a 3DS and don't have this game, you're doing it wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandkids Love It, Nov. 16 2011
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Both my Grandkids Love this Super Mario, big difference this time, is that they will see him in 3D. rec'd it very fast and in excellent condition, they are going to have party with this one. 5 of 5 stars for both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well My Grandkids Love it!, June 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Another fun game for the Grandkids to keep Them busy on a rainy Day! Like all of these Electronic Games this one has a lot of appeal for the younger set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Mario 3D Land - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition
CDN$ 34.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews