Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Good game and on time.
Published 20 days ago by Dwight Cameron

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Speaking of GREED...
I'm really surprised that this wasn't mentioned in the reviews yet: this game is SteamWorks (Steam/Valve) activated. This means you need an internet connection to activate it AND YOU CAN'T SELL IT WHEN YOU FIND OUT HOW BAD IT IS. It's tied to your Steam account and the CD key won't register elsewhere. They don't tell you this before you buy it anywhere. There are no Steam...
Published on Aug. 8 2011 by Parker Duofold


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Speaking of GREED..., Aug. 8 2011
Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition (Video Game)
I'm really surprised that this wasn't mentioned in the reviews yet: this game is SteamWorks (Steam/Valve) activated. This means you need an internet connection to activate it AND YOU CAN'T SELL IT WHEN YOU FIND OUT HOW BAD IT IS. It's tied to your Steam account and the CD key won't register elsewhere. They don't tell you this before you buy it anywhere. There are no Steam or Valve logos here or on the DVD case. (Is this even legal?)

Well, you aren't supposed to be able to sell it, but there are ways around it, such as creating an e-mail address just to register it, and selling the e-mail account and password along with the DVD. Google for workaround.

The fact that the publisher had to do this to prevent resales shows that they don't think this game is any good either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 2 2014
Ce commentaire est de: Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Good game and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Duke is back and badder than ever!, Jan. 31 2012
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition (Video Game)
Duke Nukem,one of the granddaddies of the FPS genre,comes back in this newest incarnation of his adventures,Duke Nukem Forever....and it is a FUN trip.The game developers make fun of their own product as we find the Duke has built a very profitable empire putting his name on everything from vehicles,to beer,to strip clubs to pinball machines,and on and on.And we,as Duke,navigate this hilarious world of his,fighting the(what else?)alien hoard invading Earth and messing up his biz and hairdo!
And speaking of pinball machines,this is one aspect of the game I really can get into.Not only are you playing DNF,but there are games within the game like pinball,air hockey and others.They are there to increase Duke's ego level,which you must maintain and expand(as if the Duke needed ego expanding!),but also to give you a sometimes much needed break from trying to navigate Duke through his mission.I love the pinball machines and I found myself playing it for a good 20-30 minutes,forgetting all about what Duke had to do next!
The game is a linear one and a problem solving one,so most seasoned FPS-ers/RPG-ers out there will pretty much know the routine by now.It usually involves alot of trial and error and restarts but you eventually get there one way or another.
Of course the Duke has his "way" about him and he doesn't take kindly to screw ups or the aliens whose butts he is continually kicking.He verbalizes all of his discontentment at the drop of a hat,and it isn't pretty.This is where the Mature rating comes in....PARENTS! I highly recommend no one under 17-18 years old play this game.Of course one will get the old,"well there's nothing in here that my teenager hasn't seen or heard before".I won't go into detail,but there are parts to this game that are simply too graphic for anyone under those ages to really be exposed to re language and content.And if you're a Christian,look elsewhere my friend for a good fun FPS-er,like Serious Sam.
I took one star off this game just for the graphic content and,of all things,the voice man who did the Duke.The guy who does Serious Sam is fabulous and it suits the character.I was expecting someone doing it with some oomph,a guttural kick-butt type,like Sam,to do the Duke proud.Instead we get a much too polished and put-on type of voice.That is,he tries to sound tough and convincing but just falls short.And in fact,if my ears are not mistaken,it is the same fellow who did the lead character in the Chrome/Advanced Battlegrounds game.It was fine in that kind of nondescript environment but with a larger than life game and character like this,it needed a voice that could put it right over the top.
I bought the game and there is nothing on the box to indicate this game is anything other than a 2K and Gearbox game,playable through the disc only.Well,in fact it is tied to Steam games.I happen to have had a Steam account(going on something like 10 years now) and have never had a problem with them at all.If YOU have an account,this game will just be put into your games list and you will play as normal.Signing up to Steam is a no-brainer and the only extra thing they will do is download the Steam client to your computer so you can just double click the Duke Nukem desktop shortcut to start or the Steam shortcut which will bring up the Steam interface and you can access the game from that.Another bonus with Steam is that they continually upgrade your game whenever a new patch comes up,automatically.It's a win-win all around,so don't let that throw you off.
Graphics are top notch here and any one with a DECENT up to date system should have little or no problem running DNF.I run the game with a 1920X1080 screen and all options maxed,and have had no glitches,hesitations or crashes occur.
In conclusion,DNF has an interesting storyline to keep you on target,great graphics to enhance the play factor and enough alien killing,butt kicking and ego-swelled Nukem to please any fan of the franchise or any FPS-er looking to add a good game to their library.Just be aware of the graphic content and language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Duke is garbage now thanks to Gearbox and GREED., July 11 2011
Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition (Video Game)
I'm not gonna waste my or your time. This is not Duke 3D, nor is it really a successor. I rather forget DNF actually came out. I feel robbed for the $60 it cost me. The game is dated, the lines are repeated way way too often. The levels are super linear and a lot of levels look like the were ripped from Prey. PC MP is dead as dead can be. No real dedicated support, only 8 players max. The single player for an experienced gamer is about 5.5 hours at the max. There are no mod tools coming that anyone knows of. They do have DLC (ya think? game was only in dev for 14years) and you can be guaranteed once Gearbox gets their thumbs out of their arse they will be soaking people left and right.

I regret having bought this game. My expectation while not super high were still realistic and this game didn't meet any of them. Bargain bin game.

You speak badly about game on their forums, they'll ban you. Lot of morons on their forums soliciting this garbage game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and unimaginative, July 10 2011
Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition (Video Game)
The levels are tedious , and it seems like they essentially just pilfered a lot from a few others games - a halo driving sequence here, any alien infested building there, and a factory setting there.
The humour is pretty weak too.
Quite disappointing. The creative team really fell short on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Download the demo for a few minutes of boredom, Oct. 9 2011
By 
Robbo (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition (Video Game)
As a native doom user and quake (the old school version), duke was always good for laughs and play, what seemed like 12 years of waiting for a NEW duke, shows the game is similar era to doom 3 back in '07ish. why does it seem like this was put on the back burner for 7 years and then finally someone at development found it and said " oh yeah, we forgot to finish this one"....
The massive drop in price shows a lot, $30 less in just a month or two on the market??? Downlaod the demo from ID and check it out first before buying.

Now I've played the demo, I'm happy I did not buy it for $50 first day out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition
Duke Nukem Forever - Standard Edition by Take 2 (Windows 7 / XP)
CDN$ 28.76 CDN$ 2.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews