boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Auto Kindle Music Deals Store Kitchen SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars14
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$19.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 23, 2004
The Gate turned out to be a fairly enjoyable film and definately is one of the more memorable horror films from the eighties. The story of the film is interesting enough : a lightnig strike in a kids backyard causes a gate to hell to open partially causing mysterious things to happen until it is opened fully. The effects in the film were pretty good (lots of claymation effects are used to create the spooky small demons and then the final big demon. For some reason old claymation effects like these still disturb me for some reason.) The movie is gorey in some parts but not so over the top to make you sick to your stomach. Some examples are faces melting things biting skin and dead animal ect. The acting could have been somewhat better but for the genre the kids do an alright job. As for scenes that make you jump there are a couple. The one involving the main characters friend in the closet was my favorite though I will not go into to much detail for those who have not seen it. The editing in the film was one of the negitive things about it. The movie seemed sort of choppy in some places. Also one scene in the film was really bad. This scene involved to girls who are sleeping over the night the demons make their first appearance. After there encounter with them some local teenage guys come over and they seem to forget there experience with demons from hell and go party with the guys. This to me made no sense at all. All in all the film is worth a watch or two late at night
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2003
No wide-screen and no frills, but it's there.
As for the movie, an 80's-rainy-day B-flavor child/fantasy/adventure/horror flick with some good special effects and a decent story for its time. Alot like "Demons" or any 80's horror/fantasy, but with a special panache because of the exceptional stop-action mini-monsters.
Watching it again after so many years was a bit of a disappointment. One could get away with starting the movie in the middle and missing nothing but cheesy 80's intro's to characters. For some reason though, I loved it in the 80's, so it was nice to see again and the monsters didn't disappoint. They are the creepiest of any horror movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 20, 2004
The Gate is a fantastically frightening supernatural thriller that will have the kids hiding behind the sofa more than once. A worthless first half is thankfully redeemed by some very impressive special effects in the second half and a terrific sense of atmosphere endures throughout. An old film (circa 1986) but The Gate still holds up well and is worth a look. Of passing interest as Stephen Dorff's first film and one of the better creature features of the 1980's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2003
Cool as hell cheesy 80's film with some really awesome fx and stop animation monsters in the vain of "Demons", "House", "The Evil Dead series", "Critters", "trick or treat" or even "The Goonies". Young Stephen Dorff and his best friend accidentally open the gates of hell in their back yard and all hell breaks loose!! Now, their home is haunted by miniature ugly demons, zombies, monster, black magik, ghosts and Satan itself and the only way to stop evil from taking the world is by following the rules Metal!!!! the only way to save the world is by playing a satanic metal record backward and follow the rules. I first saw this movie almost 15 years ago, I was 12 and thought it was the coolest movie ever, now I'm 27 and some very cool memories were brought back...even dough it wasn't what I expected some very cool stuff still there. The Gate is not the best movie b-movie ever made, it's very far from it, but is not bad at all, I find it very cool and entertaining even if it has some very ugly and cheesy 80's fashion, dialogue and synth music, but what else could you expect from an 80's low budget B- movie. So give it a try and you will find a very entertaining flick with some very cool fx. Do not expect anything big, but for some great laugh and a good time sake, you should be very pleased.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 26, 2013
An obsolete tree is removed from the back yard and something falls out of the roots. Little did we realize that the hole left is a gate to the underworld? What rises from the abode at first appears to be your standard demonic munchkins. Soon we realize it is just a reflection of everyone's fears. In the conflict everyone learns something of his/her self including us.

This is great fun. Notice the PG-13 rating; it just goes to show you that you can have spooky fun minus the R rating stuff. You get to see them do dump things and kibitz. No one stays in the car. It is even worth watching again. After words be sure to look under the bed (from a safe distance.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2003
I remember seeing this movie when I was younger, and it was pretty good. I just found the DVD at a low price and could not resist buying it. A little hokey, but worth adding to your horror collection. Here is a description from the back of the box: When best friends Glen and Terry stumble across a mysterious crystalline rock in Glen's backyard, they quickly dig up the newly sodden lawn searching for more precious stones. Instead, they unearth The Gate - an underground chamber of terrifying demonic evil.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
When you were a kid, did you ever stay up late with a friend drinking soda pop and eating potato chips while watching a scary movie? That's what this film feels like to me when I watch it as an adult. And it's a great feeling :)

Do they even make horror movies for kids anymore, or is it all super gory torture porn now? The only recent film that comes to mind is Coraline. It a kids movie, but it is also pretty scary.

Anyway, The Gate is awesome. A true 80's classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2003
I watch this when I was about 8. It was scary when I watched it! But then the video store where I rented it closed down. I finaly found it at Circuit City! I watched it and it wasn't as good as when I saw it for the first time when I was 8 (I'm 13 now). I didn't notice the bad acting! Its still ok. Its better to watch it when your little. Its still eerie though.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 22, 2004
I might be the opposite of most people who were disappointed by the movie after not having seen it in years. "I loved it as a kid," they say. Well, I saw it at the theater when I was a teenager, being seduced by the special-effects in the TV ads (it really looked cool, and the thought of a hole that leads to hell was awesome!), but I remember leaving the theater thinking: "Eh, it was okay."
But then all these years later I'm flipping through cable late one night and saw the movie playing on TNT or TBS or something like that. I watched it and actually LOVED it more this time around than at the theater.
I think nostalgia was a big factor. The movie oozes with 80's atmosphere, especially the girls and the little "party" they have at the house. The look of the movie is very 80's, and since I ache for those old days, I loved this movie. It's a cheesy little horror story, nothing too scary, nothing too demanding. It's great fun if you just allow yourself. Perfect for a Saturday night when nothing else good is on.
The DVD itself is bare bones. It looks good, a lot better than my VHS copy. It has no special features, no commentary...nothing at all. And worst of all, it's presented in full screen.
Full screen? What were they thinking? It's a horror movie, and all horror movie buffs love the theatrical aspect ratio. C'mon, horror movies should always be in widescreen on DVD!
But so what, it's still a lot of fun, and best of all the DVD is cheap. I bought it for like 6 bucks at BestBuy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2004
horror movie buffs will love this movie. it is a great experience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Monster Squad
The Monster Squad by Duncan Regehr (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 19.95

Night of the Creeps
Night of the Creeps by Jason Lively (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 9.99