Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PJ In Top Form!
This is Pearl Jam's best CD yet! The more you listen to it, the better it becomes - a true sign of greatness. Eddie is really coming into his own with songs like "The End" and "Just Breathe" that breathe new life and soul into not only Pearl Jam but alternative rock as a whole. A must buy for all P.J fans and new one's to become.
Published on Nov. 30 2009 by Karlander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh.
There's a few good tunes here but it's not the Pearl Jam most fans have fallen in love with. It's more of a soft rock record, don't go in with expectations of guitar solos and epic ballads.
Published on Oct. 11 2010 by N. Lam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PJ In Top Form!, Nov. 30 2009
By 
Karlander (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
This is Pearl Jam's best CD yet! The more you listen to it, the better it becomes - a true sign of greatness. Eddie is really coming into his own with songs like "The End" and "Just Breathe" that breathe new life and soul into not only Pearl Jam but alternative rock as a whole. A must buy for all P.J fans and new one's to become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful sounds and great songwriting., Sept. 20 2009
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Pearl Jam since the release of "Ten" in 1991.

Pearl Jam is a hard working band, who is not affraid of changing their style or trying something new. This band does not subscribe to a formula. Unlike so many bands in popular music/rock music today (hello Nickelback and Green Day, I'm looking at you guys) they do not rehash the same song's over and over again to sell more records. Pearl Jam writes music THEY believe in and record songs they love. They have some musical integrity!

This album is different from anything Pearl Jam has ever recorded. The Fixer is one of the most radio friendly songs I've heard from the band. Just Breathe is quite simply a beautiful song, and Got Some is a pretty good rocker. Speed of Sound is another gem, it's a nice song with good lyrics. This is one of the first CD's in which I like every song on the album.

This is an easy album to listen to. This is not Ten, Vs. or Vitology. If you are still expecting that sound from Pearl Jam, don't buy this album, because it sounds nothing like them. If you like good music, and don't expect the same stuff from the past, then you'll probably like it!

I am happy that it does not sound like them. Ten was released almost 20 years ago. Bands need to evolve, or they get stale. This is Pearl Jam continuing their trend of musical evolution for themselves. This is Pearl Jam grown up. This is a great CD and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM!, March 19 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album is awesome, another great lp from Pearl Jam. Though purchasing in through Amazon.ca, could have been a bad mistake. The packing was all wrong for this lp. It was shipped in a box that was not wide enough to support the width of the lp, therefore could have been warped, had it not arrived very quickly. The album did not fit properly in the box it was sent in. The person packing it, would have had to have known this, but shipped it bent into a box that was too small, risking it's safety during shipping. There are proper LP boxes available, I suggest Amazon buy some!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Sept. 20 2009
By 
G. Walters (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
Wow! is all I can say. After the last Pearl Jam album I did not expect this at all. This is PJ continuing to evolve like they had been doing up until the slight misstep that was Riot Act (not as bad as people say it is) & the huge mistake that was Avocado (Self Titled)(I don't even own this one anymore). Song after song this one doesn't let up, I won't even try to pick a high point because I have been listening to this all the way through and have come up with a different favorite every time. If you are a PJ fan and have appreciated their continued growth as a band up to and including Binaural (My all time favorite btw). This deserves a spot in your collection. If you want Ten part 2 maybe you should stick to the early stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back Up, Nov. 25 2010
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
This is such a great album. The best PJ album since perhaps No Code . This is a lot better than Yield, Binaural etc. The highlights include Unthought Known which I simply cannot get enough of, Force of Nature and many others. Wow is this ever awesome. This is a throwback to early Pearl Jam and also doesn't have any of the dumb experimental stuff like on Vitalogy. This is a CLASSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh., Oct. 11 2010
By 
N. Lam (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
There's a few good tunes here but it's not the Pearl Jam most fans have fallen in love with. It's more of a soft rock record, don't go in with expectations of guitar solos and epic ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Backspacer is good listening, March 20 2010
By 
R. Pope "poper" (Winnipeg, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
I have been a Pearl Jam fan as long as I can remember, and this album doesn't dissappoint. The great thing about Pearl Jam is that they keep changing things up, so their music doesn't get old and boring. Backspacer is a good mix as well, with some good uptempo tunes and a few mellow ones as well.
Great cd and good album art as well, a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sounds a little better than CD..., March 3 2010
By 
This is a good rock album for PJ but their last couple of releases sound too computerized if that makes any sense. Their earlier recordings were much much better. I like this record but do not buy if you think it will sound amazing you're better off to just buy the CD. The album art and lyrics are a nice touch but the sound is barely acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, Feb. 26 2010
By 
? - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
Backspacer-Limited by Pearl Jam
now i heard some pretty bad things about this album but I have to say i disagee. it is definitely not like any other pearl jam album, it's more upbeat in the pop/alternative rock range. Eddies vocals care each song, the lyrics are interesting and meaningful. great guitars throughout with excellent percussion. the cd cover is a piece of art in itself. Well worth the 8$ i paid for it. love boxing day sales. check it out, don't listen to the criticism, make up your own mind on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, Nov. 8 2009
By 
mightymike (Grand Forks, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Backspacer (Audio CD)
I like Pearl Jam, always have. I'm not a fanatic tho and a few of their albums have not been above 3 stars. This one rates 4 stars for me. Easy to get into and enjoyable. I enjoy it more with headphones, it sounds tighter and mellower.
Mightymike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0e39c0)

This product

Backspacer
Backspacer by Pearl Jam (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews