Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great U2 Album
When listening to this album, one can definitely hear the progression of the band's talent. When you compare it to their earlier work like Boy it's a giant leap forward. Like their previous albums, it is an enjoyable listening experience. The digital remastering has improved the sound quality which is an added plus. U2 fans need to have this as part of their...
Published 19 months ago by Pat Mellen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not 'Unforgettable', Not 'Bad' Either
After a succesion of rather aggressive, bombastic albums opened their career, the sound and textures of 'The Unforgettabe Fire' were most certainly a shock to many critics and fans of U2 during this time. It is a large stylistic leap from the raw emotion of 'War', released, amazingly, only one year earlier. However in terms of style and lyrical focus, the two albums are...
Published on May 9 2004 by B. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great U2 Album, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unforgettable Fire (Rm) (Audio CD)
When listening to this album, one can definitely hear the progression of the band's talent. When you compare it to their earlier work like Boy it's a giant leap forward. Like their previous albums, it is an enjoyable listening experience. The digital remastering has improved the sound quality which is an added plus. U2 fans need to have this as part of their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy and long-overdue remaster!, Nov. 6 2009
By 
Alpha-Beta (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unforgettable Fire (Rm) (Audio CD)
I own all of U2's albums, and all of the remastered editions as well. While I love the beautiful booklets accompanying these re-issues, and they all sound good, I haven't noticed a HUGE amount of sound improvement. Not that I'm complaining, but "WAR" for instance, still sounds a little "shrill" (to my ears at least). "Unforgettable Fire" is the U2 album most noticeably improved with the new mastering. "A Sort Of Homecoming" has a nice "roundness" to the sound and mix which the previous CD release lacked. There are even "incidental noises" which can be heard now that I never noticed before on the previous edition. Things like the odd cable buzz etc. actually add to the CD. U2 were, after all, recording fairly "live" in a castle. These "imperfections" really take you right into the recording session. These noises, I should add, are really only at heard discreetly at the start of certain tracks. The sound is GREAT. I have absolutely no complaints with this disc.
On another note, I've always felt that "Unforgettable Fire" was sandwiched between two rather celebrated U2 efforts "War" and "The Joshua Tree". For this reason I've often felt it's somewhat overlooked in the catalogue. True, "Pride" was a big hit, but listening back to this album now I realize how much artistic "gold" I had overlooked. "Bad" is absolute classic U2, "MLK" is beautiful, and "Unforgettable Fire" is another haunting piece. Basically, I've been most impressed with this particular U2 reissue. I'm really glad such an important artistic milestone for the band has now been given a proper release on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The album that really started it all...., Sept. 25 2009
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While some may say that War really pushed the band into the spotlight, it was this album that allow them to expand world-wide especially after their Live Aid appearance where Bono goofed by spending too much time during Bad cutting their setlist from 3 tracks to 2. If it wasn't for this album, The Joshua Tree may not have been so huge on it's release. The album itself is a bit of a departure from their gritty rock, heading more towards a US orientated album [Pride, MLK, A Sort Of A Homecoming].

The Unforgettable Fire Limitred Box Set will feature the remastered album and a second CD featuring bonus audio material, including two previously unheard tracks from the Slane Castle sessions: 'Yoshino Blossom', and 'Disappearing Act' (a track which the band recently completed).

The set will also include DVD including music videos, a documentary, unreleased live footage from the Amnesty International Conspiracy of Hope Tour in 1986, a 56 page hardback book with liner notes by The Edge, Brian Eno, Danny Lanois, Bert Van de Kamp and Niall Stokes, and 5 photographic prints. [Some were hoping for a UF era concert or the Live Aid footage.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome U2 box set!, Aug. 1 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Maybe not as essential as The Joshua Tree box set, The Unforgettable Fire being a less accessible album (and, consequently, less popular than it's 1987 followup), but still an absolute must for fans of U2's work with the Eno-Lanois production duo. This was the first album recorded by U2 with the duo, which would later go on to producing some of the band's most popular albums, including The Joshua Tree and 1991's Achtung Baby.

The remastered edition of the original 1984 album is highly superior soundwise to the original CD edition. Lanois had worked very closely with drummer Larry Mullen in the studio, and all the subtlety and detail in the drum tracks is more evident here than on any other U2 recording. The Unforgettable Fire has always been one of my favourite U2 albums, I've listened to it a lot over the past 25 years, and I must admit that I had never paid as much attention to the drumming as I feel compelled to do when I listen to this version of the album. Larry Mullen fans will not believe how clear and detailed the sound is!

The bonus CD, as with all of U2's remastered box sets, contains all the singles, b-sides and outtakes from the 1984-85 experimental phase that served as transition between the more accessible War and Joshua Tree albums. The scope of the band's musical experimentation becomes even more evident when confronted with these complete recordings. Included here are all the tracks that were released on the Wide Awake in America EP (1985) and on the various versions of the Pride and Unforgettable Fire singles. A special mention goes to an alternate version of A Sort of Homecoming, featuring African rhythms and Peter Gabriel on back vocals!! A completely different song, like nothing U2 has ever recorded either before or since!

The DVD features the complete contents of the Unforgettable Fire Collection videocassette released in 1985 (all 4 videos from Unforgettable Fire plus a Making Of documentary), U2's Live Aid set from '85 (finally available without having to purchase the complete Live Aid box set!) + the band's set from a Conspiracy of Hope concert in '86. The DVD demonstrates how fast the band evolved during those two years, as the U2 that takes the stage in '86 has already shed all remnants of their post-punk look, embracing the neo-hippie style that we normally associate with the Joshua Tree/Rattle and Hum era.

Maybe too experimental and eclectic for casual U2 fans, but anyone who's into U2's more experimental work will no doubt find this a very essential and most interesting addition to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad song on this album, Dec 30 2010
By 
J. Alexander (British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unforgettable Fire (Rm) (Audio CD)
I only recently heard U2's song Bad, which was used at the beginning and ending of Angelina Jolie's film "Taking Lives", so i decided to order this remastered album and was I ever shocked that I loved every single song. The remastering is excellent, he didn't jack up the volume to the point where it is unlistenable. I am not a U2 fan at all but this album is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best U2 album E.V.E.R. !!, Dec 7 2009
By 
Michel Drolet (Quebec, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Since the start of the remasters and expanded series, I've been waiting for this one the most eagerly; it's the best and more diverse album U2 ever made! Each track is really different from one another and we can clearly see, in retrospect, the direction they are now in. This limited deluxe box set has all the b-sides (all great ones!) plus some tracks never released before. I saw them on that tour and it was just magical! Do not pass this one up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Unforgettable Collection, Nov. 25 2009
By 
Todd Valade "TrickyFoxx" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you do not have this in your collection...add it now.

Two discs of music and a DVD, notes, photos...now you can say you have found what you were looking for.

I did not originally own a copy of the Unforgettable Fire...being a fan from Joshua Tree on. I was encouraged to buy it and listen...I did. Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their Best Album, July 7 2004
By 
"veegez1" (Burnsville, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Unforgettable Fire (Audio CD)
I just want to concur with the reviewer below. This is their best period and best album. The Amazon.com reviewer that said 4th of July and Elvis Presley and America were bad songs obviously did not listen to those songs to completion. The thing about Presley's melody is that it is understated. The beauty of the melody is brought out by Edge's guitar work at times. It's far from a bad song and maybe my favorite on "Fire". U2 never sounded better. Enjoy the whole album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most unique and easy to listen to U2 CD., July 1 2004
By 
Leafsfan2028 (magnolia, tx, usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Unforgettable Fire (Audio CD)
Most of the songs on this recording still have passion and deep meaning, yet the signature U2 sound of early days is left behind. I enjoy the departure from the anthems and marches we have gotten used to in the past. The Eno influence is noticeable and provides a new direction for the band. Different melodies are experimented with and work very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable Indeed, June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unforgettable Fire (Audio CD)
In their offtime between the 'War Tour' and the recording of "The Unforgettable Fire", U2 saw an exhibit in Japan about Hiroshima, which subsequently led to many of the ideas and images throughout this album. For this album, U2 let go of producer Steve Lillywhite, who had been at the helm of the group's first three records, and hired duo Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois(pronounced Len-Wa), a move that would pay off in more ways than U2 ever could have imagined when they made it. Eno and Lanios created a much more polished, atmospheric sound for and with the band, and it was quite apparent right from the opening chords of the record. To quote bassist Adam Clayton, on the transition between the end of the previous tour and this record, "It was either the end of something, or the beginning of something else...and The Unforgettable Fire was that new beginning".
The castle on the record's cover(NOT, contrary to popular belief, Slane Castle) is very indicitive of the relaxed and wintry feel of this record. It's very quiet yet very loud at the same time. Highlights include anthem classic "Pride(In The Name Of Love)", the title track(which also happens to be one of the more orchestral tracks in U2's catalog), "The Unforgettable Fire", live classic "Bad", the opener, "A Sort Of Homecoming", "Indian Summer Sky", and the closer, "MLK", which is a rather comforting yet heartbreaking song about death(MLK's in particular). This is a great and even magical record in its own right, it went perhaps deeper musically, it was perhaps more sophisticated, than anything U2 had done before it, U2's second masterpiece if you ask me, yet it is still only a prelude, by most standards, to what comes next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unforgettable Fire (Rm)
Unforgettable Fire (Rm) by U2 (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews