Customer Reviews


396 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (123)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (57)
1 star:
 (56)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow...just, Wow
No one really thought Terminator 3 would be made. Sure, the title "Rise of the Machines" has been tossed around since at least 1997, but with Cameron's near-perfect T2 and the franchise being more than a decade old, most fans didn't give any serious consideration to a third installment. But someone decided to go ahead and make T3 anyway.
I went into T3 with...
Published on Jan. 6 2004 by Simon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars John Conner a drugie loser?! Otherwise good fun.
I thought this movie on par with Alien 3 of the Alien movies. Not bad but not near as good as the first two.
The chase scene is probably the best in all the Terminator movies. It was jaw dropping! The effects are superior to the first two. Arnold was great as always but looked a little older which makes no sense. The terminatrix was very cool and interesting. I liked...
Published on July 18 2004 by M. Villalobos


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow...just, Wow, Jan. 6 2004
By 
Simon (Brampton, ON) - See all my reviews
No one really thought Terminator 3 would be made. Sure, the title "Rise of the Machines" has been tossed around since at least 1997, but with Cameron's near-perfect T2 and the franchise being more than a decade old, most fans didn't give any serious consideration to a third installment. But someone decided to go ahead and make T3 anyway.
I went into T3 with low expectations. All the comments I'd heard on the movie pinned it as average to slightly above-average at best. The director was so-so, the running time was way under T2, only Arnold chose to return, and the box office reciepts weren't that great. And sure enough most of the movie matched those expectations. Fun action, but a lot of re-hashing of what had been done in the first two movies. Minimal character development, just enough to make the viewer give a damn about the heroes. Competent direction, but everything seemed to operate on such a small scale, considering that this was supposed to be the last hours before judgement day.
So far, the movie was a decent popcorn flick that was worth my money and thankfully didn't manage to embarass the legacy of the movies before it.
Then the final few minutes of the movie rolled, and everything changed. I don't know how I managed to not spoil the ending for myself, considering all the reviews I read, but I was totally blown away. Yeah, I heard they were leaving room for a Terminator 4, but I didn't expect it to happen this way. Suddenly, the small scale of the movie seems to make sense, as if it's all clever misdirection of some sort. T3 could've worked a lot better with a more stylistic director and a slightly longer running time, but as it stands, its ending makes it a more-than-worthy entry in the franchise. Before, I dreaded another installment. Now, I'm looking forward to it.
WB's treatment of T3 on DVD is something of a disappointment. Audio/visual is very good, and thankfully the movie comes in a keepcase instead of a snapper, but the supplements are just there to take up space. There's a good deleted scene that must be watched by all fans, and a few decent featurettes, but most of the bonus material is promotional in nature. Given how loaded the past Terminator discs have been, T3 simply doesn't compare.
T3 is a great popcorn movie with a jaw-dropping ending. WB needs to learn how to make a decent 2-disc special edition of its summer movies. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terminator 3 – Rise Of The Machine [2009] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], July 29 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Terminator 3 – Rise Of The Machine [2009] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] TAKES YOU BEYOND HIGH DEFINITION!

A decade has passed since John Connor [Nick Stahl] helped prevent Judgment Day and save mankind from mass destruction. Now 25, Connor lives "off the grid" - no home, no credit cards, no cell phone and no job. No record of his existence. No way can he be traced by Skynet – the highly developed network of machines that once tried to kill him and wage war on humanity. Until, out of the shadows of the future steps the T-X [Kristanna Loken], Skynet's most sophisticated cyborg killing machine yet. Sent back through time to complete the job left unfinished by her predecessor, the T-1000, this machine is as relentless as her human guise is beautiful. Now John Connor's only hope for survival is the Terminator [Arnold Schwarzenegger], his mysterious former assassin and together they must triumph over the technologically superior T-X and forestall the looming threat of Judgment Day – or face the apocalypse and the fall of civilisation as we know it.

Actors: Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Claire Danes, Kristanna Loken, David Andrews, Mark Famiglietti, Earl Boen, Moira Sinise, Chopper Bernet, Christopher Lawford, Carolyn Hennesy, Jay Acovone , M.C. Gainey, Susan Merson, Elizabeth Morehead, Jimmy Snyder, George A. Sack Jr. and Eric Ritter

Director: Jonathon Mostow

Producers: Andrew G. Vajna, Colin Wilson, Hal Lieberman, Joel B. Michaels, Guy East, Nigel Sinclair and Moritz Borman,

Screenwriters: James Cameron and Gale Anne Hurd

Composer: Marco Beltrami

Cinematography: Don Burgess

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English 5.1 TrueHD Master Audio, English: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Audio Description: English 5.1

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian and Swedish

Region: All Regions

Running Time: 109 minutes

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review – Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines, despite seemingly preventing Judgement Day (as seen in the events of Terminator 2), an adult John Connor (Nick Stahl) does not believe that the war has truly been averted. He chooses to live 'off-the-grid' in Los Angeles, with no permanent home or job in order to prevent anyone from tracking him. He fears prove to be warranted when Skynet sends a new model of Terminator, the T-X (Kristanna Loken), back through time in an attempt to kill as many of the future human resistance's lieutenants as possible, thereby tipping the balance of the war in its favour. The T-X is an advanced hybrid of the T-800 and T-1000 models and has been designed with an arsenal of powerful weaponry and the ability to remotely control machines with the use of 'nano-transjectors'.

While searching for medicine after a motorcycle accident, John has a chance encounter with Katherine Brewster, an old school friend who, unbeknownst to them both, will go on to become John's wife and second-in-command of the resistance. When the T-X arrives to terminate Kate, it quickly discovers John's presence and begins interrogating her for information, but as before the future resistance is able to send a reprogrammed Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) back through time to protect Connor and Brewster. Arriving just in time to save them from the T-X, this new Terminator has one mission: to ensure the survival of John Connor and Katherine Brewster so that they may fulfil their destinies.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Sony delivers Terminator 3 with a 2.40:1 1080p widescreen transfer that looks pretty good for the most part. Obviously this is the newest of the Schwarzenegger Terminator films, so one would expect it to look significantly better than the older movies, and it's fair to say that it does. The first thing that struck me was how clean the image is, with hardly any blemish to be seen anywhere on the print. It's also fairly detailed, although it's not the sort of razor sharp clarity found on the very best releases (but this seems to be due to the way Terminator 3 was filmed). I don't have the intimate knowledge of the film required to be certain that colour rendition is completely faithful to the source material, but if the DVD release is a reliable indicator it looks to be reasonably accurate if a little unnatural (skin tones are a good indicator of this as they occasionally have an 'artificial quality' to them). Blacks are deep and stable though. All things considered it appears to be a solid representation of the original material even if it's not 'reference quality', so fans should be happy.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – As is customary for their Blu-ray releases, Sony provides a 5.1 TrueHD soundtrack that offers plenty of aural thrills and spills. Right from the get-go all five channels are utilised to deliver an engaging experience, from the future war sequence and the fast-paced T-X pursuit, to the cemetery shoot-out and 'rise' of the machines at the CRS base. The cemetery and CRS scenes in particular stick in my mind for the copious amount of bullets that fly around the soundstage, accompanied by some nice, deep bass (especially when the T-1s fire their mini-guns). Actually bass is probably worth singling out, because it's incredibly powerful throughout. It's not just the obvious explosions that benefit though, as even less obvious things like the T-X's flame-thrower pack a fair amount of low-end punch. Subtle elements aren't forgotten either, and there are times when the atmospheric sounds do a wonderful job of convincing you that you're along for the ride. On the negative side I did find the dialogue a little indistinct at times, particularly during the louder moments. The aggressive use of the surround channels was occasionally overwhelming as well, and Marco Beltrami's score could also have done with a slightly stronger presence in the mix (although that's really a personal thing). Even so, this is still a very impressive soundtrack that could easily serve as a demo title for those wanting to show off their surround set-up.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

EXTRAS: The disc actually contains a reasonably generous helping of bonus material, featuring most of the previously available DVD features and some brand new high definition content. Some of the features from the two-disc release are missing, which is a shame, especially considering less than thirty-five gigabytes of space is used on the disc.

Audio Commentary by Director Jonathan Mostow, actor Arnold Schwarzenegger, actor Nick Stahl, actress Claire Danes and actress Kristanna Loken: This is the same commentary track that appeared on the DVD releases. Each participant was recorded separately and their comments edited together later, so it doesn't have the sort of flow you get with most group commentaries, but it's actually still pretty informative. Arnold comes across as someone who's just a little bit too obsessed with his own body (and Loken's for that matter). It borders on creepy at times.

Storyboards [4:00] You get a montage of the film's climatic Terminator vs. Terminator duel scene, and the entire sequence is shown as a side-by-side comparison between the storyboards and the final finished film, complete with soundtrack. This is actually a split screen feature that shows the Crystal Peak storyboards alongside the completed footage. I guess this could be quite interesting if you're into the whole 'how did the scene evolve' thing.

TV Special: HBO First Look [24:00] This is a pretty standard documentary that covers all of the promotional bases without providing any real insight into the production. It was obviously designed to drum up interest prior to the launch of the film, so it focusses on the action and the new 'Terminatrix' (I'm sure that should be 'Terminatress). The cast pop up to tell us how great the film is going to be, but that's about as deep as it gets.

Deleted Scenes and Blooper Reel [3:01] Yes, it's the usual sight of actors fluffing their lines and things going wrong. None of the gaffs are particularly funny though.

TerminatorVision – Picture-in-Picture Experience: This is the disc's BonusView feature, which provides additional commentary from director Jonathan Mostow (as well as producers Mario Kassar and Andrew Vajna) who have recorded new introductions and full-length interviews. And windowed video footage pertinent to the on-screen events. So far BonusView features have left me somewhat underwhelmed, but this one is actually reasonably interesting (even if there is a fair amount of space between the video segments). Jonathan Mostow dominates the track, so much so that you could be forgiven for thinking that it's a solo effort, but the video segments show some interesting footage and is well worth watching.

Dressed to Kill [3:00] This is a very short look at the various attire worn by the characters, with the focus on the T-850 and the T-X. It's way too short to be of any real interest.

Toys in Action [8:00] In this documentary, Todd McFarlane talks us through the process of creating Terminator toys. While I found the artist work fairly interesting, I did get a bit tired with McFarlane himself. He is way too enthusiastic about plastic dolls.

Sgt. Candy Deleted Scene [3:00] This is a total oddity, as this is the much-talked about Sgt. Candy scene, which features Arnie playing a character that would be the physical basis for the Terminators. It's a fun scene to watch in isolation, but I can see why it was lifted from the film.

Making of the Video Game [8:57] This promotional documentary for the making of the first T3 makes it look a hell of a lot better than reviews suggest. True to form everyone goes on about how great it will be, with even the late, great Stan Winston professing his love for it. Oh dear.

Theatrical Trailers: The disc includes trailers for Terminator: Salvation and The Da Vinci Code, along with the usual Blu-ray showcases.

Finally, try as I might, I just can't view Terminator 3 as a valid extension of the Terminator franchise. I get some enjoyment if I watch it for the pyrotechnics and robots beating each other up, rather than as a serious science fiction picture, but it's too dumb to be taken as a proper continuation of Jim Cameron's films. I don't think this Blu-ray is going to do anything to change the minds of people who dislike the film (me included), but at least it's technically competent with solid video, great audio and a fair helping of bonus material. If you're a Terminator 3 fan, then this should definitely be on your 'must buy' list and so glad I have this in my Blu-ray Collection with the other Terminator films, making it an amazing collection that I love to watch when I am in the mood, as there is so much action in these genre films, you never get bored and you always see something new with each viewing and again I am so glad I now have all of the brilliant Arnold Schwarzenegger franchise films in my Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding!, Nov. 25 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
if this movie isn't as good as terminator 2,it's darn close.it's definitely a worthy sequel.the only difference between this movie and T2 is that T2 is more revolutionary and iconic.and as much as i liked the first Terminator movie,i think this is a much better movie.it has pretty much everything.it's part comedy,part action adventure,part drama.and all those elements work here.of course it helps if you have good actors,which this one does.Nick Stahl and Claire Danes play the two romantic leads,and both are quite credible in their roles.of course,Arnie Returns,and is great as usual,especially with his deadpan delivery of the funny lines,which there are quite a few.but to me,the best Part about this movie was Kristanna Loken,who played the T-X ,or the Terminatrix,the villainess of the piece.i think she nailed the part of the cold calculating,unstoppable killing machine.she brings a great intensity to the character.this female Terminator is virtually indestructible,which leads me to the action/fight sequences between her and the good terminator.these scenes are intense and relentlessly exhilarating.at least i thought so,any way.the more i think about it,the more i believe that it's too close for me to call whether this movie or part 2 is the better movie.maybe i'm crazy,but i have to give terminator 3:Rise of the Machines a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars talk to the hand!, July 19 2004
in part 3 here,sara conner is dead.john conner is in his early 20s and keeping his self impossible to trace.they send this extremely sexy terminater chick to kill his officers since he cant be located.arnold must protect john and this other chick who is an officer later on.they call her a captain.a cap is by no means 2nd in charge like they say in the movie.that would be a general.arnold shows again in another excellent performance in the terminater movies.i dont know who that sexy chick terminater is but damn is she fine!john,however,is really ugly and nasty.his officer,the chick is pretty but an uptight bitch.its kind of violent for children.this is as youve read already the third part to this fantastic series.the bad terminter chick has many neat powers like dna testing,talking to other machines,mimicking dial up tones,controllling other machines etc.there are a few more.its the second best of the 3 .any terminater fan will love it.only like squeamish and non-intellectual sell out julia roberts types will not like this.but screw them anyway.no fate but what we make does not carry over to this one.this is arnolds second best.the special effects are cool.the action is great.im still waiting on a 4th part with the man vs machine war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars John Conner a drugie loser?! Otherwise good fun., July 18 2004
By 
M. Villalobos "villageofwolves" (Lodi, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this movie on par with Alien 3 of the Alien movies. Not bad but not near as good as the first two.
The chase scene is probably the best in all the Terminator movies. It was jaw dropping! The effects are superior to the first two. Arnold was great as always but looked a little older which makes no sense. The terminatrix was very cool and interesting. I liked the "down" ending too.
The problems were the bad acting (nowhere near as good as the first 2), no Linda Hamilton and terrible characterization of the John Conner character.
I couldn't believe what a disapointing John Conner this was. He looks nothing like the kid from T2 and Nick Stahl can't emote half the feeling or charm that the little boy did. This John Conner was also written terribly; he is homeless, a drug user and has absolutely no ambition or leadership qualities. So this movie basicaly claims that NONE of his mother's toughness and kick-ass asertivness rubbed off on him and basically he's just a big whiney loser at this point??? He's so pathetic that it is impossible to believe that he'll EVER lead any ressistence movement of any kind.
Its a good action flick but nothing more. I hope there won't be anymore of these but it looks like this ending is setting up more movies. Arnold is now Govenor of Cali. so I don't see him coming back again, at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "T3 DVD" Review, July 17 2004
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
My first opinion of Jonathan Mostow's "Terminator 3" was one of anger. The ending of the movie bothered me. To be honest, it still bothers me. The "Terminator" franchise had always been one of my favorites and I just didn't care for much of this movie. Having had a chance to watch it again on DVD, I will give credit where its due. Mostow did a compendable job with a great deal of things. The atmosphere of the movie still feels like a "Terminator" film. Most series lose that feeling by the third entry. Add in the fact that it's been close to twelve years since the last one and that's pretty impressive. My biggest problem with "T3" is that it never manages to do anything more than follow the same direction as "Terminator 2". Despite the fact that it uses more elaborate effects shots, it still never captures the epic feeling of its predacessor. On the DVD's commentray track, Mostow makes mention of the fact that he takes the film's villian (Kristanna Loken) out of the movie for a lengthy period of time but forgets that Cameron did the very same thing in "T2" with Robert Patrick. Still, if you're just looking for a big, loud action movie that will blow the hell out of your speakers, this is worth a try. While it is miles behind the previous two films in innovation and style, the third "Terminator" is at least good for some by-the-numbers thrills. The movie both looks and sounds amazing. As a stand-alone film, it works but as a fan of the series, it hardly lived up to my expectations. It was good to see Arnold back in action though. The double-disc DVD has a humorous deleted scene and some other featurettes but don't be surprised if Warner Bros. ends up making an even better edition in the not too distant future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On its own a good movie., July 16 2004
T3 takes off from where T2 ended. John Connor(Nick Stahl) is now a nomad, invisible in the society with no connection at all to his past. He is still paranoid about his reclusiveness and the future, which he views with trepidation. Yet it isn't enough to ward off another threat by Skynet, the AI super computer that unleashes a new bot called the T-X in the form of a woman (Kristanna Loken). Only one thing stands in its way to setting the course of Judgement Day....Arnie.
T3 on its own is a good movie. Really. It is astonishing to see Arnold this fit even at this age. You cannot diffrentiate him from his appearance in T2. Nick Stahl as Connor and Claire Danes, who acts as his love interest,as Kate Brewster, take their characters to heart . However, I wouldn't say the same for Kristanna. She is a bit too lame for a role that Robert Patrick immortalized as the amazing T-1000. She doesn't have the fierceness that Patrick had. Only one expression, is carried through the entire movie.
Neverthless,T3 is surprising in many ways. The movie is wittier and more subjective. The story takes a total U-turn from the original theme. Judgement-Day 'does' happen and Connor and Kate are the one of the few left to contemplate the horrors of the 'nuclear-mad' Skynet. How they cope and what will be the final Judgement Day could be the story of T4, if ever it does come out.
Johnathan Mostow (Director) may not have the flair of James Cameron (T2). But he brings in all his experience from 'Breakdown' and 'U-571' in creating genuine tension and one truly jaw dropping chase sequence at the start of the movie. The SFX is superb and thankfully not overshown. I'd say Mostow preferred story to SFX in pushing the franchise forward and it is the right decision. It remains to be seen how this new and exciting story will be realised in the next installement coz' I dont see how T3 would be viewed as the last of the Terminator series.
Watch the movie and have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Weak And Inferior To The First Two Terminator Films, July 10 2004
By 
John Charet (Des Plaines IL. USA) - See all my reviews
Director Jonathan Mostow (Breakdown, U-571) has taken over in the director's chair for this vastly disappointing third instal-
lment of the Terminator series. Director James Cameron did not
want to do any more Terminator films, so did they need to conti-
nue the story? No, they did not. Just like Arnold Schwarzene-
gger's last flick Collateral Damage, this one is just inferior
rehases of his better films like the first two Terminator's and
Predator, and Total Recall, which are better films. Schwarzenegger does his best as usual, but he feels like such
a wimp here. His Terminator character is too much of a wussie
here. All he does here is spout cliched one liners, while the
character of John Connor (Played this time by Nick Stahl) is
being stalked by the T-X Terminatrix (Played by a beautiful loo-
king Kristanna Loken). She is the only one who tries to provide new material for the Terminator franchise. The ending is also too depressing and anti climactic for the series. The Matrix
Revolutions was disappointing, but at least that ended more in
a way that was satisfying, this just feels too rushed and unfi-
nished. Like The Alien series, this should have stopped after the second one. Schwarzenegger still has talent, but he is re-
duced to doing cliched flicks. You want a great action movie
see The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy, and Crouching Tiger Hidden
Dragon. You want Nick Stahl's best performance see Todd Field's
In The Bedroom and HBO's miniseries Carnivale. As for this,
skip this one and see the first two Terminator films.
Reviewed by
John Charet
A.K.A. Cool Dude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars He's Baaaaack, June 26 2004
T3 was released ten years after the massive blockbuster T2. Times have changed in the U.S. since 1992. It is good that the hype and anticipation was not as big for the third installment as it was for T2, because the decent T3 would have been a terrible letdown.
T3 has a cute 'lil Terminatrix kicking outdated Arnold's a**. The young man John Connor, who is more surly now than he was as a teen, is dragged all over kingdom come against his wishes. He just wants to be left alone. He does not want to be anyone's saviour. Claire Danes is there to keep him in line along with Arnold.
There is a fine line in films between being dark, and being depressing. T3 is dark, but it comes near the line. In essence, T3's message is that you cannot escape your fate, no matter how hard you try. The only thing you can do is deal with it. It really makes you think, which bespeaks well for the film. I think a T4 is in order to bring back some of the hope for humanity that this third film took away from the first two films, and indeed that the last ten years have taken away from the innocent early '90's in this country. Arnold looks physically wonderful in this movie, hardly different from the second film. He is an inspiration to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars O GIVE ME A BREAK, June 22 2004
By 
Ok, I will say this, this was not the worst film I have ever seen by far, but it is honestly the worst film in the triligy. COME ON, the director honestly wanted u to beleave that a SUPER FINE chick could be scary and entertaining. Well, they were half right, in which she was pretty entertaining, but that is NOT why terminator kicked (...). Terminator had what few legendary films have, GRITTY REALISIM. Even thou most of the stuff in 1 and 2 were fantastic, there was still a sense of realism and horror in them. T1: A scrany human agaist a armord thinking cyborg who is emotionless, thats cool. T2: 2 Terminators, one trying to stop the machines, one trying to win for them, and the more advance Terminator is this scrany lookin guy, but can kick arnolds ass. VERY COOL. Then we have T3.... Hmmm, hot chick, bad Term. Arnold once again good Term. The chick didnt scare me at all. And arnold had some bad script lines also. Basically what this film did was say that T1 and 2 where a complete waste of time because judgement day is enevetable... And this movie NEVER feels like A TERMINATOR movie at all. It was like a copy cat movie of a terminator movie. If you want a classic sci fi movie, buy the first 2 imediatly, and just pretend that this one doesent exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines
Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines by Jonathan Mostow (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 7.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews