Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Déjà vu
It was odd, when I watched The Prosposal, everything seemed like I had already seen it before. That's what chick flicks are, I suppose. However, the movie was quite entertaining, and I laughed and smiled throughout it.

Margaret Tate (Sandra Bullock) is an editor, whose assistant, Andrew Paxton (Ryan Reynolds), works as a slave for her, hoping to attain a...
Published on Dec 17 2009 by Sam

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sure it was used even though I purchased the "New" one
Bought this movie and the first thing it said when I put it into the Blu-Ray player was "this movie has been played before." Even though I had to pay for the "New" one -.-
Published 6 months ago by Shane Pedersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Déjà vu, Dec 17 2009
By 
Sam (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
It was odd, when I watched The Prosposal, everything seemed like I had already seen it before. That's what chick flicks are, I suppose. However, the movie was quite entertaining, and I laughed and smiled throughout it.

Margaret Tate (Sandra Bullock) is an editor, whose assistant, Andrew Paxton (Ryan Reynolds), works as a slave for her, hoping to attain a position as an editor within a few years. He knows everything about her, yet she doesn't bother to know anything about him. Everybody in the office hates her because all she seems to care about is her job.

One day, she is informed that something is wrong with her documents and she is going to get deported, even though she is Canadian - I don't know why a Canadian would get deported from the US, but that's what happened in the movie.

As things turn out, she asks Andrew to lie to everyone, saying that they're engaged so that she won't get deported. The lie, however, goes out of hand. Will Margaret get what she wants? Or will Andrew get sent to jail and fined $250,000 for lying for Margaret? Or will something else happen?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy + Drama + Sandra Bullock = Feel-good movie!, July 15 2010
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
Sandra Bullock is one of my favorite female stars, so it was no surprise that she gave a fine performance as Margaret in The Proposal (Single Disc Widescreen). She's a lovely, likable person in real life and was perfect casting for this role of a New York editor who blackmails her assistant (Andrew, played by Ryan Reynolds) into proposing to her so she can avoid deportation to Canada. Turn-about being fair play, he then blackmails her for a promotion. Although she's a workaholic and a demanding boss, she's really a sweet, mixed-up young woman; blackmail is out of character for her, but she's desperate...

When Andrew takes her to his parent's mansion in Alaska to meet them, they're surprised when he announces they're getting married. The trip is a ruse to convince the deportation officer of the sincerity of the engagement.

The women in the family (mother, played by Mary Steenburgen, and grandmother, Betty White) treat Margaret with utmost respect and learn to love her. Having never enjoyed life with a close-knit family, Margaret develops strong feelings for them. And in the course of staying in their home, she learns what a great guy Andrew really is.

Predictably, Margaret and Andrew develop feelings for each other, yet neither will admit it, preferring to spar instead. The family dog causes most of the hilarious scenes between the couple, not to mention Andrew's lovable grandmother. (Who doesn't love the irrepressible Betty White, still a scene-stealer at 87?)

The only hold-out is Andrew's father who is disappointed in his son for not following in his footsteps; he tries to thwart their plans by conniving with the deportation officer.

This romantic comedy has several unexpected twists and turns, and you'll never believe what happens on the day of the wedding! But Betty White saves the day by pulling some high-jinx of her own.

All in all, I really enjoyed this movie. Comedy + Drama + Sandra Bullock = Feel-good movie! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by Betty Dravis, July 14, 2010
Author of "Dream Reachers" (with Chase Von) and other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marry me!, Feb. 16 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
Margaret Tate (Sandra Bullock), a high-powered and much disliked editor, is facing deportation back to Canada unless she can force her assistant (Ryan Reynolds) to marry her in a hurry. He reluctantly agrees and takes her to Alaska to meet his family which includes his 90-year old grandmother (Betty White).

I liked this movie a lot. Bullock is talented, mature, and naturally funny and Reynolds is very likable. On the down side, Bullock almost looks old enough to be his mother and that was a bit distracting. The story has certainly been done before, but the actors' charm makes it feel fresh and Betty White provides some really belly laughs. The exquisite Sitka scenery really had me fooled; I read that it was filmed in Massachusetts with CGI mountains.

This rom-com has a familiar plot but clever writing and an appealing cast. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Formula, yet the actors and dialog make the movie, Oct. 17 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Proposal [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Margaret Tate, "Satan's mistress" (Sandra Bullock), is a high powered publisher and Canadian citizen. She finds due to a few faux pas, she is about to be deported. So she bullies her executive assistant Andrew Paxton (Ryan Reynolds) into marriage, thus "The Proposal". However the tide may have turned when she sees his home and family.

Many people think Grandma Annie (Betty White) makes the movie with her dry one-liners and attitude. And a lot of Betty white the actor shows through Grandma Annie the character.

The movie mostly takes place in a mock up of what Sitka Alaska should look like. It makes you want to go there. One of my favorite scenes is when Margaret is warned not to let the puppy outside or the eagles will snatch it.

Be sure to listen to the voice over commentary. Most voice over commentaries are dry dissertations from film historians or drunks that do not remember the movie. This commentary however is quite interesting and informative.

Also be sure to watch the alternate ending.

Again Blu-ray is just Blu-ray so I will not bore you with the details.

Practical Magic (Keepcase) ~ Sandra Bullock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, Nov. 9 2009
By 
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
Great, smart romantic comedy! I've watched it several times. It could have a better ending though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great movie. I really like Sandra and Ryan acting ..., July 3 2014
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
what a great movie. I really like Sandra and Ryan acting together. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
By 
Serge Spenard "velours50" (canada quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
very satisfied thank's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sure it was used even though I purchased the "New" one, June 21 2014
This review is from: The Proposal [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Bought this movie and the first thing it said when I put it into the Blu-Ray player was "this movie has been played before." Even though I had to pay for the "New" one -.-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Seller - Fast Shipping arrived 4 days, Feb. 22 2014
By 
Tricia Kolsto (Drayton Valley, AB, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
ahead of time. And anyone who has had stuff shipped to Canada knows that is pretty amazing! This is one of the best and funniest movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE!LOVE!LOVE! IT, Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
I absolutely love Sandra Bullock and with Ryan Reynolds in the picture what a combo! I have already watched it 5 times. They make me smile every time!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Proposal
The Proposal by Anne Fletcher (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 6.88
Usually ships in 4 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews