Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Déjà vu
It was odd, when I watched The Prosposal, everything seemed like I had already seen it before. That's what chick flicks are, I suppose. However, the movie was quite entertaining, and I laughed and smiled throughout it.

Margaret Tate (Sandra Bullock) is an editor, whose assistant, Andrew Paxton (Ryan Reynolds), works as a slave for her, hoping to attain a...
Published on Dec 17 2009 by Sam

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sure it was used even though I purchased the "New" one
Bought this movie and the first thing it said when I put it into the Blu-Ray player was "this movie has been played before." Even though I had to pay for the "New" one -.-
Published 2 months ago by Shane Pedersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Déjà vu, Dec 17 2009
By 
Sam (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
It was odd, when I watched The Prosposal, everything seemed like I had already seen it before. That's what chick flicks are, I suppose. However, the movie was quite entertaining, and I laughed and smiled throughout it.

Margaret Tate (Sandra Bullock) is an editor, whose assistant, Andrew Paxton (Ryan Reynolds), works as a slave for her, hoping to attain a position as an editor within a few years. He knows everything about her, yet she doesn't bother to know anything about him. Everybody in the office hates her because all she seems to care about is her job.

One day, she is informed that something is wrong with her documents and she is going to get deported, even though she is Canadian - I don't know why a Canadian would get deported from the US, but that's what happened in the movie.

As things turn out, she asks Andrew to lie to everyone, saying that they're engaged so that she won't get deported. The lie, however, goes out of hand. Will Margaret get what she wants? Or will Andrew get sent to jail and fined $250,000 for lying for Margaret? Or will something else happen?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy + Drama + Sandra Bullock = Feel-good movie!, July 15 2010
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
Sandra Bullock is one of my favorite female stars, so it was no surprise that she gave a fine performance as Margaret in The Proposal (Single Disc Widescreen). She's a lovely, likable person in real life and was perfect casting for this role of a New York editor who blackmails her assistant (Andrew, played by Ryan Reynolds) into proposing to her so she can avoid deportation to Canada. Turn-about being fair play, he then blackmails her for a promotion. Although she's a workaholic and a demanding boss, she's really a sweet, mixed-up young woman; blackmail is out of character for her, but she's desperate...

When Andrew takes her to his parent's mansion in Alaska to meet them, they're surprised when he announces they're getting married. The trip is a ruse to convince the deportation officer of the sincerity of the engagement.

The women in the family (mother, played by Mary Steenburgen, and grandmother, Betty White) treat Margaret with utmost respect and learn to love her. Having never enjoyed life with a close-knit family, Margaret develops strong feelings for them. And in the course of staying in their home, she learns what a great guy Andrew really is.

Predictably, Margaret and Andrew develop feelings for each other, yet neither will admit it, preferring to spar instead. The family dog causes most of the hilarious scenes between the couple, not to mention Andrew's lovable grandmother. (Who doesn't love the irrepressible Betty White, still a scene-stealer at 87?)

The only hold-out is Andrew's father who is disappointed in his son for not following in his footsteps; he tries to thwart their plans by conniving with the deportation officer.

This romantic comedy has several unexpected twists and turns, and you'll never believe what happens on the day of the wedding! But Betty White saves the day by pulling some high-jinx of her own.

All in all, I really enjoyed this movie. Comedy + Drama + Sandra Bullock = Feel-good movie! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by Betty Dravis, July 14, 2010
Author of "Dream Reachers" (with Chase Von) and other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great movie. I really like Sandra and Ryan acting ..., July 3 2014
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
what a great movie. I really like Sandra and Ryan acting together. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
By 
Serge Spenard "la bible" (canada quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
very satisfied thank's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sure it was used even though I purchased the "New" one, June 21 2014
This review is from: The Proposal [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Bought this movie and the first thing it said when I put it into the Blu-Ray player was "this movie has been played before." Even though I had to pay for the "New" one -.-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Seller - Fast Shipping arrived 4 days, Feb. 22 2014
By 
Tricia Kolsto (Drayton Valley, AB, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
ahead of time. And anyone who has had stuff shipped to Canada knows that is pretty amazing! This is one of the best and funniest movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE!LOVE!LOVE! IT, Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
I absolutely love Sandra Bullock and with Ryan Reynolds in the picture what a combo! I have already watched it 5 times. They make me smile every time!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable movie - again the deleted scenes would have been great to add., Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
The movie was well done, though I think that the people making the movie and doing the editing know the story line and unfortunately forget that the viewers don't have the background - would be helpful to have more scenes giving some insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the proposal, Aug. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
this is a beautiful movie , it,s a good comedy,entertaining and i love sandra bullock, i have told my friends about this good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love Sandra Bullock?, June 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Proposal (DVD)
Big Sandra Bullock fan, and this is my favorite. Makes one laugh, and wanna cry... Just a good movie light-hearted movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Proposal
The Proposal by Anne Fletcher (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 6.88
In stock on August 29, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews