Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Love it
This is the one and only anime to this day which I see as timeless. With its deep storyline and wonderful characters, I find myself wishing for more.

Hitomi, a young girl from earth as a run in with a young prince, Van Fanel, after he is magically taking to her world while on the hunt for a dragon. Unfortunately, so was the dragon. With her help he is able to...
Published on July 18 2008 by Jocelyn Trim

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A mecha trying to be shoujo. And failing.
Though this series is supposed to be "one of the greatest shoujo series ever", it is, in fact, not. The identity of the director tells it all; this is done by the fellow who did Ghost in the Shell, Patlabor, Macross, and Gundam.

What we have here is a just one of many boring, tedious, uninspired anime that contain little more than giant robots fighting each...
Published on May 17 2000 by Luke


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Love it, July 18 2008
By 
Jocelyn Trim (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the one and only anime to this day which I see as timeless. With its deep storyline and wonderful characters, I find myself wishing for more.

Hitomi, a young girl from earth as a run in with a young prince, Van Fanel, after he is magically taking to her world while on the hunt for a dragon. Unfortunately, so was the dragon. With her help he is able to slay the mighty creature and is taken back (unwillingly) to his world of Gaia, where the earth and the moon hang in the sky.

But not everything is not so peaceful on Gaia. War is coming and soon Van's kingdom is burnt to the ground. Hitomi starts to see visions. But are they real... or not?

Hitomi will need to trust in herself, her friends and her confused heart as she helps to end a war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful product, Dec 10 2008
Containing all 26 episodes of pure Escaflowne bliss, this DVD box set is a wonderful way to treat yourself and it is within a reasonable price range. Fans of the series and people who haven't seen it can both appreciate this product.

This series will appeal to you if you are both male or female,teenage or young adult, fan of mechas or prefer series that are set in non-futuristic worlds. It's got a tiny bit of comic relief, a lot of action, some romance and more whoopmh then you can ever imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal, Jan. 16 2004
I first saw the entire series of Escaflowne in 2001. It redefined what I knew as anime, and from that moment on, I knew that I had experienced something that was one of a kind.
Escaflowne features a fantasy story of a normal teenage girl named Hitomi. She is taken into a distant world called Gaia in which the Earth is known only as the Mystic Moon.
After meeting Van Fanel, a young swordsman with an amazing secret (ok, I'll tell you --- he has wings!), a rich plot begins to develop. Romance that is not sappy, a plot that is not cliche, characters that are interesting, tragic, and wondrous....
This anime is beautiful.
From the music to the story to the entire atmosphere of this enormously entertaining and instantly classic anime, Escaflowne shines. It is a series not lacking in any area, and the fantasy/futuristic feel is an interesting and unique touch. With robotic battles, sword-sparring, games of fate, tortured pasts, torn loyalty in romance, and winged people(!), the sheer ingeniousness of this series will blow you away.
The winged people are an amazing touch... they are not cliche or even angelic, just surprisingly well-done for such a common anime characteristic.
Dont' skip Escaflowne---
This is perhaps the best anime of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Anime series ever made., May 1 2002
By 
Many people will throw around compliments like "The Best" rather easily, and change their minds like the wind. I dislike using that level of description, because usually there's several things competing for that position.
Not, however, in the case of anime series. No series I've ever watched -- and I've watched a lot of them, from Mobile Suit Gundam to Harlock to Metal Fighter Miku and Space Adventurer Cobra -- comes close to matching Escaflowne.
Visually, Escaflowne is stunning. Most series animation is clearly inferior to that found in anime movies, but in the case of Escaflowne it's hard to recognize that this is, in fact, a series. The backgrounds, the main characters, the action, all are done with a warm, lush attention to effect that never fails.
The music is one of the finest anime soundtracks ever made. Composed by Yoko Kanno (Macross Plus, Cowboy Bebop), it captures a spirit of mysticism and high adventure which is perfect for this series. I often leave this disc running in the background because it's so much fun to listen to.
The story... how can I do it justice? The best way to put it is this: for the past several years I have done a monthly anime night at our local Borders, and Escaflowne is the ONLY anime to consistently pull in people of all walks of life. I've seen it enthrall Dragonball Z fanboys, Sailor Moon addicts, 65-year-old grandmothers, 7 year old little brothers, casual Yuppie passers-by, and cynical goth poseurs. It has magic and war, politics and romance, intrigue and action, swords and giant mecha suits, and somehow all of it works to form a dazzling coherent whole that is unmatched in all the history of animated television.
Watch Escaflowne. You will never regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I finished the set with a heavy heart..., Aug. 23 2001
By 
"lallan7" (Fanalia, The Moon) - See all my reviews
Have you ever watched a series end and just wish that there was more? Somewhere in my heart, as I finished watching the last tape, I had hoped that this would lead into yet another series.
If you are even thinking about buying this then listen:
Picture a girl of innocence and hope just discovering her fist crush. Picture a boy set on conquering destiny and saving his land. A man who's honor is his life and who finds his heart torn in a million directions. An enemy who knows his fight is wrong and one who has yet to realize that. Now place that in a setting where both fantasy and sci-fi meet and you have the tip of where this goes.
I'm not going to tell you what happens, because that would ruin the movie. What I can say is that the story has depth. It isn't the easiest to understand, but its worth taking the time to try. The people are complex and dynamic, learning from their mistakes and being human in their errors. The villains are true to life, being merely people with different goals and not just evil. They have their honor and their own courage and in their own way they are nearly as epic as the heroes. There is love told in a way that makes it all seem possible. It takes you to the brink of imagination and leaves you out there, making you believe that somehow this might all be possible.
If I had to do it again, I'd buy them without even the slightest hesitation. If one of my tapes goes bad, I'll buy a replacement. It isn't for everyone, but most will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hmmm.. where do i start??, April 8 2001
By A Customer
Every single element of Escaflowne is excellent. The animation... I¡d rate it with 11 out of 10 stars! Every scene is so rich with details, colors and emotions; from the fluttering feathers from Van¡s wings, to the raindrops trickling on Hitomi¡s face, the flappings of Escaflowne & Scherazade¡s cape as they battle each other as the sun sets beyond the horizon, the clash of the swords, Atlantis... Some animes I¡ve seen have very flat animation that ignores a lot of detail resulting in inanimate looking characters. Kawamori Shoji had once again proved himself a master of aesthetic direction in Escaflowne as he did in Macross Plus, you can see the life, spirit and emotions peering out of each character¡s eyes.
Getting to the storyline, I won¡t disclose anything on the plot, that¡s for you to find out! Dimensions within dimensions, the plot blends science fiction with medieval fantasy (dragons, swords, knights, all the grandeur of a majestic empire) to the futuristic elements of robotic technology, without making it feel too futuristic. The plot is also very direct and not dragging us around in circles of confusion, despite the many elements contained in the plot mentioned above. In the end, you can see clearly how each character serves a major purpose in the plot and not just being a ¡§minor supporting role¡, and how each character relate to one another, it¡s just such a strong conclusion to the story. I also think that the plot builds the characters very well in only 26 episodes. To compare it with some other animes that drag up to more than 100 episodes and loses its focus with too many minor plots within its storyline. Escaflowne retains its one focus of the plot, it does not sidetrack here and there, and yet, it serves the purpose of character building very well. One other element I¡d like to mention in the plot is the way humor is portrayed. Compared to other series that uses too much SDs in each scene, I¡m glad that it¡s not used at all in Escaflowne (at least not that I know of, did I doze off?). The absence of SDing the characters in Escaflowne had kept the characters¡ personality and charisma intact. Humor is presented without exaggeration, and mostly in Merle and Hitomi as part of their personality, while the other characters retain their seriousness and charisma (without seeming frigid). Bravo to the scriptwriters!
I could go on and on and on. Simply said, it¡s just plain amazing. Plain beautiful. Plain heartwarming. It will put tears in your eyes. Animation¡s beautiful, story is so unique and amazing, music is so compelling that it breathes more life into every scene. Of course, all this satisfaction can only generate from an English subtitled one. I¡ve heard so many complaints regarding the dubbed version aired on FoxKids, but then again, NAME ONE DUBBED VERSION OF ANYTHING THAT'S EVER BETTER THAN SUBTITLED? Yeah, didn¡t think so. So all of you who's reading this review, what are you WAITING FOR! Without further ado, make haste and get your boxed set NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re: Luke Merritt's Review..., March 4 2001
By 
Andrew Wagster (Bremerton, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
...Apparently, Mr. Merritt was somehow under the impression that Vision Of Escaflowne was supposed to be a shoujo anime-- and it definitely is not. Characters like Merle add shoujo elements to the series, but overall, Escaflowne is more of a dramatic series than anything, and this becomes obvious two or three episodes in. If you're looking for a shoujo series, go watch Card Captor Sakura (NOT the butchered US version that Fox is showing, but the original), or Fushigi Yuugi.
If Escaflowne isn't a shoujo anime, what is it? That's easy-- it's an awesome, medieval series, with mechs thrown in for good measure. I wouldn't go so far as to say it was better than Neon Genesis Evangelion (which DID have an ending, just not a conventional one), but it comes close. The character design is excellent, the story is great, and moves at a fairly brisk pace, and the ending is thought-provoking but manages to give you closure at the same time (which, admittedly, is something that Evangelion wasn't able to do until the release of End Of Evangelion).
One thing that has bothered me in reading reviews of this series is that a lot of people have problems with the noses of the characters. Frankly, unless people hadn't made such a big deal out of it, I wouldn't have really noticed it, and I think it's a fairly absurd thing to pick at. People have no problems with giant mechs, or cat-people, but if their noses look a little funny-- THERE'S a deal-breaker.
Escaflowne is one of the best series out, period. If you miss it, you're missing out on an incredible epic. But if you do watch it, do yourself a favor, and pick up the subtitled version-- which is a good rule for any foreign series or movie, really. The dubs are almost always abhorrant. Ooh, alliteration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, the pinnacle of the art form that is anime, Feb. 27 2001
By 
"ratboy310" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
The boxed set is a must as if you only buy one or two videos you will go totally insane wasting to see what happens next. It's all about convience besides do the math by buying this set you save around $40 insted of buying the dvd's/VHS's individually Escaflowne is one of the best looking series there is, it pounds most other series into the ground. The story is pure fantasy think fuedal Japan meets the year 3000. The animation is top notch. You will want to watch this again and again. I quickly forgot I was reading subtitles (not a big inconvience). An incredible and imersing story keeps you guessing, and there are some totally insane plot twists near the end! Not just for anime fans. I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning to finish this. My broter and I became so obsessed with this, that we watched almost 6 hours non stop. The characters are all incredible (Folken is hands down the greatest, slickest character anime has ever produced. The score is top notch. Incredible music that made me like orchestral music. There are certain themes such as "shadow of a doubt" which just make you tingle. In my opinion the greatest anime series ever made, that truely accredits anime as an art form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the legenday Evangelion!, Feb. 8 2001
By A Customer
There is an ongoing debate among anime fans about which is the greatest series of all time: Vision of Escaflowne or Neon Genesis Evangelion. Okay, let's compare -
Animation: Evangelion has very good animation, especially compared to American Saturday morning fare. However, its animation is nowhere near the quality of Escaflowne's. Escaflowne has maybe the most wonderful animation ever. Extreme depth, beautiful landscapes, good detail, and a tasteful sprinkling of computer graphics.
Music: Escaflowne's soundtrack (by Yoko Kanno) is amazing. It features numerous styles (Japanese pop, classical, medievale chant, Indian traditional, etc.), and ranges of emotion. Evangelion's soundtrack is good too (especially the opening), but is essentially TV fare, while Escaflowne's music is real masterpiece.
Character developement: This time it is Escaflowne that falls short. Escaflowne's characters have a lot of depth, mysteious pasts, and believeable emotions. However, Evangelion's characters are in a class by themselves in terms of how close the audience is able to get to them.
Storyline: This one can be argued either way. Evangelion's storyline is certainly thought-provoking, but can also be very confusing and inconsistent. Escaflowne's story line is, if not one-of-a-kind, very engaging. The downside is that one of Escaflowne's central themes (Can humans escape the fate of war?) has already been explored by animes like the Gundam series.
Setting: Evangelion is set in the early 21st century (which at times very closely resembles the late 2oth century). Escaflowne is set on a different planet, with both medievale and futuristic elements. You decide which you prefer.
Ending: The Vision of Escaflowne had a good ending. Neon Genesis Evangelion didn't have ANY ending. 'Nuff said.
Bottom line: The Vision of Escaflowne has a slight edge over Evangelion, IMO. Anyway, hurry up and buy it. It is one of the greatest epics on video, and almost everyone should see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the legenday Evangelion!, Feb. 8 2001
By A Customer
There is an ongoing debate among anime fans about which is the greatest series of all time: Vision of Escaflowne or Neon Genesis Evangelion. Okay, let's compare -
Animation: Evangelion has very good animation, especially compared to American Saturday morning fare. However, its animation is nowhere near the quality of Escaflowne's. Escaflowne has maybe the most wonderful animation ever. Extreme depth, beautiful landscapes, good detail, and a tasteful sprinkling of computer graphics.
Music: Escaflowne's soundtrack (by Yoko Kanno) is amazing. It features numerous styles (Japanese pop, classical, medievale chant, Indian traditional, etc.), and ranges of emotion. Evangelion's soundtrack is good too (especially the opening), but is essentially TV fare, while Escaflowne's music is real masterpiece.
Character developement: This time it is Escaflowne that falls short. Escaflowne's characters have a lot of depth, mysteious pasts, and believeable emotions. However, Evangelion's characters are in a class by themselves in terms of how close the audience is able to get to them.
Storyline: This one can be argued either way. Evangelion's storyline is certainly thought-provoking, but can also be very confusing and inconsistent. Escaflowne's story line is, if not one-of-a-kind, very engaging. The downside is that one of Escaflowne's central themes (Can humans escape the fate of war?) has already been explored by animes like the Gundam series.
Setting: Evangelion is set in the early 21st century (which at times very closely resembles the late 2oth century). Escaflowne is set on a different planet, with both medievale and futuristic elements. You decide which you prefer.
Ending: The Vision of Escaflowne had a good ending. Neon Genesis Evangelion didn't have ANY ending. 'Nuff said.
Bottom line: The Vision of Escaflowne has a slight edge over Evangelion, IMO. Anyway, hurry up and buy it. It is one of the greatest epics on video, and almost everyone should see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escaflowne: Complete Collection (Super Legends)
CDN$ 137.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews