Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Excellent produit, accompli ce qu'il doit effectuer.
Published 19 days ago by Al;ain Forget

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars funny movie
funny movie but really stupid

bon film quoique absurde

a écoute ben ben gelé
fumer un gros bat ;) genial
Published 1 month ago by marika


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars funny movie, June 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
funny movie but really stupid

bon film quoique absurde

a écoute ben ben gelé
fumer un gros bat ;) genial
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars mercifully short, March 7 2010
i don't see the appeal of this movie.apparently it's part comedy,but i guess i didn't get the memo about that,because i didn't find it funny.check that.i did actually laugh out loud once.but i forgot exactly what it was i laughed about before the movie was over.so there there are no real laughs.there is however an abundance of crude language,and there's even some full frontal nudity,if that's what floats your boat,though i'm not saying these are good things.for me,the characters are mostly unsympathetic and shallow and inspire nothing more than indifference towards them.the only decent character in the whole bunch has very little screen time.there are a few things that keep it from being a complete wash.the main character has one or two scenes in which he actually seems like he could almost be a decent human being.there's also good action sequence in the earlier stages of the movie,and it isn't boring.best of all though,it's mercifully short,at less than ninety minutes,even with the end credits.for me,Observe and Report is a 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 1 2014
Excellent produit, accompli ce qu'il doit effectuer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another Rogen Disappointment, Oct. 26 2009
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Calling something a "black comedy" doesn't make it good. It makes it a black comedy. There is a such thing as bad black comedies, and Observe and Report is one of them. It suffers from a poor script and a blase direction style. That's why its reviews have been from bad to mixed, universally.

Normally I'm quite the fan of Seth Rogen going back to the classic shoulda-been, Freaks & Geeks. Having said that, I knew that Observe & Report was not going to be like his other films (which is fine). The problem is that Observe & Report doesn't know how to be a successful black comedy. It tries to ride that fine line between drama and comedy (that's the trick), with a big-name comedic star. This has been done previously with a personal favourite of mine, Punch-Drunk Love (also a black comedy). Observe and Report lacks that films' emotion and innovation, and doesn't really go anywhere.

The story is far from original, or engagin: Ronnie (Rogen) is a bipolar mall cop who dreams of being a real cop. Ray Liotta is a real cop who resents Ronnie. That's a pretty far from original setup. Ronnie tries to prove himself, repeatedly, and fails. Eventually he redeems himself, but not before the audience is treated to some unnessesary full frontal male nudity ad nauseum courtesy of the film's resident flasher. Which of course is a cheap comedy trick, not a black comedy trick.

Part of the problem with this movie is that Rogen's character just lacks charisma. You're never really rooting for him during the entire course of the movie. You see his mistakes coming for miles, like a freight train in the night. Yet he steers right into those mistakes, and when they happen you just feel like saying, "Well, I saw that coming..." You never really totally feel for the guy, and that's not Rogen's fault, it's really just the script.

Example: As I said, he's bi-polar. At one point he falls for Anna Faris' character, and he thinks it went well, and he's happy. So of course he thinks he's cured and he takes himself off his medication. I'm sure you can predict what happens after that.

The soundtrack to this movie is one redeeming quality. It really is excellent. Anna Faris is another redeeming value. She's a very underrated actress, and here she plays that vaccuous mall/party twenty-something girl of today just bang-on accurate.

Not a great film. A one-watcher. Rent or buy cheap.

Oh! And "halarious" is not a word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLACK comedy doesn't mean a comedy about people who are black..., Sept. 13 2010
By 
C. Breadner (Saskatchewan, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is a story about a completely unlikeable hero. Ronnie's a absolute loser, and while I didn't at all care what happened to Ronnie, I could not look away from his self-piloted destructive path. Every character in this movie is seriously flawed in a completely believable way.

I laughed out loud several times during out of total embarrassment on Ronnie's behalf. Ronnie completely humiliates himself in front of everyone he tries to impress and emulate. This is certainly a different character for the fun-loving stoner that Rogan usually plays, Ronnie is a bipolar, angry, delusional young man. If you don't think people with mental illnesses are funny, than this is not the movie for you. The other reviewers are right, it is not a traditional Seth Rogan romcom. Seth Rogan actually attempts to ACT in this one, which could be why his die-hard fanbase does not enjoy it. This is hands-down my favourite Seth Rogan movie, because he's not even in it (at long last, his CHARACTER is)... the support cast is 70% of the entertainment (yes, there are OTHER PEOPLE in this movie), his liquored up mother, pathetic gun-toting co-workers, his perverted nemesis (one of them, of course a bipolar paranoid would have several of them) who Ronnie thinks is there to blow up the Chick Fil-A. And last, but not least Anna Faris is fantastic as the skanky, self-important make up girl who will screw anything for a depressant or stimulant.

TWO THUMBS UP FOR AWKWARD LOSERS!!! I bought this movie, and watched it probably 20 times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars complete train wreck, Jan. 11 2010
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Once Seth Rogen opened his mouth I started fast-forwarding this. The story and the script are just jaw-droppingly stupid. What Ray Liotta is doing in this, I have no clue unless they wrote him a huge check?

Honestly, who thinks Rogen can carry any movie let alone one so poorly put together?

If I could this a zero, I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably a 4 but I had to balance it out a bit cause these other idiots that reviewed this movie just didn't get it, Jan. 28 2011
By 
R. Windhager - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow people's stupidity never cease's to amaze me. I'm reading quotes here like "dissapointment" and "I didn't find it funny" it's halarious it's just not a safe conventional movie it's a "dark" comedy you idiot. First of all this film was one of Rogan's best because he's going outside his comfort zone and playing a character that's not comfortable. It's funny how people associate their comfortablity with good and uncomfortability with bad. Art isn't supposed to be comfortable nor is it supposed to follow some sort of instructions the way these other people who reviewed this think. It's supposed to make you think, feel and stimulate. Sorry guys if not everything is wrapped up in a neat little package with a nice bow on top but life's just not like that. If all people want is fluff than go watch the new Matthew McConaughy movie if you want a real movie than check this out. It's one the most original comedies in years and it's halarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Jan. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good movie, but maybe not the kind of movie that you'd like to see a lot of time. But I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Observe and Report / L'agent provocateur (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews