Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Average DVD add-ons, magical cast
From a truly wonderful bittersweet story by Truman Capote (as has been said) comes an adequate adaptation with an all-star cast. Katharine Hepburm seems to be the central character and even if her acting may seem full of mannerisms to some, by now that is neither here nor there. Julie Harris and Henry Winkler rise above many past ill-choices, and the whole cast superbly...
Published on March 1 2002 by J. N. Valente

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Reality Christmas"
"One Christmas" was a film I happened upon some years ago. I did not know that it had been a story or a play, etc. I viewed it because I was familiar with the talents of the late Kathrine Hepburn and the talented Henry Winkler.
The story is not typical Christmas fare, but it is more real than many of the idylic Christmas movies. It is a tribute to the...
Published on Dec 17 2003 by Mark Ebert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Reality Christmas", Dec 17 2003
By 
Mark Ebert (Lancaster OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Christmas (DVD)
"One Christmas" was a film I happened upon some years ago. I did not know that it had been a story or a play, etc. I viewed it because I was familiar with the talents of the late Kathrine Hepburn and the talented Henry Winkler.
The story is not typical Christmas fare, but it is more real than many of the idylic Christmas movies. It is a tribute to the truth that many people struggle 365 days a year--their imperfections not taking a holiday.
Anyone who enjoys the talents of Winkler/Hepburn will enjoy this film; it is not stellar, not is not neccesarily their best performance, but it is a nice piece of "reality Christmas", if you will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Average DVD add-ons, magical cast, March 1 2002
By 
J. N. Valente "jnscav" (Evora, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Christmas [Import] (DVD)
From a truly wonderful bittersweet story by Truman Capote (as has been said) comes an adequate adaptation with an all-star cast. Katharine Hepburm seems to be the central character and even if her acting may seem full of mannerisms to some, by now that is neither here nor there. Julie Harris and Henry Winkler rise above many past ill-choices, and the whole cast superbly gives life to what may come through as a Christmas cliché but is just that extra bit more that has us glued to the screen.
On my part, kudos to Katharine, Swoozie and Julie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Depressing, June 3 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Christmas [Import] (DVD)
A tough story with a tough ending. Looked like it was developing into something heart-warming and hopeful, but it never happened. The little boy meeting his dad after a few years of separation didn't leave me with any warm fuzzies. Left me cold and sad. Not sure what they were trying to accomplish with this storyline but it wasn't a Hallmark movie for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ONE CHRISTMAS movie you can go without seeing!, Jan. 3 2012
This review is from: One Christmas [Import] (DVD)
This is quite possibly the worst movie (let alone Christmas movie) I've ever seen! Fortunately Amazon was selling it cheap, which is the only reason I decided to take a chance. Take my advice, don't waste your money or your time. This is an hour and a half I'll never get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Way overrated!!, Nov. 7 2002
By 
Dubai MovieGuy (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Christmas (VHS Tape)
We love Christmas movies but this was probably our biggest disappointment thus far. Expectations were high with the quality of the stars (Hepburn, Winkler) and the writer, but the quality scenes were just too few and far between. I suspect that people who liked the movie loved the book where the characters were presumably better developed and more likeable. Not having read the book, I found that I just didn't like the people on the screen and by the time they finally get into the spirit of Christmas, I just didn't care! Take a pass on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teacher, Dec 21 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: One Christmas (VHS Tape)
This is a well done version of the Truman Capote story by the same name. As always, the actual story is better, but Henry Winkler comes aross well as a gigolo trying to be dad for Christmas. You can view it with your kids, or use in in school to follow the reading of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Addition to Your Christmas Collection., Oct. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Christmas [Import] (DVD)
A slightly unconventional Christmas Movie, lovely to see Katherine Hepburn again (her last movie) and Henry Winkler together in this unusual Christmas presentation. Two excellent actors, I enjoyed every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This movie was just terrible, March 7 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Christmas [Import] (DVD)
This was a terrible story, poor acting and so lifeless and boring. The aged Katarine Hepburn did not even help it. I am sorry that i purchased this DVD. I can not believe it is classified as holiday favourites!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just okay, Dec 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: One Christmas [Import] (DVD)
I enjoyed it but it was not that uplifting for a Christmas story. It was still good to see Katherine Hepburn in one of her final roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Holiday Movie, Dec 1 2010
This review is from: One Christmas [Import] (DVD)
One Christmas is a great little holiday movie. It reminds you that anything is possible at this time of year and that anyone can change their ways. I believe it may have been one of the last if not the last movie Katharine Hepburn might have done. Henry Winkler is always fun to watch and does a great good in the film, as does Swoosie Kurtz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Christmas [Import]
One Christmas [Import] by Tony Bill (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 7.82
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews