Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and raw - expertly written and acted
The seven seasons of The Shield tell the story of the Strike Team, a street smart but highly corrupt police squad working in a fictional district in Los Angeles called Farmington. It is based on the real life late 1990's CRASH team in the Rampart police division of LA, who used both sides of the law to their advantage, eventually resulting in over 70 officers being...
Published on July 27 2010 by Torval Mork

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THAT GLUE PROBLEM
As stated the show is absolutely brilliantly intriguing, from the hand held, to the cutaways, to the authentic grittiness of the goings on. should rate 5 stars. The problem, and one that has cropped up several times in other instances, are the droplets of glue on three of the disks as well as scratches on others. I did not even try to play them, just returned them and...
Published on Nov. 29 2011 by Stanley Cohen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and raw - expertly written and acted, July 27 2010
By 
Torval Mork (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The seven seasons of The Shield tell the story of the Strike Team, a street smart but highly corrupt police squad working in a fictional district in Los Angeles called Farmington. It is based on the real life late 1990's CRASH team in the Rampart police division of LA, who used both sides of the law to their advantage, eventually resulting in over 70 officers being implicated of misconduct.

The team is composed of detectives Vic Mackey (Michael Chikliss), Shane Vendrell (Walton Goggins), Curtis "Lem" Lemansky (Kenny Johnson) and Ronnie Gardocki (David Rees Snell). They operate out of a converted church known as "The Barn" with the rest of the force which includes detectives Claudette Wyms (CCH Pounder) and Holland "Dutch" Wagenbach (Jay Karnes), and officers Danielle "Danny" Sofer (Catherine Dent) and Julian Lowe (Michael Jace). The captain of the division is David Aceveda (Benito Martinez), who's political ambitions see him climbing up the ladder to city councilman later in the series. This ensemble is joined by some stellar guests throughout the series, including Glenn Close, Forest Whitaker, Anthony Anderson, Francesco Quinn and Laurie Holden.

The pilot is nothing short of jaw dropping - and inserts you straight into the chaos from the outset. One may find it hard to take the side of Vic Mackey after viewing it - but after a few episodes you are drawn to his charisma and no holds barred bravado. Filmed in a documentary style reminiscent of front-of-the-line war correspondent footage, the camerawork is quick and fluid, and serves as a first person perspective on the action. The initial storyline is immediately compelling, and as lines in the sand between the characters keep shifting, allegiances that are tight one minute are gone the next. Mackey is an expert manipulator; the various story arcs see him pull off some amazing manoeuvring to keep him and his crew from having their numerous crimes unveiled only to lead to an overlooked detail that may derail their increasingly complex subterfuge. The last season is nail bitingly intense, and the conclusion has been hailed as one of the greatest in TV history.

Created by Shawn Ryan, the special features provide an in depth view of the creative machine that makes this such a unique series. One of the more interesting vignettes actually breaks down an entire eposide in terms of the writing process, bringing you into the writer's room and interviewing the creative team as they work the story from start to finish. The list of directors who helmed some of the episodes is incredible, including the likes of David Mamet (House of Games), Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption), DJ Caruso, Nick Gomez, John Badham and Guy Ferland. The pilot and final episode were both directed by Clark Johnson, with the entire series shot masterfully by cinematographer Rohn Schmidt.

See for yourself what all the fuss is about - once you start watching The Shield, it's hard to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now...Wait a Minute......, April 9 2013
By 
Breadmanwalking (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This series in one box appears to have packaging issues.....
But what is even more unusual is that I just bought all seven
seasons individually for a grand total of.....$79.10 at the major
retailer in Toronto, you know, the one with 3 letters! It does not
appear to me that any seller or Amazon can beat these prices downtown.
The series is a great watch and if you live in my town you know what
to do.....Each season is $10.00 plus 13% tax if you don't want them all.
This is the best deal I could find....anywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but mind blowing.., Dec 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
It is definitely the most gripping, entertaining series specially uptill season-6. If you like to watch cop, guns, mafia type of shows.. You will love this. It is way better than the Wire, Oz etc.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series at a Great Price!, Feb. 7 2012
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
We ordered this series because we are huge fans of Sons of Anarachy and really like Kurt Sutter's work. He worked on The Shield before creating SOA. The Shield is a action packed, suspenseful and very gritty drama. It is not for the faint of heart as it can be pretty violent. We really like it and have not been able to stop watching it since we bought it. The price and service from Amazon were great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase!, July 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I'm a huge fan of THE WIRE and so far, this has kept my interest to that extent as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating action n drama!!!, March 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The shield was an absolute epic series, It was TWICE as good as Sons of anarchy. Went to vegas and had to buy a DVD player for the room it was that addicting . Best money I ever spent, u won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shield is awesome., Feb. 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
So glad I bought this item. DVDs are great quality, and the book is so cool looking that it looks great on my shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shield, Jan. 16 2012
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The Shield is a very action packed series that is addictive to watch. Once you start you can't stop. I was sorry it only had 7 seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THAT GLUE PROBLEM, Nov. 29 2011
By 
Stanley Cohen (DOLLARD-DES-ORMEAUX, QUEBEC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
As stated the show is absolutely brilliantly intriguing, from the hand held, to the cutaways, to the authentic grittiness of the goings on. should rate 5 stars. The problem, and one that has cropped up several times in other instances, are the droplets of glue on three of the disks as well as scratches on others. I did not even try to play them, just returned them and requested an updated set without the glue and with at least some encasing to protect the disks from the cardboard.Shield: The Complete Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny!!!!!!, Feb. 5 2011
By 
Adam Jonathan Ricker (Moncton, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The Shield was first brought to my attention by watching Henry Rollins perform live. He mentioned that he was going to have a role in the second season of one of my favorite shows (Sons Of Anarchy), that he was a HUGE fan of The Shield and was quite saddened when the series ended.

Little did I know just what kind of viewing experience my fiance and I were in for when we popped in that first disc......

NON STOP ACTION, PEOPLE!!!!!! From the opening title (which is in your face and to the point, much like the show) to the end credits. The laughter, drama, anger, and disgust you feel towards the characters is unbelievable.

I had only been exposed to NYPD BLUE as a "Cop Drama" and so I really was not prepared for the gritty, graphic content of The Shield, which I am glad of. I think if we knew what we were getting into the excitement would not have been as heightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 284.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews