Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and raw - expertly written and acted
The seven seasons of The Shield tell the story of the Strike Team, a street smart but highly corrupt police squad working in a fictional district in Los Angeles called Farmington. It is based on the real life late 1990's CRASH team in the Rampart police division of LA, who used both sides of the law to their advantage, eventually resulting in over 70 officers being...
Published on July 27 2010 by Torval Mork

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series / Misleading Description
This is a great series. I won't comment on that but on the 2013 Complete Series Edition. Amazon includes all reviews from both the 2009 and 2013 editions, this is very misleading. The product description is wrong, this edition is bare bones. You get the discs of course but no booklet or title descriptions of any episodes. The set consists of the discs stacked one on top...
Published 2 months ago by Tertullian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and raw - expertly written and acted, July 27 2010
By 
Torval Mork (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The seven seasons of The Shield tell the story of the Strike Team, a street smart but highly corrupt police squad working in a fictional district in Los Angeles called Farmington. It is based on the real life late 1990's CRASH team in the Rampart police division of LA, who used both sides of the law to their advantage, eventually resulting in over 70 officers being implicated of misconduct.

The team is composed of detectives Vic Mackey (Michael Chikliss), Shane Vendrell (Walton Goggins), Curtis "Lem" Lemansky (Kenny Johnson) and Ronnie Gardocki (David Rees Snell). They operate out of a converted church known as "The Barn" with the rest of the force which includes detectives Claudette Wyms (CCH Pounder) and Holland "Dutch" Wagenbach (Jay Karnes), and officers Danielle "Danny" Sofer (Catherine Dent) and Julian Lowe (Michael Jace). The captain of the division is David Aceveda (Benito Martinez), who's political ambitions see him climbing up the ladder to city councilman later in the series. This ensemble is joined by some stellar guests throughout the series, including Glenn Close, Forest Whitaker, Anthony Anderson, Francesco Quinn and Laurie Holden.

The pilot is nothing short of jaw dropping - and inserts you straight into the chaos from the outset. One may find it hard to take the side of Vic Mackey after viewing it - but after a few episodes you are drawn to his charisma and no holds barred bravado. Filmed in a documentary style reminiscent of front-of-the-line war correspondent footage, the camerawork is quick and fluid, and serves as a first person perspective on the action. The initial storyline is immediately compelling, and as lines in the sand between the characters keep shifting, allegiances that are tight one minute are gone the next. Mackey is an expert manipulator; the various story arcs see him pull off some amazing manoeuvring to keep him and his crew from having their numerous crimes unveiled only to lead to an overlooked detail that may derail their increasingly complex subterfuge. The last season is nail bitingly intense, and the conclusion has been hailed as one of the greatest in TV history.

Created by Shawn Ryan, the special features provide an in depth view of the creative machine that makes this such a unique series. One of the more interesting vignettes actually breaks down an entire eposide in terms of the writing process, bringing you into the writer's room and interviewing the creative team as they work the story from start to finish. The list of directors who helmed some of the episodes is incredible, including the likes of David Mamet (House of Games), Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption), DJ Caruso, Nick Gomez, John Badham and Guy Ferland. The pilot and final episode were both directed by Clark Johnson, with the entire series shot masterfully by cinematographer Rohn Schmidt.

See for yourself what all the fuss is about - once you start watching The Shield, it's hard to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series / Misleading Description, March 11 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great series. I won't comment on that but on the 2013 Complete Series Edition. Amazon includes all reviews from both the 2009 and 2013 editions, this is very misleading. The product description is wrong, this edition is bare bones. You get the discs of course but no booklet or title descriptions of any episodes. The set consists of the discs stacked one on top of another in a book style format. There is one extra disc and commentaries on most episodes but if you are looking for a collectors edition this isn't it. If you just want the series and nothing else then this is what you want. I bought it for $23.49 in December 2014 so the price was right. I have seen many other reviews from other products including books and DVD's on Amazon where they include reviews and product descriptions from other products with the same name so reading reviews before you buy is important. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny!!!!!!, Feb. 5 2011
By 
Adam Jonathan Ricker (Moncton, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The Shield was first brought to my attention by watching Henry Rollins perform live. He mentioned that he was going to have a role in the second season of one of my favorite shows (Sons Of Anarchy), that he was a HUGE fan of The Shield and was quite saddened when the series ended.

Little did I know just what kind of viewing experience my fiance and I were in for when we popped in that first disc......

NON STOP ACTION, PEOPLE!!!!!! From the opening title (which is in your face and to the point, much like the show) to the end credits. The laughter, drama, anger, and disgust you feel towards the characters is unbelievable.

I had only been exposed to NYPD BLUE as a "Cop Drama" and so I really was not prepared for the gritty, graphic content of The Shield, which I am glad of. I think if we knew what we were getting into the excitement would not have been as heightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but mind blowing.., Dec 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
It is definitely the most gripping, entertaining series specially uptill season-6. If you like to watch cop, guns, mafia type of shows.. You will love this. It is way better than the Wire, Oz etc.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series at a Great Price!, Feb. 7 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
We ordered this series because we are huge fans of Sons of Anarachy and really like Kurt Sutter's work. He worked on The Shield before creating SOA. The Shield is a action packed, suspenseful and very gritty drama. It is not for the faint of heart as it can be pretty violent. We really like it and have not been able to stop watching it since we bought it. The price and service from Amazon were great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the very best series ever created for television, Dec 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Quite possibly, the very best series ever created for television. Realistic, earthy, gritty, brutally honest. A straightforward look at the underbelly of big city America (and, likely, of western civilization)---something that those of us living the good life (or even only a satisfactory one ) in relative comfort and safety never see and, honestly, don't wish to see. Police work isn't black and white, cut and dried, right and wrong. Something lost on a lot of folks these days. But that's a different discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beware that this series only has closed captioning for the ..., Feb. 2 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Beware that this series only has closed captioning for the first six series. series seven is not cc. the only series 7 I've found having it is the UK version. but the deal for $20 on this means it doesn't make sense to buy the UK 7 series for 10 pounds. almost the cost of the whole thing.

The series can be a bit long but the wait for the last season, 7, is worth it. You find afterwards that you keep revisiting the story and want to explore the twists that lead to the conclusion again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top 5 Show of All Time., Nov. 28 2014
By 
Trevor "Trevor" (Saskatoon, Sk. Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Shield in my view is one of the top 5 shows of all time. It had one of the best final seasons ever made, I would say that only Breaking Bad's final season was better. Michael Chiklis is a bad, bad man in this series, but you cheer for him.

At this price there is no better TV series deal on the market by a long shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I can't really say anything bad about this, March 8 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can't really say anything bad about this. I LOVE The Shield and was so happy to Re-watch the whole series at my leisure.

I wish the box set was more special looking overall but it cost me under $30 in total so I really can't complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intoxicating action n drama!!!, March 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The shield was an absolute epic series, It was TWICE as good as Sons of anarchy. Went to vegas and had to buy a DVD player for the room it was that addicting . Best money I ever spent, u won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shield: The Complete Series (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 528.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews