Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movie
Peter Almodovar is one of my favorite film director, All about my mother is - in my opinion - one of his top movies.
The story is interesting, excellent set up in spanich major cities, superb acting...There are not many movies I want to see for the second or third time; I can watch this movie many times.
Published 10 months ago by Eva Mickova

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Struggle Between Heartbreak and Hope
Pedro Almodovar's All About My Mother contains more pure emotion than anything Hollywood puts out these days. The film follows the turbulent life of Manuela (Cecilia Roth) who tragically loses her teenage son Esteban (Eloy Azorin) after they both attend a performance of A Streetcar Named Desire. Esteban is killed when he is hit by a car while chasing after actress Huma...
Published on Jan. 18 2003 by Steven Y.


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movie, June 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: All About My Mother (DVD)
Peter Almodovar is one of my favorite film director, All about my mother is - in my opinion - one of his top movies.
The story is interesting, excellent set up in spanich major cities, superb acting...There are not many movies I want to see for the second or third time; I can watch this movie many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL PERFORMANCES FOR A TWISTED PLOT., Aug. 14 2000
Another excellent masterpiece by the one an only Almodovar, this film is quite darker than his previous movies. However, the twisted plot is there as always, as well as the unexpected ending and wonderful acting. Cecilia Roth does a great performance as the dramatic Manuela, who loses her only son to a car accident while chasing after the theater star "Huma Rojo", played by Marisa Paredes, whose glamour and beauty make her ideal for this role. However, the real star is Antonia San Juan, who literally steals the show whenever she is on screen. Her character lightens up the somewhat sad story with her witty remarks and "perverse" naivete. Also Penelope Cruz makes a great performance of "Rosa", a nun who gets pregnant by another prostitute who happens to also be the father of Manuela's child. However, the fact of her wanting to travel to El Salvador to help in the war is quite inaccurate, as the war in that country has been over for ten years now, unless the story was supposed to take place in the 80's but who knows, they never clarify that. Overall, it's a great movie and a "must see", not suitable for the closed minded, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, March 15 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Probably my favourite film of all time!
Almodovar does it every time without fail.
He creates stories using characters that would be unsympathetically portrayed by other directors, yet he creates empathy within you even for the most screwed up them.
In this story, dealing with the love a mother has for her son, and her tragic loss when he dies, you meet prostitutes, transsexuals, transvestites and nuns with HIV!
Sounds ridiculous, but the director is a genius.
It's worth noting that this film won an Oscar for Best International Movie.
A truly moving, emotional, funny and thought provoking story, with colourful characters and told with genuine warmth.
I defy anyone not to be moved...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Almodovar film, April 6 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All About My Mother (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
My favorite Almodovar film to this date. He finally combines the best of his older, absurdist films, with his new found
maturity and real emotion that began to emerge in 'Flower of My Secret' and 'Live Flesh'.

A woman's son dies, while trying to get an autograph from a great actress, leaving his mother bereft, and trying to
start a new life. I won't give away any details, but her journey is both funny and tragic, and leads to some terrifically
unexpected and sometimes ironic places. Full of odd and wonderful characters, and some very strong acting. A bit
cute or 'forced' in a few moments, but overall a moving, special and wonderful film. If you don't know Almodovar's
work, this is an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a womens' world-even the men want to be women!, July 14 2004
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
The death by accident of a mother's much loved son compels her to go to Barcelona and inform the father, who doesn't even know of the boy's existence. Finding the father is not so easy and by going to Barcelona, the mother digs back into a world she had left behind in order to bring up her son. It is a sordid but colourful world with transvestite prostitutes, junkies, an AIDs riddled nun, divas, and the usual associates of one's past. Remember that this is Almodovar, not Ivory-Merchant. However, these people are not displayed as freaks, but portrayed sympathetically. Almodovar celebrates their lives. He does not pass judgement.
Like other Almodovar films, the complex story line shows the strains that pull apart and bring together relationships. The emotional lives of the characters are laid bare. While there may be melodrama, there is a strict avoidance of sentimentality. The acting is wonderful, especially Cecilia Roth, who for some reason reminds me of the British actress, Hannah Gordon.
My only criticism is the use of coincidence. This is also a feature of other Almodovar's films; but here he stretches it a bit far. For instance, first the Cecilia Roth character steps in to take the part of an actress in a professional stage play, to great acclaim, and then when she leaves it, her transvestite friend, who as far as I know has never acted in his life, effortlessly takes over. This is a small criticism. "All About My Mother" is a splendid film by a great film maker. Without being a dreary feminist polemic, it is a celebration of women in all their roles: as mothers, as lovers, as carers; and to those who want to be women. Warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars parents were people long before they ever had you, March 15 2004
By 
momazon "cjd" (Astoria, NY USA) - See all my reviews
The title character here --- the man behind the "my" in "All About My Mother" -- actually dies in the beginning of the film, on his 18th birthday, right after he asks his single mother to finally tell him about his father. She never has, and he dies without the knowledge.
Greatly aggrieved, she decides to fulfill his wish post-humously. She takes the train from Madrid to Barcelona -- from where she ran away when pregnant and had never returned. It turns out that she used to appear in a theater group's rendition of "A Streetcar Named Desire". She finds the theater that features the same play (in fact, she and her son had seen the same traveling theater group in Madrid the night he died.) She takes a job there and makes friends with the two lesbian stars of the play. She also reconnects with her friends from her past life, althogh not all --- Lola is conspicuously missing, and everyone wonders where she is.
Catch Penelope Cruz well-cast in a spectacularly understated role as Sister Rosa, a pregnant nun. She is excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truth is beyond any preset limits, March 7 2004
By 
You must be Spanish today to be able to produce such a film entirely dedicated to the concept of the « son ». The real son who was born, raised and educated by his mother, because of the total absence of the father, because the father is not « presentable » to the son, because teh father is a semi-transexual transvestite, what's more addicted to heroin and infested with AIDS. The film becomes poignant, a lot more than sentimental, compassionate, pathetic or any thing else of the kind, when one mother who has just lost her teenage son from this father meets with a nun who is carrying the not yet born son of this very same father. It could become bleak since the new mother is HIV positive, or even densely black since she dies during delivery, and yet it remains luminous when the father discovers the truth about his first son and then discovers his second son, a few weeks before he, this father, dies. This luminosity is multiplied because an actress who is performing Blanche in « A Streetcar Named Desire », brings into the film all the dense meaning conveyed by this situation and the author of the play. Never the film becomes critical. Never the film hides or distanciates the situation and the professions of some of these newly born « women ». Never the film becomes gross or sickening. It is a master piece on a fundamental and essential problem in our societies, a problem that concerns millions and millions of people, men, women and children alike : gender identity and AIDS. To hide it would be a crime.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I went after my son's heart", March 3 2004
By 
S. Calhoun "rhymeswithorange" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Watching ALL ABOUT MY MOTHER is a strange journey; just when you think it went off on a tangent, it pulls the viewer back in with authentic and convincing emotional portrayals of grief and loss, which ultimately results in a satisfying film. Spanish films, and in particular Pedro Almodovar films, are well crafted and worth searching out in the video store, and ALL ABOUT MY MOTHER doesn't disappoint. This film follows the story of Manuela who loses her beloved son Estaban in a car accident. After his death she realizes that his biggest wish is to know who his father is. Traveling from Madrid to Barcelona Manuela engages on a trip that is both geographical and emotional. She eventually comes to terms with her ex-husband Lola, who is a cross-dresser and drug addict. The story of Lola is deeply sad and unsettling. Equally thought provoking is Penelope Cruz's performance as a nun whose life is turned upside down after being intimate with Lola. There are no quintessential Hollywood happy endings in this film, rather just honest and realistic partings of the characters. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd edition of another fine Almodovar film, Dec 16 2003
By 
audrey (white mtns) - See all my reviews
Manuela has just lost her son in a traffic accident and travels to Barcelone to look up old friends, including the transvestite who abandoned her 18 years ago never knowing she was pregnant. She reestablishes old friendships and makes new acquaintances as she looks for the father, and finds him at the end of the film.
One interesting thing about this film is the concept of gender. Almodovar is a director who typically works with strong actresses and writes well for women, and this film, dedicated to actresses and mothers, is particularly interesting as an exploration of female relationships. In "An Intimate Conversation with Pedro Almodovar", a 24-minute dvd feature, he states that one of the ideas he wants to examine is the "natural solidarity of women" -- not your typical take on female relations, at least in the US. These are women who are lost or experiencing loss, and they bring strength to each other and build friendships even in their grief. There are few men in the film, and though they are pivotal to the action they are only tangentially present -- one dies, two are transvestites and one has advanced Alzheimer's.
Another thread that runs through the film is the play A Streetcar Named Desire. Manuela met her husband while playing Stella to his Kowalski; later her son is killed after they see this play together, and she eventually befriends the actress who plays Blanche.
There are few dvd extras but they will add to your enjoyment of the film. In additon to the conversation with Almodovar, in which he explains themes of the film as well as the process of writing and directing, there is a 3-minute making-of featurette and talent files for several of the actors and the director. The film can be heard in Spanish with English or French subtitles, or you can watch the film with only the soundtrack playing. The music is very nice.
As usual with Almodovar films, this one is emotionally riveting and thought-provoking -- a great film to see with friends or on your own. Another success for this intelligent and provocative director-writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential to the true film fanatic, Sept. 14 2003
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
"All About My Mother" eschews the trite little star-studded pap that passes for drama in Hollywood these days, and carries with it a tremendous pedigree: masterful acting (some of the best I've seen in years), a great script, and possibly the most underrated director in film today, Pedro Almodovar.
Almodovar has hit a few bumps in his time ("Live Flesh", "Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down"), but this one is the goods. Being a guy who digs mindless action flicks as well as tasteful foreign cinema, I can honestly say I almost cried at the end of this one. Cecilia Roth is the rope that anchors the entire cast, made up of old/young/transgendered women, and the emotion that permeates through the screen is considerable.
Penelope Cruz? Who knew she could act? I still think they should keep her away from the Hollywood machine; she performs adequately here.
As other reviewers have stated, it's a torturous ride, but one that pays off double by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf8a3978)

This product

All About My Mother (Sous-titres français)
All About My Mother (Sous-titres français) by Pedro Almodóvar (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 19.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews