Customer Reviews


364 Reviews
5 star:
 (235)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie
any interest in radio astronomy? This movie is for you.. a lot of great background at the VLA .
The story gets a little metaphysical whacko at the end but otherwise pretty entertaining. blue ray looks great.
recommended.
Published 5 months ago by trekkerkev

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Was this a movie or did they try to promote CNN?
When you want to create a world for a big budget science fiction movie, it has to litterally be it';s own world with little or no connection with the everyday world. Showing CNN news casters in this movie from start to finish was clearly a case of over-kill and took away from what the film was supposed to be, had George Lucas or Steven Spielberg made this movie, it would...
Published on Oct. 18 2002 by D.W. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars We have contact, April 7 2014
By 
M. Sockel (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is both a thoughtful and evocative movie that postulates what would happen if aliens try to contact us. How would we respond?

There are some action pieces, but on the whole this is a reflective film. If I am honest Jodie Foster plays Jodie Foster and Matthew Mcconaughey phones it in... but that does not detract from a tale of cosmological proportions.

If I am honest, I am slightly disappointed that this does not go as far as Carl Sagan's excellent book, but it is interesting to see how the legacy of both echoes down today, particularly in the heavily "Contact" influenced The Call of The Black River (The Spirals of Danu), which is just superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice emotional sci-fi movie..., Jan. 30 2014
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Contact (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When it was released waaay back in 1997, the movie may have been a sleeper hit, but it seems to have resonated with its audiences ever since. The many religious implications, emotional choices and everything in-between all forge an A to B plot, not as challenging as one may think but still a honest to goodness great effort in filmmaking. A few scenes truly stand out from the movie, all showing amazing cinematography and editing. Alan Silvestri's music is sweet, engaging and helps put you in the mood for Jodie Foster's character and her whole epic inside journey, which is only magnified by the events she is forced to go through... the ensemble cast is just top notch. From Matthew MacConnaghey to James Woods, everyone does a fine job if caricatured at times, for some parts are quite one-dimensional. Nevertheless, director Robert Zemeckis was at the height of his career, strong from his Forrest Gump success, he could do anything and anyone would have provided... and this picture shows it. "Contact" may not be the "be all end all" of sci-fi/religion movies, but it sure is a competent effort.

Special features are just the same as your old DVD, so if you're looking for a reason to trade format, your best bet is to consider the audio and picture elements, which are far superior in every way to their DVD counterpart.

Thanks for reading, by the way :) and should you be so inclined to bet Contact on blu-ray, I trust you'll enjoy it time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, Nov. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Contact (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
any interest in radio astronomy? This movie is for you.. a lot of great background at the VLA .
The story gets a little metaphysical whacko at the end but otherwise pretty entertaining. blue ray looks great.
recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Good Quallity, Sept. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Contact (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A definite must for any space/ sci-fi fans out there. Always a fun thing to think about - contact with extra terrestrials. This Carl Sagan story is beautifully adapted and jodie foster does a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars trying to answer thr ageold question, Aug. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Contact (DVD)
Here we try to answer the age-old question: are there civilisations on other planets? This one tries to tell us that there is but how to reach them still is left unanswered. We build what is purported to have been sent by this one but dis we get there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Cult film for me", July 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Contact (Keepcase) (DVD)
I have seen the movie may times and love it very much.

Presently, I am "stocking up" for my retirement (in about 1 1/2 years from now).
So for now, aside from unwrapping it and putting on the shelf, nothing.

Jean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Was this a movie or did they try to promote CNN?, Oct. 18 2002
When you want to create a world for a big budget science fiction movie, it has to litterally be it';s own world with little or no connection with the everyday world. Showing CNN news casters in this movie from start to finish was clearly a case of over-kill and took away from what the film was supposed to be, had George Lucas or Steven Spielberg made this movie, it would have been a lot more then what was delivered here, which was not much.
Carl Sagan's best known films and statements on Mankind's place in the universe was much better explored with the PBS series, COSMOS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the buy!, Nov. 13 2010
By 
Michael Matischuk "Tochub27" (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
They did an amazing job bringing this to Blur ray! Worth adding to your BR collection! My only nit pick about BR releases is lack of added content, like deleted scenes and the little extra us movie nuts love! Gag reels and deleted scenes make for a complete disk! On and Inserts would be nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movies, July 12 2004
By 
Edward Sanville "very picky bookmonger" (West Lebanon, NH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of my favorite subjects as I was growing up and into my early 20s, was backyard skywatching and astronomy. I believe this movie accurately portrays the emotional aspects of science in general and astronomy in particular: the sense of awe and beauty when confronted with infinity, and the sense of lonliness felt by everyone with an idealistic passion.
If you have ever read Carl Sagan's books, you'll see that this movie touches upon the usual staples of a Carl Sagan read: the foundation of religion vs. the foundation of science, the mutual misunderstanding and struggle between those governed by curious optimism versus those governed by primal fear, and a demonstration of the dangers of a world that depends on science which is filled with so many people who do not understand it.
Some have argued that they find Contact to be "preachy." I don't really see much of a foundation in that assessment of the movie. Just like in real life, the ultimate philosophical answers are left wide open at the end of this movie, leaving it open to many different interpretations. And I think it's refreshing to see a movie that doesn't follow the contemporary pattern of avoiding any serious discussion about morality and philosophy. These are some of the conversations the human race will be forced to have with itself if we want to survive the coming centuries. Recent events since this movie was released and Carl Sagan's death only accentuate the importance of facing this fact.
I love this movie. From the beautiful computer-generated opening sequence, through the middle sequences detailing the main character's relentless and passionate quest for scientific knowledge and exploration, to the adventurous surreal climax, I felt that I had a personal connection with almost every aspect of this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST!, Oct. 15 2011
By 
Mark "viguy" (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contact (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Simply one of the best movies in my collection. An all-star cast anchor this layered story about contact with aliens, science, friendship, love and most of all faith. I would highly recommend this movie as one of the best movies I have ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3b9842c)

This product

Contact (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 8.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews