Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
The Big Bang Theory is the funniest sitcom that has come along in quite awhile.

In answer to Buddy Ray who gave this sitcom a 1 star, I would like to answer his query of "Who would watch this? The answer is "Anyone who has a mind that enjoys a show involving vocabulary of more than one syllable."
Published on Aug. 24 2010 by Lise A

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Not to my liking
Published 1 month ago by Leon Layden


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Aug. 24 2010
By 
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The Big Bang Theory is the funniest sitcom that has come along in quite awhile.

In answer to Buddy Ray who gave this sitcom a 1 star, I would like to answer his query of "Who would watch this? The answer is "Anyone who has a mind that enjoys a show involving vocabulary of more than one syllable."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored my faith in television comedies, Aug. 24 2010
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
For years I've become increasingly turned off by low-brow brainless laugh-track comedy, and when I started watching TBBT I was instantly hooked - the characters are hilarious, even (or, perhaps, especially) when the show turns into "The Sheldon Show", the writing is clever, and the concepts in the show actually require you to use your brain.

I was especially impressed when the show's rating climbed steadily, proving that there is a market for intelligent, clever programming. I agree with the other reviewer, this show is great, and I've never seen an episode I didn't enjoy - I can unreservedly recommend it, and the single negative reviewer can go back to watching the mindless crap on other channels.

If you've never seen it, you owe it to yourself to try it, you'll love it. (if you have a functioning brain)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WHOLE NEW UNIVERSE OF INTELLIGENT LAUGHS!, Sept. 10 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Well into its third season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is consistently brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
Best SEASON 3 moment (a very hard choice to make): attempting to condition Penny using positive reinforcement (chocolates) - but was also open to "mild electric-shocks with almost imperceptible tissue damage" to have her ready by dinner-time.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself, he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny.
Best SEASON 3 moment: getting high on hash-cookies while on an asteroid-gazing camp-trip and rambling that he 'd rather have a different name as Leonard sounds like having "nerd" in it.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD yet (and Sheldon never lets him forget it). An electrical engineer whose crowning achievement is a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle (and is now working on its liquid waste management solutions). The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Best SEASON 3 moment: turning into Gothowitz by use of fake tattoo-sleeves to pick up "easy morbid Goth girls".

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley.
Best SEASON 3 moment: wearing a T-shirt with a small speaker and a large selection of sound-effects, he uses it brilliantly to dramatize his answers. HOWARD: "But Sheldon, you ARE guilty". RAJEH: "[plays the Law & Order... Doom-DOOM]!"

Finally, Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends - and from her neighbors.
Best SEASON 3 moment: waiting at the hospital with Sheldon taking her medical history. SHELDON:"Migraines?" PENNY:"Well, I'm getting one now!"

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Television!!!, Aug. 25 2010
By 
L. J. Casey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
I don't typically watch television so I didn't know about this show until a 13 year old young lady told me about it....it is in a word "BRILLIANT". I have the first 2 seasons on dvd and look forward to seeing the third season that way too. For the person who didn't think it was funny, I'm sure you like to watch what passes for 'reality' television and you don't happen to posess a sense of humor it seems. There need to be more television shows like this(intelligent) and maybe I wouldn't be cancelling my satelite service. There is really not much on television worth watching anymore. Sad commentary on the entertainment industry as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST SEE" SHOW!, Sept. 1 2010
By 
Ogre (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
If you have a working brain, a decent sense of humour and appreciate wickedly funny, well-written comedy, this show is for you!

Quite honestly, it's the best sitcom since "Titus" and the funniest sitcom I can ever recall watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still funny, and I love it., Sept. 23 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
What can I say? My title review explains it. Just don't watch it at night if you live in an apartment. You'll get complains about how loud you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Franchement drôle, Feb. 7 2012
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
Une des meilleures sit-coms jamais créées, pas niaise, pas vulgaire, très drôle...et avec des personnages qui nous font penser aux gens rencontrés dans la vraie vie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious... You Need to watch this, Oct. 5 2010
By 
L. de Melo (Toronto Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The worst part of TBBT is when the show ends!! That's why having it on DVD you are able to watch episodes back to back...you don't need to wait for the following week. During Season 1, I only caught a few episodes... loved them. So I'm happy that they are now all available on DVD to enjoy.
Everyone needs to watch this show.... you owe it to yourself. I can guarantee you cannot watch one episode without laughing... and if you don't laugh... well I would recommend an appointment to the doctor's office
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This show possess no entertainment value what so ever...BAZINGA! lol, Jan. 4 2011
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
This is a cleverly witted and humorous show coupled with brilliant acting and a well written script. Although Chuck Lorre also created Two & A Half Men; The Big Bang Theory is for the most part, clean humor. For those who are unfamiliar with Star Trek, Lord of The Rings, etc., you may not understand the context of some of the jokes, however; this show is still entertaining. The Big Bang Theory is a must have for any household, it is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Bang Theory, Jan. 14 2011
This review is from: The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season (DVD)
The Big Bang Theory: First, Second and Third was delivered to my place in great time, and we enjoy watching it over and over. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season
The Big Bang Theory: The Complete Third Season by Mark Cendrowski (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 33.74 CDN$ 17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews