Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine Bluffs will reap death.....
My Bloody valentine is one of the better body count films of the early 80's. While the plot is nothing we havent seen before, there are some truly interesting things that set this film aside from the rest of the slasher genre, the two main things being the mine setting which the last half-hour takes place in, and also the actual killer himself. Fans of the slasher horror...
Published on Jan. 28 2003 by TheHillsHaveEyes13

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It happened once, it happened twice..."
"...stop the Valentine Dance or it will happen THRICE!"
Yup, another killer slashing up people acting like teenagers again and again as a smallish town tries to restart a tradition stopped by tragedy a generation or so ago. Hey, didn't we just see this plot in The Prowler? There's also the escaped lunatic returning with his axe set on grind plot put to use (see...
Published on Aug. 21 2002 by Chadwick H. Saxelid


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine Bluffs will reap death....., Jan. 28 2003
My Bloody valentine is one of the better body count films of the early 80's. While the plot is nothing we havent seen before, there are some truly interesting things that set this film aside from the rest of the slasher genre, the two main things being the mine setting which the last half-hour takes place in, and also the actual killer himself. Fans of the slasher horror sub-genre should not be disappointed with this film at all.
There are however a couple of things that disappoint me with this dvd. The first one being the fact that this film is obviously edited and censored in a couple of senes. When I heard about the release of this DVD, I had hoped that the uncut version would at last be released, but alas, this is not the case. Also, the DVD itself is very bare bones. No trailer, No commentary, No production notes, no nothing.
But even having said that, this film still gets 5 stars in my book, its an entertaining slasher horror film that has enough original plot twists to set it apart from the many imitators in the horror genre. Horror fans who enjoy a good late-night body count flick should enjoy this over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bloody good time, Jan. 16 2001
By 
C.H. (Beach Park, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
After a Valentine's Day mine explosion caused by negligent supervisors eager to leave early for the town dance, sole survivor Harry Warden returned the following year for vengeance and left a bloody warning that the town of Valentine Bluffs better not hold a Valentine's day dance ever again...or else. Twenty years later, a new generation of locals (working class twentysomethings who all work in the mine) decide to have a dance on Valentine's Day, and guess who comes out of the woodwork? After the mayor gets a warning with Harry's M.O., he and the police chief order the fun-loving bunch to cancel the dance. They have a secret party at the mine instead, and with the warning unheeded, Valentine's Day suddenly becomes very unromantic.
This is my personal favorite of all the holiday-themed slasher films that trailed "Halloween" and "Friday the 13th". A few redundent characters, like the old man whose warnings fall on deaf ears, or the annoying prankster. There's some good acting and we actually have a love triangle; these movies usually don't bother with subplots or much character development. Having several terrified people trapped in a coal mine with a psychotic heavy-breathing miner is a novel touch. Too bad this didn't do much at the box office, an intended sequel was canceled. In 2001, director George Mihalka approached Paramount about doing a "20 years later" sequel, as well as an uncut DVD release, but they didn't give him the time of day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It happened once, it happened twice...", Aug. 21 2002
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"...stop the Valentine Dance or it will happen THRICE!"
Yup, another killer slashing up people acting like teenagers again and again as a smallish town tries to restart a tradition stopped by tragedy a generation or so ago. Hey, didn't we just see this plot in The Prowler? There's also the escaped lunatic returning with his axe set on grind plot put to use (see Halloween or, better yet, see Prom Night, which has the exact same plot as MBV, more or less). But what raises MBV above the average slasher is the excellent use of an actual mine, which contributes a wonderful atmosphere to the standard yarn. Sadly this DVD release is the R rated cut and not a restored print. Strictly for those nostalgic for the days when you could not find a movie theater that didn't have a Holiday themed slasher opus currently playing or coming soon, others need not apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLASHER ODDITY HOLDS UP BETTER THAN MOST, Oct. 24 2001
By 
R. Neal (LA, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
A Valentine's dance that has the whole town excited. A group of 20-somethings (pushin' 30 by the looks of them) who act like they've just turned 16. A sweet, doomed old lady, a sheriff with a comb-over, and a bartender straight out of an episode of Seinfeld. Yes, there are some tacky things about this movie, but they add to the entertainment value of the film. One wonders if some of these movies weren't meant to be funny...? A faceless killer with a macabre calling card and a creepy underground setting for the film's final act offer up some wild imagery and fun scares. Between scares, though, you might want to see who can identify the most slasher movie cliches to pass the time...was there any movie released between 1979 and 1983 that Kevin Williamson didn't pillage? The four stars are meant to be in the context of the slasher genre, by the way. Too bad this isn't out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Bloody guilty pleasure (note would give it 4.5), Feb. 3 2001
By 
N. Dungan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
Twenty years ago a accident in a mine shaft trapped five minors, the accident happened because supervisers left to go to a Valentines Day dance. Six weeks later one of the men, Harry Warden, is found alive. Harry survived by eating his friends. One year later Harry returned and got revenge on the supervisors. He was sent to a mental hospital. Nineteen years have passed and the town of Valentines Bluffs is having it's first Valentines day dance in twenty years. The police find a heart shapped box with a heart in it and a note, it looks like Harry is back in town and wants all Valentines Day celebrations cancelled. After the dance is cancelled local teens deside to have their own party but this seems to piss off Harry Warden who stalks them with a big pick axe. My Bloody Valentine is bloody great, it's really cheesy, a real 80s slasher film. It's gory and fun, the only bad thing is the actors can't act at all, it sort of ruins the movie a bit. But it is still a good film, lots of gore and a few tence scenes, this is pure 80s. SEE IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Canadian horror film set on Valentine's Day? I'm sold!, Aug. 7 2000
By 
David Grant (Lancaster, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
Well, we have Friday the 13th, Halloween, April Fool's Day, Silent Night Bloody Night.... and now... My Bloody Valentine. Director George Mihalka seems to have his tongue planted firmly in his cheek during most of the movie. It's gimmicky, slow paced, with some truly horrible dialogue. While most films would suffer greatly because of those things, My Bloody Valentine actually benefits from them. After watching an hour or so of goofy set-ups, false scares, and amateur acting, this baby really kicks it into high gear. In fact, it's final half-an-hour is comparable with most of the best films of the genre. The film is often too gory for it's own good but manages a level of restraint that most casual horror fans will appreciate. The only real acting presented here comes from the two male leads, Paul Kelman and Neil Affleck, who manage to play two ex-friends embroiled in a battle for the same woman and seem believeable even though they have to mutter some of the dumbest dialogue I've ever heard in a horror film. I could complain about this film for hours but then I'd be missing the point. Any filmed called My Bloody Valentine obviously shouldn't be taken seriously. It's a cheap, Saturday night thrillfest. And at that level it succeeds. Just don't expect anything on a cerebral level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Creepy Movie!, June 12 2000
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
In the vein of Halloween come's another Holiday Horror movie and like Halloween Depends on its spooky setting to Keep the viewer on edge. After a 20 year break from having the towns annual valentines dance due to a viscous murder, The town decide to leave the past behind them a have the dance, but someone doesnt want the dance to happen so he kills a few people and delivers their hearts in a heart shaped box to the sheriff.After 2 killings the Sheriff informs the mayor that he had better call off the dance before anyone else dies. Some of the local towns people ain't happy about the cancelation and decide to throw a party in the towns abandoned mine. As soon as the party starts the party guests begin to get slaughtered one by one with a pick axe. Even though this movie has a extremely high body count, the gore is pretty much absent from the film because over half the killings are off screen. With the very interesting plot, eerie setting and a bone chilling ending this is one of the greater 80s horror flicks. P.S This was one of the only 80s slasher flicks that didnt produce a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So Sweet, It's Bad For Your Teeth, July 28 2001
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
Oh, why can't we celebrate Valentine's Day in a town called Valentine Bluffs? Well, this town is right next to an old mine, and about 20 years ago, Harry Warden became trapped inside the mine for 6 weeks, found eating an arm of a dead coworker. He was pronounced insane, requesting the town to never hold another Valentines Dance again. Well, the town has decided to celebrate the holiday of love once again. Where is Harry Warden? No one knows. But when people in Valentine's Bluffs are murdered, the Valentine's Dance is canceled. The teenagers won't allow this to ruin their fun. They decide to celebrate (you guessed it) inside the mine. Good movie with diverse death scenes, unusual suspects, and a love triangle. Could the killer be someone in town or is Harry Warden back to break some hearts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad movie, Sept. 7 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
It has been my experience that some of the best slasher films derive from Canada. The classic Black Christmas, the underrated (and a personal favorite) The Burning, and this hidden treasure. Sure the story is predictable, and the acting is sub-par, but let's face it, it's a slasher film. The only difference with this and many other slasher films is this one actually has some creepy moments. I think the setting of the mine is creepy enough. And though I'm not one to praise the death scenes of horror movies, I must say that these were pretty effectively scary. I remember seeing this movie when I was five and being thoroughly entertained. Ten years later, it still had the same impact. A must rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's so bad, it's good., May 18 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
It's almost worth watching the movie to look at the mayor's reaction to finding a warning attached to a bloody heart in a box.
His "Oh, no, not again" is so deadpan that I inadvertently cracked up. Oh, it's a heart...those darn kids!! Hilarious! And the twist in the plot is so predicatable...never trust someone's death if you didn't see it, that's all I have to say. If you didn't see someone die although you were supposed to assume that, then why did you pay to see a HORROR film? Answer: it's a plot twist, silly.
Enjoy. It's not a good film, but it's worth the popcorn and laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Bloody Valentine (Special Edition) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 24.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews