Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine Bluffs will reap death.....
My Bloody valentine is one of the better body count films of the early 80's. While the plot is nothing we havent seen before, there are some truly interesting things that set this film aside from the rest of the slasher genre, the two main things being the mine setting which the last half-hour takes place in, and also the actual killer himself. Fans of the slasher horror...
Published on Jan. 28 2003 by TheHillsHaveEyes13

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It happened once, it happened twice..."
"...stop the Valentine Dance or it will happen THRICE!"
Yup, another killer slashing up people acting like teenagers again and again as a smallish town tries to restart a tradition stopped by tragedy a generation or so ago. Hey, didn't we just see this plot in The Prowler? There's also the escaped lunatic returning with his axe set on grind plot put to use (see...
Published on Aug. 21 2002 by Chadwick H. Saxelid


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine Bluffs will reap death....., Jan. 28 2003
My Bloody valentine is one of the better body count films of the early 80's. While the plot is nothing we havent seen before, there are some truly interesting things that set this film aside from the rest of the slasher genre, the two main things being the mine setting which the last half-hour takes place in, and also the actual killer himself. Fans of the slasher horror sub-genre should not be disappointed with this film at all.
There are however a couple of things that disappoint me with this dvd. The first one being the fact that this film is obviously edited and censored in a couple of senes. When I heard about the release of this DVD, I had hoped that the uncut version would at last be released, but alas, this is not the case. Also, the DVD itself is very bare bones. No trailer, No commentary, No production notes, no nothing.
But even having said that, this film still gets 5 stars in my book, its an entertaining slasher horror film that has enough original plot twists to set it apart from the many imitators in the horror genre. Horror fans who enjoy a good late-night body count flick should enjoy this over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "It happened once, it happened twice...", Aug. 21 2002
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"...stop the Valentine Dance or it will happen THRICE!"
Yup, another killer slashing up people acting like teenagers again and again as a smallish town tries to restart a tradition stopped by tragedy a generation or so ago. Hey, didn't we just see this plot in The Prowler? There's also the escaped lunatic returning with his axe set on grind plot put to use (see Halloween or, better yet, see Prom Night, which has the exact same plot as MBV, more or less). But what raises MBV above the average slasher is the excellent use of an actual mine, which contributes a wonderful atmosphere to the standard yarn. Sadly this DVD release is the R rated cut and not a restored print. Strictly for those nostalgic for the days when you could not find a movie theater that didn't have a Holiday themed slasher opus currently playing or coming soon, others need not apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SLASHER ODDITY HOLDS UP BETTER THAN MOST, Oct. 24 2001
By 
R. Neal (LA, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
A Valentine's dance that has the whole town excited. A group of 20-somethings (pushin' 30 by the looks of them) who act like they've just turned 16. A sweet, doomed old lady, a sheriff with a comb-over, and a bartender straight out of an episode of Seinfeld. Yes, there are some tacky things about this movie, but they add to the entertainment value of the film. One wonders if some of these movies weren't meant to be funny...? A faceless killer with a macabre calling card and a creepy underground setting for the film's final act offer up some wild imagery and fun scares. Between scares, though, you might want to see who can identify the most slasher movie cliches to pass the time...was there any movie released between 1979 and 1983 that Kevin Williamson didn't pillage? The four stars are meant to be in the context of the slasher genre, by the way. Too bad this isn't out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Good Fun, Jan. 20 2004
Paramount pictures had been enjoying success with Friday The 13th, so why not strike while the iron is hot? My Bloody Valentine came out at the perfect time(though not to much financial success) in the slasher heyday. I saw it when I was 5, and thought it was very scary. Now I think it's just silly, but fun! Basically there's nothing new here if you've seen any slasher flicks before. It's just fun to see variations on the subject. This time it's a guy in a miner's outfit, which is actually one of the cooler looking psycho slasher getups. As far as plot goes-Horrible mining accident years back on Valentine's Day. Flash forward to 81 and the killer warns the town not to throw a Valentine bash or there will be hell to pay(even though he starts killing before Valentine's Day). The kids don't heed the warning, tra-la, tra-la. The killer hacks away at our partying kids, gets mixed up in industrial espionage and battles a team of bloodthirsty mutant whales. There's also a subplot of two guys fighting for the affections of our leading lady. Not scary, but fun in that slasher way. I watched this suffering a bad gas attack from a BBQ chicken pizza I had ate earlier for dinner, so it all had kind of a 3-D effect with the dark, stanky, damp mine scenes. As you'll read, the MPAA took a special interest in this film and cut down the gore. I have no idea why coz you wouldn't let your kid watch this anyway. But it's still enough to satisfy. It's no less gory than the later Friday the 13th films. Watch with someone you love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Happy Valentines day indeed, June 16 2014
By 
bruce combatley (greenwood,nova scotia canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine [Import] (DVD)
classic Canadian goodness,sot on location in Cape Breton I've read,nice little horror movie.
I would put this flick in the same catorgory as Prom Night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC!, May 26 2014
By 
C. Wray "beatzinternational" (Toronto, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (Special Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Simply a cult classic this one is. Really nice audio/video quality on this Blu (as to be expected). Thanks very much! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars filmed in cape breton, Oct. 30 2002
By A Customer
just wanted to let you fans know, my bloody valentine was filmed in a small town in cape breton called sydney mines. in case you are wondering, cape breton is a part of nova scotia and nova scotia is in canada. sydney mines is or should i say was a mining town and the mines in the movie are real although no longer operational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TACKY SLASHER, June 25 2003
This is a very cheesy, yet entertaining slasher. Thank you Paramount for keeping the gore shots out. The movie has some seriously gory and disturbing deaths, but they were edited shorter and Paramount didn't bother with a DIRECTOR'S CUT. The transfer and sound quality were A grade and very much worth the $... price tag. For fans of the Friday the 13th series, you will love this cheesy slash fest which is actually a pretty creepy and original 80's flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd My bloody valentine, May 11 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My bloody valetine i bought the vhs 25 years ago.When i found out that they maked it on dvd.So i bought right away i was not disapointed.I watched this dvd with the new extended version.Man they made better,just tottaly awesome.Those death scenes were so spectacular with the extended version i love the 1980's slasher films,and also the 1970's too.This is a must for any horror fans thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic slash-fest!, Oct. 13 2001
This review is from: My Bloody Valentine (VHS Tape)
Back in the early 80s,in the wake of FRIDAY THE 13TH,came this little gem.By it's own standards this creeper really succeeds!If you'd like to check out a cool slasher,here's a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Bloody Valentine (Special Edition) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 12.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews