Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars59
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 16, 2001
After a Valentine's Day mine explosion caused by negligent supervisors eager to leave early for the town dance, sole survivor Harry Warden returned the following year for vengeance and left a bloody warning that the town of Valentine Bluffs better not hold a Valentine's day dance ever again...or else. Twenty years later, a new generation of locals (working class twentysomethings who all work in the mine) decide to have a dance on Valentine's Day, and guess who comes out of the woodwork? After the mayor gets a warning with Harry's M.O., he and the police chief order the fun-loving bunch to cancel the dance. They have a secret party at the mine instead, and with the warning unheeded, Valentine's Day suddenly becomes very unromantic.
This is my personal favorite of all the holiday-themed slasher films that trailed "Halloween" and "Friday the 13th". A few redundent characters, like the old man whose warnings fall on deaf ears, or the annoying prankster. There's some good acting and we actually have a love triangle; these movies usually don't bother with subplots or much character development. Having several terrified people trapped in a coal mine with a psychotic heavy-breathing miner is a novel touch. Too bad this didn't do much at the box office, an intended sequel was canceled. In 2001, director George Mihalka approached Paramount about doing a "20 years later" sequel, as well as an uncut DVD release, but they didn't give him the time of day.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2001
A Valentine's dance that has the whole town excited. A group of 20-somethings (pushin' 30 by the looks of them) who act like they've just turned 16. A sweet, doomed old lady, a sheriff with a comb-over, and a bartender straight out of an episode of Seinfeld. Yes, there are some tacky things about this movie, but they add to the entertainment value of the film. One wonders if some of these movies weren't meant to be funny...? A faceless killer with a macabre calling card and a creepy underground setting for the film's final act offer up some wild imagery and fun scares. Between scares, though, you might want to see who can identify the most slasher movie cliches to pass the time...was there any movie released between 1979 and 1983 that Kevin Williamson didn't pillage? The four stars are meant to be in the context of the slasher genre, by the way. Too bad this isn't out on DVD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2000
In the vein of Halloween come's another Holiday Horror movie and like Halloween Depends on its spooky setting to Keep the viewer on edge. After a 20 year break from having the towns annual valentines dance due to a viscous murder, The town decide to leave the past behind them a have the dance, but someone doesnt want the dance to happen so he kills a few people and delivers their hearts in a heart shaped box to the sheriff.After 2 killings the Sheriff informs the mayor that he had better call off the dance before anyone else dies. Some of the local towns people ain't happy about the cancelation and decide to throw a party in the towns abandoned mine. As soon as the party starts the party guests begin to get slaughtered one by one with a pick axe. Even though this movie has a extremely high body count, the gore is pretty much absent from the film because over half the killings are off screen. With the very interesting plot, eerie setting and a bone chilling ending this is one of the greater 80s horror flicks. P.S This was one of the only 80s slasher flicks that didnt produce a sequel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2001
Oh, why can't we celebrate Valentine's Day in a town called Valentine Bluffs? Well, this town is right next to an old mine, and about 20 years ago, Harry Warden became trapped inside the mine for 6 weeks, found eating an arm of a dead coworker. He was pronounced insane, requesting the town to never hold another Valentines Dance again. Well, the town has decided to celebrate the holiday of love once again. Where is Harry Warden? No one knows. But when people in Valentine's Bluffs are murdered, the Valentine's Dance is canceled. The teenagers won't allow this to ruin their fun. They decide to celebrate (you guessed it) inside the mine. Good movie with diverse death scenes, unusual suspects, and a love triangle. Could the killer be someone in town or is Harry Warden back to break some hearts?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
Not so harmless in 1981, the MPAA made the filmmakers cut out the gory scenes but thankfully when Lionsgate got the rights to the franchise to do the remake, they also released the uncut version of the original, which is what I viewed. While the violence on tap pales in comparison to the stylized violence in the remake, they still have some bite after all these years. There’s a disgusting eyeball gag, the head on the shower pipe scene is even more brutal than before, the nail gun scene is gross. It’s great that old effects still hold up for so long. All in all, an average but entertaining entry in the early days of the American slasher craze.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 1999
It has been my experience that some of the best slasher films derive from Canada. The classic Black Christmas, the underrated (and a personal favorite) The Burning, and this hidden treasure. Sure the story is predictable, and the acting is sub-par, but let's face it, it's a slasher film. The only difference with this and many other slasher films is this one actually has some creepy moments. I think the setting of the mine is creepy enough. And though I'm not one to praise the death scenes of horror movies, I must say that these were pretty effectively scary. I remember seeing this movie when I was five and being thoroughly entertained. Ten years later, it still had the same impact. A must rent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2001
It's almost worth watching the movie to look at the mayor's reaction to finding a warning attached to a bloody heart in a box.
His "Oh, no, not again" is so deadpan that I inadvertently cracked up. Oh, it's a heart...those darn kids!! Hilarious! And the twist in the plot is so predicatable...never trust someone's death if you didn't see it, that's all I have to say. If you didn't see someone die although you were supposed to assume that, then why did you pay to see a HORROR film? Answer: it's a plot twist, silly.
Enjoy. It's not a good film, but it's worth the popcorn and laughs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 20, 2004
Paramount pictures had been enjoying success with Friday The 13th, so why not strike while the iron is hot? My Bloody Valentine came out at the perfect time(though not to much financial success) in the slasher heyday. I saw it when I was 5, and thought it was very scary. Now I think it's just silly, but fun! Basically there's nothing new here if you've seen any slasher flicks before. It's just fun to see variations on the subject. This time it's a guy in a miner's outfit, which is actually one of the cooler looking psycho slasher getups. As far as plot goes-Horrible mining accident years back on Valentine's Day. Flash forward to 81 and the killer warns the town not to throw a Valentine bash or there will be hell to pay(even though he starts killing before Valentine's Day). The kids don't heed the warning, tra-la, tra-la. The killer hacks away at our partying kids, gets mixed up in industrial espionage and battles a team of bloodthirsty mutant whales. There's also a subplot of two guys fighting for the affections of our leading lady. Not scary, but fun in that slasher way. I watched this suffering a bad gas attack from a BBQ chicken pizza I had ate earlier for dinner, so it all had kind of a 3-D effect with the dark, stanky, damp mine scenes. As you'll read, the MPAA took a special interest in this film and cut down the gore. I have no idea why coz you wouldn't let your kid watch this anyway. But it's still enough to satisfy. It's no less gory than the later Friday the 13th films. Watch with someone you love.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2001
This might sound nuts but My Bloody Valentine is one of me and my brothers favorite movies,it has been a hit in our home for over 15yrs. Better than 90% of the slasher films the reason I rate this film high is simple,there is a question as to who the killer is and also when you find out about the killer you realize why he turned out that way. I am still waiting for part 2, and want to know when you will be back Axel,you said you would.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 1999
This film's focus in inducing fright in the viewer is based on the setting. A mine shaft is an original place for a stalker to roam. However, again the audience does not really get to know the characters that end up as victims and they are devalued. The emphasis is not on "who" died, but how they died, typical of an 80's horror flick. What can I say, I loved it...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
My Bloody Valentine [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD]
My Bloody Valentine [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD] by Jensen Ackles (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 20.97

My Bloody Valentine (Bilingual)
My Bloody Valentine (Bilingual) by Various (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 7.99