Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPORTANT BOX SET INFORMATION
The Season 1 box set INCLUDES the Mini-series. Do not select Amazon's 'Great Buy' option to get them both or you'll end up with two copies of the mini-series.
There was a UK release of Season 1 without the Miniseries (also sold in North America by Best Buy only) which is why a separate mini-series only disk exists. You do not need to buy it though with the North...
Published on Aug. 18 2005 by Sean Capstick

versus
47 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy
The Season 1 box set INCLUDES the Mini-series. Do not select Amazon's 'Great Buy' option to get them both or you'll end up with two copies of the mini-series.
There was a UK release of Season 1 without the Miniseries (also sold in North America by Best Buy only) which is why a separate mini-series only disk exists. You do not need to buy it though with the North...
Published on Sept. 8 2005 by garen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPORTANT BOX SET INFORMATION, Aug. 18 2005
The Season 1 box set INCLUDES the Mini-series. Do not select Amazon's 'Great Buy' option to get them both or you'll end up with two copies of the mini-series.
There was a UK release of Season 1 without the Miniseries (also sold in North America by Best Buy only) which is why a separate mini-series only disk exists. You do not need to buy it though with the North American Season 1 Box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue and action, not to be missed!, Jan. 5 2006
By 
Virus (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
After reading all the positive reviews about this series I decided to take a gamble and buy this set. Boy am I glad I didn't miss this series!
The series is really a space drama revolving around the relationships between characters. It does not get dull at any point, and manages to strike a great balance between action and dialogues. You'll see a bit more character interaction than full-out action sequences but trust me...this series is not dry at all. It's also not cliche like I find many sci-fi series are. Plot twists and complications galore, including a major surprise at the end which actually startled me. You'll also see that many characters are not entirely good or bad, but rather struggling to survive. It's interesting to see a sci-fi that's not afraid to have many shades of grey characters instead of the forumulaic "good guys vs. bad guys" war story.
The series also avoids the many trappings of a sci-fi series ie: it does not rely too much on unknown technology and plot devices to further itself. Sure there are space fighters and such, but the weapons used are a little more believable. Nukes are still around and in use, rather than theoretical weapons that many other series use. The rifles and handguns are also not entirely the stuff of fairy tales, they represent what could believably be in use decades from now. Battlestar Galactica offers a vision of the future which still manages to echo current technology. The realistic touch to the sci-fi genre is much appreciated.
Speaking of realism the special effects in this series are top notch. You'll see recycled sequences such as fighters being launched and landing, but the computer effects are extremely good. The Cylons look good and the actors react well to their presence, the result of great directing.
I really felt I got my money's worth with this set. You get the 3 hour pilot episode aka "Battlestar Galactica: The Miniseries" plus all the episodes from the regular season. There are also some great featurettes on how they came up with the look of the show and character changes from the original series from the 70's. All in all you get about 8 hours of special features.
The only downside I've experienced is introducing friends to the series. All your ranting about how good it is gets stalled when you have to explain that your friend must take a chance on a 3 hour episode to get into the story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a worthy drama series, Dec 29 2005
By 
Matthew Ring "M" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Since I seriously had no interest in the original series, I watched the first movie with some trepidation. Although it was a bit bumpy with the actors only beginning to flesh out their characters and environment, I found the whole story very well rounded and pulled together for us in a very appealing and addictive way. Rewatching the initial movie I find I do skip over parts that dragged on a bit but I do rewatch it; something I do very little of.
By the end of the first episode, I was hooked. Wow. The pace and content in the episodes continues to grow and twist you and pull you in unexpected ways and down paths I find compelling and intriguing. The Season 1 cliff hanger has to be one of the most incredible cliff hangers I have ever seen. Definitely in the top five I have every watched. ***SPOILER WARNING*** The fact that it is left to the last five minutes was stunningly well done. I was sitting jaw on the floor repeating a familiar phrase of two words.
Even if you are not a sci-fi fan, I would suggest watching this. The sci-fi is merely a fancy wrapping. The real show is the people, the interpersonal relationships, the hardships and the human nature. The characters are developing nicely and I would be greatly disappointed if they ended the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season one set INCLUDES original miniseries. Don't buy both!, Oct. 6 2005
By 
Scott "word doctor" (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
This is said elsewhere, but cannot be said often enough. Amazon is encouraging buyers to separately purchase both the season one set and the miniseries. The season one set includes the miniseries. You do NOT need to buy both -- unless you want TWO copies of the miniseries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the BG of your childhood, thank heavens!, Aug. 30 2005
By 
Bruno Desjardins (Montreal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
When I heard there would be a new Battlestar Galactica, I was not sure this would be a great idea.
But Ron Moore was to be at the helm and that convinced me to give the series a chance. Who's Moore? He started out writing the best Star Trek "The Next Generation" episodes of the early years before getting on board the "Deep Space Nine" team. He left the Star Trek family during "Voyager" where he worked as a creative consultant getting frustrated by the direction Paramount adopted for that series. So I knew this series would be well written and intelligent... And it is.
It's not the BG of your childhood. The new series' Adama is not the wise and charismatic patriarch Lorne Green was. Adama is now a troubled commanding officer, a true soldier that believes he must fight. His relationship with Lee Adama, his son (Codename "Apollo") is very strained. "Starbuck" and "Boomer" are both played by women in the new series. Colonel Tai, a forgettable character in the original series, is now more believeable as Adama's executive officer... He is not appreciated by junior officers and has a drinking problem... He is an angry man who can get the job done... The government, almost absent from the original series, is very much present in the new series and the President - an idealistic woman who did not choose this position - is at odds with Adama... Their conflicting views make good drama...
I'm quite certain Moore wanted the characters to be complex. No character is more complex than Baltar... Ridiculous in the original series, Baltar has become a facinating character in the new series. Manipulated by a Cylon to whom he is sexually addicted, or maybe even in love with, the guy is not evil... No good guys and bad guys here... Shades of gray and nuances everywhere. Not your childhood's Battlestar Galactica... Life, sex, problems... Even sprituality - which was ever present in the original series that was piloted by Mormons...
The music is interesting. Powerful and subdued at the same time...
The SFX are excellent once you accept that the tactics they use are close to dogfighting in WW2! Then again, in BG technology is not trusted for obvious reasons... The military look and feel of the series is not that different from that of «Space Above and Beyond», a sc-fi series of the early 90s created by people who would later join Chris Carter's «X-Files»...
Again, this is not your childhood's BG: if the main story remains the same, in its execution, the new series is more compelling and intelligent. This is no longer a "shoot'em up" space opera series... This time, survival is important. Logistics are important. Morale is important... There is the fear of sabotage, fear of dying, fear of losing a loved one... Apparently it took robots to create characters that would really be Human...
You missed it on TV? At this price, the 4 hour pilot and 13 episodes are a steal... And since the original series lasted only a year or so, there is a lot of room to create something entirely new in the coming seasons... Bring them on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy, Sept. 8 2005
By 
The Season 1 box set INCLUDES the Mini-series. Do not select Amazon's 'Great Buy' option to get them both or you'll end up with two copies of the mini-series.
There was a UK release of Season 1 without the Miniseries (also sold in North America by Best Buy only) which is why a separate mini-series only disk exists. You do not need to buy it though with the North American Season 1 Box set.
Save youself and dont buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great first season..., Feb. 12 2013
By 
M. Edison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series went off the skids hardcore by the end, but this first season was an amazing look at an alternate history and society. It's a pity the later seasons couldn't live up to the promise of this one, but that doesn't make this one any less of a great viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressed, Jan. 5 2013
By 
Marcus King "Konig" (Montréal, Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought them all when they were on sale at 20$, I usually hate sci-fi tv show because most of them have cheesy plots and crappy special fx, but it's probably one of the best tv show i've ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar Galactica: Season 1, amazing, Sept. 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My boyfriend was very happy to get this last Christmas! Since it's our favorite science-fiction series (after Star Trek TNG!), so much intrigue, action and cool special effects! So well acted! Love it! I ordered it, a couple of days later it was in my mail box! Very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Obsessive, Feb. 7 2012
Fantastic series - challenging and very well written. I watched the whole thing in DVD box sets and couldn't stop!
Only annoyances for me were lengthy introductions to each episode and 1 minute speeded-up summary of what you're about to watch just before episode starts. Why on earth would I want to have a summary of what I'm about to see? It's ridiculous. Aside from that, buy it and buy them all in order - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa470fc00)

This product

Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 [Blu-ray] by Edward James Olmos (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 53.99 CDN$ 46.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews