march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$27.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2010
Meryl Streep a redonné vie à Julia Child. Et ce n'est pas une imitation grotesque, c'est vraiment Julia Child des années 60-70 qui nous apparait. L'histoire est plausible, ayant lu la biographie de Madame Child, même si c'est parfois arrangé avec le "gars des vues".

On reste un peu sur notre faim (et ce n'est pas un jeu de mots) avec la fin. Mais que voulez-vous, le film étant basé sur une histoire réelle, il en est ainsi de la fin

Any Adams est aussi excellente. Je la trouve bien chanceuse de "garder sa ligne" cependant en se tapant à tous les jours ses excellents repas....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon September 24, 2010
A woman with no direction in a dead end job and life takes to cooking and blogging as an escape. This disrupts what little family life she has. A standard formula has been done better.

Other story overlapped is that of Julia. She also is searching for meaning in life and finds she has a unique culinary skill and panache for violent processing of food. This is quit fun viewing.

I immensely enjoyed the interspersed sections that display Julia Child (Meryl Streep) and her husband Paul Child (Stanley Tucci) as you could see their enthusiasm and depth of acting. This could have been great docudrama. The one-dimensional tripe if the interspersed Julie Powell (Amy Adams) could have been left out and nothing would have been missed.

I have only seen the Blu-ray and cannot compare to other forms or media. For the people interested in the media the special features contend the standard as a commentary with Writer/Director Nora Ephron. One advantage is you can fast forward with sound through the Julie parts.

See an early Stanly Tucci in “Undercover Blues” (1993)

Undercover Blues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2010
I purchased this movie (tongue in cheek) because my wife insisted I buy something " girly" after watching Inglourious Basterds. I did not expect the film to be as watchable as it was. Meryl Streep did a wonderful rendition of Julia Child . She had the voice and gestures dead on. Amy Adams, although hopelessly outclassed by Streep and boring at the beginning gave a very strong, funny, realistic performance. The only sad note , understated in the film , was the real Julia Child's refusal to credit Julie's efforts. It sort of boggles the mind to think of Julia Child as petty. Perhaps it was presented to her in a different light. Perhaps being in her nineties she did not understand. Perhaps she saw the whole thing a a ploy to ride on her own hard won reputation. We will never know. Well worth the money and time to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2015
Excellent movie following Julie who walked in the footsteps of chef Julia Child by cooking all the meals in Julia Child's cookbook. The directors did an excellent job following both Julie and Julia through their lives simultaneously which made the movie most interesting. I highly recommend this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2010
Excellent book. Everything he says makes great sense and I totally believe he's right.
I hightly recommend it to anyone looking for a self help guide and doesn't want it to
be too airy fairy. This is down to earth and right on. Enjoy!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2011
I like Meryl Streep, so that factor allows me to rate this film as 'ok'. I found it very drawn out and not alot of action, and quite hum drum. Not her best choice of films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
fast delivery but I dis not realize I was ordering from Italy - I could not use this version in Canada - finally I could read it on my computer with appropriate program
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
A great family movie! A great performance by Meryl Streep (as usual), she captured the spirit and eccentricity of the great Julia Child wonderfully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
Great movie for people of all ages! A little bit of history mixed with modern day life! I highly recommend especially if you like cooking!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon August 16, 2013
Another movie based on a true story. Two great actresses. Very well done in every way. Funny, entertaining, worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse