Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Julia Child is alive!
Meryl Streep a redonné vie à Julia Child. Et ce n'est pas une imitation grotesque, c'est vraiment Julia Child des années 60-70 qui nous apparait. L'histoire est plausible, ayant lu la biographie de Madame Child, même si c'est parfois arrangé avec le "gars des vues".

On reste un peu sur notre faim (et ce n'est pas un jeu de mots)...
Published on Jan. 9 2010 by Christina Agathi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars julie and julia
I found the movie interesting and the recipes that were being made cool. but found it overlong. the book was good too
Published 15 months ago by H. Dole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Julia Child is alive!, Jan. 9 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
Meryl Streep a redonné vie à Julia Child. Et ce n'est pas une imitation grotesque, c'est vraiment Julia Child des années 60-70 qui nous apparait. L'histoire est plausible, ayant lu la biographie de Madame Child, même si c'est parfois arrangé avec le "gars des vues".

On reste un peu sur notre faim (et ce n'est pas un jeu de mots) avec la fin. Mais que voulez-vous, le film étant basé sur une histoire réelle, il en est ainsi de la fin

Any Adams est aussi excellente. Je la trouve bien chanceuse de "garder sa ligne" cependant en se tapant à tous les jours ses excellents repas....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE MONEY, March 22 2010
By 
Byron Freeman (Montreal,Quebec,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
I purchased this movie (tongue in cheek) because my wife insisted I buy something " girly" after watching Inglourious Basterds. I did not expect the film to be as watchable as it was. Meryl Streep did a wonderful rendition of Julia Child . She had the voice and gestures dead on. Amy Adams, although hopelessly outclassed by Streep and boring at the beginning gave a very strong, funny, realistic performance. The only sad note , understated in the film , was the real Julia Child's refusal to credit Julie's efforts. It sort of boggles the mind to think of Julia Child as petty. Perhaps it was presented to her in a different light. Perhaps being in her nineties she did not understand. Perhaps she saw the whole thing a a ploy to ride on her own hard won reputation. We will never know. Well worth the money and time to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense that isn't so Common, Feb. 2 2010
By 
J. Dion (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
Excellent book. Everything he says makes great sense and I totally believe he's right.
I hightly recommend it to anyone looking for a self help guide and doesn't want it to
be too airy fairy. This is down to earth and right on. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, Sept. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
Great movie for people of all ages! A little bit of history mixed with modern day life! I highly recommend especially if you like cooking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, Aug. 16 2013
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
Another movie based on a true story. Two great actresses. Very well done in every way. Funny, entertaining, worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars julie and julia, Aug. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
I found the movie interesting and the recipes that were being made cool. but found it overlong. the book was good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast delivery but I dis not realize I was ordering ..., Sept. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Julie & Julia (DVD)
fast delivery but I dis not realize I was ordering from Italy - I could not use this version in Canada - finally I could read it on my computer with appropriate program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Meryl Streep!, Dec 12 2009
By 
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
I am absolutely blown away by the extraordinary talent of Meryl Streep. In that movie she BECOMES Julia Child. She talks like her, moves like her, it's amazing. I loved that movie and I will certainely try her famous "Boeuf Bourguigon" recipe. This is a very refreshing movie to watch. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 11 2014
This review is from: Julie & Julia Bilingual (DVD)
wonderful feel good story . I have watched this movie over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half of the movie was great, Sept. 24 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Julie & Julia (Blu-ray)
A woman with no direction in a dead end job and life takes to cooking and blogging as an escape. This disrupts what little family life she has. A standard formula has been done better.

Other story overlapped is that of Julia. She also is searching for meaning in life and finds she has a unique culinary skill and panache for violent processing of food. This is quit fun viewing.

I immensely enjoyed the interspersed sections that display Julia Child (Meryl Streep) and her husband Paul Child (Stanley Tucci) as you could see their enthusiasm and depth of acting. This could have been great docudrama. The one-dimensional tripe if the interspersed Julie Powell (Amy Adams) could have been left out and nothing would have been missed.

I have only seen the Blu-ray and cannot compare to other forms or media. For the people interested in the media the special features contend the standard as a commentary with Writer/Director Nora Ephron. One advantage is you can fast forward with sound through the Julie parts.

See an early Stanly Tucci in "Undercover Blues" (1993)

Undercover Blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Julie & Julia
CDN$ 25.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews