Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare treat
This isn't just a good documentary about music...it's just a flat out good documentary period. You don't have to be a music historian to appreciate the stories being presented in this film. It's about three guys and why they love the guitar. Pure and simple.

Warning: If you're a music snob that hates everything made after 1979 than this may not be the movie for...
Published on April 8 2010 by Aaron Taylor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It might get loud but never does!
I was excited to see this DVD being a huge fan of The Edge and Jimmy Page. The background info was truly enlightening and informative but I was hoping to hear the three of them jam way more than they did. I kept getting teased with snippets of what could have been great. Very disappointing!
Published on Nov. 7 2010 by B. Biddle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare treat, April 8 2010
By 
Aaron Taylor (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This isn't just a good documentary about music...it's just a flat out good documentary period. You don't have to be a music historian to appreciate the stories being presented in this film. It's about three guys and why they love the guitar. Pure and simple.

Warning: If you're a music snob that hates everything made after 1979 than this may not be the movie for you. Jimmy Page's screen time only takes up 1/3 of the film. Your best bet is to watch a Zeppelin DVD and go relive your glory days.

The Edge and Jack White's back story are fantastic. They are both engaging characters. Getting to know them and learning how they create their sounds was a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LOVE LETTER TO THE ELECTRIC GUITAR, Jan. 14 2010
By 
D. W. Jenkins "Renaissance Man" (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you are a fan of music played on the electric guitar, do not hesitate another moment. BUY THIS DVD! This is a meditation on rock guitar told through the eyes of 3 very distinct artists, melded together with tastefully shot imagery and a wealth of never-before-seen personal footage and photography that paints a truly authentic portrait of each player. Make no mistake, this is not an ego trip, or a musical wankfest, it's a charming, under-stated look into the hearts of these three influential musicians whose approach and background are as different as their sounds. What I liked most was the fact that it did without all the bravado, melodrama, and sensationalism seen in most rock documentaries. As a guitar player myself...just watching Jimmy Page explain how he came up with some of Rock's most famous riffs was a rare treat. Edge's background in Ireland was equally interesting. And if you like Jack White, get ready to LOVE Jack White. He's amazing in this documentary. Best of all, there's plenty of interesting story and background to intrigue people with a mere passing interest in music, but enough meat for the most studied musician to sink their teeth into. In other words, I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It might get loud but never does!, Nov. 7 2010
This review is from: It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was excited to see this DVD being a huge fan of The Edge and Jimmy Page. The background info was truly enlightening and informative but I was hoping to hear the three of them jam way more than they did. I kept getting teased with snippets of what could have been great. Very disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It!!!, Jan. 17 2011
This review is from: It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
You may have already seen this movie on TV and think why should I buy it?

Well 2 reasons:

1. The Blu-ray quality is worth the price.
2. There is almost 30 minutes of out takes that could have all been in the movie (except for about 15 seconds - you will know when you see it) plus the movie Press conference is fascinating (Jack White could do stand up).

If you haven't seen it - I feel sorry for you. It is one of the best music documentaries that you will ever see. I won't spoil it by telling you what is in the movie - JUST BUY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you won't be able to leave the screen!, Jan. 4 2011
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
i saw this documentary once by accident, i came into the middle of it, and i couldn't leave the tv screen at all! i bought the dvd and it is truly the best rock documentary i've ever seen of these three guitarists. i never really knew jack white and after seeing this story i think he's great. the footage of led zeppelin when talking about jimmy page is fantastic! the edge reveals just how he gets those haunting guitar sounds, quite suprising to me actually. the length of the movie is perfect, you just want to keep watching more. i could not leave the couch when i put the dvd on. have snacks and drinks ready at your side, to pause it would just be crazy! and like the title, it does get loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It might get good, Jan. 23 2010
By 
Jean Sawyer (Longueuil, Qubec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
A good movie. Impressive to see how Jack White can craft a song in minutes!

The meeting of the players gives to the viewer a too few moments of great music

A must see for the musician
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of interest, but not enough, nor a cohesive doc, July 30 2010
By 
B. Keith (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
Moments of interest, but not enough, nor a cohesive doc...

A suprisingly flat movie, with only a few moments really worth seeing...

Also, The Edge is definitely the weak leg in this stool -- this movie wobbles in several respects...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Heroes, Dec 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
From the beginning when Jack builds a guitar out of scrap wood and a coke bottle until the end when they all jam together this is an amazing look at how three masters have honed their skills. They just don't play their guitars they are the guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great film about three generations/legends of rock guitar., June 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent cinematography, excellent sound. Great, engaging characters whose three stories are woven beautifully with their music . Thank you to the director Davis Guggenheim for bringing this to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars guitar greats compare notes, May 27 2013
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
Always interesting to see and hear great/famous guitarists speak of their passions and inspirations.
Loved watching The Edge and Jack White checking out Pages positions and note choice on songs we all THINK we know how to play.
Nice gear too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray]
It Might Get Loud [Blu-ray] by Davis Guggenheim (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews