march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on March 19, 2016
Bon film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
Great movie with awesome visuals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2015
Great movie. Small budget but you would never tell it was. Its done so well and it's very enjoyible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2015
bon film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wow! What a breath of fresh air. A proper bit of human/alien interaction sci-fi which doesn't rely on Hollywood big names or superfluous set-piece fights or explosions. The initial documentary style seemed a little irritating at the time but it didn't last long and introduced the characters and story background effectively - oddly, I didn't notice when it stopped and the 'real film' started.

While the story-line is fairly simple (down-trodden aliens trying to escape human tyranny) the film never lacks pace and the CGI of the aliens is simply incredible - it is definitely the best I've seen. I'm sure there are critics out there who would choose to look at the 'obvious but superficial' South African apartheid parallel but that would be typical of wishy-wash, unimaginative and generally beige thinking so prevalent today.

All-in-all, it is an absolutely cracking film - one of the best I've seen for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 30, 2014
Although I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, some of my friends did not like the first half of the movie...They should have have stayed for the second half. More than anything, this movie shows how one can be both inventive and relevant in sci-fi movie-making. It is, in my opinion, one of the landmarks sci-fi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 27, 2014
This quirky South African Science-Fiction film is one of the best, filled with unusual sights and characters. Instead of the Alien Others being our superiors, those stranded on earth by a plague and perhaps the breakdown of their ship appear as lost souls, members of an extra-terrestrial Underclass. How would the human race treat such visitors? How would we deal with a second sentient species on the planet? The answers here are both unexpected and all-too-predictable.
The extras on the DVD are well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse