Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE NO STRINGS ON ME
The film has a similar theme as "Rollerball." An individual becomes larger than the game, so the game must be changed to take care of the individual. Nanotechnology, the technology that makes friction free ketchup bottles, will allow us to place a controlling chip in a human's brain that will allow someone else to control their actions, speech etc. People pay to...
Published 25 days ago by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gamer Is Much Better Than Expected
I really had zero expectation for this movie; to be honest it was far from horrible, and not too shabby. The plot is basic criminals are implanted with nanotechnology so they can be controlled remotely by someone else. The main character Kable (Gerard Butler) has 3 more games to play to be freed. So from there you have chaos a plot based on an evil ideal from the creator...
Published on Feb. 4 2010 by James D White


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE NO STRINGS ON ME, July 3 2015
By 
THE MOVIE GUY "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Gamer (DVD)
The film has a similar theme as "Rollerball." An individual becomes larger than the game, so the game must be changed to take care of the individual. Nanotechnology, the technology that makes friction free ketchup bottles, will allow us to place a controlling chip in a human's brain that will allow someone else to control their actions, speech etc. People pay to be controllers and get paid to be controlled.

There is a society aspect to the game where people are controlled for their own perverted pleasures. Criminals are controlled in a Slayer game where they fight with simulated automatic weapons. Kable (Gerard Butler) is our James Caan. He is a criminal on death row whose crime we see in a flashback. He is controlled by a 17 year old kid named Simon (Logan Lerman) as in Simon Says. After 30 successful games, a criminal gets set freed. No one has done it yet, Kable is close.

To prevent his freedom, a ringer with no controller (faster reflexes) is placed in the game to get Kable. There is also an anarchist group known as "HUMAN" who is at work sabotaging the Matrix, eh ah the system.

I liked the Marilyn Manson soundtrack, but I thought they tried to get too cute at the end and instead should have just gone with a quick "Running Man" ending. They should have shortened the film instead of burdening us further with the message that poor people will prostitute themselves to the rich who enjoy being in control.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, sex, nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I've Got YOOOOOOUUU Under My Skin!", Nov. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gamer (DVD)
Ah, Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor. They might make some crappy movies that really aren't THAT great, but I find them enjoyable nonetheless. I'm a Neveldine/Taylor fan because I really like their unique style and extremely violent/frenetic storylines. Crank is still my favourite, but Gamer and (yes, even this one) Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance were also entertaining.
And here we are with Gamer, a social commentary about our obsessions with games and desensitization with violence, which arrived in excellent condition. Gamer tells the story of Kable, a criminal on deathrow who's taken part in a game called Slayers, which pits criminal against criminal in a twenty-round tournament to the death. Even worse is the fact that, like all the other inmates, Kable is being controlled by a separate individual--in Kable's case, a seventeen-year-old boy. Anyone who can survive the entire game wins their freedom, but there's a catch--no one has ever beaten the game. For good reason.
This is another case of a movie that's better watched with a turn-your-brain-off attitude. I have no problem with no-brainer gore fests because no-brainer gore-fests are fun, and Gamer is no exception. If anything, this movie's worth owning for the frenetic action scenes.
And Michael C. Hall.

Overrall, ***1/2 out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Well played,Kable"-, May 24 2010
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gamer (DVD)
With that phrase,so ends John Tilman's nightmare for him and the family that gave him the courage he needed to survive the "game".And what a trip/game it was to get from A to B in this film.A non stop action flick from beginning to end,Gamer(released Sept/09)comes from the same imaginative team that gave us the high adrenaline Crank films,Brian Taylor and Mark Neveldine;and there is no lack of that heart-fueling adrenaline in this flick either.
The story involves one John Tilman(aka Kable)who is the current rage in a game called Slayers.The game is real as are the players within the game.Each player has a real person controlling them from afar and John's happens to be a 17 year gaming whiz named Simon(Logan Lehrman).Through the immersing technology on hand Simon literally sees and hears everything John hears as he takes his "player"(John)through an intense fire-fight course from grisly beginning to bloody end.After surviving 30 games John will be allowed to leave the game and Simon has taken John,unprecedentedly,almost all the way through.
The creator of this gaming world,Ken Castle(Michael Hall),was also the creator of another wildly popular interactive game,the Sims-like Society.However Castle's dreams are over exceeding his grasp as his real motives lie in trying to control the rest of society.He hopes to be able to inject his brain controlling nanobots into millions of people thereby controlling everyone.But a rebel group called Humanz is out to stop Castle's grasp of power.They contact Simon and give him a mod that enables Simon to actually talk with John during game play.Inevitably this leads to John finally breaking out of the game during what was to be his last fight and tracking down his family.With the help of the people in Humanz he is able to get he and his wife's independence back and which leads to the inevitable showdown with the person who has his only daughter;Castle himself.Things are nip and tuck but Tilman in the end,with a little help from the remaining elements of Humanz,defeats Castle and brings down his dynasty.
This is a look at todays gaming world flung into the future and brought to a higher,more violent,more interactive and a more highly intense experience;assisted ably through its' great plot,SFX,editing and non stop action.The writing and directing team of Taylor and Neveldine have created a wonderful Sci Fi winner of a concept and they never let the action or your interest wane for more than a few seconds,if ever.I found myself riveted to the action/plot throughout and that's something that few movies can accomplish these days.Also what can't be stated enough is the absolutely fantastic look and feel of this film,all done through the actual camera itself.I first heard of this relatively new camera system called "Red" back in early 2007 and this is the first mainstream film I have actually seen it used in and it is awesome,to say the least.The look is a combination of alot of things but sepia tones and alot of saturated pastels dominate throughout.The camera shots,twists and turns are done at break neck speeds as the creators strive to give we the viewer a more movie-immersing experience.And it works,all of it works as this is a film,I for one,will definitely watch more than a few times to try to catch something I missed from the previous viewing.Finally I must also give a nod to the films lead actor Gerard Butler whose intensity throughout really enhances the entire proceedings.
On the technical side of things the film is clear and crisp and beautifully transferred to DVD with its widescreen format in tact and the sound fantastic.The extras include audio commentary,three 30 minute featurettes on the making of the film,likewise a featurette on the RED camera system used and the trailer.
All in all one of the better Sci-Fi films I have seen in recent times.Its Sci-Fi premise alone will certainly be a drawing card to all the fans of that genre but throw in the gaming world angle as well and well,there's a much wider audience right there.I recommend the movie highly;the game is on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gamer Is Much Better Than Expected, Feb. 4 2010
By 
James D White (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
I really had zero expectation for this movie; to be honest it was far from horrible, and not too shabby. The plot is basic criminals are implanted with nanotechnology so they can be controlled remotely by someone else. The main character Kable (Gerard Butler) has 3 more games to play to be freed. So from there you have chaos a plot based on an evil ideal from the creator of this game called "Slayers". I can say you know what this was a fun rental and the visual's were awesome the cinematography was beautiful. But I have to say the Guy from Dexter plays the bad guy and he was just awesome really great character and good casting. There are tones of plot holes but if you can check your brain at the door I think it's not a horrible movie. Recommended As A Strong Rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gamer Is Much Better Than Expected, Feb. 4 2010
By 
James D White (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gamer (DVD)
I really had zero expectation for this movie; to be honest it was far from horrible, and not too shabby. The plot is basic criminals are implanted with nanotechnology so they can be controlled remotely by someone else. The main character Kable (Gerard Butler) has 3 more games to play to be freed. So from there you have chaos a plot based on an evil ideal from the creator of this game called "Slayers". I can say you know what this was a fun rental and the visual's were awesome the cinematography was beautiful. But I have to say the Guy from Dexter plays the bad guy and he was just awesome really great character and good casting. There are tones of plot holes but if you can check your brain at the door I think it's not a horrible movie. Recommended As A Strong Rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The service was awesome has usual and the price was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GAMER, April 27 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gamer (DVD)
Acceptable performance by Butler.
The story is so-so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, April 24 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I were thinking it was including french track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT ACTION AND STORY, Nov. 6 2009
By 
Lisa Bittner "Five-O Nut" (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gamer (DVD)
Saw this movie in the theatres and can only say I was very impressed not only by the cinematography but also how Gerard Butler and Michael C. Hall presented such good renditions of their characters. This movie has similarities to Schwarzenegger's 'The Running Man' but trust me, it is FAR BETTER. The action is better, as well as the storyline and there is such a visual feast of every imagining! I will definitely be adding this movie to my DVD collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent price!, March 25 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Quick ship, excellent price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gamer
Gamer by Mark Neveldine (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 6.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews