biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store s Tools ca_ty_gno

  • GAMER
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars20
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$5.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon December 26, 2015
XXXXX

A person talking with a slayer:

Person: “Who aims? The player or the slayer?”
Slayer: “I’m the hand. Someone, somewhere else is the eye.”

The above dialogue comes from this sci-fi action film and pretty well sums up what this movie is about.

This movie takes video gaming to the extreme and makes you wonder if there are any boundaries to what humans will do to amuse themselves.

Briefly, in a near-future multiplayer video game called “Slayers”, death-row convicts are forced to do battle. Convict Kable (Gerard Butler), the highest-ranked warrior of this game and controlled by Simon (Logan Lerman), a skilled teenage gamer, must survive thirty gaming sessions in order to be set free. Will he do it?

Ken Castle (played over-the-top by Michael C. Hall), creator of not only “Slayers” but also “Society,” is the main antagonist in this movie.

This movie is definitely not for everyone. Yes, it has lots of action (almost non-stop) and special effects that held my attention but also contains excessive amounts of sex and nudity, violence and gore, profanity, as well as frightening, intense scenes. Be forewarned!

I liked the background music found in this movie.

Finally, the DVD itself (the one released in 2009) has four extras.

In conclusion, this movie is not for everyone but adrenaline-junkies will certainly appreciate it. After watching this movie, you may ask yourself:

“Who’s playing who?”

(2009; 1 hr, 25 min excluding end credits; wide screen; 24 scenes; rated ‘R’)

*** 1/2

<<Stephen PLETKO, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
The film has a similar theme as "Rollerball." An individual becomes larger than the game, so the game must be changed to take care of the individual. Nanotechnology, the technology that makes friction free ketchup bottles, will allow us to place a controlling chip in a human's brain that will allow someone else to control their actions, speech etc. People pay to be controllers and get paid to be controlled.

There is a society aspect to the game where people are controlled for their own perverted pleasures. Criminals are controlled in a Slayer game where they fight with simulated automatic weapons. Kable (Gerard Butler) is our James Caan. He is a criminal on death row whose crime we see in a flashback. He is controlled by a 17 year old kid named Simon (Logan Lerman) as in Simon Says. After 30 successful games, a criminal gets set freed. No one has done it yet, Kable is close.

To prevent his freedom, a ringer with no controller (faster reflexes) is placed in the game to get Kable. There is also an anarchist group known as "HUMAN" who is at work sabotaging the Matrix, eh ah the system.

I liked the Marilyn Manson soundtrack, but I thought they tried to get too cute at the end and instead should have just gone with a quick "Running Man" ending. They should have shortened the film instead of burdening us further with the message that poor people will prostitute themselves to the rich who enjoy being in control.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, sex, nudity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
Ah, Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor. They might make some crappy movies that really aren't THAT great, but I find them enjoyable nonetheless. I'm a Neveldine/Taylor fan because I really like their unique style and extremely violent/frenetic storylines. Crank is still my favourite, but Gamer and (yes, even this one) Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance were also entertaining.
And here we are with Gamer, a social commentary about our obsessions with games and desensitization with violence, which arrived in excellent condition. Gamer tells the story of Kable, a criminal on deathrow who's taken part in a game called Slayers, which pits criminal against criminal in a twenty-round tournament to the death. Even worse is the fact that, like all the other inmates, Kable is being controlled by a separate individual--in Kable's case, a seventeen-year-old boy. Anyone who can survive the entire game wins their freedom, but there's a catch--no one has ever beaten the game. For good reason.
This is another case of a movie that's better watched with a turn-your-brain-off attitude. I have no problem with no-brainer gore fests because no-brainer gore-fests are fun, and Gamer is no exception. If anything, this movie's worth owning for the frenetic action scenes.
And Michael C. Hall.

Overrall, ***1/2 out of *****
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With that phrase,so ends John Tilman's nightmare for him and the family that gave him the courage he needed to survive the "game".And what a trip/game it was to get from A to B in this film.A non stop action flick from beginning to end,Gamer(released Sept/09)comes from the same imaginative team that gave us the high adrenaline Crank films,Brian Taylor and Mark Neveldine;and there is no lack of that heart-fueling adrenaline in this flick either.
The story involves one John Tilman(aka Kable)who is the current rage in a game called Slayers.The game is real as are the players within the game.Each player has a real person controlling them from afar and John's happens to be a 17 year gaming whiz named Simon(Logan Lehrman).Through the immersing technology on hand Simon literally sees and hears everything John hears as he takes his "player"(John)through an intense fire-fight course from grisly beginning to bloody end.After surviving 30 games John will be allowed to leave the game and Simon has taken John,unprecedentedly,almost all the way through.
The creator of this gaming world,Ken Castle(Michael Hall),was also the creator of another wildly popular interactive game,the Sims-like Society.However Castle's dreams are over exceeding his grasp as his real motives lie in trying to control the rest of society.He hopes to be able to inject his brain controlling nanobots into millions of people thereby controlling everyone.But a rebel group called Humanz is out to stop Castle's grasp of power.They contact Simon and give him a mod that enables Simon to actually talk with John during game play.Inevitably this leads to John finally breaking out of the game during what was to be his last fight and tracking down his family.With the help of the people in Humanz he is able to get he and his wife's independence back and which leads to the inevitable showdown with the person who has his only daughter;Castle himself.Things are nip and tuck but Tilman in the end,with a little help from the remaining elements of Humanz,defeats Castle and brings down his dynasty.
This is a look at todays gaming world flung into the future and brought to a higher,more violent,more interactive and a more highly intense experience;assisted ably through its' great plot,SFX,editing and non stop action.The writing and directing team of Taylor and Neveldine have created a wonderful Sci Fi winner of a concept and they never let the action or your interest wane for more than a few seconds,if ever.I found myself riveted to the action/plot throughout and that's something that few movies can accomplish these days.Also what can't be stated enough is the absolutely fantastic look and feel of this film,all done through the actual camera itself.I first heard of this relatively new camera system called "Red" back in early 2007 and this is the first mainstream film I have actually seen it used in and it is awesome,to say the least.The look is a combination of alot of things but sepia tones and alot of saturated pastels dominate throughout.The camera shots,twists and turns are done at break neck speeds as the creators strive to give we the viewer a more movie-immersing experience.And it works,all of it works as this is a film,I for one,will definitely watch more than a few times to try to catch something I missed from the previous viewing.Finally I must also give a nod to the films lead actor Gerard Butler whose intensity throughout really enhances the entire proceedings.
On the technical side of things the film is clear and crisp and beautifully transferred to DVD with its widescreen format in tact and the sound fantastic.The extras include audio commentary,three 30 minute featurettes on the making of the film,likewise a featurette on the RED camera system used and the trailer.
All in all one of the better Sci-Fi films I have seen in recent times.Its Sci-Fi premise alone will certainly be a drawing card to all the fans of that genre but throw in the gaming world angle as well and well,there's a much wider audience right there.I recommend the movie highly;the game is on!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2010
I really had zero expectation for this movie; to be honest it was far from horrible, and not too shabby. The plot is basic criminals are implanted with nanotechnology so they can be controlled remotely by someone else. The main character Kable (Gerard Butler) has 3 more games to play to be freed. So from there you have chaos a plot based on an evil ideal from the creator of this game called "Slayers". I can say you know what this was a fun rental and the visual's were awesome the cinematography was beautiful. But I have to say the Guy from Dexter plays the bad guy and he was just awesome really great character and good casting. There are tones of plot holes but if you can check your brain at the door I think it's not a horrible movie. Recommended As A Strong Rental.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2010
I really had zero expectation for this movie; to be honest it was far from horrible, and not too shabby. The plot is basic criminals are implanted with nanotechnology so they can be controlled remotely by someone else. The main character Kable (Gerard Butler) has 3 more games to play to be freed. So from there you have chaos a plot based on an evil ideal from the creator of this game called "Slayers". I can say you know what this was a fun rental and the visual's were awesome the cinematography was beautiful. But I have to say the Guy from Dexter plays the bad guy and he was just awesome really great character and good casting. There are tones of plot holes but if you can check your brain at the door I think it's not a horrible movie. Recommended As A Strong Rental.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
I couldn't even watch this whole movie. I really didn't like it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
The service was awesome has usual and the price was really good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Acceptable performance by Butler.
The story is so-so.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
I were thinking it was including french track
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse