Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
perfect
Published 25 days ago by Michel Gagnon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love among bomb techs (EOD)
This movie is repetitive and boring. The same cowboy (Jeremy Renner) rushes in where wise men never tread to dismantle bombs, dismantle people, and dismantle our time. All the characters are one-dimensional. The story does not have any redeeming social value. There is no rhyme or reason; there is just a bunch of explosions and more explosions and more explosions...
Published on July 25 2010 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love among bomb techs (EOD), July 25 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hurt Locker (Blu-ray)
This movie is repetitive and boring. The same cowboy (Jeremy Renner) rushes in where wise men never tread to dismantle bombs, dismantle people, and dismantle our time. All the characters are one-dimensional. The story does not have any redeeming social value. There is no rhyme or reason; there is just a bunch of explosions and more explosions and more explosions.

They did borrow a tad from "All Quiet on the Western Front" by sending the dissenbomer home to an environment that did not understand him.

I would give you more details about the film but that is all there is. Okay takes place in Iraq 2004.
Actual filming Locations are "Amman, Jordan", "Kuwait", and "Langley, British Columbia, Canada."

The Blu-ray has a voice over commentary. This explains why this looks like one long commercial for a film by people that were just reporters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE MORE THAN A GLORIFIED PROPAGANDA B-MOVIE, June 4 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Hurt Locker (DVD)
Usually success is a combination of talent, hard work and luck. Then again, a movie like this gets the Best Picture Oscar and one can only wonder: did the members of the Academy vote FOR this movie or against James Cameron? Sure, his arrogance did not make things easy; then again, one should not underestimate envy and spite as human motivation.

Inaccuracies and obvious mistakes run rampant; the Saving Private Ryan -pretentious camera shakes you into nausea; the plot line is abandoned in the sand again and again and (what is worse) there is absolutely nothing waiting at the end. No catharsis, no message, no moral, no closure. Nothing.

Platoon defined the Vietnam war not only with its realism and its ability to paint all the shades of moral ambiguity but also because because it had the guts to send a clear political message. In dire contrast, THE HURT LOCKER offers only a deafening silence on all these aspects.
The movie presents this war, with some of the sacrifices and atrocities it entails, as inevitable and expected. Keep enlisting, keep fighting and keep dying for the corporations and the banks - but don't you dare speak your opinion on the matter. Its message is a cowardly "don't ask - and we are not going to tell you why either".
Because self-censorship is the worse kind of censorship, this is Hollywood at its worse.

A spineless pseudo-documentary masquerading as an art movie. A cowardly film trying to capitalize on the stories of brave men thrown into unwinnable war.

A film made by errand boys, sent by grocery clerks, to make sure the bill of blood is being paid in full. Again and again.

Pass. With extreme prejudice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6 2014
This review is from: The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, May 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Let me put it this way, I bought it instead of looking for it on the internet. It introduced me to Jeremy Renner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tick Tock, March 26 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Iraq is the location, war the condition, and bomb disposal the situation, when the bomb disposal unit faces its last four weeks of a tour of duty. Already rocked by the loss of one their own, when Sgt James arrives, and turns out to be a reckless excitement junkie, the conflict and tension within the unit escalates, as the life and death stakes grow ever higher. Will someone crack, will someone die?

It's simply one of the most tense and gripping movies you'll see in this or any year. I recall, feeling the heat of the desert, and the tense feeling as if I was there about to be blown up, and I recall leaving the theater thinking would win the Oscar for Best Movie and Best Director. Then in December Avatar appeared.

A curious coincidence of these two movies is that James Cameron, Avatar and Titanic director was once married to Kathryn Bigelow director of Hurt Locker.

As of Feb 2, 2010. Hurt Locker has won 50 awards already, garnering widespread appreciation, and nominated for 9 Academy Awards, including the ones I mentioned, Best Director, Best Pictture, Best Original Screenplay, and also Best Cinematography, and Best Editing. Avatar also got nominated for 9 Academy Awards, and Inglourious Basterds for 8, rounding out the leaders of the pack.

March 11, 2010. I was as surprised as anyone when Hurt Locker won for both Best Picture, and Best Director, considering the staggering achievement of Avatar. David truly killed Goliath. In so doing Kathryn Bigelow has become the first woman to win for Best Director. I am glad for Hurt Locker but somewhat shocked that it defeated Avatar for both awards. Hurt Locker also won for Best Original Screenplay.

Hurt Locker achieved only a fraction of what Avatar achieved at the box office.

Although I could see its brilliance, it's not for everyone, it's realism may be too real for some people. It's certainly not a woman i would strongly recommend to my friends, unless perhaps they were into war movies. In fact, that is how I came to see it. Nevertheless, it successfully captures the tension of being in a war situation, and knowing your lie could end at any moment, while you a dangerous loose cannon in your unit. It's quite gripping in that respect.

So, if you like tense and gripping war movies, this may be the movie for you, I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Twisted Rush of War, Jan. 25 2010
By 
Richard S. Warner "Saraswati-Son" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hurt Locker (DVD)
Can war be a drug ... a highly addictive drug? Does this drug distort the mind and twist it's judgements? Can it influence dangerous, even self-destructive, behaviour? What is exceptional bravery ... and what is true madness?

This stunning, electrifying movie directed to perfection by Kathryn Bigelow presents these questions, and more, and while it's a war movie it is not a yahoo blast-fest for the heavily browed. This is a very intelligent look at the human mind in situations of extreme, almost unimaginable and ceaseless danger. Like a lot of recent cinema "The Hurt Locker" is shot in such a way that it first appears as a documentary, christening the film's launch and colouring it's mood with an atmosphere of intense credibility and tension. And it never lets up right to the last second.

A troop of American soldiers in current-day Iraq have as their assignment, the detection and disarming of bombs, bombs that are everywhere ... in ditches, in piles of garbage, strapped to terrified civilians and dead children. It is extremely hot and these men don suits that are heavy and swelteringly claustrophobic in order to save people in a country that seems to have lost all sanity and reason. It is the story of the differing souls in a group and how they all respond to such oppressively omnipresent danger. It is also the story of their leader ( Jeremy Renner ) and how for him the experience of this type of war has become a kind of addiction. Putting himself at extreme risk, and the men of his troop, with capricious irresponsibiliy, at one point they actually consider killing him in a convenient "accident".

Eventually we see each man for who he is and a very human portrait unfolds of the troop and the psychologies that form the group identity. In this sort of situation there MUST be a unification of purpose and a sublimation of individuality or there will be tragedies. Yet their new leader seems to feel himself beyond that and takes on an almost messianic approach to their task and to how he leads his men. At first he seems invincible, though frighteningly driven to extreme risk-taking, repeatedly extricating himself from almost certain death over and over. Beyond the very real and constant danger in a country so utterly hostile to their very existence, these men now have to deal with an irrationally obsessed leader who puts his own personal satisfaction and vindication ahead of his own life, AND theirs.

And yet there are moments when our iron-man messiah shows himself to be all too human, especially when he develops an unlikely friendship with a local, streetwise, teenaged urchin who sells him DVD's. When the boy disappears and our leader is convinced he has seen his bloodied and mutilated body something breaks inside him and his very human passions come rushing out. In an AWOL desparate search for clues to the boys death and his killers whereabouts, our troop leader forces himself into the home of an Iraqi intellectual, gun bared. And yet, despite his crazed and threatening demeanor he is cautiously but graciously invited to sit down and have tea, thus lending moral ambiguity to a situation all too foolishly seen as being black and white.

The cast of largely unknown actors is a rigorously believable ensemble; totally credible and very three dimensional. They are not cliched, G.I. cutouts. They are all very real people. In fact, while this absolutely riveting and very human movie is about war, the occupation of Iraq, the clash of two cultures utterly foreign to each other, it is also about the human mind and soul. And it is fascinating how our souls defend themselves with bravado and a kind of willful blindness in the face of the rationally incomprhensible. Faced with such intense and relentless danger we act out our cultures with desparate vehemence as a way to give ourselves the certainty we need to stay sane. "The Hurt Locker begs the questions, "What price this sanity, and, when we are not 'at home' any more, what is real?"

An edge of your seat, hold your breath, thought provoking and deeply moving story that does not go where a lot of war movies have gone. There are no pat answers. There is no certainty. And the cost to the human mind and soul of being put into such extreme, almost insane situations is clearly layed out. One of the best war movies of recent times. Kudos to Bigelow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an eloquent poetic ballet, March 7 2010
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hurt Locker (DVD)
wow.just finished watching this film about an hour ago,and i'm still trying to put it into words.it's basically about an elite military bomb squad unit in Iraq,whose job is made tougher because they are still very much in a combat situation.this a very powerful moving experience.riveting right to the last frame.nail biting suspense.great acting.sometimes the quite moments speak louder and more clearly than any words can.the movie is very well constructed.its all so eloquent,like a poem,a ballet.the running time may just be shy of one hundred and thirty minutes,but it sure doesn't feel that long.i could watch this film again without hesitation.war themed movies are not everyone's cup of tea obviously,but if you are a fan of the genre,you owe it to yourself to check this film out.i haven't seen a film this good in a long time.for me,The Hurt Locker is a 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hurt Locker, March 20 2010
By 
Geoff B. Greene (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hurt Locker (DVD)
One should forget that this flic was produced on a shoe lace budget with nameless actors -until now. A very deep and dark film which, when the moment allows itself, will prompt the viewer to reconsider "work today was butual."

Geoff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ulnwanted war, May 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Hurt Locker takes you right into the team's battles and struggles with war and the effects it has on people's minds and bodies, a very good movie all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray]
The Hurt Locker [Blu-ray] by Christian Camargo (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 20.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews