Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the god of war has returned once more.
If you played god of war 1 and 2 then you know what to expect from the third god of war game. Story picks up where it left off on god of war 2, and this time Kratos goes to mount olympus to finish off zeus once and for all and the other gods of course or anyone that stands in his way.

game play consist of button sequences and button mashing type, when you fight...
Published on April 1 2010 by Shannon Nash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars GOW3
I've just finished this game, and it's not better than the 2 previous games. The content is quite boring.

Nam
Published 16 months ago by NAM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the god of war has returned once more., April 1 2010
By 
Shannon Nash (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you played god of war 1 and 2 then you know what to expect from the third god of war game. Story picks up where it left off on god of war 2, and this time Kratos goes to mount olympus to finish off zeus once and for all and the other gods of course or anyone that stands in his way.

game play consist of button sequences and button mashing type, when you fight a boss or an enemy and he is weak enough you have to press the button as it appears on the screen for example x,o etc. you do get a few new weapons in the game which is nice and different from the previous god of war games. Game play is about the same as you can expect it to be and this game is really violent, bloody, and has a lot of gore which I loved about it.

Graphics are great and so are the visuals in the game, controls are responsive in the game as well. But I did have trouble sometimes double jumping in the game,again though you gotta time it and do it right if not you fall to your death.

the interaction in the game is still there dealing with puzzles and everything including the boss battles, but i kind of felt it better in the second god of war game. where to you fight icarus , the ones with the wings and sorry if my spelling is not correct. you punching him where you two guys are fighting and falling at the same time, I thought wow this is great and to me was really interactive.

But again that is just my opinion, and that is how I felt about that. Anyway hope my review of god of war 3 helps in some way, puzzles are not that hard to figure out in god of war 3 but took me some time to actually figure out. you just got to really pay close attention to it, but you will eventually get it.

So like I said hope this review helps you in some way in deciding on playing god of war 3 or buying it, I did and finished it and was not disappointed not in the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll, March 29 2010
By 
R. Martin (Kitchener, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
There are two things that made this game great for me. First, the fighting is unbelievably exciting, and beautiful to look at, it's like fireworks going off. Technically this is a way better game on the PS3 than the PS2, better visuals and mechanics give the weapons a real punch. Secondly, I'm fascinated by the Kratos character. He is the angriest, meanest and most vicious s.o.b. on the planet, and that is what makes him so interesting. Why are you so angry Kratos? This is a fighting game so if you are playing it for the dialogue or the story you are wasting your time, but I admit I found the mythology stuff interesting. I would buy this game because you are going to want to play it two or three times and show it to your friends when they come over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God of War 3 delivers another adventure worthy of the praise of action-loving mortals everywhere., Sept. 12 2010
By 
S. Bouley "Derelict" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
God of War 3 is the conclusion of Greek anti-hero Kratos' quest for vengeance. I'd go into the story, but if you've played the previous titles you already know it, and if you haven't I'd have to start from the beginning since GoW3 leaves some gaps and may leave new-comers to the series a little lost. But missing some of those plot details should not interfere too much with you being able to enjoy the amazing action in this awesome game.

The first area of the game you're thrown into is incredible. It won't take long before you're squaring off against very cool giant horse-crab monsters. After being sent down to Hades not too long after, I did get a bit of a been-there-done that feeling, but it was still very enjoyable. Sure it was pretty standard GoW action, but even at it's worst God of War is lots of fun.
Then I got to the Hades boss battle. Incredible. It really keeps new momentum going, and reminds you that the development team can still suck you in to it's proven game-play formula and pull a few new tricks out for you to enjoy.
In fact, it felt like boss battles in this game play a bigger role than in previous ones. There's more big fights this time around, and none of them feel repetitive or boring, and each bring little twists that mixes things up and keeps the action feeling fresh and intense.

On the flip side, the puzzles felt like they took a bit more of a back seat this time around. Despite this shift there are still a few creative scenarios thrown at you that will have to pausing while you try and put the pieces together in your head.

The prominent Quick Time Events have not only made a return but have been improved, which was nice to see. It's now easier to play attention to the action on the screen, now that you don't have to pay quite so much attention as to what the button symbol is, and can pay more attention to just where it appears on the screen.

And then there's the game-play that fills in the spaces. The bulk of the action mimics what can be found in previous installments. From what is mostly shown in an isometric point of view, hoards of enemies will rush you and require a heavy dealing of hack'n'slash combat to get through them. Much of the population of smaller foes feel reused from the previous titles; but even with that in consideration there's a decent selection of bad guys you'll come across and it doesn't make it any less fan to take them out. Thankfully you are well equipped to do so. You're primary weapons are a set of two short yet wide swords which are attached to your wrists. You can use these swords in a conventional matter, or swing them around on their chains for both focused and area attacks.

As you progress you'll gain new melee weapons, such as a pair of lion-head gauntlets for slow but powerful attacks, as well as 2 more chained weapons. One of which has the power to rip souls from an enemy which will then turn and aid you in battle for a short period of time, and the other, quicker weapons that carries some electrical damage with it. Although this adds up to 4 primary weapons in total, as it did in previous games, I did not find the weapons tactics or functionality varied as I remember them being in God of War 2.

Magic attacks are available, and there's one type associated with each of your primary weapons. Magic attacks are mostly used to cause area damage, such as the ability to electrocute a group of surrounding enemies, let a rain of arrows fall from the sky, or summon the soul of a beast to come charging through the screen delivering damage to anyone in it's way. Magic attacks will draw from your pool of magic power. You'll be able to recharge your magic by finding chests filled with magic orbs, or collecting magic orbs by performing certain kill moves on some enemies.

You also get some special items such as a bow and arrow for long range attacks, the head of Helios which blinds enemies as well as lights dark paths and find hidden doorways, and the boots of Hermes which allow you to run up certain walls and perform dash-attacks. Similar to the magic attacks, these items can only be used for a limited time until their power runs out, but their power will automatically recharge over time.

Weapons, magic, and items are all upgradable which will unlock a variety of new and stronger attacks for each. Upgrades are achieved by cashing in red orbs that you'll acquire after killing enemies, opening chests, and breaking objects. The upgrades add a certain level of strategy, as you'll have to decide which items are most important to you to upgrade first. Eventually though, if you've scoured the levels thoroughly and killed enough enemies, you'll be able to max out all upgrades.

Kratos himself can be upgraded as well, in terms of how much power his items have available to use, how much magic he can have stored at one time, and how much health is in his health bar. These traits are upgraded by finding special items hidden throughout the levels. For example, finding 3 gorgon eyes will increase your health bar to the next level.

The amazing action is supporting by the equally impressive visuals and sound design. The environments look both cruel and beautiful. The orchestral music is epic, and talented voice acting help drive another strong story. Although I did like the script overall, I must confess to not being a fan of the ending. Without spoiling anything, I will say that it wasn't what happened that I found disappointing but the context put in place for Kratos' actions. I didn't feel the subtext was in line with the rest of God of War story and I couldn't help but roll my eyes.

The only other issue I have to pick on are in respect to some of the save points. In previous titles they always felt like they were evenly spaced and right where you needed them. In GoW3, they often felt unnecessarily close, or too far apart for my tastes.

Despite some minor gripes, what you get in this title is a well balanced mix of old and new elements. God of War 3 manages to deliver one more time what the series has always delivered: intense, brutal, crazy-fun action that encourages you to keep going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming Elysium!!!, March 21 2010
By 
Erps (Toronto, CANADA) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: God of War III Ultimate Edition - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
The minute I heard about the God of War 3 Ultimate Edition's upcoming release, I knew I had to get it.

I love the God of War saga. The graphics, the gameplay and the story are balanced so incredibly well, the formula is perfect and they were able to keep that balance through the trilogy (or quadrology if you include Chains of Olympus on the PSP).

The box it came in is very well done. I love the minimalist, almost all black, approach they did with Kratos' face on all sides.

Pandora's box is nicely detailed though made of plastic, nicely done. Felt lined inside with a hidden compartment. A small tab on the edge of the fake inside base would reveal a second compartment.

The postcard sized hardcover art book is a 'cute' little bonus. Cute I say because I was hoping there would be MORE! The art of the GOW saga, concept and final arts are mind blowing amazing and simply gorgeous. I was hoping there would be more pages to it.

With the Ultimate Edition comes 4 audio collections for download. Complete soundtracks of the 3 GOW games and 7 heavy metal tracks inspired by the game. The score of the saga adds so much to the feel and emotion of the game...GREAT bonus!

The downloadable documentaries are nice to watch. It is so nice to see the faces of the people, the company that put together this amazing game. With all the ups and downs they went through putting it together. The 'voice acting' chapter was very neat. Finally got to see Kratos' voice in the flesh....NOT what I was expecting! :P

The game itself is just gorgeously done and very well executed. They did make the gameplay slightly easier and simpler to pick up compared the previous games, probably for the new gamers of the GOW saga. The way the button pressing sequence is much easier to follow and give the player a chance to see what is happening in the screen. Triangle will appear on top of the monitor, square to the left, X at the bottom and circle to the right. One can just use one's peripheral view to see where the next button press will be instead of staring constantly at a corner of the screen anticipating the next button press...missing the action in the middle.

GOW III is an ABSOLUTE must have for any and all gamers out there. Once would appreciate and love III more if I and II were played. The story is long and the drama and controversies are aplenty, making the experience a whole lot more visceral. Game replay is good. Once finished the normal mode, one can always go back at a much harder level and unlock more bonus features and challenges. If you cannot get your hands on the Ultimate Edition, pick up the game, you MUST pick up this game. PHENOMENAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buckets and buckets of blood....., July 7 2010
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I will keep this short. If you enjoy hack and slash games and you have a PS3, this game must be bought. The game is very good, very mature (Aphrodite is the hottest game chick I've ever seen) and very very bloody. The level of detail is awesome as well, as can be expected of Sony Santa Monica. The game looks very good on HD (I played at 720p) and audio as always is quite good. The way the story continues is a bit so-so, but maybe that is because we already know that Zeus is toast and Kratos is a killing machine. If anyone is a bit disappointed with this game it's because they've been spoilt by God of War I and II.

All in all this game is very much worth your money and I highly recommend it.

If you don't know anything about the series I recommend buying the God Of War collection first and play through it. It is worth every dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End is here...., May 12 2010
By 
Hollywood "Gamer's Paradise" (Silicon capital of the world) - See all my reviews
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally, the long awaited conclusion of this wonderful trilogy that we called God of War has arrived. In this game you'll experience the story coming full circle with unexpected twists and turns. God of War III launches you right into the action, no getting to know you crap or re-telling of the past games. Kratos means business more so than usual and will stop at absolutely nothing this time to get his revenge. You'll be fighting Gods and Titans alike, with yet another version of the chain blades which Kratos will receive from an "old friend". This game is totally action-packed you won't wanna stop playing, not even to sleep. It's one battle after another until you reach your prize and it won't be easy to get there. The ending is Epic, fitting for Kratos and satisfying for players who've trekked through the entire trilogy. You'll be re-playing this game several times. If you played the first two God of War games, you owe it to yourself to see how this story ends and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply put, the best action game I've ever played!, Dec 15 2010
By 
Q. T. Vo (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Until now, I held Resident Evil 4 as the greatest action game I had ever played. GOW3 came and swept the floor clean! Every single aspect of this game is top-notch! From jaw-dropping graphics with no load times to gripping story, to perfect controls, to pacing to replay value, this game has it all! I played it 2 times in a row just to take in all the greatness of it! It so perfectly represent the stories and mythologies of Ancient Greece! All the legends that you've read about or heard of came to life! Yes, it is extremely violent and is not shy to show it, but so were all the legends in the books! All of the characters are solid, since we know of them in tales and we understand their motivations and background! Perfect game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kratos' will have his vengeance..., May 8 2010
By 
J. P. Noonan (PE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
God of War III arrives after a three year hiatus. Kratos experienced an excellent outing in Chains of Olympus on the PSP and a resurgence of sorts in the excellent God of War Collection for the PS3. This time he is back to enact his revenge, once and for all upon the Gods of Olympus.

Santa Monica Studios has outdone themselves with this title. They managed to up the ante after the unbelievable God of War II. Many of the set pieces are simply awe-inspiring with Titans moving onscreen alongside Kratos creating a sense of scale that is only rivalled by Shadow of the Colossus.

So how has Kratos been since we last interacted with him? Let's just say he is still extremely angry. Every boss fight is an amalgamation of cathartic retribution and brutality. Every second is conveyed on screen with gorgeous textures and an astronomical polygon count. The only game that can be mentioned in the same breath for such gorgeous visuals is Uncharted 2. This game would be an excellent demonstration of just why HD is so important to videogames.

So what if anything is wrong with this game? After gushing for 3 paragraphs about the strengths of this title I will hastily summate the weaknesses in 5 words: it's more off the same. While that isn't necessarily bad when it comes from a pedigree such as this, it is apparent that the game play is essentially last generation. Nonetheless do not let that deter you from picking it up.

If you have played any of the previous games in the series you know what you are in for, a visceral hack `n slash experience that won't soon be forgotten.

Overall: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G OF W 3, June 1 2010
By 
Lauraemacvicar (NB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Excellent graphics, I dont play it but bf is very pleased with this game. Was the best money i spent on a game in long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ares should have waited. This is a 4.5 star review rounded up., March 20 2010
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Up, because the eye on the boxart is staring at me, and I'm scared. That is because Kratos is a certifiable sadist who uses what happened to his family as nothing more than an excuse for his indulgence. He'd done it himself given time, and is quite honestly misunderstood by critics who tag him as a tricked anti hero instead of an outright bloodthirsty villain, that you as much control as he allows you to witness what he is capable of. Easily impressionable youths beware, because Kratos does want you to try this at home.

Then again, perhaps being a villain is not accurate enough as well, since he lacks the cerebral parts to be among the gaming greats, which, admittedly, in context is just a small setback. One does not require a scheming mind afterall, to destroy not only everything in front of him that even remotely can be perceived as alive, but also all the fine made pottery. Truly a beast among men. So let's just call him an incomprehensible force of nature instead, and leave it at that.

And man does he look bloody glorious. The combat animations are uncompromising with limbs being hacked, skulls cleaved blood gushing left right spines torn off at every opportunity. It is like watching a virtual ballet for men when he dances with the beasties, or at least would be if the word ballet wasn't fruity to begin with and hence off limits when describing such a manly game. After the deeds are done blood even clings to Kratos, a subtle effect sure, but I caught myself nodding in approval. Uncharted done it with water and snow, Santa Monica guys leave their mark with blood.

Yes, this game is gory, more than you could possibly imagine, and I know your imagination is out there on occasions because so is mine, and I was still surprised how far they pushed it. They even added a combat move that allows you to propel yourself to the next victim, eliminating the downtime. We're firm in next-gen now, shaving those seconds between getting the next fix and all the happier for it.
But that's not where the game lost half a star for me, on the contrary its brutality and gratuitous flow of blood is the appeal of the series, always was, especially after having spend excruciating hours listening to that irritating red head jailbait from FF13 that needed her mouth taped over. I'm still trying to figure out who the target audience for her was. Anyway, props to Sony then, as always, for staying true to their gruesome vision of the series. I wonder if they slaughter and drank freshly killed goat blood this time around too at the launch party. (google if you think I'm kidding)

No, the reason for only approaching perfection is due to the piss poor handle on the story. It could have been much better. The great supporting cast does what it can (I love what they did with Hera and Hephaestus), but some of the lines Kratos utters border on comical, with exaggerated body movement to boot. Thankfully his acting tryouts go down the wayside the farther into the adventure you progress, and the story improves, somewhat. They even try to infuse some emotion other than hatred toward the end, with much better success than in God of War II. Although nothing to me will ever beat the ending of the first game, where you had to sacrifice your health by transferring it to your loved ones so they could live through the onslaught.

Apart from that little nitpick, and the game having slightly shorter length than I would have liked, we're talking EPIC. I was going to drool recalling some of the set pieces or how the new tweaks to combat make this the best outing yet, but I'll leave it at that so not to spoil anything.

In closing,
Sony should YLOD you through the network if you don't have a GoWIII savefile by the end of the month. Unlike most of other offerings from publishers, which ride mostly on PR, God of War is the real deal, and I feel sorry for people who "don't get" these hack'n'slash games. Put it on highest difficulty, open up the combo move menu, and experiment away while trying to beat the ever rising tide. Bliss awaits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

God of War III Ultimate Edition - PlayStation 3
God of War III Ultimate Edition - PlayStation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: CDN$ 230.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews