Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Cliffhanger a blockbuster hit!!
CliffHanger made in 1993 is one of the most exciting action films on screen. The stunts and location in the movie are unbelievable.
It stars Sylvester Stallone as Gabriel Walker, and (Michael Rooker)as Hal Tucker as 2 climbing experts whose friendship comes to an end, when Tucker's girlfriend , Sarah
falls to her death while climbing when Gabe tries to rescue...
Published on July 1 2004 by GreatWriterChrisJames

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure
Since I am writing this review, I am also publicly confessing to having spent two hours watching Cliffhanger. After this, nothing I suffer in life can be a humiliation.
This movie received four Razzie nominations: Worst picture of the year, worst screenplay (Sylvester Stallone), worst supporting actress (Janine Turner) and worst supporting actor (John Lithgow). There...
Published on March 6 2004 by Nicholas Stix


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars See above, July 12 2004
By 
Kenji Fujishima (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sorry, posted this review more than once by accident. See above
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting action flick, though not up to DIE HARD, July 12 2004
By 
Kenji Fujishima (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A previous reviewer called CLIFFHANGER a "guilty pleasure," and that is pretty much the way I see the film.
CLIFFHANER was a return to action form for its star Sylvester Stallone, after he had made his indelible mark on the genre with his RAMBO trilogy in '80s. His character here, Gabe Walker, is drastically scaled-down, befitting the film's "high" concept, which is basically "DIE HARD on a mountain."
Okay, so the premise (which is actually credited in this movie to a man named John Long) is not breathtakingly original---a nasty group of robbers led by evil Eric Qualen (John Lithgow, effectively playing his role to the hilt) lose three cases of American money in the Rockies and force Walker and companion Hal Tucker (Michael Rooker, he of HENRY: PORTRAIT OF A SERIAL KILLER) to help them find it. Director Renny Harlin---who also directed DIE HARD 2---brings all his action expertise to bear on the thin plot and actually succeeds in crafting a good action film out of it. He was lucky in getting cinematographer Alex Thomson on his team, and Thomson makes the most of the Italian Dolomites (standing in for the Rockies) mountain settings by creating shots that revel in its scenic grandeur and impart an appropriately dizzying sense of vertigo to the proceedings. And Harlin uses his penchant for fast action pacing to good effect here, generating an exciting sense of momentum that hardly ever lets up until the final showdown.
So, as action entertainment, CLIFFHANGER can be counted as a success. So why do I find it a "guilty" pleasure rather than simply a pleasure? Well, I have to admit that I found some of the violence in the second half of the film a little too much at times---not only gratuitous but sometimes downright brutal. The first half of the film is much more discreet with the bloodshed, relying more on genuine suspense-building and awesome special effects and stunts to make its proper effect (the first twelve-minute sequence is arguably the last word in sweat-inducing suspense and mounting tension). In the second half, though, the script (credited to Michael France and Stallone) and director let rip with gory abandon, and thus we get images of a black bad guy getting skewered upon a stalactite by the hero, and scenes like Tucker being kicked in the ribs and nose like a soccer ball for a good minute or so by a British terrorist (with some tasteless slo-mos to draw out the grand brutality). Did we really need to be subjected to such witless violence? Do the filmmakers assume that we are all so base in our tastes that we actually get turned on by this bloody stuff? Well, who knows? Maybe they have a point there, since I admit that the first time I saw this film I was shocked but hardly appalled by the violence on offer here. It is only after having seen it a few times since then that I am starting to question the validity of the violent scenes on offer here. Harlin started the film out so well, but then, after about an hour or so, it turns into a second-rate one-upping of icicle-in-the-eye scene in his superior DIE HARD 2.
Notwithstanding my unease about the violence in this movie, though, it must be said that CLIFFHANGER works. It is sometimes very exciting and suspenseful, the performances basically get the job done, and overall this is one of the better DIE HARD clones, thanks to some great cinematography and noteworthy action scenes. If neither of the first two DIE HARD films are available for rental, this will fit the bill. Just don't be surprised, after it is over, if you feel a little guilty about having enjoyed it as much as you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars See above, July 12 2004
By 
Kenji Fujishima (East Brunswick, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sorry, posted this review more than once by accident. See above
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cliffhanger a blockbuster hit!!, July 1 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Cliffhanger (VHS Tape)
CliffHanger made in 1993 is one of the most exciting action films on screen. The stunts and location in the movie are unbelievable.
It stars Sylvester Stallone as Gabriel Walker, and (Michael Rooker)as Hal Tucker as 2 climbing experts whose friendship comes to an end, when Tucker's girlfriend , Sarah
falls to her death while climbing when Gabe tries to rescue her. Tucker blames Walker for the accident and hasn't forgiven him ever since.
Jess Dieghan ( Janine Turner) plays Gabriel girlfriend and coworker on these hi-risk rock climbing jobs.
The basic plot in CliffHanger is that a group of terrorists led by a madman named Qualin (John Lighgow) are stealing money from the Treasury Department and making their escape through an airplane. Mr. Travers is the Treasury Agent who is assigned the task of showing an FBI agent, Mr. Mateson, how to find the sum of money that was stolen from Treasury department. However, Mr. Mateson's true job is to find the traitor inside the Treasury Department. It just so happens that Mr. Mateson, is on the same airplane that the terrorist, and the traitor
is, and in a really great scene, blows away a couple of the terrorists and puts their plan to steal the money on hold.
Eventually, Mr. Qualin and his remaining terrorists friends escape, but not before the money they stole gets tossed into the icy mountains below them. Qualin and his friends, stranded on the mountains, and angry about losing their money, come up a with a plan to get back.
They pretend to be stranded on the mountains, and call in a rescue team to get them, and to eventually force them to get their money.
The rescue team answers and you guessed it, it's Gabe Walker and his ex friend Hal Tucker who answer the call.
Now the action really stars and Gabe, and his friends must try to find a way to stop the madman Qualin and his terrorists.
There are really some amazing stunts in Cliffhanger. There are great action scenes, including a big avalanche scene, there is also a great scene in which Gabe literally
surfs on the ice while avoiding the machine gun bullets of the terrorists chasing them.
Stallone's character, Gabe is also a very smart guy, he comes up with some pretty good plans to foil Qualin's plan, while at the same time using his strong muscles as an added weapon. Stallone is his usual calm and cool self, delivering the smart, but lethal Walker, and gives his character some depth throughout the movie.
John Lighgow is also great as Qualin. Litghow has made a good career playing the psycho. In the memorable Ricochet, his acting as the psychotic left a lasting impression with me.
Now there's probably some people who already have seen Cliffhanger before, but the DVD delivers the movie in a way you haven't seen before
Dvd features:
* Trailer
*Special look at the special
effects of the movie
*Deleted scenes
The movie was directed by Renny Harlin, another one of those directors that don't get the spotlight but who have directed many blockbuster movies including:
*Die Hard 2
*Driven
Furthermore, the hits that Harlin has directed have been made into
games: Cliffhanger was made for the Sega Genesis, Supernes and Gameboy. The games for it, are actually pretty good. Likewise Die Hard 2 was made for the pc and Playstation, along with Driven for the Gameboy Advance.
So Cliffhanger is an awesome movie, and now with the special DVD for it, it's definitely worth seeing once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Action Thriller, June 26 2004
By A Customer
I don't understand why this movie has got such poor aver rating(3.5stars) and about those worst xxx awards.
This is one of the BEST action films i have ever seen.
picturization is superb.
It stands as one of the few movies i ever want to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A non-stop express thriller, June 11 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Cliffhanger (DVD)
This film is an action-packed, rapid transit express that races along on its almost two-hour non-stop journey about mountain climbing, double-crosses and murder. The movie's opening rescue sequence is both thrilling and horrifying in its unfolding drama and sets the tone for the rest of the film. Gabe Walker is a believable hero, subdued and sensitive but tough in the clutch and gets a great assist from girlfriend Jessie who understands the reasons why Gabe is haunted by the demons of guilt. John Lithgow again is a suave villain, an evil mastermind who watches his master plan spin out of control as bad luck and bad weather conspire to thwart his grand design. Lithgow has plenty of help from a motley crew of killers and vicious types who try to outdo each other for sheer brutality and end up snarling at one another like the jackals they are. Great stunt work and Italian Alpine vistas add realism to the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stallone's Best Action in Years, May 15 2004
Best watched with minimal expectations. The action scenes are great. The movie is basically Die Hard in the mountains or Point Break with mountain climbing. The plot, however, doesn't make a bit of sense, so its just best to ignore it. Several obvious questions spring instantly to mind. Why are there so many henchmen in the 2nd plane? It's essentially a getaway vehicle. Why are they so well armed? All the agents are on the hijacked plan. Why do they carry cold weather clothing? They're on a plane. Enjoy the scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure, March 6 2004
By 
Nicholas Stix (New York City/Queens) - See all my reviews
Since I am writing this review, I am also publicly confessing to having spent two hours watching Cliffhanger. After this, nothing I suffer in life can be a humiliation.
This movie received four Razzie nominations: Worst picture of the year, worst screenplay (Sylvester Stallone), worst supporting actress (Janine Turner) and worst supporting actor (John Lithgow). There are a couple of injustices here: Stallone was denied his rightful, annual Razzie nomination for worst actor. The jury must have been stacked with Stallone fans that year. And I enjoyed Lithgow's over-the-top turn as the leader of the crooks.
But you can't argue with Janine Turner's (Northern Exposure) nomination: I could have given a better and sexier performance as a female, in spite of being a bit, shall we say, well-nourished, and having a mustache.
This movie made a ton of money, which also makes sense. It's entertaining. Director Renny Harlin knows how to make action thrillers. In this one, the Treasury Department is transporting over $150 million in $1000 bills by jet; a band of crooks aims to rob the couriers. The money ends up on the snowy side of a mountain, so the crooks kidnap world-class mountain rescue experts Sylvester Stallone and Michael Rooker, to track it down.
Norman Kent and Alex Thomson's cinematography is breathtaking, the stunts are truly death-defying, and some of the actors are good, most notably Rooker, Ralph Waite (as a rescuer), Lithgow and Rex Linn (as a treasury agent).
Since we live in a therapeutic society, I can't take responsibility for my actions -- it was all my 3-year-old son's fault. The movie came on late at night, after he had woken up (and while I was supposed to be working), and he insisted we see it together. It turns out, his judgment was excellent, as Cliffhanger is perfectly suited for the sensibility of a three-year-old boy.
In case you have too much money on your hands, you can order this from Amazon. If your neighbors see you taking the video package from your mailbox, you can just say, "Oh, I thought I'd finally give Gone with the Wind a shot."
Should you decide, instead, to rent Cliffhanger from a video store, you might try a trench coat, dark glasses, and a hat pulled down low on your face. Or as with other pornographic films, you could say to yourself, "What the hell, my neighbors are buying the same trash," and go in as you are.
The Critical Critic, March 6, 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars bleah, Feb. 22 2004
By 
Ignazio (naples, Italy) - See all my reviews
Vedere Stallone recitare può anche essere un'esperienza divertente, ma purtroppo capita raramente nei suoi film e questo non fa eccezione. L'inizio è da cardiopalmo: Stallone che cerca di salvare la sciacquetta inesperta mette i brividi, ma lei precipita giù e con lei tutto il film. Poteva anche finire lì, purtroppo il film continua. Pazienza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Cliffhanger it is!, Jan. 25 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Cliffhanger (VHS Tape)
What a Great Movie! Within the first 10 minutes of this movie, I was exclaiming out loud - "why haven't I heard of this film before?" Talk about edge-of-your-seat ... the opening scene deserves a place in film making history as one of the all time openings. It's already been tributed - the second "Pet Detective" movie opening spoofs this film's opening, complete with the red helicopter and breathtakingly high altitude climbing.
Janine Turner is Stallone's sensible and grounded girlfriend who flies a helicopter and assists with rescue missions, but it's Stallone who gets caught up in a story of intrigue and greed against the backdrop of beautiful outdoor mountainous areas. There are subplots and chase scenes.
Very believable with an interesting plot and reasonably good character development, lots of excitement and very well done. Highly recommended for an evening's entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0d9ac0c)

This product

Cliffhanger [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews