Customer Reviews


339 Reviews
5 star:
 (300)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and timeless
Nirvana's Unplugged remains one of the band's most majestic moments. Coming hot off the heels of the noisy In Utero album, the band decided to stop into MTV's studios in New York City and play an acoustic set that completely erased any notions that they were just a simple "grunge" band. Kurt Cobain seems completely relaxed throughout, and he gives some...
Published on Dec 22 2003 by Adam Rickards

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Quiet Exit - But Not the Real Nirvana
If you want real Nirvana, buy their plugged albums where few bands could touch them back in the early 90's. This is a nice, quiet, very subtle performance, something many people were not sure Nirvana could handle when their Unplugged venture was first announced. However, they manage to pull it off with astounding dignity and grace, even Kurt Cobain, who sounds like...
Published on June 12 2000 by Sal Nudo


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and timeless, Dec 22 2003
By 
Adam Rickards (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
Nirvana's Unplugged remains one of the band's most majestic moments. Coming hot off the heels of the noisy In Utero album, the band decided to stop into MTV's studios in New York City and play an acoustic set that completely erased any notions that they were just a simple "grunge" band. Kurt Cobain seems completely relaxed throughout, and he gives some staggeringly beautiful vocal performances. Dave Grohl plays the drums with wire brushes and demonstrates that he was just as capable of subtle shading as he was at hard-hitting fury. Krist Novoselic proves himself to be a worthwhile musician as well, playing accordion on "Jesus Doen't Want Me For a Sunbeam" in additon to playing a very solid-yet-laid back acoustic bass. Add former Germs guitarist Pat Smear to the lineup, as well as a guest appearance by the Kirkwood brothers of Tempe band the Meat Puppets, and you have all of the ingredients of that legendary November 1993 night.
All of the most obvious choices from Nevermind are featured here, "Polly," and "Something in the Way" of course, but their acoustic rendering of "On a Plain" is both relevatory and surprising, since I would not have expected them to include this song, and what's more it actually works as an acoustic! The classic "Come As You Are" is given more subtlely and emotion here, and that flanged guitar solo sounds positively stunning on an acoustic (actually he was using a half-acoustic/half-electric hybrid). The band also delivers some of the most mature songs from In Utero, too. "Dumb" sounds both blissful and melancholy at the same time, "All Apologies" is one of the highlights here, and "Pennyroyal Tea" stands as one of Kurt's most emotionally naked moments (I actually like the version here better).
Like the Beatles before him, Kurt Cobain had the uncanny ability to take any cover song and make it his own. From Devo to Leadbelly, David Bowie to the Vaselines, Kurt made it sound like all of these songs were his own, and he does this beautifully here as well, especially on their rendition of Bowie's "Man Who Sold the World," and of course, Leadbelly's "Where Did You Sleep Last Night." The latter has to be one of Nirvana's most chilling moments of all time, especially near the close of the song, where Kurt is giving it his all. Then, with an impassioned cry of "SHIVEEERRRRR!" he pauses for a couple of seconds before finishing the line. At this moment, I have to say the silence is deafening and is absolutely haunting in the purest sense of the word. It seems ironic that a band who was known for noisy live performances could rip walls out (and hearts) with two seconds of silence. This, if nothing else, stands as a testament to Nirvana's gifts.
As life affirming as this can be to listen to, sometimes it can also be quite sad knowing that this is ultimately the last word from Nirvana before Kurt's untimely death. But if this was the band's (and Kurt's) swan song, it is certainly the best finale that one can have, and I would certainly want something this beautiful to be my farewell, too. Even ten years later (God, has it been that long already?), Nirvana's Unplugged session remains as fresh as it was at the time, and stands as one of their very best live performances (as well as their most unique). Whether you are a casual fan or a diehard, this album is not to be missed and you are doing yourself a grave injustice if you skip out. This isn't just an Unplugged session, it is an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana's Second masterpiece...., Aug. 4 2005
By 
Mark A. Wallace "wallyism" (Canada/Victoria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
Nirvana were the first loud shredding band to come out and strip there songs down to the bone and create a masterpiece. Another brave thing Kurt and the band risk'd was not only stripping the songs down but not preforming there hits from previos outings. The album has influinecced many bands and will countinue to for many years.

1) "About a girl" - "About a girl" was taken off Nirvana's first record bleach. Kurt's vocals shine beutifully and the accustic guitars sound perfect. 10/10

2) "Come as you are" - "Come as you are" is one of the rare hits on the unpugged session. Although it dous not blend as well as the studio version its still classic. Emotion kicks in when you hear Kurt sing "And I swear that I dont have a gun/no I dont have a gun." 8.5/10

3) "Jesus dont want me for a sunbeam" - This is a Vaselines cover written by Eugene Wilson. Ive learned to love the track and Chello and string instruments are beutiful. 10/10

4) "The man who sold the world" - This is a David Bowie song and as a fan of Bowie I was interestid to see how Nirvana could pull this off. Well sure enough Cobain pulls it off with ease and sounds like he could have written it! 10/10

5) "Pennyroyal tea" - "Pennyroyal Tea" is possibly my favorite Nirvana song (refering to the studio version) Although like "Come as you are" it dousent work perfect many argue its the best track on the album. 7/10

6) "Dumb" - Was the only song on "In Utero" that wasnt a Roaring screaming guitar mess (although "In Utero" has its moments) and sounds generly the same but is evana better. 10/10

7)"Polly" - The second half of the album starts with "Polly" taken from "Nevermind". Not a song that stands out but is defently strong. 9/10

8)"On a plain" - At first I thought "On a plain" wouldnt work but I now relise I was compleaty wrong. It worked with flying couler and Kurts voice dominated the song. 9.5/10

9) "Something in the way" - Probally my least favorite track on the album but is not evan close to horrible. 6/10

10) "Plateau" - This is the first of three "Meat Puppets" songs in a row and it also the strongest. Althogh Im not a huge Meat Puppets fan I love this song. 9/10

11)"Oh me" - Not musch to say here but Krist's bass is amazing. 8.5/10

12) "Lake of fire" - I like this track for its Complete feel. Hard to explain but the song has nothing wrong with it and eveyting's there. Figure out for yourself. 9/10

13) "All Apoligies" - What can I say its perfect! Its so much like the album version yet so differnt. 10/10

14) "Where did you sleep last night" - The best song on the album hands down. Ive learnt to admire Leadbelly from this and so have others. Kurt goes from barely singing to Yelling along with the acustic guitars. Yep , Leadbelly would be pround.

Conclusion - Like the Review tells you this is a masterpiece along with Nirvana's first classic album "Nevermind". Another note , those who thought of Cobain as this deppresed Junk head may be wrong because the late Cobain here is upbeat and Jokeing. No , no im not saying Cobain didnt Kill himself but I am saying he might not have been all that deppresed.

Anyways add this to your collection immeditaly and injoy. Oh yeah one complaint - WHY ISNT THIS BEING REALESED ON DVD!

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live recording of the 1990s., March 26 2003
By 
Shotgun Method (NY... No, not *that* NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
Although Nirvana's studio work was great (particularly In Utero), this live album of November 1993 solidified the band's legend.
The concept behind Unplugged was decidedly unusual. Here was an intense, loud punk band from Seattle playing acoustic. An odd concept indeed, but Cobain, Grohl, and Novoselic were more than up to the task with a beautiful 14-song set. To my knowledge, Nirvana was the first to play an entire Unplugged session in a single take, which makes the quality of the performance all the more remarkable.
Instead of just playing a list of popular hits (as Alice In Chains did in the Unplugged format), Kurt decided to pay homage to the band's indie roots with covers of the Vaselines (Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam), David Bowie (The Man Who Sold The World, featuring the only plugged guitar), and three selections from Meat Puppets II (Plateau, Oh Me, Lake Of Fire). All of these renditions are pure gold, and I consider them superior to the originals.
Their studio work takes on a new dimension without the electric distortion. About A Girl sends shivers up my spine, Come As You Are sounds even more impressive acoustic, Dumb is filled with beautiful stringwork, Pennyroyal Tea becomes a haunting solo ballad, and All Apologies changes from raw to meloncholy. Most of these songs are at least equivalent to the studio versions, with All Apologies being much better than the harsh In Utero version.
The best track of all though is the unforgettable Where Did You Sleep Last Night. In this Leadbelly cover, Kurt lets all the feeling hit home, especially toward the end with his piercing screams. I've never heard a more emotional song in my life, and I always shed a tear listening to it.
This one ranks as the best live album of the 1990's and among the best ever. If you love Nirvana, definitely buy this one. If you never considered buying a Nirvana album, this one will make you a fan. Trust me.
----RIP Kurt----
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God, how i wish i could've been there..., July 12 2004
By 
Lisandro Pin (Rosario, Santa Fe Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
This is one of the weridest albums i own, in a way. Nirvana, a band which set the whole grunge scene going, and arguably one of the best in the genre, decided to make a live unplugged show for MTV. Nirvana, you know. Fat distortions, atonal riffs, raging vocals, powerful shows. Nirvana.
That they did *THIS* good is a surprise, and should change more than one peoples' mind about the artistic merits of the band (and Kurt Cobain in particular). Forget what you thought of this Nirvana; the way they morphed their songs (and others too) into mellow accoustic tunes is remarkable, and against all odds, worked great. I mean, my dad, who can't stand 99.9% of grunge, loves this record. It's easy to listen, but not because the songs are cheezy, it's just the complete album is incredibly good.
From start to finish, it transports you first row to this (unique) performance. Like i said, the whole record is excellent, but tracks like "Plateau", "Oh me", "On a plain", "Jesus don't want me for a sunbeam", "Where did you sleep last night?", and "All apologies" are so deeply moving i prefer to listen them by myself, wearing headphones. I can only imagine, closing my eyes, what have it felt to be there.
This is hands down one of the best albums of the 90's, and easily one of the top 10 live recordings of all history. It's hard to say this things without sounding like a fanboy, but the truth is that it simply is. Whatever your musical cup-of-tea is, you deserve to give this record a listen. People argue about how much they like this album - i dare you find someone who doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana's Best, June 22 2004
By 
Grant McKee (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
Despite the fact that this came after a string of four succesful and wonderful albums, "Unplugged" will forever remain Nirvana's best effort. In light of Kurt's debilitating depression caused by his sudden rise to fame, this album shines through as the potential for what could have been. If anything, Kurt seems to be in relatively high spirits, cracking a few jokes between songs. His enthusiasm for the set list is clear, with ample cover tunes from artists like David Bowie, The Vaselines, The Meat Puppets, and the masterful closer "Where Did You Sleep Last Night?" by Leadbelly. Choosing songs outside of his vocal capabilities ("Plateau" and "Lake of Fire") carry the impression of the absurd comedy of Monty Python. Nirvana had reached the point where they could essentially do what they want. If stardom is a daunting experience, the elation of reaching the point where you're accepted for what you can do and have the opportunity to try new things and expand your sound is a greater payoff than the royalty checks.
Like many others, I can't help but ask "what if?" What if Kurt hadn't killed himself? This record probably would have still sold millions of copies and it might have eased off pressure from labelheads looking for the next "In Utero." I like to think of this as the turning point that never was. Absolutely, hands down, one of the greatest rock records of the 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana's Best Album!!!, June 3 2004
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
The whole concept of this album may seem very odd to you: a loud, punk rock band going acoustic, but, trust me. This is an amazing album.
I'll admit, I am a new Nirvana fan. I would have been only about...4 years old when the band made it big. Recently, I stumbled across a few Nirvana songs and really, REALLY, liked them. So, a few days ago I bought the three Nirvana albums, that seemed to be generally regarded as the best: Nevermind, In Utero, and MTV Unplugged in New York (as a side note, the other two are very good also).
I thought their MTV Unplugged Album would be a bit odd, being a punk band after all, but after hearing it was really good I went out and bought it anyway. Boy was I surprised, of the three, this was overall, my favourite album. Sure, Nirvana have better songs than those found on this album (Smells Like Teen Spirit, Lithium and Heart Shaped Box spring to mind), but none of their albums are this good. In fact, I just finished listening to this album 5 minutes ago; that must mean something...I'm raving about it just after I finish it.
You may not agree with me that this is the best Nirvana album; you may not even particularly like Nirvana, but this is an exceptional album, and if you don't already own it, you should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island music, May 27 2004
By 
Enrique Torres "Rico" (San Diegotitlan, Califas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
If you skipped over music from the nineties go back and listen to this amazing CD by the quintessential grunge band, Nirvana. The Seatle based band, led by die-in tragic- rock fashion, the nascent Kurt Cobain who lived fast and died young, is at his absoulute best on this collection of accoustic numbers. Beginning with a song from their first record "About a Girl," the stage is set for a hipnotic mood of crowd reverence and interaction. The guttural lyrics of Cobain overshadow his continous left-handed pounding and picking of the guitar but both are top notch. The Vaselines version of the Christian song "Jesus Doesn't Want Me For a Sunbeam" is as far away from church as originally intended as Cobain assumes the pulpit and delivers the sermon sounding like a quiet gunslinger entering the saloon. Equally interesting his Nirvanas interpretation of the David Bowie classic, "The Man Who Sold The World." The song begins with Cobain claiming he will "screw it up" with a band members retort that "it won't be the first time" and then the signature buzz of the bee droning guitar introduction, dadadada; the rest is history as is this performance. Throughout the disc there is alot of chatter amongst the musicians which either indicates nervous tension or anxiety or that they are having a good time. The music on this disc is timeless and compelling from beginning to end with Cobain playing the insecure role and coming out sounding absoulutely great. All your , well not all but many of your favorite Nirvana songs are presented here in a live accoustic setting. Take your pick, "Pennyroyal Tea' featuring excruciating extended angst, " Dumb" which features some lovely cello by Lori Goldston(also on many other tracks), the immediately recognizeable "Polly," the Nirvana classic "All Apologies" with it's simple beat and powerful sound, the Neil Youngesque "Lake of Fire" that features a country twang in Cobains delivery with some riveting guitar licks, "Plateau" with some beautiful accoustic guitar work worked into a diverse vocal range delivery by Cobain and the bittersweet song "Where Did You Sleep Last Night" that is a haunting close to this disc. When Cobain breaks into his final chorus of imploring "where, don't lie to me my girl, where did you sleep last night" it is enough to make you shiver. No wonder Courtney Love is so screwed up. Any rock music collection would be incomplete without this disc. This is essential music from a time in rock when mega hair metal bands were fading and a fresh sound was reflecting and developing a distaste for the old guard. If you missed them the first time around then be sure to catch them now. There is also a DVD that captures this epic performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kurt, I'm proud of you; you were nearly on key!, May 22 2004
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
People who've reviewed Nirvana's Unplugged performance here know what they're talking about for the most part. Even if you can't stand any of Nirvana's studio albums, there are songs on here that anyone out there can like. Unplugged is very understated and dry, and suffers just a little bit from some blandness, but at least it's very consistent. Plus, playing is wonderful, especially from Kurt. His guitar is noticeably our of tune on Pennyroyal Tea and Come As You Are, but that doesn't take away the beauty of the rest other twelve songs like About A Girl and Jesus Don't Want Me For a Sunbeam. If you've heard Nirvana live in any electric format, you're pretty much guaranteed a ragged, sloppy music experience, but when you hear Unplugged it is a pleasant surprise. The beauty that came out of Kurt's acoustic strummings forced him to actually sing well for a change. Kurt, I'm proud of you; you were nearly on key! Even though I don't care for Nirvana's studio releases and the awful Muddy Banks live CD, I recommend Unplugged if you just NEED to get something by Nirvana. I think it's very sad that Kurt Cobain compromised himself and his music style for the one-track-minds who couldn't get enough of Nevermind. Near the end of his life, he wanted to quit Nirvana, and do things more in the vein of Unplugged, but audiences just wanted to hear more meaningless teenage-agnst crap like Smells Like Teen Spirit. When I hear Unplugged and think about how Kurt could have changed his music style to make himself happy, all I can ask myself is "Why'd he kill himself over the worthless fans who love Nevermind"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Unplugged Performance Ever, April 30 2004
By 
Christian E. Stilp (Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
There is no mistake about everyone giving this album a rating of five stars. This is the most surprising, deep, insightful and soulful performance Nirvana had ever assembled.
The set begins with Cobain's dry sense of humor, coyly commenting "This song's off our first record, most people don't own it" before leading into the origins of Nirvana, "About a Girl". The acoustic element added a tremendous amount of depth and yearning to this song, and it was only the beginning. "Come As You Are" was unearthed like a brand new creation; echoes reverberating magically through the small concert hall. Expectations were high - what could follow this great 1-2 punch opening?
A cover?
Yes, Nirvana was playing a cover in their Unplugged set. The crowd sat silent as Kurt revealed the next song was written by The Vaselines, and the band began a beautiful rendition of "Jesus Doesn't Want Me For a Sunbeam". This song was brought out of nowhere and instantly spread across the world by Cobain's range, Krist Novoselic changing gears and playing the accordian, and the others playing as though this was their song all along.
The assimilation of others' music into Nirvana's repetoire continues with the next track, David Bowie's "The Man Who Sold the World". Cobain cheats a bit and distorts his acoustic guitar, but with simple and haunting results. In all honesty, Nirvana's version sounds miles better than the original, and was played (and still is played) on alternative radio stations across the country.
The following quintet returned to Nirvana originals, all performed in the same emotional intensity that doesn't skip a beat anywhere in this performance. Kurt playing solo on "Pennyroyal Tea" is worth the price of this disc alone, with its indescribable power only preceded by his dry humor ("I think I'm going to try it in the normal key, and if it sounds bad... these people are just going to have to wait.") "Polly", "Dumb", "On a Plain" and "Something in the Way" all floored the audience, each sounding like an entirely new song and infinitely improved.
Kurt invited his longtime friends the Kirkwood Brothers, constituents of the band the Meat Puppets. The story goes, Kurt sat his wife Courtney Love down to play some incredible songs for her. He put on the Meat Puppets' originals, and Love loathed how rushed each song felt. Kurt then brought out his guitar and played the songs *his* way, and she was absolutely floored. If you compare the originals to Kurt's covers, you will agree. His essence absolutely floods these three songs, especially the amazing "Oh Me".
In closing, the full Nirvana band returned to play an appropriate and impressive "All Apologies", then one last masterpiece - a cover of Leadbelly's "Where Did You Sleep Last Night?". Cobain hides absolutely nothing and pours every last drop of his trademark vocal strain into this song. The instrumental outro leaves you feeling not only satisfied, but it gently returns you to your day, leaving this transported place that defies all definition, exceeds all expectation, and transcends all time.
The fans cheered for an encore, and Grohl, Novoselic and Smear felt up to it - they went to ask Kurt, and he denied the request; he had nothing left to give. After listening to this disc, you have nothing to do but agree.
And one last tidbit - this performance was all recorded in one take. Another legacy of Nirvana's unimaginable talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The passion of Nirvana, April 15 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unplugged In New York (Audio CD)
Nirvana has 4 albums recorded. And in those albums there are emotional songs, songs that need to be remade in unplugged version. This concert was token place in November of 1994. It is the best unplugged performance I would say. Even not so big of Nirvana fans would say this is an amazing cd. This album has great quality for a performance. But Nirvana didn't really moved around much like the "from the muddy bands of Wishka" performance. Which you should buy in addition to this cd.
There are some songs they should have performed though that would have been great like "Lithium" and "Heart Shaped Box". But they still performed awesome songs like "come as you are", which sounds amazing unplugged, "something in the way", and "All Apologies". All apologies is my favorite song out of this album. Along with come as you are. I also loved the song "plateau", which is an original song that is not on any nirvana album.
I really enjoyed this album. If you like soft center music, like the Beatles, you will definitely just love this album. I think this is one of Nirvanas best album. It is very sensational and very different from the grunge era. This album was recorded 11 years ago, and people including me, still enjoy listening to this record. Ten years without Kurt, it just isn't the same. May Kurt Donald Cobain R.I.P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MTV Unplugged in New York (Vinyl)
MTV Unplugged in New York (Vinyl) by Nirvana (LP Record - 2009)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews