Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars HE is the face I can't forget.......
In this Hammer classic we are blessed with one of the eight wonders of the world. A blonde vision of incandescent loveliness that can but only fill our hearts with indescribable longing. Yes, we are talking about actor John Richardson. He plays war veteran Leo who is first seen watching a belly dancer with his ex-pat chums. He is eyed up by the servant girl of Ayesha,...
Published on Jan. 16 2002 by Gary

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sorte de peplum tité du roman de h ridder-haagart
un des premiers rôles d'ursula dans le registre reine cruelle. le scénario est classique mais le film est bien construit et la belle suissesse fait preuve de conviction dans un role ou le risque du ridicule n'était pas mince
Published on Nov. 30 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Lavish Hammer Version of Immortal Story, March 25 2004
By 
Simon Davis (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
Hammer Studios went all out in the filming of their 1965 version of the acclaimed novel "She", by Henry Rider Haggard. While there has been disappointment with the way the source material was adapted for the screen it nevertheless makes a rousing and highly entertaining story in this film version and offered Hammer legend Peter Cushing another type of outdoor action role that he had not tackled for some time. The film benefited by a larger than usual budget which made it Hammer's most expensive film to that date. The extra expense was essential for the many scenes taking place in the sweeping desert regions mentioned in the story, many of which were photgraphed on location in Israel. Despite the changes made in the story "She", is best enjoyed on its own merits and makes great old fashioned "Boy's own" type entertainment.
Set in Palestine in 1918 "She", relates the story of three wartime buddies Maj. Horace Holly (Peter Cushing), Leo Vincy (John Richardson) and Job (Bernard Cribbons), who at the end of the war find themselves at loose ends in the Middle East with no real desire to return home to England. Encountering a beautiful and mysterious woman called Ustane (Rosenda Monteros), one evening in a nightclub Leo is lured away and then knocked out. When he comes to he discovers himself in a strange house where he encounters another beautiful woman who calls herself Ayesha (Ursula Andress). She reveals the purpose of why he was brought to her, which is that he is the reincarnation of her lost love Killikrates from two thousand years previously and that if he can find his way to her mythical city of Kuma he will not only possess her but all the riches and glory he could ever want. Seeking adventure Leo enlists the aid of his two friends and sets out with the aid of a map given to him by Ayesha to find the lost city of Kuma. Along the hazardous desert trail they encounter desert fighters who steal their water and camels and finally they are captured by the hostile Amahagger tribe who believe in human sacrifice. Just as the sacrifice of Leo is to take place since he resembles a portrait of Killikrates on a gold medal, they are rescued by the soldiers in Ayesha's army led by the mysterious high priest Billali (Christopher Lee). Led to Kuma they are finally brought into the presence of the mysterious Ayesha who it turns out has discovered the secret of eternal life by bathing in a special blue flame that keeps her young and beautiful forever. It is revealed that in a jealous rage two thousand years previously Ayesha killed her lover and has been waiting for his return ever since. Ayesha seeing that Leo has survived the test of reaching her city becomes determined to share her secret of eternal life with him so that they can rebuild the glorious civilisation that she once presided over as Queen. Despite her cruelty to those that oppose her which includes the unfortunate younger men of the Amahaggers and her servant Ustane who are thrown into a flaming pit, Leo becomes bewitched by Ayesha's beauty and promise of eternal life. As Holly and Job are preparing to leave however the remaining Amahuggers break into the city led by Haumeid (Andre Morell), who was also Ustane's father. In the fighting Billali is killed and just as Leo joins Ayesha in the sacred flame suddenly the process is reversed and Ayesha reverts to how she would look after two thousand years and dies. Leo elects to remain in the city in the hope that the blue flame will return one day so he can reverse the process which has now given him this unwanted gift of eternal life.
Visually this film is probably unequalled in the productions to come out of Hammer Studios. The stunning desert vistas, beautiful cinematography and well staged actions sequences all rank with the best Hammer work past or present. Peter Cushing has a more rogueish character to play here and as always his teaming with fellow Hammer veteran Christopher Lee is excellent with the two squaring off in one vivid scene set in a room full of mummified high priests. Ursula Andress has been critised for her limited acting ability however I feel she is perfect for the role of the mysterious, cool and cruel beauty Ayesha who never grows old. Her delivery is perfect in both the romantic and brutal scenes and rarely has an actress looked more the part of the eternal beauty than Andress does when garbed in her flowing white robe billowing in the breeze. Production on "She", was not an easy thing with troubles in Israel during filming and also the record temperatures on the desert locations proving a real trial for all cast memebers involved. The musical score used for "She", composed by James Bernard is also breathtaking and in the Ayesha scenes in particular has a lyrical haunting quality to it that heightens the romance of her pursuit of a lost love over two thousand years.
"She", makes very interesting viewing and as long as you dont expect a close following of the original novel is sure to entertain. Seeing the unique talents of Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee together in the one film regardless of the size of their roles is always a treat but I think it is the mysterious image of Ursula Andress that will stay in viewers mind. She most definately becomes "She ...Who Must Be Obeyed", enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ursula - She who must be obeyed, Aug. 12 2002
By 
Mr. M. A. Towey (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
I am writing this review here, re: the VHS, but I actually have the DVD which I cannot find in the Amazon store...still the movie is the movie whatever the format...and the review is simply for those who may never have seen this Hammer film.
Essentially, Ursula Andress (who is also in the fantastic epitome of the rainy Sunday afternoon stalwart...'Clash of the Titans'), is the Queen of a strange forgotten land who has lived for centuries due to a life giving fire, and who awaits the re-incarnation of her lost love murdered centuries ago by the jealous high priest (Christopher Lee). The book on which the movie is based is somewhat less Hammy (if you'll pardon the pun), but still the whole film has a certain class and if you like Hammer films, it is one of the best.
The ending is what makes it though...the special effects here are not so much sophisticated as downright terrifying and as a youth gave me awful nightmares for a while afterwards...didn't stop me wanting to see it again though as soon as I could.
Did I mention Ursula Andress is in it...scantily dressed like your typical Queen of ancient days...I did say that didn't I...time to wind me tongue back in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ursula - She who must be obeyed, Aug. 12 2002
By 
Mr. M. A. Towey (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
I am writing this review here, re: the VHS, but I actually have the DVD which I cannot find in the Amazon store...still the movie is the movie whatever the format...and the review is simply for those who may never have seen this Hammer film.
Essentially, Ursula Andress (who is also in the fantastic epitome of the rainy Sunday afternoon stalwart...'Clash of the Titans'), is the Queen of a strange forgotten land who has lived for centuries due to a life giving fire, and who awaits the re-incarnation of the lost love she murdered centuries ago in a fit of pique, and this transpiring only then to be thwarted by the intervention of the jealous high priest (Christopher Lee). The book on which the movie is based is somewhat less Hammy (if you'll pardon the pun), but still the whole film has a certain class and if you like Hammer films, it is one of the best.
The ending is what makes it though...the special effects here are not so much sophisticated as downright terrifying and as a youth gave me awful nightmares for a while afterwards...didn't stop me wanting to see it again though as soon as I could.
Did I mention Ursula Andress is in it...OK, OK I'll wind me tongue in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HE is the face I can't forget......., Jan. 16 2002
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
In this Hammer classic we are blessed with one of the eight wonders of the world. A blonde vision of incandescent loveliness that can but only fill our hearts with indescribable longing. Yes, we are talking about actor John Richardson. He plays war veteran Leo who is first seen watching a belly dancer with his ex-pat chums. He is eyed up by the servant girl of Ayesha, whom we meet in the next scene and is played by some actress called Ursula Andress. This servant girl immediately and understandably falls for the astonishing Mr Richardson, who is the only man in the world who would still look good in a mullet. After a brief flirtation with whats-her-name, Leo and chums set off for a hazardous desert trek to find the lost city where she hangs out. Leo looks stunning throughout, although half dead from injury and thirst. In a delirium he sees a vision of Ayesha with outstretched arms saying "come to me, Leo!" I know just how she feels. I mean, he feels. He must find her, but instead he is caught and is tied to two posts by some natives who need a human sacrifice. With shirt torn open, muscles rippling and blue eyes flashing like mesmerising rare gems, Leo thrashes his head from side to side as the spears get closer, closer! The bongo drums play louder as he sweats and writhes. My God, how much more of this Adonis....I mean, suffering can we take? Luckily he is rescued by soldiers from the lost city and laid to rest in bed for a while. His chest is incredible, even the hairs seem to be made from the golden fleece. Suddenly we cut to Ayesha heaving in her bed. Yes, yes, but let's get back to Leo. Later, they are both re-united on a balcony over looking the lost city and Leo is dressed in white silk with an open chest. Oh God, why did they leave out the whip? Ayesha expresses undying love and Leo's chums decide to leave. Disgraceful! They can't leave Leo in the hands of that...that...women. But fate plays a strange hand and the true message of the film emerges. It is better to resist the monstrous regiment of women and discover the true meaning of love and loyalty, that is the kind found when hanging out with one's chums. Leo is left an immortal, his beautiful face and taught, proud, sinewy body of a stallion doomed to stay young forever. I'm sorry, this is a tragedy? It's the happiest moment of my life. Mr Richardson, you are without doubt the most gorgeous man in the whole wide world. It's just a pity I'm not gay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good., Sept. 18 1999
By 
Daisy Ghostly (Odense, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
People often say bad things about this movie, but I like it a lot. -O.k.; so Andress can't act, and Richardson doesn't even try, but it's got Cushing, Lee, Morell and Cribbins in top form, and one of the biggest looks of any Hammer film. Hammer certainly believed in this movie; too bad the two leads didn't. -It's still great fun, and I especially like that it takes forever for them to get to their destination, once the travelling begins. -In a modern movie, the trip would've taken only a few minutes, if not seconds. But back in the good old days (the 50's & 60's), they SHOWED us the journey. See it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She (1965), June 16 2000
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
The film's locations are very good - the Arab cafe and desert scenes. The film's plot is well done, with Peter Cushing, John Richardson, and Bernard Cribbins starring as three ex-British Army soldiers who travel from Palestine in 1918 to the lost city of Kuma because John is believed to be Kuma's High Priest. Christopher Lee also stars as a priest from Kuma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My very favorite film., Feb. 3 2000
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
Though it is not exactly a film classic, the movie has a great feel to it -- and rather transports you to the city of Kuma. I found all the actors wonderful, especially Ursula Andress. Anyone who loves ancient Egypt, stories about the re-incarnation of lost loves, and a slightly twisted ending will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sorte de peplum tité du roman de h ridder-haagart, Nov. 30 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
un des premiers rôles d'ursula dans le registre reine cruelle. le scénario est classique mais le film est bien construit et la belle suissesse fait preuve de conviction dans un role ou le risque du ridicule n'était pas mince
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars They Don't Make 'Em Like Ursula Anymore, Sept. 23 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: She [Import] (VHS Tape)
The sight of Ursula Andress alone makes this movie worth viewing. She has to be the most gorgeous actress to ever grace a movie screen. British horror vets Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee lend capable support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive Presentation of SHE on DVD, June 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: She [Import] (DVD)
This is the Hammer version of SHE from 1965, not to be confused with the RKO version of 1935. Neither version is entirely faithful to the Rider Haggard story.

This Hammer version is handsomely done, in beautiful color. The DVD presentation is widescreen. The length is 105 minutes.

This is a Warner Archives DVD-R. It has no special features and not even a scene menu.

The image is occasionally flawed by tiny imperfections on the right side of the screen, little amoeba-like blobs which pop up for a second and then vanish. This happens only about half a dozen times.

The biggest problem is that this is a DVD-R, and even though it is from Warner, whose regular DVDs are always good, it has all the flaws of DVD-Rs. That is, you can't be sure it will play reliably on your machine until you buy it and play it.

The first one I ordered played perfectly for 92 minutes, then started skipping wildly for 2 minutes, during a crucial scene. After that, it settled down, but then skipped some more later. So the climax of the film was ruined. The Amazon merchant I ordered the DVD-R from sent me a replacement without making any difficulty. The replacement played fine for 80 minutes, then skipped about 2 seconds, then was fine for a bit, then skipped 10 seconds, then 20, etc. -- about five or six skips in all, slicing out 2 or 3 minutes of the film during the climactic ending section. However, when I put the DVD in for a second playing, starting it at about 80 minutes, it played fine until the end. Will it play correctly the next time I watch the film, say, 6 months from now? Who knows? DVD-R is a crappy technology. When will these manufacturers learn that customers will GLADLY pay more for a PERMANENT DVD that they can play over and over again, year after year, confident that it will perform? I'd rather pay $25 for a real Warner DVD than $17 for a DVD-R any day.

Unfortunately, it seems that the only true DVDs available for this film are from Britain, and are Region 2, which doesn't do us any good on this continent.

Back to the movie itself: the story is handsomely filmed, with a simple but mostly effective score, except for the overuse of the bouncy "journey through the desert" motif. The acting is good, with Peter Cushing turning in his usual polished performance and the other players, including Christopher Lee, Rosenda Monteros, John Richardson and Bernard Cribbins all being adequate or better than adequate. Ursula Andress is not only perfect in beauty for the role, but acts the role convincingly. One can believe she is an immortal woman and a powerful and ruthless queen. I say this because she is usually knocked for being just a beauty with no acting talent. Well, she may not be a great actress, but she was perfect in this, given the atmosphere of the film. I am told that her dialogue was dubbed by another actress, but one would not know that from looking at the film in a casual way, since the sound is almost perfectly well synchronized with her lips. Whoever the actress was who did the voice, she was perfect: her beautiful and dignified voice matched Andress's looks and acting.

The sets, special effects, etc. are all very good; the film is a feast for the eyes. I would love to see it on the big screen.

Is it better than the 1935 version? Hard to say. The 1935 actress did a good job, but is outmatched in looks by Andress. The 1935 version also departs from the African setting and from other details of the novel's plot. Also, the 1935 original was only in black and white, whereas this movie screams out for color. Fortunately there is a good colorized version of the 1935 available now, in a 2-DVD set which I recommend. So now one can watch both versions with the "color advantage" of the Hammer film removed, and compare them for other things -- script, acting, sets, plot, music, etc. But this Hammer version is very good in its own right, and I recommend both.

If you get a DVD-R that works, you should enjoy this movie, if you like adventure, fantasy, etc. The film is worth 4/5. The DVD-R gets 1/5, for good image and sound but otherwise the usual DVD-R cruddiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She [Import]
She [Import] by Robert Day (DVD - 2009)
CDN$ 28.97 CDN$ 15.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews