Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new addition to the Zombie Genre!
This was a light-hearted take on the traditional zombie move. Fun to watch and inventive the movie gave life in to a well covered topic. My all-time standard is Dawn of the dead... and while this movie has many of the same comedic and funny parts it lacks any of the sheer action you get in Dawn of the Dead. This one is somewhere between Dawn of the Dead and Shaun of...
Published on Feb. 8 2010 by Ron H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie!
Fun movie the first time around. Second viewing and it comes across real campy.Guys, it has Emma Stone in it so who cares? Am I right?
Published 4 months ago by Frank B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new addition to the Zombie Genre!, Feb. 8 2010
By 
Ron H "Ron H" (Oakville, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was a light-hearted take on the traditional zombie move. Fun to watch and inventive the movie gave life in to a well covered topic. My all-time standard is Dawn of the dead... and while this movie has many of the same comedic and funny parts it lacks any of the sheer action you get in Dawn of the Dead. This one is somewhere between Dawn of the Dead and Shaun of the Dead to me. A must see and loads of bits that you will enjoy, from the first girlfriend moment to the Bill Murray cameo kudos on the concept and I hope we see a second movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nu-Classic Zombie Flic, Nov. 17 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Zombie movies are now a genre onto themselves. Perhaps due to the new popularity of zombie-killin' video games such as Left 4 Dead, people just love watching characters blow away zombies en masse. Now a legitimate commercial force, zombie films such as Zombieland and Shaun of the Dead reveal the lighter side of the undead and the end of the world as we know it.

Not going in expecting too much (I mean, you can't -- can't -- CAN'T -- top Shaun of the Dead) I was pleasantly surprised by Zombieland and its stellar American cast. Jesse Eisenberg, for anyone who hasn't seen Adventureland yet (shame on you!) is a talented young actor who can (gasp!) actually portray a character rather than a charicature! Cera-like in his demeanor, he portrays young Columbus Ohia as a smart nerdy survivor with heart. Everybody is beginning to learn that Emma Stone, who plays Wichita Kansas, is more than just a pretty gace. Abigail Breslin (Little Rock Arkansas) and Woody Harrelson (Tallahasee Florida) have strong resumes that speak for themselves. Woody fans will enjoy his return to a tough guy role, but one not without history and heart.

What makes this movie different and special was its unique usage of Columbus' "rules" of survival in the post-Zombie world, or "Zombieland" as he calls it. These rules, recurring through the entire movie, are used in clever and unexpected ways to enhance the danger or comedy. But will his rules enable our hearty band of survivors to stick together?

There's also a stellar uncredited cameo which may make the movie worth the price of admission to some fans.

The movie culminates with a showdown to beat all showdowns, four against an entire amusement part full of zombies. It's every zombie-fan's dream situation. You're going to love it. Trust me.

5 stars. A unique and fun comedy-horror-adventure-drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must own movie for zombie fans!, Jan. 6 2010
By 
BookChick (Simcoe, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is a must-own for anyone who is a fan of Zombie movies. It actually replaced "Dawn of the Dead" as my favourite zombie pic!

This movie is laugh-out-loud funny throughout. My husband and I watched it in the theatre and re-hashed the funniest scenes the entire way home. It will make you laugh from the beginning, but there are well-done serious scenes as well. The casting was spot on, and Woody Harrelson is awesome as a loner trying to make his way through the zombie-infested world. The acting was convincing, the plot compelling, and the laughs genuine.

I will watch this one again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie!, June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) (DVD)
Fun movie the first time around. Second viewing and it comes across real campy.Guys, it has Emma Stone in it so who cares? Am I right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, no more, April 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My 13 year old son asked me to order this movie and watch it with him. He finds it rather funny. I smiled once in a while, but didn't laugh. The characters are very caricatural, as expected in a comedy. The girls really think they have the control of the situation, but finally realise how far from control they happen to be. I have always thought that the concept of zombies is ridiculous anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The United States of Zombieland, Feb. 24 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) (DVD)
The zombie apocalypse isn't exactly fertile fodder for comedy. I mean, everybody is either dead, zombified or in danger of being eaten.

But God bless Ruben Fleischer, he managed to wring some comedy out of a world overrun by brain-eating abominations -- despite the bleak setting, the quirky way it's presented (complete with "zombie rules") keeps it from ever becoming too grim. Also, there is a lot of splattergore, snappy dialogue, Twinkie lust and the occasional Bill Murray cameo.

Two months ago, a strain of mad cow disease mutated into a zombie plague. Ever since his hot neighbor went zombie and tried to eat him, "Columbus" (Jesse Eisenberg) has been traveling to Ohio. But he ends up having to drive with "Tallahassee" (Woody Harrelson), a hot-headed gun-slinging zombie-killer with a deep love for Twinkies and an even greater love for killing zombies.

Then the two men get hijacked by con artists "Wichita" (Emma Stone) and her younger sister "Little Rock" (Abigail Breslin), who are seeking "Pacific Playland" in Los Angeles... which for some reason they think is zombie-free. The little group grows closer while they take shelter in a Hollywood mansion, but are their bonds strong enough to keep them together when zombies attack?

"Zombieland" is one of those rare comedies that takes a really bleak subject and makes it incredibly quirky and funny. Yes, there's a lot of violence -- the climax is basically one big zombie-sploding celebration of gore -- but the movie never loses its quirky sense of humor. Exhibit A: Tallahassee's ongoing quest for spongy cream-filled Hostess goodness.

Oh, Fleischer does address the losses and tragedy of the zombie apocalypse -- Tallahassee has a tragic backstory, and we often see towns left in abandoned ruins except for the zombies. But he never lets it bog down the story, and instead focuses on oddball comedy (Bill Murray! Everything about Bill Murray!) and dialogue ("My mama always told me someday I'd be good at something. Who'd'a guessed that something'd be zombie-killing?").

And the climax is utterly awesome in every way. Without revealing too much, it pretty much encapsulates everything fun about the movie.... but in concentrated form.

And the actors are all pretty perfect -- Eisenberg effectively plays a nerdy, shy guy riddled with phobias (including clowns), who is the last person you'd expect to survive a zombie apocalypse. And he's perfect next to the rough, tough, delightfully eccentric redneck Harrelson, who roars and blasts his way through any zombie zone -- they're a zombiepocalypse odd couple par excellence. Stone and Breslin aren't quite as much fun as their male counterparts, but the "twelve is the new twenty" brashness is pretty funny.

Zombies are chic right now, but "Zombieland" is definitely something special -- a wild, bloody comedy that doesn't let the zombiepocalypse kill the funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zombies and Twinkies !!!, Jan. 1 2014
By 
Giacomo Caligiuri (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What more can a man ask for ?! Funny to see a zombie movie without all the gore. I can watch this movie again and again ! A +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good, Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love horror movies and have a soft spot (sic) for Zombies. I hate ridiculous ones and this one sure isn't one of them. At first I was sceptical, it was too funny but as time went on it really 'got' me. It's a first rate zombie film but with a lot of humour. I never knew what would happen even until the end. Great acting from all actors. Very fast-paced, time flew while watching this film. A must for all zombie lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, Oct. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a fantastic watch. All the characters were excellent, I have watched it a few times. I bought this on sale to replace my DVD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Movie, Aug. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Zombieland (DVD) (DVD)
The movie was a few days late but other than that all was well. It was in the proper packaging and it didn't look like a home made copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
Zombieland (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Ruben Fleischer (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 17.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews