Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nu-Classic Zombie Flic
Zombie movies are now a genre onto themselves. Perhaps due to the new popularity of zombie-killin' video games such as Left 4 Dead, people just love watching characters blow away zombies en masse. Now a legitimate commercial force, zombie films such as Zombieland and Shaun of the Dead reveal the lighter side of the undead and the end of the world as we know it...
Published on Nov. 17 2010 by LeBrain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, no more
My 13 year old son asked me to order this movie and watch it with him. He finds it rather funny. I smiled once in a while, but didn't laugh. The characters are very caricatural, as expected in a comedy. The girls really think they have the control of the situation, but finally realise how far from control they happen to be. I have always thought that the concept of...
Published 6 days ago by tornitons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best zombie movie ever!, Feb. 12 2012
This is the best zombie movie I ever seen... and I am a big fan of this kind of movie. Good story, good actors performances and very funny! The effects are perfect! You have to see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must own movie for zombie fans!, Jan. 6 2010
By 
BookChick (Simcoe, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This movie is a must-own for anyone who is a fan of Zombie movies. It actually replaced "Dawn of the Dead" as my favourite zombie pic!

This movie is laugh-out-loud funny throughout. My husband and I watched it in the theatre and re-hashed the funniest scenes the entire way home. It will make you laugh from the beginning, but there are well-done serious scenes as well. The casting was spot on, and Woody Harrelson is awesome as a loner trying to make his way through the zombie-infested world. The acting was convincing, the plot compelling, and the laughs genuine.

I will watch this one again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new addition to the Zombie Genre!, Feb. 8 2010
By 
Ron H "Ron H" (Oakville, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This was a light-hearted take on the traditional zombie move. Fun to watch and inventive the movie gave life in to a well covered topic. My all-time standard is Dawn of the dead... and while this movie has many of the same comedic and funny parts it lacks any of the sheer action you get in Dawn of the Dead. This one is somewhere between Dawn of the Dead and Shaun of the Dead to me. A must see and loads of bits that you will enjoy, from the first girlfriend moment to the Bill Murray cameo kudos on the concept and I hope we see a second movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just your average Zombie flick!, Feb. 6 2010
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) (DVD)
Once in a while a movie will come along which will actually pleasantly surprise you and this one certainly fits the bill. Countless filmmakers have gone to the Zombie well,over and over and over again for years and most leave you with that "been there,done that" feeling.But this 88 minute flick Zombieland,puts its' own fresh twist on things and comes up with a little winner.
The story involves a group of four people going cross country trying to stay alive from the world wide Zombie threat around them.The how and the why of the plague is only briefly touched on as having something to do with a contagion mutating from mad cow disease and into humans.We know our main protagonists only through city names.The first and the narrator of the film is Columbus(Jesse Eisenberg).He is a young man who is forced from his solitary existence due to the terrible threat,and sets out for Columbus,Ohio to seek out his parents.His plans get sidetracked when he meets up with Tallahassee(Woody Harrelson).Tallahassee it seems has lost his family and while not the easiest person to get to know,is a Zombie,butt-kicking pro;quite fearless.One of the last pleasures Mr.T has,is to get a hold of a twinkie.To this end they stop into a grocery store but just end up getting their ride stolen(Cadillac SUV) by a couple of con-sisters(Witchita-Emma Stone and Little Rock-Abigail Breslin),who pretend one of them is infected and is about to turn.But the boys soon get a new ride of their own that is a step up;a big yellow Hummer filled with lots of ammo and guns.
Back on the road the guys come upon their stolen truck "abandoned" but get taken in once more and get their new ride hijacked by the same girls.But now they are at least all together and the girls head for the Pacific Playland Park,just outside L.A.When they arrive in L.A. Columbus suggests crashing and getting some sleep.To that end Mr T suggests heading for some swanky digs and suggests a stars home;one of his heroes,Bill Murray.Just as they are settling down Bill Murray himself,dressed as a Zombie(to blend in with them) frightens Mr T and Witchita.After Mr T finishes gushing all over Bill they decide to pull a trick on Columbus and Little Rock.Bill walks in on them Zombie-like but quick acting Columbus pulls out his trusty shot gun and shoots Murray.The wound is fatal and he ends up dying!
Next morning the girls again steal off with the ride heading to the park as planned.This time the guys know where they're heading and follow them.The girls arrive at night and turn on the power to the entire park.They might as well have turned a big neon sign saying"fresh meat-come and get it",as every Zombie within sight of the park comes-a-runnin'.Soon the girls are surrounded by the creatures but eventually the guys arrive on cue.Through some tense moments and fancy maneuvering the guys rescue the girls.The movie ends with them driving out of the park,the grounds covered in bodies.
The movie is quite a smart one with snappy dialogue and the on going narrative by Columbus makes it sound more like a travelogue with tips throughout.His tips always consist of the do's and don't of living in Zombieland such as the "double-tap","don't be a hero","always check the back seat","beware of bathrooms",etc.And each tip is usually shown through cgi on the screen in big white lettering.The action/fun on screen that comes across throughout is a constant reminder not to take what you see or hear too seriously.The time with Bill Murray is a hoot and Murray's reference to seeing Eddie Van Halen at the Hollywood Bowl as a Zombie,or just walking onto a golf course and playing nine holes with no line up and uninterrupted is just typical of the dry sense of humour you will hear in the film.It is what really makes it what it is and work so well.
In the technical department the film has been transferred wonderfully onto DVD,no problems there.The extras include several deleted scenes,a featurette,actor/director commentary and the trailer.
In conclusion if you want a snappy,smart and funny Zombie movie with a nice twist to it,this is for you.The script and plot are both well written and the movie moves along well throughout.The producers got everything they could out of each scene and then moved along to the next,trying to keep the pace on a even keel;and generally they succeed.Before you know it this enjoyable flick ends after around 85 minutes and,it seems,all too quickly.But they have invoked that age old show biz adage:"Leave'em wanting more".Sequel anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and funny zombie film, Oct. 23 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) (DVD)
An irreverent, ultra-modern and geektastic take on the zombie film. The performances are great and the script, for the most part, is excellent.

Two weaknesses: though the writers are clearly going for tough and independent, the female characters initially come off as opportunistic and mercenary; completely unlikeable. Once they've been set up, however, they're allowed to grow a little (until they're then thrust into the tired role of damsels in distress).

Second: an odd interlude featuring a Big Name Cameo is stretched thin, drags on, and is ultimately a let-down. I actually skip these scenes during rewatches.

That said, don't let the above-mentioned nit-picks dissuade you, Zombieland is a fanatastic addition to the horror-comedy ranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yogagirl, Aug. 22 2011
Excellent Movie! Soooo funny! I don't like many scary movies but I thought if Woody was in this might be a bit different and it was!
There is lots of good tips if you ever meet up with a Zombie. Could save your life, best to be ready! Great movie for anyone with a sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie-funny, Aug. 2 2011
this is a really good movie, Shaun of the dead funny :) have it now on my iphone watch it during the low times at work :) really good acting worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to a collection, April 6 2011
This review is from: Zombieland (Bilingual) (DVD)
A great softcore zombie movie for fans of zombies, humor, and those not-too-serious-films.
I personally found this more appealing than other movies like Shaun of the Death since there's less stupid moments (stupid as in not funny stupid just plain stupid) and more humor and storyline which is funny since most zombie movies have little to no story.

Lots of funny moments and scary ones, overall I'd say it'd make a great addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Such a funny movie, March 17 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We watched this in theatres and loved it. I myself am not a zombie movie fan normally but loved this. If you love a good laugh I recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bite me, July 23 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This animal is not worth the plastic it is recorded on.

Everyone becomes a zombie with the standard zombie contact lenses and the standard zombie propensity to slurp on stringy flesh.

In the case of this DVD, the best parts are the Blu-Ray advertisements. However if you insist on going further I suggest that you skip straight to the extras and just listened to the voiceover commentaries were everyone pats their own back.

If you're propensity, watch this sort of thing I still suggest you skip this film and if you must have a zombie fix of this sort be sure to watch "Zombie Campout" (2002) as even though this is also an awful movie it has more social redeeming features.

Oh all right, watch it. But it's not as if I didn't warn you. Bill Murray looks old and shot in this film.

Zombie Campout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc0151a14)

This product

Zombieland (Bilingual)
Zombieland (Bilingual) by Ruben Fleischer (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews