Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SADE deploys her SEDUCTIVE Soldier of Love
Music fans claiming the music industry produce and release only highly disposable merchandise have yet to hear this product.

Sade returns to the forefront with a crafty collection of songs that are musically impeccable.

The vocal style of their lead vocalist, Sade Adu, is once again seductively relaxed.

The musical ambiance on this release...
Published on Feb. 20 2010 by Frederic White

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long time Sade fan
I wanted to love this CD as much as I love Sade. I have every one of her albums since she began her career and she holds a huge place in my heart. Unfortunately, the only reason I really like this album, I think, is because it's Sade. Otherwise, I can't really say I would listen to it as much. Of course, there are a few amazing tracks, but overall I can't honestly say...
Published on April 23 2010 by P. Leanage


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SADE deploys her SEDUCTIVE Soldier of Love, Feb. 20 2010
By 
Frederic White "FredEric White" (Montreal, QC.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
Music fans claiming the music industry produce and release only highly disposable merchandise have yet to hear this product.

Sade returns to the forefront with a crafty collection of songs that are musically impeccable.

The vocal style of their lead vocalist, Sade Adu, is once again seductively relaxed.

The musical ambiance on this release is a classic SADE ( a combination of mature pop with a hint of soul jazz).
The track listing has been perfectly selected by the producers to capitalize upon the creative atmospheric nature of this band and artist.

Not one track on SOLDIER OF LOVE is filler material.

It is highly doubtful that current radio formats in North America will embrace the bulk of the material with the same acceptance as they once did during the 1980s, however, that does not diminish its artistic validity or question its quality and worth of being purchased.

It is most probable this CD will go on to rapidly acquire a strong life of its own without having much support from Top 40 radio. SOLDIER OF LOVE will most likely remain atop several music critics year end list as one of the "must-have " musical releases for 2010.

The entire CD is a seductive musical masterpiece.

BEST TRACKS:

The Entire CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Très bon CD, Jan. 3 2011
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
C'est un très bon CD d'une très grande artiste qu'est Sade et je conseille cet album à tous ses fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A warm and pleasant surprise, Aug. 24 2010
By 
Louis (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
Several years after the bland and uneven "Lovers Rock", the triumphant return of Sade to the top of the charts with "Soldier of Love" comes off as great news - not just because of chart positions, but mostly because it's actually a really good album. "Soldier of love" is a warm and pleasant surprise that brings forward some of the band's best traits, such as Sade Adu's inimitable vocal style, the band's signature slick sound and the solid songwriting. And although the overall sound is undeniably typical of Sade, the band has obviously made an effort to sound contemporary. There is not a "Smooth operator", a "Jezebel" or a "Sweetest taboo" here in terms of mass appeal, but there are many strong songs such as the sunny "Babyfather", the melodic "The moon and the sky", the cutting-edge title track, the mournful "Morning bird" and the soulful ballads "Be that easy" and "The safest place". "In another time" also works as wonderful a reminder that Stuart Matthewson is a wonderful saxophone player. This is not the kind of album that sinks in after one listen, but hitting the "repeat" button will definitely provide the attentive listener with something much deeper that will grow with each listen. Longtime fans of Sade might sometimes miss the brassy and soulful pop of her early albums, but "Soldier of Love" certainly stands as a testimony to the band's willingness to challenge itself. Let's hope it won't be as long before we get another offering from these talented musicians !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Vinyl Version: Sade "Soldier of Love", May 13 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For prospective buyers of the vinyl version of this album, I would like to make a couple of comments so you know what you're getting.

First of all, this is not an audiophile pressing. It is pressed on heavyweight vinyl (180g?). Quality is acceptable, though somewhat disappointing. My copy does have some surface noise and slight clicks that really shouldn't be present on a new pressing. It does come in a gatefold sleeve, which is nice. Inside there is a download coupon for an MP3 version of the album. However, when you go to the website, you will find that it is only available to people in America.

Overall, a good record for the price. Music is good, 1st side is best. Just don't expect a high quality pressing and you should be okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIQUID VELVET, Feb. 10 2010
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
Christmas break of 1998, second floor living-room of a New Jersey Victorian house, visiting friends; the snow started falling at dusk and now it was well underway, the generous flakes absorbing any sound in the atmosphere. The fireplace radiates a soft glow and the sweet scent of burning pine wood. Tucked in the couch, I am reading a good spy novel. And on the Stereo, Sade's Love Deluxe is playing over and over, making the evening unforgettable, etching every detail to my memory.

Since then the deep, magic voice of SADE provided the soundtrack of many evenings of my life. However, LOVE DELUXE remained unsurpassed. SOLDIER OF LOVE though came as close as none other album.

SOLDIER OF LOVE is a masterpiece. Every single song is wonderful and yet LONG HARD ROAD and IN ANOTHER TIME are the ones I feel longing for. Both of these songs remind of Sade's signature sounds. The rest of the album though takes well studied steps, dancing around her previous works.

Fans will find this album comfortable like an old favorite sweater and fresh like untouched morning snow. If you do not know Sade, this is one of her albums that you must have.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Immaculately produced, mellow, sonic balm for your soul., Feb. 15 2010
By 
Adarsh Amin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
After almost a decade of absence - 25 years into her career - the elegant soul /jazz siren is back with "Soldier Of Love".
The new album sees Sade reunited with the same musicians (Stuart Matthewman, Paul Denman and Andrew Hale) who performed on her 1984 debut "Diamond Life (W/Orig Art)", which became the classic yuppie dinner party soundtrack. It catapulted her to the forefront of the 1980s soul jazz scene and spawned the singles "Smooth Operator" and "Your Love is King".
But despite the success of "Diamond Life" and her follow-up albums - selling a total of 50m records worldwide - Sade has shunned the limelight and has lived in "self-exile", including stints in Spain and Jamaica.
Now 50, she remains one of the most iconic female vocalists alive - partly because of the stylish image she fostered in the fashion-conscious Eighties.
The title song is the least Sade-like track here - with its metallic, shiny, marching band-style drum beats not far from trip hop/Tricky territory, it's the toughest-sounding thing she's ever done, though the lyric posits the idea of the relationship as battleground.
The track is a bit of a revelation - a rich, atmospheric pop symphony with, as the title suggests, a military theme. What's impressive is how fully-realised that theme is, from the marching band percussion to the cadence call-style hooks, the guitar riffs that ape the sound of gunfire to Sade crooning lines like "I've lost the use of my heart".
The remaining nine tracks can't quite match it for shock value.
They glide by elegantly, registering subtle variations.
My highligts: "Baby Father", a gentle reggae-tinged confection apparently extolling the constancy of paternal love. It's in marked contrast to the wounded bittersweetness and the overall melancholy of the remainder of the tracklist: the feel-good beat will have you shaking your booty.
It all gets a little too cosy on "In Another Time", a waltz-time slog where a saxophone and string quartet provide an orchestral extravaganza. Pure magic.
"Be That Easy": Sade's soaring hypnotic voice leaves listeners in a zombie-like trance.
As usual, the album is immaculately produced, and Sade oozes class and sophistication, although seemingly offering variations on a single theme. Recorded at Peter Gabriel's Real World studio, this album illustrates the dilemma of the long-term artist: whether to alienate fans with a radical departure or risk the charge of repetition.
All in all, it's a pleasant and sonic balm, which will make her fans immensely happy, even if there's nothing quite unexpected, idiosyncratic, adventurous, rare, powerful and intelligently written as the title track would imply and suggest.
Enjoy!

The album debuts at # 1 of the Billboard Top 200 Albums and at # 1 of the Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Albums and at # 1 of the Billboard Top Canadian Albums.
Issue date: February 27, 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long time Sade fan, April 23 2010
By 
P. Leanage "Sniggy" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
I wanted to love this CD as much as I love Sade. I have every one of her albums since she began her career and she holds a huge place in my heart. Unfortunately, the only reason I really like this album, I think, is because it's Sade. Otherwise, I can't really say I would listen to it as much. Of course, there are a few amazing tracks, but overall I can't honestly say it is one of her best. Still, it is Sade. As such, it is still dear to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, March 23 2010
By 
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
For Sade fans who have long anticipated this comeback, her latest album does not deliver in the least. While the first cut "Moon and the Sky" teases listeners into thinking that Sade has resurrected her customary jazz-inflected velveteen sounds that have been truly missed on the airwaves, the subsequent cuts are all one big let-down after another. Apart from one moderately reggae-inspired tune, the album is more derivative of Sade's own signature style than it is the kind of evolution one might expect of a mature artist with almost a decade (or more?) between albums. And worse than this, I wish the other cuts HAD given us more of the same! The unfortunate reality is that they barely hold up as tunes at all; they are utterly self-indulgent, and dare I say, whiny, eulogies to a failing marriage or romance - the stuff of great art, one might otherwise assume. But in this case, they end up adding up to a dead-on-arrival album that disappoints at every turn, and rather than moving the listener to tears, it bores the listener to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD was well worth the wait., April 2 2010
By 
Musicman "Musicman" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
This beautiful CD was well worth the long wait.
Sade does not veer very far at all from her patented sound and that is a good thing.
The hypnotic rhythms, great lyrics and magical harmonies are all present and accounted for.
I would have liked more than 10 songs after all this time but when it comes to Sade I will take whatever I can get.
Hopefully the wait for the next CD will not be as long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be Sure to Enlist!, March 7 2010
This review is from: Soldier Of Love (Audio CD)
While hardly a departure from previous efforts, SOLDIER OF LOVE is a winner. The enticing title track seems tailor-made for a 007 film, so hopefully the Bond people are listening...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soldier Of Love
Soldier Of Love by Sade (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews