Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 14, 2015
Very disappointed with this album, I'm sure I will never play it again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
Love Sade, great album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2011
C'est un très bon CD d'une très grande artiste qu'est Sade et je conseille cet album à tous ses fans
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 24, 2010
Several years after the bland and uneven "Lovers Rock", the triumphant return of Sade to the top of the charts with "Soldier of Love" comes off as great news - not just because of chart positions, but mostly because it's actually a really good album. "Soldier of love" is a warm and pleasant surprise that brings forward some of the band's best traits, such as Sade Adu's inimitable vocal style, the band's signature slick sound and the solid songwriting. And although the overall sound is undeniably typical of Sade, the band has obviously made an effort to sound contemporary. There is not a "Smooth operator", a "Jezebel" or a "Sweetest taboo" here in terms of mass appeal, but there are many strong songs such as the sunny "Babyfather", the melodic "The moon and the sky", the cutting-edge title track, the mournful "Morning bird" and the soulful ballads "Be that easy" and "The safest place". "In another time" also works as wonderful a reminder that Stuart Matthewson is a wonderful saxophone player. This is not the kind of album that sinks in after one listen, but hitting the "repeat" button will definitely provide the attentive listener with something much deeper that will grow with each listen. Longtime fans of Sade might sometimes miss the brassy and soulful pop of her early albums, but "Soldier of Love" certainly stands as a testimony to the band's willingness to challenge itself. Let's hope it won't be as long before we get another offering from these talented musicians !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2010
For prospective buyers of the vinyl version of this album, I would like to make a couple of comments so you know what you're getting.

First of all, this is not an audiophile pressing. It is pressed on heavyweight vinyl (180g?). Quality is acceptable, though somewhat disappointing. My copy does have some surface noise and slight clicks that really shouldn't be present on a new pressing. It does come in a gatefold sleeve, which is nice. Inside there is a download coupon for an MP3 version of the album. However, when you go to the website, you will find that it is only available to people in America.

Overall, a good record for the price. Music is good, 1st side is best. Just don't expect a high quality pressing and you should be okay.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 23, 2010
I wanted to love this CD as much as I love Sade. I have every one of her albums since she began her career and she holds a huge place in my heart. Unfortunately, the only reason I really like this album, I think, is because it's Sade. Otherwise, I can't really say I would listen to it as much. Of course, there are a few amazing tracks, but overall I can't honestly say it is one of her best. Still, it is Sade. As such, it is still dear to me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 2, 2010
This beautiful CD was well worth the long wait.
Sade does not veer very far at all from her patented sound and that is a good thing.
The hypnotic rhythms, great lyrics and magical harmonies are all present and accounted for.
I would have liked more than 10 songs after all this time but when it comes to Sade I will take whatever I can get.
Hopefully the wait for the next CD will not be as long.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 23, 2010
For Sade fans who have long anticipated this comeback, her latest album does not deliver in the least. While the first cut "Moon and the Sky" teases listeners into thinking that Sade has resurrected her customary jazz-inflected velveteen sounds that have been truly missed on the airwaves, the subsequent cuts are all one big let-down after another. Apart from one moderately reggae-inspired tune, the album is more derivative of Sade's own signature style than it is the kind of evolution one might expect of a mature artist with almost a decade (or more?) between albums. And worse than this, I wish the other cuts HAD given us more of the same! The unfortunate reality is that they barely hold up as tunes at all; they are utterly self-indulgent, and dare I say, whiny, eulogies to a failing marriage or romance - the stuff of great art, one might otherwise assume. But in this case, they end up adding up to a dead-on-arrival album that disappoints at every turn, and rather than moving the listener to tears, it bores the listener to tears.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 7, 2010
While hardly a departure from previous efforts, SOLDIER OF LOVE is a winner. The enticing title track seems tailor-made for a 007 film, so hopefully the Bond people are listening...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 20, 2010
Music fans claiming the music industry produce and release only highly disposable merchandise have yet to hear this product.

Sade returns to the forefront with a crafty collection of songs that are musically impeccable.

The vocal style of their lead vocalist, Sade Adu, is once again seductively relaxed.

The musical ambiance on this release is a classic SADE ( a combination of mature pop with a hint of soul jazz).
The track listing has been perfectly selected by the producers to capitalize upon the creative atmospheric nature of this band and artist.

Not one track on SOLDIER OF LOVE is filler material.

It is highly doubtful that current radio formats in North America will embrace the bulk of the material with the same acceptance as they once did during the 1980s, however, that does not diminish its artistic validity or question its quality and worth of being purchased.

It is most probable this CD will go on to rapidly acquire a strong life of its own without having much support from Top 40 radio. SOLDIER OF LOVE will most likely remain atop several music critics year end list as one of the "must-have " musical releases for 2010.

The entire CD is a seductive musical masterpiece.


The Entire CD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Best of Sade
The Best of Sade by Sade (Audio CD - 2001)

Lovers Rock
Lovers Rock by Sade (Audio CD - 2000)

LOVE DELUXE (Vinyl) by Sade (LP Record - 2011)