Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great prequel!
Very good intro to the wonderful series Battlestar Galactica. Well done indeed! Well thought out and presented. Made to make you want more!!
Published 16 months ago by Ihor G. Kutash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not exactly oatmeal
This series is hard to pin down; some things are pretty cool, like the cyberpunk "V-World" reminiscent of William Gibson's Neuromancer. Some are hit and miss, like the whiny rebellion of the teenage main characters. And others either take a lot of getting used to or are just plain off-the-mark, like Jo Adama being a gangster, moreso than a lawyer.

Remember...
Published on Sept. 11 2011 by Max


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great prequel!, Dec 26 2012
By 
Ihor G. Kutash (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Very good intro to the wonderful series Battlestar Galactica. Well done indeed! Well thought out and presented. Made to make you want more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show - Buy Season 1.0 to encourage Universal to make more seasons !!!, Oct. 9 2010
By 
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I'll try and keep this pitch short and to the point:

Caprica is a great show in its own right. It poignantly addresses contemporary issues of morality, technology, corporate ambition, ideological idealism and religious fundamentalism. These are all issues relevant to modern society, which we will continue to face over the course of the 21st century and beyond (if we don't all die in a horrible holocaust). If you don't know the premise of the show, I encourage you to read other peoples' fine reviews and synapses of Caprica.

That said, Caprica will never be Battlestar Galactica. Caprica, as its producers have said, does not attempt to be another BSG. People who complain that it's not as good as BSG are only doing justice to the fact that there may never be anything as original or well executed as BSG. The way I see it, BSG is God and Caprica is Deputy God! It follows the entirely new and different approach to the sci-fi/drama style that Ron Moore and David Eick introduced with BSG. I love good sci-fi, and this show is outstanding sci-fi/drama. I'm just overjoyed that I have something exceptionel to look forward to, given that BSG is over.

The DVD release of Season 1.0 is simple and efficient. You get 4 discs in one regular sized DVD case, which makes it lean and compact (very important these days). The extended pilot is included on disc 1. The anamorphic widescreen (1.78:1) image and dolby digital (5.1) sound quality are top-notch. There are also new extras on discs 2, 3 and 4 including new video blogs and shorts on the production and cast of Caprica. The extras on disc 1 are the same as those on the original pilot release. There are unfortunately no insert sleeves, which is typical of the Battlestar line of DVDs, but whatever.

All in all it is priced a little too high for 8 hrs. 54 mins., but we've become accustomed to getting cheesed like this by Universal, as in BSG season 2.0, 2.5, 4.0 and 4.5. Once again, whatever. I chose to pay the full $40 (plus tax) at my local HMV since the Amazon.ca price was only $2.00 less (plus shipping), and particularly because I want to ENCOURAGE UNIVERSAL TO KEEP INVESTING IN THE SHOW. Some of you may know that there were rumours a few months ago of the show being cancelled even before Seasons 2.0 and 2.5. (in fact I think the rumours are still around). This terrifies me. I really want the studios to give Ron Moore and David Eick the ability to complete their vision for this show, so I think at this critical junction those of you who are fans should break open your wallet and dish out the cash for this product, not just to convince Universal that it'll make them money, but because you owe it to the show and yourself to have this wonderfullly creative original work in your collection.

Thanks for hearing my pitch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's not exactly oatmeal, Sept. 11 2011
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This series is hard to pin down; some things are pretty cool, like the cyberpunk "V-World" reminiscent of William Gibson's Neuromancer. Some are hit and miss, like the whiny rebellion of the teenage main characters. And others either take a lot of getting used to or are just plain off-the-mark, like Jo Adama being a gangster, moreso than a lawyer.

Remember those old commercials with the irate Scottish guy, happily eating a box of oatmeal-flavoured cereal, but all the while still insisting that "IT'S NOT OATMEAL!"? To the discerning fan's Scottish tastebuds, Caprica is like the cereal and BSG is like a piping-hot bowl of oatmeal. That is to say, if you loved BSG, you're going to want to watch this. And you won't hate it.

But it is just not the 2004 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mini serie, May 28 2013
By 
Nelson Therrien (Drummondville, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Good mini serie... I just don't like their habit of releasing one season it two packages (see Season 1.5) instead of just one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Philosophical, May 27 2013
By 
John R. A. Shannon (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Caprica is the best kind of sci-fi. It's scary because it's plausible. It's humanistic for it's willingness to put human spirituality under the magnifying glass, and that is a great strength. Caprica is a show that requires thought, but delivers much fodder to think about. It's disappointing that we only got one season, but it's a very capable opening chapter to the sad path of humanity in the BSG universe.

I loved this very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am the completeist., March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
i did not buy it because i like it... i brought it to complete the Saga of Battlestar Galatica .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAMN GOOD, Feb. 5 2013
By 
Gino Olivieri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Being a fan of the original series, its very hard to continue without disrespecting the original theme. Loved it and great continuation of a sci fi series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caprica 1.0, April 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Good story presented with the same intensity as BSG, making you eager to see the next episode to find out what is goung to happen next. Quite dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadf6fd5c)

This product

Caprica: Season 1.0 (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 11.58
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews