Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be titled Season 4.5
The confusing bit about this is if you are following the Doctor Who series from the new start in the 2000s, it goes up to series 4 and then there was a year in which there wasn't a full season but rather a mini-series, which is what this collection of disks is about. I wish I had known that earlier because I purchased series 1-4 & then purchased series 5. Fortunately...
Published on June 7 2011 by Frida

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good as expected
I started watching Doctor Who, when Billie Piper and Christopher Eccleston were a team - and it never got any better since then.
These specials couldn't get me exited at all. Too noisy and a doctor kind of loosing control... no not good as far as I am concerned.
Published on Jan. 30 2012 by herman van keer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be titled Season 4.5, June 7 2011
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The confusing bit about this is if you are following the Doctor Who series from the new start in the 2000s, it goes up to series 4 and then there was a year in which there wasn't a full season but rather a mini-series, which is what this collection of disks is about. I wish I had known that earlier because I purchased series 1-4 & then purchased series 5. Fortunately caught on that there were some missing episodes before I started watching series 5, but it isn't made clear enough that you need to watch these episodes before starting series 5.

That being said, it was a brilliant collection. Doctor Who is just fantastic for anyone regardless of whether you are into sci-fi or not (I personally am not but love it). It's a great end to the David Tennant years and well worth watching.

The only thing about the bluray is that in some respects it makes the special effects look not as great but in another sense it makes the people and actual physical stuff look brilliant.

The one annoying thing about this collection was each episode was on a separate disk, which is unusual especially as bluray disks can hold more information generally.

Anyways, well worth watching. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Dr. Who, Feb. 12 2012
By 
Mr M C Norbury (Wellington, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
These are the final episodes with David Tennant as the Doctor. You should watch these before watching Series 5. These episodes come between Series 4 and Series 5. All of these specials are excellent and the final two-part story involving the Doctor and the Master is the climax, before the Doctor regenerates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 DVDs with interesting extras, March 25 2011
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
5 DVDs. Extras like "Doctor Who Confidential" are interesting to watch. Much cheaper to buy the set of 5 shows than to buy them individually. Regular parcel delivery to Toronto was surprisingly fast. Always great if you can get it on sale as BBC material is often, in my opinion, way over priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Conclusion - Wow!, Feb. 17 2010
By 
C. VIDOT "JamesV" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Russell Davies and David Tennant put out all the stops and more in passing the Doctor Who flame onto another team. Light-hearted and enjoyable romps like "The Next Doctor" and "Planet of the Dead" contrast with the darker more serious "Waters of Mars" and "The End of Time". Action, high-drama, humour - in short science fiction at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it can't get any better than this, Oct. 4 2010
By 
J. Jackson (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't know which I enjoyed more ... the specials themselves or the Dr Who confidentials
It's just fascinating to see how they put together each special and all the work that goes into it.
The specials were FABULOUS ...... as are all things Dr Who
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bridging Series 4 and 5!, June 9 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
When I ordered all of the Doctor Who DVDs (series 1-7), I thought I was all set until I realized halfway through series 4 that the 2008 gap year specials weren't included. The Complete Specials DVD is a must have if you are watching the series from the beginning to now, as it bridges the end of series 4 (Journey's End) to the beginning of Matt Smith's tenure in series 5 (The Eleventh Hour). There are some important things you don't want to miss in these 5 episodes!!

These five episodes bid farewell to the brilliant David Tennant as the 10th Doctor. Like I said, a must have for your Doctor Who collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It completed season 4, April 8 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
If you buy the complete season 4 then you still need to buy the specials to complete the season so you know what is going on once you start in season 5. All i can say is YAy! more episodes. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great show, packaged worn., March 21 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Really enjoyed the episodes, and the delivery was nice and fast, but the case was kinda worn looking. Could easily have been second hand but supposedly it is new.

Any fan of Doctor Who will want to watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, June 22 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This was the perfect end to series 4 Doctor. Each show was better then the last, and the ending was fantastic. I enjoyed this special's immensely it made already great series 4 even better.

This is a definite should buy, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied, Dec 21 2011
I was suprised by how fast my order got here and was exactly liked described.Thank you as this was a Christmas present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray]
Doctor Who: The Complete Specials [Blu-ray] by Euros Lyn (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 74.98 CDN$ 35.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews