march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$50.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 7, 2011
The confusing bit about this is if you are following the Doctor Who series from the new start in the 2000s, it goes up to series 4 and then there was a year in which there wasn't a full season but rather a mini-series, which is what this collection of disks is about. I wish I had known that earlier because I purchased series 1-4 & then purchased series 5. Fortunately caught on that there were some missing episodes before I started watching series 5, but it isn't made clear enough that you need to watch these episodes before starting series 5.

That being said, it was a brilliant collection. Doctor Who is just fantastic for anyone regardless of whether you are into sci-fi or not (I personally am not but love it). It's a great end to the David Tennant years and well worth watching.

The only thing about the bluray is that in some respects it makes the special effects look not as great but in another sense it makes the people and actual physical stuff look brilliant.

The one annoying thing about this collection was each episode was on a separate disk, which is unusual especially as bluray disks can hold more information generally.

Anyways, well worth watching. :D
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2011
5 DVDs. Extras like "Doctor Who Confidential" are interesting to watch. Much cheaper to buy the set of 5 shows than to buy them individually. Regular parcel delivery to Toronto was surprisingly fast. Always great if you can get it on sale as BBC material is often, in my opinion, way over priced.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2012
These are the final episodes with David Tennant as the Doctor. You should watch these before watching Series 5. These episodes come between Series 4 and Series 5. All of these specials are excellent and the final two-part story involving the Doctor and the Master is the climax, before the Doctor regenerates.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2010
Russell Davies and David Tennant put out all the stops and more in passing the Doctor Who flame onto another team. Light-hearted and enjoyable romps like "The Next Doctor" and "Planet of the Dead" contrast with the darker more serious "Waters of Mars" and "The End of Time". Action, high-drama, humour - in short science fiction at its best.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
When I ordered all of the Doctor Who DVDs (series 1-7), I thought I was all set until I realized halfway through series 4 that the 2008 gap year specials weren't included. The Complete Specials DVD is a must have if you are watching the series from the beginning to now, as it bridges the end of series 4 (Journey's End) to the beginning of Matt Smith's tenure in series 5 (The Eleventh Hour). There are some important things you don't want to miss in these 5 episodes!!

These five episodes bid farewell to the brilliant David Tennant as the 10th Doctor. Like I said, a must have for your Doctor Who collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2010
I don't know which I enjoyed more ... the specials themselves or the Dr Who confidentials
It's just fascinating to see how they put together each special and all the work that goes into it.
The specials were FABULOUS ...... as are all things Dr Who
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 14, 2015
A must see! Some very fine episodes that allow you to really understand who The Doctor could be. Great stories and phenomenal acting despite the last few minutes of the final special - the homage felt very canned - not at all how one would hope to spend the last moments with The Tenth Doctor (until his very last minute or two that is - THAT was powerful stuff, Mr Tennant! Well played!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 25, 2016
I love the tenth doctor and I love these specials!!! They are David Tennant final ride as the doctor and he ends on a bang! For those new to Doctor Who, these specials should be watched between Series 4 and series 5. The five episodes include some very riveting scenes. My favourite of the specials is "Waters of mars". The fight between the Doctor and the Master is pretty epic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
This was the perfect end to series 4 Doctor. Each show was better then the last, and the ending was fantastic. I enjoyed this special's immensely it made already great series 4 even better.

This is a definite should buy, well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
Really enjoyed the episodes, and the delivery was nice and fast, but the case was kinda worn looking. Could easily have been second hand but supposedly it is new.

Any fan of Doctor Who will want to watch this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse