countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
392
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on September 20, 2002
According to the release info, the DVD will contain only the English dub soundtrack (in Dolby Surround 2.0) and pan & scan 1.33:1 video transfer (and trailers for some US films). LAME!!!
The Japanese version contained a lot more: 1:85:1 anamorphic video, both Japanese (Dolby Surround 2.0) and English (Dolby 1.0) soundtracks and subtitles, 15 minutes featurette, storyboard-to-film comparison, opening and end sequence without the text, 20 minutes "Mitaka No Mori Ghibli Museum" featurette, 3 trailers of Totoro, and trailers for several other Ghibli films.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2002
If you are a fan of Totoro (and what right thinking individual isn't!) then you may want to leave this DVD release on the shelf come December 3...In Japan, Totoro was graced with a spectacular DVD release featuing multiple dialog and subtitled options, as well as featurettes, artwork, and options for both full screen and letterbox versions...i the meantime, I would recommend this version ONLY to friends with small children who have not seen the film before. The print quality of the VHS version was quite good and the dubbing job is excellent, considering the shabby treatment that most Japanese animated films recieve. This is, first and foremost, a film of remarkable beauty and warmth. It is precious and timeless. By all means take advantage of the low price and share it with children. But for your own collection, you will most certainly want to wait for the (cross your fingers and send those letters now) Disney Edition.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2001
The movie is by no means as colorful as the cover makes it appear to be. I really enjoyed other anime much more than this, including Kiki's Delivery Service, which is by the same artist. This movie is very slow, lacking a real flow of story. The movie seems to start off a bit slowly, the colors are dark and drab, giving an uneasy/dreary feeling. And just when you think the movie is beginning to pick up, it ends.
Nothing about the mother seems to be explained, nothing about the house that they live in is explained... I think Kiki's Delivery Service is a much better deal. (I bought Totoro for less than (PRICE) and still did not feel it was worth the money.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2002
As promised, this DVD contains contents that exactly match the previous VHS release by this studio; namely Pan & Scan only, English dub only, no extras. The film is wonderful, and surely deserves to be presented as Miyazaki intended it to be seen, not cut up. Those of us who want to see that will be disappointed with this disk.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2002
Aaaargh. Being a Studio Ghibli fan, I had preordered this
from Amazon as there are few of the Studio Ghibli films
available on DVD.
Unfortunately, what the Amazon listing doesn't make
clear is just how technically bad this DVD release is.
It is a hacked-down 4:3 version, with only a 2-channel
English audio track (no Japanese or other audio). There
isn't even a subtitle track (not even english for the
hard of hearing).
The video and sound quality isn't good either. Also, don't
expect any extras relevant to the film.
As the other reviews (obviously from other editions)
say, this is a great film. However, this is not a DVD
to get.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2003
This was the first time I've ever seen "My Neighbor Totoro"
WORST. ENGLISH. VOICES. EVER.
This dubbed version of 'Totoro' contains the most obnoxious and frustrating English voices EVER in an animated film. 'Princess Mononoke' had the pleasure of being dubbed into English by wonderful American actors and actresses. Even "Kiki's Delivery Service" had Kirsten Dunst in the lead voice role, and she wasn't too bad. I have also heard good things about the English dub of "Spirited Away" (I'm VERY anxious to see this). This thing, however, I almost gave up on during the first fifteen minutes because of the voices. I can't wait to track down the disc that has the Japanese langauge track. However, I will not insult the movie itself. Hayao Miyazaki created another masterpiece, filled with imagination, charm and magic. Hopefully the West gets a good DVD treatment to this underrated masterpiece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2002
I am extremely disappointed that there is not even a Japanese language soundtrack. Totoro is a beautiful movie, but I wanted the DVD so that I could have the Japanese language version with subtitles.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
If you watched the Fox english dub when you were a kid, don't watch the Disney version; it won't remind you of your childhood. The voices are so wrong. So disappointed!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2003
* for US release, ***** for the anime. For those of you that must have it, there is also a Hong Kong region 3, two disc release with slectable Japanese/Cantonese audio, selectable Englsih/Chinese sub, in 1.85:1 aspect ratio (special features disc 2 is Cantonese only). Available on online stores that carries region 3 DVDs (like yesasia, pokerindustries, hkflix, etc) and also in local Chinatown video stores that also carries region 3 DVDs from Hong Kong. Of course you will need an all region player or a low cost modifiable region one player like Apex, Daewoo, Cyberhome.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2002
Where is the Japanese? I have not been so dissapointed in a long time. It is absolutely disgusting that with all of the versatility of the DVD format Fox films would not include a Japanese track on this film. The movie was already in Japanese! There is no good reason whatsoever that they would remove the Japanese track. I am amazed and shocked. I advance ordered it because the whole point of DVD's is that the problem of not being able to find a copy of a foreign movie in the original language was supposed to have been solved years ago. I never would have possibly guessed that they would go to all of the trouble to remaster the movie for DVD and then step back into the stone age like this. This movie absolutely should have included both an English and a Japanese track. This is one of my favorite movies. I have been looking forward to this release for a long time. I am astonished. I am near to tears. Do not order this edition of this movie, please. Send Fox Films a message. Just order something else please.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse