Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ponyo loves Sosuke!
Hayao Miyazaki is one of those rare directors who can take the magic of nature and childhood, then somehow capture it for the screen.

And his tenth Ghibli movie "Ponyo" is no exception -- it's a reimagined tale of a "little mermaid" who wants to become human so she can be with a little human boy she loves. It's a simple story told in a simple manner...
Published on Jan. 5 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original version of the Miyasaki work, it's a cut version!
The original Miyasaki work is marvelous, but this dvd doesn't include all the original scene. That's a fraud!!

They even cut the most beautifull scene that take so long for the studio to draw it.

I consel to you to bought only an uncut version.
Published on March 13 2010 by A. Sirois


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ponyo loves Sosuke!, Jan. 5 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Hayao Miyazaki is one of those rare directors who can take the magic of nature and childhood, then somehow capture it for the screen.

And his tenth Ghibli movie "Ponyo" is no exception -- it's a reimagined tale of a "little mermaid" who wants to become human so she can be with a little human boy she loves. It's a simple story told in a simple manner (occasionally TOO simple), but it has a lush oceanic beauty and an innocent sweetness that really capture your heart and imagination.

A little boy named Sosuke finds a tiny "goldfish" with a human face on a beach, trapped in a bottle. He names her Ponyo, and goes to great lengths to care for his little fishy friend. But then the sea wizard Fujimoto, Ponyo's overprotective dad, appears and snatches Ponyo back into the sea -- and she decides that she wants to become human so she can be with Sosuke. Having tasted a bit of Sosuke's blood, she sprouts chickenleggy limbs and starts to change, but inadvertently disrupts a magical well that causes the moon to drop, the seas to rise over the land, and prehistoric magic to rise once more.

Sosuke and Ponyo are delighted to be reunited, despite the raging storm that is engulfing the city and causing ships to go missing. While the children go searching for Sosuke's missing mother, Fujimoto struggles to fix the balance of nature before the entire world is destroyed, with the help of Ponyo's sea goddess mother. The only hope of restoring balance lies in Ponyo and Sosuke -- and if Sosuke's love is not true, then Ponyo will be reduced to sea foam.

Compared to Miyazaki's other movies, "Ponyo" is a very simple story -- it's basically a boy-meets-fishgirl story, with lots of children running around being adorable and exquisite looks at the sea. Even its theme is simple -- the story is dependent on on true selfless love and how it knows no boundaries of age, experience or even species. Not to mention parents letting go of their children.

If there's a downside to the story, it's the lack of internal conflict. Example: the "test" that Fujimoto and the sea goddess use for Sosuke... well, it's far less impressive than it seems.

And Miyazaki does not disappoint animationwise -- he conjures a waterworld of luminous sea life, sparkling ships, prehistoric creatures, finned submarines and a town that has been swallowed by the sea (complete with boats floating over the rooftops). It's an exquisite piece of work that turns the ocean into a magical, otherworldly realm where wizards work in coral-encrusted towers and shimmering jellyfish take little mermaids to the surface.

Ponyo herself provides a lot of the movie's charm -- she's effusive, hyperactive, has a babylike fascination with the human world ("HAM!"), and an array of handy magical powers. Sosuke is a likable lad who is fascinated by Ponyo and her world, and Fujimoto makes a enjoyable anti-hero -- spindly, gaunt and with a mane of messy red hair, he's like a rock'n'roll embodiment of parental stress.

The extras are pretty promising on this blu-ray, and they seem to be the same as the regular DVD edition's extras (rather than stiffing or one or the other group of buyers) -- a slew of documentaries and interviews (including with Miyazaki himself), storyboards, explorations of the story's background, et cetera. And most striking is the "World of Ghibli," an interactive creation which apparently allows people to "enter" the worlds of various Miyazaki movies -- "Ponyo's," "Kiki's," "Castle in the Sky's," and so on. And given how luminous and lush the colors are, the movie itself should be spellbinding visually.

"Ponyo" is simpler and more childlike fare than most of Miyazaki's past films, but it's still a sweet and lushly-animated piece of work. At the very least, it will transport you to a magical childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking family movie for kids of all ages, May 29 2012
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ponyo [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Ponyo is another in the line of great little family movies from those masters of animation at Studio Ghibli. A rollicking tale of a young goldfish who falls in love with a young boy and sets out to become human. It's supposed to be based on the Little Mermaid, but I think that's more hyperbole than real. However like most Ghibli films; it's a great story that all ages will enjoy.

It's also a perfect movie for those who don't like violence and are tired of the usual evil villain intent on nefarious deeds. Like Kiki's Delivery Service, My Neighbour Totoro or Whisper of the Heart; it's another one of those Ghibli movies that doesn't really have a villain or even a conflict that's settled by violence. Lot's of action yes and daring deeds, but no fighting and no villain. Just ordinary folk in extraordinary circumstances. It makes a nice change from the usual fare.

As one of the newest of Studio Ghibli's films, the animation is just stunning. Especially in an underwater scene near the beginning of the movie where every fish and every object is individually animated. It just takes your breath away. Colours are so vivid they almost jump off the screen. The bluray is worth it for this part alone.

Also, like most Ghibli films, the storytelling is impressive, low key and quiet passages where you can hear a pin drop juxtaposed against other scenes like the great storm that will give your subwoofers a good run for the money. It's a really fun movie to watch.

The bluray audio for the English dub is bumped up from the dvd's Dolby Digital 5.1 track to a full DTS-HD 5.1 Master track. Likewise the Japanese and French prologic stereo tracks on the dvd are upgraded to full Dolby Digital 5.1 tracks. Another reason to get the BD provided you have the audio and video equipment to handle it.

A great little movie that will really wow you if you have a screen large enough to show all the detail and perfect for all ages!

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original version of the Miyasaki work, it's a cut version!, March 13 2010
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
The original Miyasaki work is marvelous, but this dvd doesn't include all the original scene. That's a fraud!!

They even cut the most beautifull scene that take so long for the studio to draw it.

I consel to you to bought only an uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautifully Animated Film, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
I love Studio Ghibli Films and this one is just as lovely as others I've seen. Incredible animation and a heart warming story. Both adults and children will enjoy this film, though my grandson doesn't like the scary sorcerer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Miyazaki!, Feb. 15 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In fine Miyazaki style, we enter the magical under-water world of Ponyo. Miyazaki brilliantly incorporates environmental concerns into the story as well, which is very refreshing. Loosely based on "The Little Mermaid", Sosuke, a 5-year-old boy, finds a little goldfish, and they become fast friends. Our 5-year old boy loved the movie and has watched it over and over. I highly recommend this for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
It's a very good product, I loved the movie ! It has such beautiful graphics, thank you very much !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love studio Ghibli, Jan. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
I would recommend all of these movies to any parent. Our sons school librian turned us on to Ghibli. Love them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another heartwarming film from Hayao Miyazaki, Dec 18 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ponyo [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
I am overwhelmed with emotion as I sit here contemplating what to write about Ponyo. That might sound silly, but it's true. Here is an animated film which focuses on two children who are about 5-years-old, but the story works for any adult who is open to being moved by its charming characters. To be precise, one of the children begins life as a fish, before undergoing a transformation.

Director Hayao Miyazaki is some kind of magician. If you have ever seen My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away, or Princess Mononoke, you'll know what to expect from Ponyo. It's closest in feel to Totoro because of the ages of the main characters. Miyazaki's animations look like watercolor paintings rather than the 3D worlds found in Pixar's releases, but although they are less real, they have more warmth and heart than the world's second-best animation studio. I don't say that lightly.

If you're put off by the title, or the fact that the film was made in Japan, set aside those fears immediately. The Blu-ray comes with the original Japanese dub (although only in 5.1 Dolby Digital), and an HD dub from Disney for the US market featuring actors you mostly already know.

Ponyo has a special place in my heart because it is the first Studio Ghibli title that I ever bought. I had borrowed one or two before from my local library, but this first glimpse of Miyazaki's work in HD is something I will never forget. The experience begins with five minutes of action without any dialog, and the colors, imagination, movement, and sheer beauty of the animation will take your breath away. If Kubrick had made an animated film, the first five minutes might look similar.

After the initial sequence, we meet Sosuke (Frankie Jonas). He's a small boy who discovers something while he's playing by the beach; it turns out to be Ponyo (Noah Cyrus), who he mistakes for a goldfish. She's trapped in a discarded bottle, so he helps her break free. When he cuts his finger in the process, she licks the wound and heals him. Yes, Ponyo is a magical creature. The taste of human blood changes her nature. Sosuke takes care of her and keeps her in a bucket, but she is later returned to the ocean.

Ponyo's undersea world is just as fascinating as the one above. Her father, Fujimoto (Liam Neeson), is some kind of wizard who makes elixirs and helps keep nature in balance. He doesn't trust humans and fears for Ponyo's safety, so he's reluctant to allow her to leave her home. What he doesn't know is that Ponyo has come to love Sosuke, and wants to transform herself into a human girl so that she can be with him.

The two most common complaints I have heard about the film are that it is intended for small children and the story is hard to follow. I have never had trouble following the plot, and I think it will work for anyone who doesn't dismiss it as being too childish without even seeing it. This is a film for parents as well as children.

Miyazaki is an incredible study of human nature and knows exactly how to depict emotion in his drawings. I would say that it's almost impossible to watch without being moved in a positive way. Like Totoro, the story takes place in a world in which people care about each other. There are no villains of any kind. The story relies on events to drive it, and it's never boring. Notice how supportive Sosuke's mother (Tina Fey) is when he tells her that he's rescued a fish and that she has turned into a girl, or the respect that Sosuke has for his elders. There are a lot of good messages here for children (and adults).

I want to mention two more scenes before I stop talking about the plot. The first is one of the purest expressions of joy I have ever witnessed in a film, and shows Ponyo running along on top of the waves as she tries to reach Sosuke. Look at the expression on her face. She only has one thought, and it's driven by love. The other scene shows Ponyo and Sosuke recovering indoors after being soaked in a storm. It's meaning might not be immediately apparent, but if you have ever been cold or wet, remember how good it felt to be warmed by a meal and a hot drink. Miyazaki includes these scenes because every human being can identify with such feelings. Instead of being bombarded by action and conflict, we are shown a world in which real things happen, and the scenes are stronger because of it.

Ponyo is a magical story. It's hard to watch without breaking into a grin, and that feeling lasts for the duration of the film. If you decide to watch it and find that it touches you in the same way, I urge you to check out Miyazaki's entire catalog if you haven't already done so.

The Blu-ray presentation is excellent. The image can't be faulted and the US dub sounds great. The only tiny criticism is that the Japanese dub is not lossless, but at least it is present for those who insist on seeing films in their original language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great present for little boys, Oct. 17 2012
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Another amazing story by Hayao Miyazaki, one of Japan's greatest animation directors. The plot is entertaining, and the characters compelling. The animation is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ponyo on blu-ray, March 3 2010
By 
P. Santos (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ponyo [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Having only seen the dvd version in its native Japanese with English subtitles, I was skeptic as to how much of a difference blu-ray would make to the picture quality.

Short answer: A LOT.

Long answer: The picture is phenomenal. As much of a pleasure Ponyo is to view on dvd, as are all of Miyazaki's other works, Ponyo on blu-ray is an incredible experience. The picture is sharp and there are a great deal many details in the blu-ray version of Ponyo that were missing or not as sharp in the dvd version due to the compression. The art is impeccable and there is charm in every character and environment. Unlike Miyazaki's previous works, Ponyo has a very childish look and feel to it, probably because (as Miyazaki says himself) the movie is aimed at 5 and 6 year olds, unlike his previous works. The environments are all beautifully rendered and looks great with the colored pencil feel. It looks excellent. And it looks even better on blu-ray.

The sound is lossless audio in English and in French, but I regret to say not in Japanese. This release would have been perfect if all the audio tracks included were perfect. However, I purchased this for the English audio so I feel that in itself is not reason to take off one star. However, it would have been stellar if all three audio tracks were lossless.

I won't go into any details about the story of the movie itself because other reviews have covered this to enough of an extent, but as someone who actually owns the blu-ray/dvd combo, here are my two cents on the product itself. If you have a blu-ray player, definitely purchase this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5ed86b4)

This product

Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition)
Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews