Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ponyo loves Sosuke!
Hayao Miyazaki is one of those rare directors who can take the magic of nature and childhood, then somehow capture it for the screen.

And his tenth Ghibli movie "Ponyo" is no exception -- it's a reimagined tale of a "little mermaid" who wants to become human so she can be with a little human boy she loves. It's a simple story told in a simple manner...
Published on Jan. 5 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original version of the Miyasaki work, it's a cut version!
The original Miyasaki work is marvelous, but this dvd doesn't include all the original scene. That's a fraud!!

They even cut the most beautifull scene that take so long for the studio to draw it.

I consel to you to bought only an uncut version.
Published on March 13 2010 by A. Sirois


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ponyo loves Sosuke!, Jan. 5 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
Hayao Miyazaki is one of those rare directors who can take the magic of nature and childhood, then somehow capture it for the screen.

And his tenth Ghibli movie "Ponyo" is no exception -- it's a reimagined tale of a "little mermaid" who wants to become human so she can be with a little human boy she loves. It's a simple story told in a simple manner (occasionally TOO simple), but it has a lush oceanic beauty and an innocent sweetness that really capture your heart and imagination.

A little boy named Sosuke finds a tiny "goldfish" with a human face on a beach, trapped in a bottle. He names her Ponyo, and goes to great lengths to care for his little fishy friend. But then the sea wizard Fujimoto, Ponyo's overprotective dad, appears and snatches Ponyo back into the sea -- and she decides that she wants to become human so she can be with Sosuke. Having tasted a bit of Sosuke's blood, she sprouts chickenleggy limbs and starts to change, but inadvertently disrupts a magical well that causes the moon to drop, the seas to rise over the land, and prehistoric magic to rise once more.

Sosuke and Ponyo are delighted to be reunited, despite the raging storm that is engulfing the city and causing ships to go missing. While the children go searching for Sosuke's missing mother, Fujimoto struggles to fix the balance of nature before the entire world is destroyed, with the help of Ponyo's sea goddess mother. The only hope of restoring balance lies in Ponyo and Sosuke -- and if Sosuke's love is not true, then Ponyo will be reduced to sea foam.

Compared to Miyazaki's other movies, "Ponyo" is a very simple story -- it's basically a boy-meets-fishgirl story, with lots of children running around being adorable and exquisite looks at the sea. Even its theme is simple -- the story is dependent on on true selfless love and how it knows no boundaries of age, experience or even species. Not to mention parents letting go of their children.

If there's a downside to the story, it's the lack of internal conflict. Example: the "test" that Fujimoto and the sea goddess use for Sosuke... well, it's far less impressive than it seems.

And Miyazaki does not disappoint animationwise -- he conjures a waterworld of luminous sea life, sparkling ships, prehistoric creatures, finned submarines and a town that has been swallowed by the sea (complete with boats floating over the rooftops). It's an exquisite piece of work that turns the ocean into a magical, otherworldly realm where wizards work in coral-encrusted towers and shimmering jellyfish take little mermaids to the surface.

Ponyo herself provides a lot of the movie's charm -- she's effusive, hyperactive, has a babylike fascination with the human world ("HAM!"), and an array of handy magical powers. Sosuke is a likable lad who is fascinated by Ponyo and her world, and Fujimoto makes a enjoyable anti-hero -- spindly, gaunt and with a mane of messy red hair, he's like a rock'n'roll embodiment of parental stress.

The extras are pretty promising on this blu-ray, and they seem to be the same as the regular DVD edition's extras (rather than stiffing or one or the other group of buyers) -- a slew of documentaries and interviews (including with Miyazaki himself), storyboards, explorations of the story's background, et cetera. And most striking is the "World of Ghibli," an interactive creation which apparently allows people to "enter" the worlds of various Miyazaki movies -- "Ponyo's," "Kiki's," "Castle in the Sky's," and so on. And given how luminous and lush the colors are, the movie itself should be spellbinding visually.

"Ponyo" is simpler and more childlike fare than most of Miyazaki's past films, but it's still a sweet and lushly-animated piece of work. At the very least, it will transport you to a magical childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ponyo on blu-ray, March 3 2010
By 
P. Santos (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ponyo [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Having only seen the dvd version in its native Japanese with English subtitles, I was skeptic as to how much of a difference blu-ray would make to the picture quality.

Short answer: A LOT.

Long answer: The picture is phenomenal. As much of a pleasure Ponyo is to view on dvd, as are all of Miyazaki's other works, Ponyo on blu-ray is an incredible experience. The picture is sharp and there are a great deal many details in the blu-ray version of Ponyo that were missing or not as sharp in the dvd version due to the compression. The art is impeccable and there is charm in every character and environment. Unlike Miyazaki's previous works, Ponyo has a very childish look and feel to it, probably because (as Miyazaki says himself) the movie is aimed at 5 and 6 year olds, unlike his previous works. The environments are all beautifully rendered and looks great with the colored pencil feel. It looks excellent. And it looks even better on blu-ray.

The sound is lossless audio in English and in French, but I regret to say not in Japanese. This release would have been perfect if all the audio tracks included were perfect. However, I purchased this for the English audio so I feel that in itself is not reason to take off one star. However, it would have been stellar if all three audio tracks were lossless.

I won't go into any details about the story of the movie itself because other reviews have covered this to enough of an extent, but as someone who actually owns the blu-ray/dvd combo, here are my two cents on the product itself. If you have a blu-ray player, definitely purchase this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and sweet family film, Jan. 31 2010
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
My husband and I really enjoy Hayao Miyazaki's films, although not all of them are suitable to watch with our young children. We saw Ponyo in the theatre with our 4 & 7 year old children and it was probably the best film we'd ever brought them to. The story is sweet and uplifting and we were all quite engaged. As the previous reviewer mentioned, it is not as complex as some of the films, but if you have children, this is one you can watch with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking family movie for kids of all ages, May 29 2012
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ponyo [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Ponyo is another in the line of great little family movies from those masters of animation at Studio Ghibli. A rollicking tale of a young goldfish who falls in love with a young boy and sets out to become human. It's supposed to be based on the Little Mermaid, but I think that's more hyperbole than real. However like most Ghibli films; it's a great story that all ages will enjoy.

It's also a perfect movie for those who don't like violence and are tired of the usual evil villain intent on nefarious deeds. Like Kiki's Delivery Service, My Neighbour Totoro or Whisper of the Heart; it's another one of those Ghibli movies that doesn't really have a villain or even a conflict that's settled by violence. Lot's of action yes and daring deeds, but no fighting and no villain. Just ordinary folk in extraordinary circumstances. It makes a nice change from the usual fare.

As one of the newest of Studio Ghibli's films, the animation is just stunning. Especially in an underwater scene near the beginning of the movie where every fish and every object is individually animated. It just takes your breath away. Colours are so vivid they almost jump off the screen. The bluray is worth it for this part alone.

Also, like most Ghibli films, the storytelling is impressive, low key and quiet passages where you can hear a pin drop juxtaposed against other scenes like the great storm that will give your subwoofers a good run for the money. It's a really fun movie to watch.

The bluray audio for the English dub is bumped up from the dvd's Dolby Digital 5.1 track to a full DTS-HD 5.1 Master track. Likewise the Japanese and French prologic stereo tracks on the dvd are upgraded to full Dolby Digital 5.1 tracks. Another reason to get the BD provided you have the audio and video equipment to handle it.

A great little movie that will really wow you if you have a screen large enough to show all the detail and perfect for all ages!

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the original version of the Miyasaki work, it's a cut version!, March 13 2010
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
The original Miyasaki work is marvelous, but this dvd doesn't include all the original scene. That's a fraud!!

They even cut the most beautifull scene that take so long for the studio to draw it.

I consel to you to bought only an uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, endearing, fascinating, artistic, creative, and skillful., Feb. 9 2010
This review is from: Ponyo [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
This is a special Miyazaki movie to me. It has a unique setting (by the ocean), and involves therefore more blue and less green than many other of his films. The story is really interesting, although not nearly as deep as other films like Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, or Princess Mononoke.
The animation style is also unique in this film. It looks sort of like the backgrounds are all done in coloured pencil, completely different than other animated features, if you pay attention to the art media. I have only seen the movie in theatres once, but I am anticipating the movie release very happily! I imagine the BLU-RAY (a NEW and exciting offering for Studio Ghibli!) would show incredibly crisp lines and also depth and texture in the backgrounds I previously described. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes Miyazaki, animated movies, or interesting family films full of imagination and creativity.

Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hayao Miyazaki's Newest Classic, March 8 2010
By 
Frances L. Arsenault "lover of literature" (Nanaimo, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
I had heard news about this film from anime-legend Hayao Miyazaki, and I SO wanted to see it. But I was lucky enough to the film online at YouTube; after watching the film, I knew that it is another Miyazaki/Studio Ghibli classic.

This film, inspired by my favorite fairy-tale "The Little Mermaid," is about a 5-year-old boy named Sosuke, and his relationship with a goldfish princess, whom he named Ponyo, who longs to become human and be with Sosuke. I won't give you anymore details, you'll have to see the film for yourself. So overall one of the best animated movies ever made, with plenty of fantasy, adventure, and humor...I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best children movie ever!, June 17 2010
By 
I. Sawyer (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
I had seen Ponyo in a movie theater where everyone in the room have applaused at the end. It was a wonderful film, so I also bought it on DVD. It was only available online for people of Québec. I received it really fast, like two days after I made my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one more masterpiece, April 10 2010
By 
P. Thibault (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
The opening scene, which *he drew himself completely by hand*, is way up there in cinematography's masterpieces. Miyazaki is *the* master.

a must buy and a nice introduction to Miyazaki if you haven't seen his "more mature" movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14 2014
This review is from: Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
It is a great movie to enjoy with kids . Really good time delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition)
Ponyo (2-Disc Special Edition) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews