Customer Reviews


218 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiki Delivers
Face it: any kids' video you buy will be watched over and over, mostly in your presence. You want to choose carefully, since you will be spending so much quality time with this video. Kiki's Delivery Service won't disappoint you. This sweet, gentle movie is a coming-of-age story about Kiki, a 13-year-old witch-in-training. As part of said training, she is required to...
Published on April 12 2004 by Denny Vu Quach

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE SAME AS THE ORIGINAL!!
I purchased this DVD because I finally wore out my VHS copy. I LOVED this movie as a kid and still do today. Unfortunately, this edition leaves out A LOT of Gigi's (Kiki's cat) script. I got 30 min in and had to turn it off I was so disappointed. It is fine if you have never seen the movie before. Since I have seen it so many times, this issues really bothered me. I ended...
Published 20 months ago by Jessie


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE SAME AS THE ORIGINAL!!, April 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition) (DVD)
I purchased this DVD because I finally wore out my VHS copy. I LOVED this movie as a kid and still do today. Unfortunately, this edition leaves out A LOT of Gigi's (Kiki's cat) script. I got 30 min in and had to turn it off I was so disappointed. It is fine if you have never seen the movie before. Since I have seen it so many times, this issues really bothered me. I ended up purchasing an old version of the movie; 2003 I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiki Delivers, April 12 2004
By 
Denny Vu Quach (California, GG USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Face it: any kids' video you buy will be watched over and over, mostly in your presence. You want to choose carefully, since you will be spending so much quality time with this video. Kiki's Delivery Service won't disappoint you. This sweet, gentle movie is a coming-of-age story about Kiki, a 13-year-old witch-in-training. As part of said training, she is required to spend a year away from home practicing her craft. Her subsequent adventures are the subject of this endearing film by Japanese anime director Hayao Miyazaki. The animation is splendid, the casting mostly inspired (Kirsten Dunst, Janeane Garofalo, Debbie Reynolds, and even the late Phil Hartman as the voice of Kiki's companion cat). Unlike the standard Disney fare, this movie has no violence, no sex, no profanity, and not even a dysfunctional family.
The themes of Kiki's Delivery Service are noble ones. There are far worse ways to spend a few hours (or a few dozen) than watching a young girl make friends and gain self-confidence, especially one as appealing as Kiki. Buy yourself an extra copy of this video. When you wear the first one out watching it by yourself, you'll need the spare to placate the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film that everyone will enjoy. As delightful as they come!, March 15 2004
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
It's great that Americans are finally discovering the dazzling animation of Japanese genius Hayao Miyazaki (whose film "Spirited Away" won the award for Best Animated Film in 2003), and that Disney has started to release excellent DVD editions of his films with both Japanese and English language options. Miyazaki's 1989 film "Kiki's Delivery Service" ("Majo no takkyubin" in Japanese; literally "Witch's Express Mail") is his most easily accessible and the best place to start in watching his movies. "Kiki's Delivery Service" is an honest-to-goodness 'family' film. Children will adore it, and adults will find themselves enchanted with its charm, delightful characters, and the sheer beauty of the animation. I once watched the film with a room of twenty and thirty year-olds, a few young children, and an 84 year-old woman, and everybody LOVED it and cheered the heroine on at the end. Simply put, there are few films out there that are as loveable and likable as this.
In terms of story, it's an odd film: there's not much in the way of 'plot.' The film depends strongly on its heroine and the way she learns from the world and the people around her as she grows up. Kiki is a thirteen-year-old witch in training who leaves her home to start her required period of living on her own to discover her talents. Kiki and her cat sidekick Jiji jet out on her broom to a city (vaguely European, with traces of Paris, Copenhagen, and Amsterdam) and settle down at a friendly baker's shop, where Kiki establishes her own broom-powered delivery service (look out, Fed-Ex!). The story follows her troubles and joys, such as her friendship with a local boy inventor Tombo, her meeting with nature-loving artist Ursula, the tricks and difficulties of making deliveries, and the possible loss of her powers when she starts to lose belief in herself. It all climaxes in a thrilling action sequence that Superman would be proud of.
The movie leaps from wonderful sequence to wonderful sequence: Kiki's passionate farewell to her parents, her first flight over the city, Tombo's wild ride on his experimental flying bike, a dangerous flight through a flock of birds, the action-packed finale, and the many terrific meetings between Kiki and other charming characters. Watching Kiki learn and grow will have an affect on children young and old: everybody can take something away from the lessons Kiki learns about herself. And of course, the animation is dazzling; not only the sweeping visuals, but the nuances of the characters' expressions and movements.
The DVD offers the film in English and Japanese (oh, and Spanish too). If you watch the film in Japanese, you have the choice to watch it with two different sets of subtitles. One set is a literal translation of the Japanese script. The second are taken directly from the English version, and therefore have a distinctly "American" feel to them. I recommend when watching the Japanese version to stick with the literal subtitles. Since the English dub of the film often adds extra lines to characters (especially Jiji), it can be confusing to see subtitles pop up when nobody is speaking.
The Americanized dubbed version, however, is fantastic as well, and done with great respect and intelligence. The voice cast is superb: Kirsten Dunst as Kiki, Janeane Garofola as Ursula, and Debbie Reynolds as sweet old Miss Dora. But the scene-stealer is the late Phil Hartman as Kiki's smart-aleck cat companion, Jiji. Hartman is hysterical in every scene, totally nailing down the character, and his performance is a bittersweet reminder of what a great comedian we lost with his premature death. If you're going to watch the film with children or a large, general group of people, stick with the English version. It's quite an achievement, and just as enjoyable as the Japanese version.
There are some extras, although a lot less than you would expect for a 2-DVD set. John Lassiter (director of "Toy Story") introduces the film, and there's a short documentary about the English language actors. The second disc contains the whole film in storyboard and rough sketch form: this will really only be of interest to animators and hardcore Miyazaki fans.
Every family should have "Kiki's Delivery" service in their library, although the adults may find themselves returning to it as much as the children; and it's a great introduction to Miyazaki. Make sure you also watch "Castle in the Sky," "Spirited Away," and "Princess Mononoke" (the last one isn't really for kids, however).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghibli's most popular film comes to Blu Ray. But with one small caveat., Nov. 19 2014
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Kiki's Delivery Service was the very first Studio Ghibli movie ever licensed and distributed by Disney and it is still considered by many of us to be one of the very best family movies that has ever been made! So it is nice to see it re-issued yet again in a bluray edition but there is one little caveat that I will get to later.

The story is simple and sweet and utterly charming. Set in a mid-50's type world of black and white TV's, trams and automobiles. It's a world in which witches are completely normal (though rather rare) and on their 13th birthdays; they have to venture out into the world to advance their training and decide how they will use their gifts of magic. And so our plucky heroine ends up in a small city by the sea that hasn't seen young witches in decades. It's quite a revelation for both sides!

It's an utterly wonderful tale of a young girl passing from childhood into adulthood; overcoming her own fears and doubts and of an absolutely wonderful supporting cast from the boy with a crush on her to the baker and his wife who offer her a place to stay. Not to mention the city folk having to come to terms with a young flying witch in their midst!

In fact that's one of the very best parts of this movie; there's really no superhero's or villains in the entire movie. Just ordinary folk going about their ordinary lives. Some are friendly, some are neutral while others may be a little arrogant or even a little rude or greedy but there's nobody who's really bad. And unlike a lot of movies, family or otherwise; there's no villainous plot and no violent ending. Just a wonderful uplifting movie that teaches you don't have to settle things with force and that girls don't always have to depend on a boy to protect them. Unless of course they want him to! It's a perfect family movie especially if you have young girls. (Though boys will love it too.)

Animation is first rate as always and is even better on this Blu Ray bringing out every nuance of the movie's original release. (Though the DVD is pretty damn good as well.) Plus there's a nice little collection of extras (non of which is overly long) that have been carried over from the previous DVD release and the stereo pro-logic track has been bumped up to a DTS-HD 2.0 for the English, Japanese and French tracks. Not that I noticed much difference since the original 1989 film had a very simple audio track.

However, here is where that little caveat comes in. Kiki's Delivery Service along with Castle in the Sky (Laputa) have had two different English Disney soundtracks over the years. The original l998 soundtrack (on the 2005 DVD) which was enhanced with new English opening and closing songs, some boosted sound effects and other musical embellishments where it was quiet on the Japanese release and quite a bit of additional ad-libbing from Phil Hartman's Jiji which considerably livened up the dub.

However in 2010 when the DVD was re-released; Disney revised the English track to adhere more closely to the original Japanese track. This resulted in cutting out the two English songs as well as a good number of the embellishment and crowd comments and as a result this newer version feels slightly more flat to me than the older 2005 version did (though it's still wonderful) and as a result could prove disappointing to some. So when you read a review claiming that the movie has been cut or it's not as good as it used to be; this is what they really are referring to!

So like last years release of the Castle in the Sky BD; some of us feel that the original English dubs of Kiki and Castle should have been kept or at least included along with their newer English dubs so that viewers could get whichever they preferred. As this is one of those rare situations where many otaku feel the original English enhancements actually improved these two movies. And in the case of Kiki's Delivery Service, made a great movie even slightly better! So like Castle if you have and/or loved the original English DVD releases, you may want to hold onto them just in case. Of course if you've never heard the 2003 release of Castle or the 2005 release of Kiki then you won't miss the differences and will be perfectly happy as they're still wonderful soundtracks.

As for the movie itself, despite that little caveat; this is a movie that will still wow you whichever version you watch! Though in a quiet and unassuming way. It's a virtually perfect family movie and I've never seen anyone who didn't fall in love with it at first sight. I consider it one of the top ten family animated movies of all time! 5 big stars out of 5!

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sometimes you have to just be who you are, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition) (DVD)
"Kiki's Delivery Service" is a perfect example of a story idea that is merely decent, but is turned into a brilliant story because it's handled by a master storyteller. It's a literally enchanting story of a young witch who goes out to begin her life as an apprentice witch -- but it's the lovely animation, endearing characters and upbeat message of having confidence in yourself that are really striking.

It's witch tradition that when a young witch begins her training, she spends a year living alone in a strange city. So Kiki (Kirsten Dunst) and her grumpy cat Jiji (Phil Hartman) for a big city. Despite her iffy flying skills and a sudden storm, Kiki successfully makes it to a seaside town -- and soon she has found a room to stay in, job as a delivery-witch, and some new friends (as well as an admiring young boy named Tombo, who's crazy about flying machines).

It doesn't take long for Kiki's business to start booming, and for the townspeople to become very fond of their resident witch. But when she starts feeling like an outsider around Tombo's friends, Kiki finds that she can no longer fly or hear Jiji's voice. Is her magic gone forever -- or does it need something special to finally make a return? Will the little witch learn her greatest lesson, or will she fail before she even really starts?

Personally, most stories that emphasize "believing in yourself," "doing your best" and so on end up being pretty nauseating because it never feels like the filmmakers actually believe it. I can't speak for Hayao Miyazaki's outlook on life, but he is one of the few who actually makes you believe that there's a kind of magic in self-confidence.

The story itself is so simple that it could be summed up in just a couple sentences, but Miyazaki weaves in enough complications and twists that it stays interesting (such as Kiki losing one of her deliveries). Things get rather bittersweet when Kiki loses her powers, but most of the movie is fairly lighthearted and sunny -- and there's some dry humor from Jiji to counterbalance Kiki's earnestness ("Okay, first: don't panic. Second: don't panic. And third: did I mention not to panic?").

And he sketches a truly enchanting backdrop for Kiki's coming-of-age -- a idyllic little village by the sea, framed by the blue sea and rolling green fields. The people are almost unreally kind and generous, leaving you wishing you were in Kiki's place.

And Kiki may be a witch, but she's probably the most realistic "kid" heroine that I've ever seen in a movie. She worries about what people think of her, works hard to do her best, and feels lonely at times after leaving her loving home -- just what you'd expect of a thirteen-year-old. Jiji is a hilariously sardonic familiar with an eye for the lady cats, and Tombo is an endearing young aviation geek who clearly has a crush on Kiki. And Miyazaki sketches out a supporting cast of lovable characters -- kind old ladies, a forest-dwelling artist, a pregnant baker, and others.

"Kiki's Delivery Service" is a simple story with a simple message, but it's delivered with such warmth and sweetness that you don't care at all. Truly magical -- and not the kind you need a witch for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love this movie!!, Dec 26 2007
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
this movie is in my list of most watched movies. its about a witch who loses her power to fly and has to struggle with herself to find who she is to be able to fly again. every witch has a special power that she does best, like her own personality manifested. when kiki loses her power, its like the struggle a lot of young girls (and boys) go through to find out why they're here and who they are. i first saw this movie when i was in grade 7, and her not knowing what her power was at first, finding it, loosing it and then how she gained it back by realizing what was truly important really touched a chord in me. i thought to myself 'hey! i go through that all the time!' and watching her rise out of her inability always made me feel better about myself when i was feeling a bit sad. showing a light at the end of the tunnel if you will. i recommend this movie to all young girls as its a truly touching movie of finding your own way in the world, your purpose, which is to be the best you you can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "We each need to find our own inspiration, Kiki.", March 4 2004
By 
M. Hart "Sci-Fi Fan" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Before the wonderful animated films "Princess Mononoke" (1999) and "Spirited Away" (2001) were produced, director/writer Hayao Miyazaki co-wrote and directed the very charming 1989 animated film now known as "Kiki's Delivery Service". Based upon a book written by Eiko Kadono, the film was originally titled "Majo no takkyubin", which translates literally as "The Witches Express Mail". As the original implies, the film is about a young, 13-year-old witch named Kiki, who, like all other witches in the story, is required to spend one year away from home and live an independent life. At the beginning of the film, Kiki (whose English voice was done by Kirsten Dunst) is still at home and very excited about her impending year away. On the night of the full moon, Kiki decides that it is time to leave. Her parents (voices done by Kath Soucie and Jeff Bennett) watch Kiki rise into the air upon her broomstick with her talking black cat Jiji (voice of Phil Hartman, 1948-1998) and travel to a city along the ocean. There, Kiki eventually finds a place to live: a bakery owned by Osono (voice of Tress MacNeille), where she starts her own delivery service. Along the way, Kiki meets an artist named Ursula (voice of Janeane Garofalo), a boy named Tombo (voice of Matthew Lawrance) and an elderly woman named Miss Dora (voice of Debbie Reynolds).
Like many of Miyazaki's films, there is no "bad guy" in "Kiki's Delivery Service", but there are some exciting moments and the story tends to focus on self-discovery and interpersonal relationships. The film is very charming and is sure to entertain any child that watches it and adults will more than likely enjoy it too. The quality of animation isn't quite as spectacular as in Miyasaki's later animated films, but like looking at paintings by the same artist, "Kiki's Delivery Service" is in Miyasaki's beautiful artistic style. Overall, I rate "Kiki's Delivery Service" with 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A charming story, Feb. 19 2004
By 
wiredweird "wiredweird" (Earth, or somewhere nearby) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Kiki is a delightful character - strong (mostly), friendly (mostly), and successful in the end. This is a real family movie, with enough in it to keep the adults interested.
The animation, of course, is magnificent. The backgrounds are filled with wonderful detail, and the main characters all stand on their own. Gigi is my personal favorite - except maybe for Jeff. Jeff's one brief scene shows more personality than some characters display in a whole movie.
"Delivery Service", centered on the hard-working young girl, is an interesting omen of Miyazaki's things to come. "Spirited Away" centers on the same kind of character. "Spirited Away" is a much more mature work, where the lead girl faces more complex situations. That difference surely comes from Miyazaki's growth as a director between the two movies. It may also be deliberate, if the two movies are intended for slightly different age groups.
This may be a little young for some viewers, but young viewers need movies too. This is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review, Dec 27 2003
By 
Lee Buchenau (Webster University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Kiki's Delivery Service is another masterwork in the canon of the greatest animation director in the world, Hayao Miyazaki. Disney's DVD presentation gives the picture an absolutely beautiful transfer, but is extremely spare in terms of extras. The film is a wonderful family film filled with innocence and charm. Someone said cynicism is the death of art and Kiki is a breath of fresh air to the cynical sarcasm of today's entertainment. The only drawback to the film is that some might find the film a ridiculous fantasy in regard to our violent modern world. As a college student I have found it hard to sell a film to my peer that concerns a teenage witch delivering gifts to friendly townspeople. Much of my generation will be turned off by the content. Even fans of Miyazaki might be put off in the difference between Kiki and Mononoke or Spirited Away. Others including myself love the film and continue to be touched by the universal feelings and details that Miyazaki evokes.
Picture quality on the DVD release is amazing. The gorgeous print of Miyazaki's breathtaking animation makes this one of the best looking DVDs in my collection. It has to be seen to be believed. The picture's aspect ratio is kept in 1:85:1, giving limited black for small tv users.
I'm not a sound expert but it sounded just fine. I don't have a home theater set-up, so I can't judge the audio. The Japanese track is vastly superior if only for the original Japanese version of the catching opening and the extremely different vocal performance of Jiji. This track is not in 5.1. The english dub features several celebrities and is fine, but stick with the Japanese. I guess there is Spanish, but I don't remember it being an option on the storyboard disc. The menu design is annoying in that you cannot switch the audio or subs on the fly. You have to go back to the menu and then resume play. Yellow subs are within the frame, not in black. This is good for widescreen tvs, but on my regular tv, it tends to blend with the image and cover stuff.
Extras is the weak spot on the disc. Lasseter's intros were cool the first time I heard one, but get tiring after more than one Miyazaki film. The film starts with Lasseter's comment if you change to Japanese and select "resume film" to start. The english cast interviews are nothing special, accept for a brief appearance of Toshio Suzuki and a very very young and cute Kirsten Dunst. Be sure to pause and catch the Jiji robe she wears in one scene!
I didn't finish watching the Japanese trailers, they run one after another, mostly clips with limited Japanese ad flair. Disc Two only has the storyboarding of the whole film with both soundtracks. The storyboards are more completely drawn then other Miyasaki films, but you cannot switch angles to a film comparison which made the Spirited Away disc interesting.
A total masterpiece of animation, Disney's disc has a mind blowing picture transfer with limited extras.
Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle masterpiece, lovable characters, Aug. 13 2003
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
This is a special film - touching, sweet, exciting, endearing. Kiki, voiced by a young Kirsten Dunst, is one of the most engaging characters of all film. She is one tough witch. Not evil, not the slightest, but tough because she is strong-willed, determined and honorable. She is a great role model for any young girl, and any older guy like me, too.
I've watched this DVD four times in about a month, and it still brings roars of laughters and a stream of tears. The black cat, Gigi, is a brilliant counter to Kiki's sweetness. Voiced by the late Phil Hartman, Gigi is bored and reserved, a cat after all. But he is also just a little wise.
The great director, Hayao Miyazaki, conceived this film with almost no direct conflict, and yet there is real tension. Kiki sets out to become an adult and overcomes obstacles.
The lack of classic cartoon violence is notable -- there's a absolutely wonderful scene between Gigi the black cat and Jeff the old dog. In any other cartoon, they tear each other up. In this film, a wonderful thing happens.
Many wonderful things happen in Kiki. I highly recommend it for people of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition)
Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 28.88
Usually ships in 4 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews