Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiki Delivers
Face it: any kids' video you buy will be watched over and over, mostly in your presence. You want to choose carefully, since you will be spending so much quality time with this video. Kiki's Delivery Service won't disappoint you. This sweet, gentle movie is a coming-of-age story about Kiki, a 13-year-old witch-in-training. As part of said training, she is required to...
Published on April 12 2004 by Denny Vu Quach

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE SAME AS THE ORIGINAL!!
I purchased this DVD because I finally wore out my VHS copy. I LOVED this movie as a kid and still do today. Unfortunately, this edition leaves out A LOT of Gigi's (Kiki's cat) script. I got 30 min in and had to turn it off I was so disappointed. It is fine if you have never seen the movie before. Since I have seen it so many times, this issues really bothered me. I ended...
Published 16 months ago by Jessie


‹ Previous | 120 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars sometimes you have to just be who you are, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition) (DVD)
"Kiki's Delivery Service" is a perfect example of a story idea that is merely decent, but is turned into a brilliant story because it's handled by a master storyteller. It's a literally enchanting story of a young witch who goes out to begin her life as an apprentice witch -- but it's the lovely animation, endearing characters and upbeat message of having confidence in yourself that are really striking.

It's witch tradition that when a young witch begins her training, she spends a year living alone in a strange city. So Kiki (Kirsten Dunst) and her grumpy cat Jiji (Phil Hartman) for a big city. Despite her iffy flying skills and a sudden storm, Kiki successfully makes it to a seaside town -- and soon she has found a room to stay in, job as a delivery-witch, and some new friends (as well as an admiring young boy named Tombo, who's crazy about flying machines).

It doesn't take long for Kiki's business to start booming, and for the townspeople to become very fond of their resident witch. But when she starts feeling like an outsider around Tombo's friends, Kiki finds that she can no longer fly or hear Jiji's voice. Is her magic gone forever -- or does it need something special to finally make a return? Will the little witch learn her greatest lesson, or will she fail before she even really starts?

Personally, most stories that emphasize "believing in yourself," "doing your best" and so on end up being pretty nauseating because it never feels like the filmmakers actually believe it. I can't speak for Hayao Miyazaki's outlook on life, but he is one of the few who actually makes you believe that there's a kind of magic in self-confidence.

The story itself is so simple that it could be summed up in just a couple sentences, but Miyazaki weaves in enough complications and twists that it stays interesting (such as Kiki losing one of her deliveries). Things get rather bittersweet when Kiki loses her powers, but most of the movie is fairly lighthearted and sunny -- and there's some dry humor from Jiji to counterbalance Kiki's earnestness ("Okay, first: don't panic. Second: don't panic. And third: did I mention not to panic?").

And he sketches a truly enchanting backdrop for Kiki's coming-of-age -- a idyllic little village by the sea, framed by the blue sea and rolling green fields. The people are almost unreally kind and generous, leaving you wishing you were in Kiki's place.

And Kiki may be a witch, but she's probably the most realistic "kid" heroine that I've ever seen in a movie. She worries about what people think of her, works hard to do her best, and feels lonely at times after leaving her loving home -- just what you'd expect of a thirteen-year-old. Jiji is a hilariously sardonic familiar with an eye for the lady cats, and Tombo is an endearing young aviation geek who clearly has a crush on Kiki. And Miyazaki sketches out a supporting cast of lovable characters -- kind old ladies, a forest-dwelling artist, a pregnant baker, and others.

"Kiki's Delivery Service" is a simple story with a simple message, but it's delivered with such warmth and sweetness that you don't care at all. Truly magical -- and not the kind you need a witch for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun family film, Dec 18 2009
By 
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Kiki's Delivery Service, My Neighbour Totoro and Spirited Away are the three most enjoyable family films by Miyazaki. Fun story, attractive visuals, good storytelling pace, and a magical adventure that will charm viewers of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uplifting movie, Nov. 7 2009
By 
Linton D. Brown (Vancouver bc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
VEry cute and wonderful movie for children over 8yrs old..Very adventurous and full of enjoyment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love this movie!!, Dec 26 2007
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
this movie is in my list of most watched movies. its about a witch who loses her power to fly and has to struggle with herself to find who she is to be able to fly again. every witch has a special power that she does best, like her own personality manifested. when kiki loses her power, its like the struggle a lot of young girls (and boys) go through to find out why they're here and who they are. i first saw this movie when i was in grade 7, and her not knowing what her power was at first, finding it, loosing it and then how she gained it back by realizing what was truly important really touched a chord in me. i thought to myself 'hey! i go through that all the time!' and watching her rise out of her inability always made me feel better about myself when i was feeling a bit sad. showing a light at the end of the tunnel if you will. i recommend this movie to all young girls as its a truly touching movie of finding your own way in the world, your purpose, which is to be the best you you can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yikes!, Feb. 3 2000
This review is from: Kikis Delivery Service (VHS Tape)
My goodness! Can you say, BORING? I was enticed by all the rave reviews and saw the movie, but I lived to regret it. Horribly done, the story leaves little to the imagination. My advice, if curiousity drives you mad, see the movie. But if you can, avoid it entirely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Miyazaki's finest hour, May 15 2004
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Once a young witch turns 13 she must go live on her own for 1 year to a town with no other witches to learn her craft. Kiki has just turned 13 and found her own city by the sea. She is befriended by a kind, and very pregnant baker woman, who suggests Kiki uses her flying broom to start a delivery service to make some money. She meets a boy a nice old lady, gets a cold, makes friends with a strange artist and delivers stuff. The End.
A few spoilers I left out aside, that's the gist of the movie. I read once in an interview with writer/director Hayao Miyazaki that he does not sit down and write scripts so much as he sits and draws, letting the story evolve from there. This method has worked beautifully for Miyazaki in movies like PRINCESS MONONOKE and SPIRITED AWAY (two far superior films). Sadly, KIKI is not such a film. The movie, like the story's heroine Kiki, just kind of wanders around, pointless. The movie tells the audience Kiki has to go away for a year to "learn how to use her powers," but how exactly is she supposed to learn without anyone to teach her? She has no real mentor. And Kiki's main ability is flying. But she can already fly before she leaves home on her journey in the first place. The reclusive artist lady who lives in the woods is also another mind-boggler. Other than a semi-sage like character (who doesn't give any really great advice), she serves no real purpose.
The translation for this film was also the worst. Stay away altogether from the English dub with a young Kirsten Dunst as the voice of Kiki and the late Phil Hartman as the voice of Kiki's talking black cat, Gigi. The translation for that dub was terrible.

A good example of the variations in translation and their impact on the film is the scene when Kiki encounters another witch while looking for her own city. The original Japanese has the witch being a bit curt, by Western standards, yet polite to Kiki. In the English subtitles she is a bit snobby and in the English dub she is an outright jerk! The suits at Disney were obviously trying to turn this into an American film and also added all sorts of unfunny, smart-aleck dialogue for Gigi the black cat that is nowhere in the Japanese dub!
I think the point the film is trying to make under all these silly adventures is that young women can be strong and independent and overcome obstacles. A good message, but one that can be gained much more effectively and entertainingly in other films, such as Miyazaki's own film SPIRITED AWAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING, but nice, April 18 2003
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Kiki's Delivery Service has some nice and smooth animation, but other than the eye candy, this anime is sorely lacking in story and imagination. I was hoping and expecting a lot more from this movie. The most imaginative thing is a girl that flies on a broom, a talking cat, and a kid riding a bike with a propeller. That's it. No creatures, no far-out worlds, and most glaringly, NO ACTION. I can't believe this movie came from the same mind that created 'Spirited Away'. 'SA' was most everything this is not: intriging, imaginative, exciting.
I'm amazed at how many 5-star reviews Kiki's Delivery Service has received - it is not deserving of 5 stars at all. It is boring, and ultimately, disappointing. I hope 'Castle in the Sky' and 'Princess Mononoke' are infinitely better than this let-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good movie, May 13 2003
By 
Nathan (Elmhurst, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
After loving Mononoke and Spirited Away MANY times in the theatre, and loving Castle in the Sky on Dvd; this is probably one of the worst movies that I could imagine someone making of his calibur. What a waste of money. It's nothing like the others, its a Disneylike kid's movie - view and buy it strictly for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good movie, May 13 2003
By 
Nathan (Elmhurst, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
After loving Mononoke and Spirited Away MANY times in the theatre, and loving Castle in the Sky on Dvd; this is probably one of the worst movies that I could imagine someone making of his calibur. What a waste of money. It's nothing like the others, its a Disneylike kid's movie - view and buy it strictly for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure it's me but ..., Jan. 31 2003
By 
David A. Hester (SW Ranches, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
OK, I have this video that my 3 year old daughter absolutely loves, and quite probably can't live without. I swear, I've seen it more than 100 times, and I still have no clue what the point of the movie is. I'm just not getting it. I'm not trying to offend anyone with this, but it just seems to go on and on and on with an insipid dialogue that doesn't really lead anywhere - though admittedly, the animation is great. I'm a great fan of Kirsten Dunst, and I also own Princess Mononoke and I love it - so it isn't the voice-over, Miyazaki (or anime!) that I have a problem with. Sorry, but I can't give this better than one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 22 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition)
Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 28.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews