Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kiki Delivers
Face it: any kids' video you buy will be watched over and over, mostly in your presence. You want to choose carefully, since you will be spending so much quality time with this video. Kiki's Delivery Service won't disappoint you. This sweet, gentle movie is a coming-of-age story about Kiki, a 13-year-old witch-in-training. As part of said training, she is required to...
Published on April 12 2004 by Denny Vu Quach

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE SAME AS THE ORIGINAL!!
I purchased this DVD because I finally wore out my VHS copy. I LOVED this movie as a kid and still do today. Unfortunately, this edition leaves out A LOT of Gigi's (Kiki's cat) script. I got 30 min in and had to turn it off I was so disappointed. It is fine if you have never seen the movie before. Since I have seen it so many times, this issues really bothered me. I ended...
Published 12 months ago by Jessie


‹ Previous | 120 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars unforgettable is the best wat to describe this, Sept. 2 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Kikis Delivery Service (VHS Tape)
Amazing, enchanting, impresssive, refreshing... This animated Miyazaki feature will take you to new realms of imagination and storytelling never before presented to the American public.
You'll never see a review that critisizes this feature... and that's more than you could say about any of the Hollywood productions in the past decade. Truly, a must see for all those interested in animation and a treat to all moviegoers as a whole. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Westernized Kiki's Del. Service - Poor, April 25 2003
By 
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
I was ecstatic to hear that Legendary creator Miyazaki was going to have not one but three of his works dubbed into English. From watching my original japanese version over and over again, i though why not and went ahead to purchase the release which has had so much hype over it just like Spirited Away and Laputa: Castle in the Sky. I must admit, I am a die hard anime freak and quite picky at my choosings for anime in regards to "dubbing" so i decided to go ahead and purchase this copy.
While watching straight in the beginning i was quite amazed that the voice of Kiki (voiced by Kirsten Dunst) was actually an okay choice in my books. She's got one of those child-like voices that haven't yet grown up since Kiki is only 13. She portrays emotions quite well and although at times I was cringing here and there, all in all she did a good job. Who else was going to do it anyway? One of the worst possible decisions that had been made was to cast Phil Hartman as Jiji. How can they give such a loveable cat like Jiji such a deep voice and not to mention that all the "antics" and "western jokes" that went on weren't even funny. All the "added dialogue" and "dialogue which wasn't needed in certain areas" made it rather diappointing to watch through the movie. I would have though that the translations of the original could have stayed the same, but just with english dubbed voices. Why must the western world feel compelled to change it so much to turn it "westernized" as though forgetting where it actually came from in the beginning? Of course there is all the issues of you can only speak with what the "mouth of the character is moving for" yes i get that, but why westernize such a great movie. Fans are not dumb and will love it just as much.
All in all, i was disappointed and can only hope that maybe, just maybe SPirited Away might be a little better. For now though and in the future, my Orginal Version of Kiki's Delivery Service (and if i decide to watch the japanese version on the dvd) is here to stay while dubbed version is stuffed on the shelf never to be watched. A disappointment for a fantastic Miyazaki creation from a finatic anime collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A must-have anime classic!, July 4 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kikis Delivery Service (VHS Tape)
The U.S. dub version, released in 1998 (the original version was released in Japan in 1989). I have to admit that I've nver seen the original Japanese-language version, but the English dub cast is exceptional. Big ups to Disney - they could have pulled a "Card Captor Sakura" and completely mangled the film beyond recognition, but they didn't. Kirsten Dunst is terrific as Kiki, but it's the late Phil Hartman as Jiji who really steals the show. The animation is wonderfully fluid, unlike the often-jerkily-drawn anime you see on TV. The movie is kind of meant for kids, but older viewers will find a lot to like too. New theme songs in English sung by Sydney Foster, nice, catchy, even radio-friendly pop tunes. Great story - cute, but never maudlin and never preachy, and not quite as predictable as a lot of American animation. If all you've ever seen of anime is Gundam Wing, Dragonball Z or Pokemon, or if you think that anime is all pornography, bloody violence, or giant robots, you absolutely must see this. (FYI: In a tribute to this film and Miyazaki Hayao's genius, in Disney's new movie, "Lilo & Stitch," Lilo's big sister, Nani, opens up a business called Kiki's Coffee House - which goes to show that Miyazaki, despite the fact that he's called Japan's Walt Disney, has influenced even American Disney animators.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yikes!, Feb. 3 2000
This review is from: Kikis Delivery Service (VHS Tape)
My goodness! Can you say, BORING? I was enticed by all the rave reviews and saw the movie, but I lived to regret it. Horribly done, the story leaves little to the imagination. My advice, if curiousity drives you mad, see the movie. But if you can, avoid it entirely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Miyazaki's finest hour, May 15 2004
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Once a young witch turns 13 she must go live on her own for 1 year to a town with no other witches to learn her craft. Kiki has just turned 13 and found her own city by the sea. She is befriended by a kind, and very pregnant baker woman, who suggests Kiki uses her flying broom to start a delivery service to make some money. She meets a boy a nice old lady, gets a cold, makes friends with a strange artist and delivers stuff. The End.
A few spoilers I left out aside, that's the gist of the movie. I read once in an interview with writer/director Hayao Miyazaki that he does not sit down and write scripts so much as he sits and draws, letting the story evolve from there. This method has worked beautifully for Miyazaki in movies like PRINCESS MONONOKE and SPIRITED AWAY (two far superior films). Sadly, KIKI is not such a film. The movie, like the story's heroine Kiki, just kind of wanders around, pointless. The movie tells the audience Kiki has to go away for a year to "learn how to use her powers," but how exactly is she supposed to learn without anyone to teach her? She has no real mentor. And Kiki's main ability is flying. But she can already fly before she leaves home on her journey in the first place. The reclusive artist lady who lives in the woods is also another mind-boggler. Other than a semi-sage like character (who doesn't give any really great advice), she serves no real purpose.
The translation for this film was also the worst. Stay away altogether from the English dub with a young Kirsten Dunst as the voice of Kiki and the late Phil Hartman as the voice of Kiki's talking black cat, Gigi. The translation for that dub was terrible.

A good example of the variations in translation and their impact on the film is the scene when Kiki encounters another witch while looking for her own city. The original Japanese has the witch being a bit curt, by Western standards, yet polite to Kiki. In the English subtitles she is a bit snobby and in the English dub she is an outright jerk! The suits at Disney were obviously trying to turn this into an American film and also added all sorts of unfunny, smart-aleck dialogue for Gigi the black cat that is nowhere in the Japanese dub!
I think the point the film is trying to make under all these silly adventures is that young women can be strong and independent and overcome obstacles. A good message, but one that can be gained much more effectively and entertainingly in other films, such as Miyazaki's own film SPIRITED AWAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good movie, May 13 2003
By 
Nathan (Elmhurst, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
After loving Mononoke and Spirited Away MANY times in the theatre, and loving Castle in the Sky on Dvd; this is probably one of the worst movies that I could imagine someone making of his calibur. What a waste of money. It's nothing like the others, its a Disneylike kid's movie - view and buy it strictly for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good movie, May 13 2003
By 
Nathan (Elmhurst, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
After loving Mononoke and Spirited Away MANY times in the theatre, and loving Castle in the Sky on Dvd; this is probably one of the worst movies that I could imagine someone making of his calibur. What a waste of money. It's nothing like the others, its a Disneylike kid's movie - view and buy it strictly for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING, but nice, April 18 2003
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
Kiki's Delivery Service has some nice and smooth animation, but other than the eye candy, this anime is sorely lacking in story and imagination. I was hoping and expecting a lot more from this movie. The most imaginative thing is a girl that flies on a broom, a talking cat, and a kid riding a bike with a propeller. That's it. No creatures, no far-out worlds, and most glaringly, NO ACTION. I can't believe this movie came from the same mind that created 'Spirited Away'. 'SA' was most everything this is not: intriging, imaginative, exciting.
I'm amazed at how many 5-star reviews Kiki's Delivery Service has received - it is not deserving of 5 stars at all. It is boring, and ultimately, disappointing. I hope 'Castle in the Sky' and 'Princess Mononoke' are infinitely better than this let-down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm sure it's me but ..., Jan. 31 2003
By 
David A. Hester (SW Ranches, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service (DVD)
OK, I have this video that my 3 year old daughter absolutely loves, and quite probably can't live without. I swear, I've seen it more than 100 times, and I still have no clue what the point of the movie is. I'm just not getting it. I'm not trying to offend anyone with this, but it just seems to go on and on and on with an insipid dialogue that doesn't really lead anywhere - though admittedly, the animation is great. I'm a great fan of Kirsten Dunst, and I also own Princess Mononoke and I love it - so it isn't the voice-over, Miyazaki (or anime!) that I have a problem with. Sorry, but I can't give this better than one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Stupid Performance By Kirsten Dunst!, July 4 2002
This review is from: Kikis Delivery Service (VHS Tape)
"Kiki's Delivery Service is the stupidest animated movie on the face of the earth, and it give all animated movies a bad name. I give this stupid movie * (1 out of 5), because this is thew stupidest movie I had ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb974faf8)

This product

Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition)
Kiki's Delivery Service (Special Edition) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews