Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars toy stroy
Im may be 12 but I still love toy story cause its eipc. toy story 2 was good but toy story 3 mehhhh.
Published 18 months ago by godzilla_fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "This isn't flying, this is falling with style."
Animation took a bold step forward with John Lasseter's "Toy Story." For the first time in cinematic history, a feature-length animated film was completely generated by computer - and the results were spectacular. Thanks to the fertile imagination of the Pixar animators, Woody and Buzz have become beloved staples in the pop culture landscape.
Andy's birthday...
Published on March 4 2004 by Steven Y.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars toy stroy, Oct. 18 2012
This review is from: Toy Story (Bilingual) (DVD)
Im may be 12 but I still love toy story cause its eipc. toy story 2 was good but toy story 3 mehhhh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story!, Sept. 6 2012
By 
Scoopriches (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Toy Story (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of my absolute favourite movies of all time, a classic right from the start, is the fabulous Toy Story! Countless times we have enjoyed this masterpiece, often accompanied by popcorn and floats. Woody and Buzz are now our friends.

For those unfamiliar with this film (Shame on you! Get out of that cave!), Toy Story is about how your playthings come alive whenever you are not around. And they have personalities all their own. But what happens when a new toy (Buzz Lightyear) enters the mix and becomes the new favourite? And what happens when the old favourite (Woody) does not take that well? Shenanigans and chaos ensue. And beware of The Claw!!

The culmination of the movie brings us the first classic song in the Toy Story cannon. You've Got A Friend In Me by Randy Newman will enter your head, bounce around a bit, and find a comfortable place to live. In the lexicon of movie music, this song is the start of Pixar's dominance in this field. Only the current Muppets movie might challenge their crown.

Catchphrases galore pepper this celluloid gem. From "You Are A Toy!" to "The Claw!", all these sayings will infiltrate every fiber of you. In the middle of the day at your monotonous job, or while standing in a long boring grocery line, just think of one of these dialogue bits and I guarantee a smile will blossom. In fact, I am smiling right now!

Toy Story is an amazing movie that will turn any bad day into a fun day. Sit back, cuddle your loved ones, chomp on some popcorn and guzzle a float, then watch Woody and Buzz. You will thank yourself for it.

Scoopriches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong with this movie, Jan. 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toy Story (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was anoather well-done movie. The animation is excellent. And i THINK athere is a good message for children as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toy Story (Bilingual) (DVD)
A good animated movie with interesting 'characters'. The kids love it. Unfortunately, I don't have the others that followed. May have to get them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars will this any never injoyble movie I have alwasy rembemered the first one I really like it very diffenet, April 12 2013
By 
Corinna Kress (calgary alberta) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Toy Story (Bilingual) (DVD)
will this is any injoyble movie I have alwasy rembemered the first one I still like this movie its very diffenet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and fun for the whole family!, May 18 2004
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie took me by storm when I saw it back in the summer of 1995 at the theatres and let me tell you, this movie is still one of the best computer animated movies of all time. In fact this movie shattered new grounds back in 1995 by not using drawing cel animation and instead this movie is the first of an unbroken chain of computer generated animated movies that has continued to date with "Finding Nemo".
The plot is absolutely joyful and stunningly original. The story revolves around the quiet family home of a quiet town where a boy owns numerous toys with his toddler sister. The toys however, are almost like beings of their own and are 'living' as well but stop 'moving' when the boy comes back into his room. However, a cowboy named Tim is the most popular 'toy' in the boys bedroom and is kept by the pillow almost every night until on his birthday, he gets a fancy astronaut toy named Buzz Lightyear who has many 'gizmos' and in time takes over the toy cowboys place as the most popular toy and Tim gets enormously jealous of this. However, after a botched attempt to remove Buzz, the cowboy himself along with Buzz end up in the hands of a punk teenager who takes joy in blowing up toys with firecrackers and or other means like burning, breaking, or smashing them and/or even taking them apart and re-assembling their parts to create 'mutant' toys and now the clock is ticking for Tim and Buzz to escape from the boys house before they end up being blown to molecules.
This movie is absolutely fun and original even by 1995 standards. The computer generated special effects are innovative and unbelievable especially considereing the fact that this movie came out nearly a whole decade ago. The whole tone of the movie is just fun and charming and is for the entire family. Not only that but this was what put the then newcomers Pixas right into the front seat of movie animation and would be the start of an unbroken streak of excellent movies from this dynamite team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie!, Oct. 29 2010
This review is from: Toy Story (Bilingual) (DVD)
great movie - my 3-year-old loves it and I don't mind watching it daily for days and days in a row - tall order :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Reach for the Sky", June 1 2010
By 
J. Chao "Legend Hunter" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This edition on Blu--Ray Combo pack is one awesome pick up!! I loved the original on DVD and it was so much fun when I watched it the first time. My wife had never seen this movie and I thought, what a fantastic way to experience our newly purchased home theater. I picked it up and popped into the PS3, and it was WHOA!!! We loved the movie for it's awesome and funny script, the blu-ray provide such awesome details to the animated characters. This is a great movie for people of all ages especially a toy maniac like myself!!

Five stars all the way!! Can't wait for the 3rd one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
1995's "Toy Story" was the first feature length film generated entirely by computers, and Pixar's first dive into theatrical films. The movie opens as young Andy turns 7. The undisputed leader of Andy's toys, a 50's cowboy doll named Woody (Tom Hanks), finds himself challenged by the new toy on the block, "space ranger" Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen). When Woody's plan to get rid of Buzz backfires, the two find themselves lost in the suburbs. Woody and Buzz relize they have to work together to get back to Andy's, and they eventually become the best of friends. The humor and animation is terrific, and a great start for Pixar. This lead to several other successes, such as A Bug's Life and Finding Nemo.
Now on to "the vaults". Disney is trying to squeeze every last penny out of the cash cow, and have the two Toy Story films under lock and key, no doubt so they can sell millions of "Special Editions" in five years. Once again, Disney appalls me with their unmatched corperate greed. In conclusion, Toy Story is an excellent film and a true must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Computer animation wow. 16th april 2004., April 16 2004
By 
Kathryn Pointon "Kat" (Staffordshire(England)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy Story (VHS Tape)
The toys are great, the graphics and scenery is too. The collectables are boys mostly but the film is ace for anyone. The 3D toys look real, the colors are excellent[like finding nemo]. The talking toys are all friends, and they live with their owner andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0029ac8)

This product

Toy Story (Bilingual)
Toy Story (Bilingual) by John Lasseter (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 27.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews