Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story
1995's "Toy Story" was the first feature length film generated entirely by computers, and Pixar's first dive into theatrical films. The movie opens as young Andy turns 7. The undisputed leader of Andy's toys, a 50's cowboy doll named Woody (Tom Hanks), finds himself challenged by the new toy on the block, "space ranger" Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen). When...
Published on July 14 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "This isn't flying, this is falling with style."
Animation took a bold step forward with John Lasseter's "Toy Story." For the first time in cinematic history, a feature-length animated film was completely generated by computer - and the results were spectacular. Thanks to the fertile imagination of the Pixar animators, Woody and Buzz have become beloved staples in the pop culture landscape.
Andy's birthday...
Published on March 4 2004 by Steven Y.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
1995's "Toy Story" was the first feature length film generated entirely by computers, and Pixar's first dive into theatrical films. The movie opens as young Andy turns 7. The undisputed leader of Andy's toys, a 50's cowboy doll named Woody (Tom Hanks), finds himself challenged by the new toy on the block, "space ranger" Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen). When Woody's plan to get rid of Buzz backfires, the two find themselves lost in the suburbs. Woody and Buzz relize they have to work together to get back to Andy's, and they eventually become the best of friends. The humor and animation is terrific, and a great start for Pixar. This lead to several other successes, such as A Bug's Life and Finding Nemo.
Now on to "the vaults". Disney is trying to squeeze every last penny out of the cash cow, and have the two Toy Story films under lock and key, no doubt so they can sell millions of "Special Editions" in five years. Once again, Disney appalls me with their unmatched corperate greed. In conclusion, Toy Story is an excellent film and a true must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "This isn't flying, this is falling with style.", March 4 2004
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
Animation took a bold step forward with John Lasseter's "Toy Story." For the first time in cinematic history, a feature-length animated film was completely generated by computer - and the results were spectacular. Thanks to the fertile imagination of the Pixar animators, Woody and Buzz have become beloved staples in the pop culture landscape.
Andy's birthday arrives and he receives a number of gifts. One toy in particular becomes the center of attention in the household - a doll of a space ranger named Buzz Lightyear (voiced by Tim Allen). Buzz's arrival upsets the social order of Andy's other toys as he displaces a cowboy doll named Woody (voiced by Tom Hanks) as Andy's favorite toy. Jealous of his new rival, Woody schemes to get back into his owner's good graces but matters get out of hand when he causes Buzz to fall into the clutches of a sadistic neighbor. Trying to make amends for his error in judgment, Woody attempts to rescue Buzz before Andy and his family leave for their new home.
"Toy Story" is dazzling to look at. The level of detail in every frame of this film is nothing short of astonishing. Yet, what makes "Toy Story" truly special is its clever script. The dialogue is sharp from start to finish and the situations the characters find themselves in are wonderfully amusing. The voice work is also strong across the board as Allen, Hanks, Don Rickles, Jim Varney, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger, and Annie Potts all distinguish themselves. The greatest triumph of "Toy Story" though is its ability to appeal both to youngsters and adults. The characters will keep the kids smiling while the nostalgia generated by the Andy's affection for his beloved toys will remind grown-ups of the similar love they held toward their own playthings. Kudos to Pixar for putting together such an important and entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review, Dec 28 2003
By 
Lee Buchenau (Webster University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
Toy story is the first animated feature and one the best animated film of any kind. Disney's discontinued single dvd features great picture and sound. I don't know if all this disney sending films back to the vault is a scam for later release. I guess the film is also availbe with toy story 2 with a bonus disc, because frankly there aren't any bonuses on this disc. This single disc of the film can still be found in some stores, but it keeps on getting harder to find it. It looks like amazon still has some too.
Toy story proved to the world the art that could be created from cg animation. Unfortunatley integration of cgi into live action and animation continues to be sketchy at best. Even big films like lotr has many obviously fake shots. On the other hand animations that rely on soley cg graphics are extremely effective, got to love finding nemo. Really only humans come across as unrealistic in toy story and animation has continued to do a better job in that category. The film is a wonder of anyone who remembers a childhood filled with a wide variety of toys. Toy story's fantasy world of toys come to life is so effective because the toys are based on real children's toys. The film's best scenes make use of the practical abilities of the toys. So much charming humor resonates from these scenes. Like spirited away the fantasy world is totally realistic in its own terms and visually a wonder. Toy story has one up on spirited away because it has a strong narrative due to woody's jealousy of buzz. Sure the film shifts to a standard villian, but having woody as a flawed personality makes the character so much more alive. The sequel is good, but as i remember i liked the orginal better.
Picture quality on the dvd is flawless and beautiful. Presented in original aspect ratio 1:77:1, limited black bars for small tvs. Still i remember kiki's delivery service as the best looking dvd print, but toy story's is perfect, if maybe a little soft. Sound is magnificant wonderful bass and separation and extremely clean. A top above the call of duty sound track in 5.1.
Extras are a problem, i belive a three pack release had some stuff, but this one doesn't. Only pixar's early cgi tin toy short is included and its not that great.
Toy Story is a wonderful film for all ages that brings glory to cg animation and Disney's discontinued dvd is stunning in picture and sound, but lacks any extras of value.
Recommended to buy before they are gone or until we find out what disney plans to due with its stored catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney at Their Best, Sept. 20 2003
By 
Randy Keehn (Williston, ND United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
When my kids were younger, I used to go with them to the movies they wanted to see. I sat through a number of mediocre cartoon movies but, occassionally, I got to see a movie that we all really enjoyed. Tops in that category is "Toy Story". This movie is the ideal family movie because it can be enjoyed by every age group. Younger children seem to enjoy anything as long as it's a cartoon. Older children can pick up on the jealosies and competition. Adults will pick up on the subtle banter between the characters. Everyone will enjoy the humor and there's plenty of excitement and suspense as well. The art work is very good but the best part are the actors whose voices we hear. Robin Williams in "Alladin" sets a pretty high mark but the sum total of the quality of all the voice characterizations in "Toy Story" is probably a team record. From the beginning to the end the movie is entertaining. Thanks to Randy Newman, it even has good music as well. This is not a movie to rent, it is a movie to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why is this movie so good?, Aug. 9 2003
By 
Slayer (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
I've always wondered why "Toy Story" was such a good movie. I mean, Come on! It's a Disney movie! How often, do we see well-written and intelligent Disney movies? Yes, there was "The Lion King," "Beauty and the Beast" and few others, but the rest? Good family movies, but not really an intellectual thrill or something you end up thinking about later. So one day, I was watching the movie for like the millionth time and I saw it! During the credits, I saw the name "Joss Whedon" next to "Screenplay Writer." Yes, I'm talking about THE Academy and Emmy Award-nominated writer, Joss Whedon! For the people reading this, who have no idea who Whedon is, he's the creator and some-time writer of the outstanding and just plain amazing television series, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," (Check out the DVDs, Seasons 1-5 are available now) Now I know why "Toy Story" is so good! Whedon is an amazing writer. He makes EVERY character three dimensional and BELIEVEABLE, not like the personality-defiecient characters we usually see. No wonder he got an Oscar nomination for this. Buy this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars To Infinite and beyond!, July 30 2003
By 
Elle C. (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
Love this movie! It's cute and funny! Not only are the computer animated graphics brilliant, the story is creatively plotted out.
It's a warmhearted story about a boy named Andy whose favorite toy, Woody, feels suddenly left out when a new toy, Buzz Lightyear, "replaces" him. The relationship between Woody and Buzz goes from jealousy and hate, but once they're put in a situation where they are left to fend for themselves in order to survive, all that changes into learning how to accept each other for their differences and becoming friends. It definitely contains valuable lessons for children young and old, and maybe children will learn how to treat their toys better. In addition, I love a movie that can convey every emotion, from happy to sad to happy again... And "Toy Story" is it! I love this movie! And I'm sure that even if you're not into watching children movies or cartoons, you'll still enjoy what "Toy Story" has to offer. And if you enjoy "Toy Story", you'll also fall in love with "Monsters, Inc.", another Pixar creation. But be sure to check out "Toy Story" first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies from Disney-Pixar, May 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
I didn't like a lot of the Disney-Pixar movies that went to theatres after this until Monsters Inc renewed my faith in Disney-Pixar. And yes, Disney even makes thier own great animated movies all byt themselves like Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King, Tarzan, The Hunchback of Notre Dame and Lilo & Stitch. Starting today a new Disney-Pixar movie opened named Finding Nemo, which I saw got 4 stars in the Chicago Tribune, Chicago Suntimes and Daily Southtown. I have two problems with ADisney, that most (if not all) there movies has either violence or scary scenes in the movie. And also Disney has thier new animated movies out for a limited time on video and dvd, then after a while, they take them out of stock for about 10 years, then may re-release them back into theatres, and maybe on the IMAX screen , and then again on video, and sometimes, making its debut on dvd, keep the re-relase version of it out for a few months, and then takes them out of stock again for about another 10 years. As the movie opens, Woody (Tom Hanks) is not worried about being replaced by his human owner Andy (John Morris XXX) and has a hard time convinceing the other toys, that they will not get replaced by Andy. Woody sends a group of toy soliders out with I guess a baby moditar, and to report in what inside the presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely deserves to be called a modern classic, April 27 2003
This review is from: Toy Story (Widescreen) (DVD)
On a technical level, Toy Story was a pioneer. It is much more than an impressive piece of animation, however. Toy Story is an exquisitely crafted tale that deals simply, yet brilliantly, with deeply human themes. The toys of Andy's room are forced by circumstance to deal with all the complexities of love and friendship--jealousy, fear, forgiveness, rejection, acceptance--and they do so in a charming way that will warm the hearts of children and grown-ups alike. There is something authentic about cowboy doll, Woody, whose toy-child relationship with Andy becomes threatened when new kid on the block, Buzz Lightyear, suddenly replaces him as favourite. There is something down-to-earth and believable about the vulnerability we see in the characters, and something beautifully real about the way these issues become resolved. It is a tale that will strike a chord with any of us.
Of course, this is also a very funny and exciting movie that entertains and delights, though what really draws me in is how all this becomes an education for us, as we are brought face-to-face with what it means to be human. Toy Story effectively integrates first-class storytelling--storytelling as it should be, that speaks to us, and resonates with us as human beings--with breathtakingly riotous fun and adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First full length computer animated movie, Sept. 7 2002
By 
Theodore Illenberg (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toy Story (VHS Tape)
Toy story set the standard for all future computer animated stories. The story is simple is about a boy named Andy and his toys. When Andy leaves (or when no humans are around) the toys xcome to life). Andy's favorite toy is a cowboy doll named Woody.
Andy and his family are moving (probably getting away from the "kid from Hell" next door). Before the move Andy has a birthday party. Birthday parties and Christmas are a toys most trying time periods because they could be replaced by another toy. Andy gets a new Toy , a space toy called Buzz Lightyear. Buzz replaces Woody and Woody becomes Jelous. Buzz really thinks he is Buzz Lightyear. Well they end up getting lost together then eventually end up next door with Kid Evil named Sid. Sid is a child with serious issues. He takes his toys, and his sisters, and makes these creatures out of them. Buzz realizes that he really is a toy and not Buzz Lightyear. Woody tells Buzz thier is no greater honor in being a toy and making a child happy. They escape the house and how they did it is funny. The toys decide to come to life right before sid thus turning him into a basket case. Woody and Buzz then catches up with Andy and is family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hardly Disneyish at all., June 24 2002
This review is from: Toy Story (VHS Tape)
I always told myself I preferred Toy Story 2, but when my sister finally got a copy of the first one, I sat down to watch it again - and was totally blown away. Toy Story 2 is just a fun movie, with action and humour and great graphics, but this is actually pretty angsty. Sid is one of the best villains I've ever seen (was I the only one who was cheering and punching the air in the confrontation scene?) and Woody's jealousy is really well portrayed, not dumbed down at all. The emotions and characters in the movie are complex and satisfying to watch (although it'd be nice to have a more central female character.) I can see the point of those people who complain about it being too scary for their kids - I'd say don't buy this for the under-fives unless your child is a horror junkie. My sister (who is five) still gets scared by the scenes in Sid's room and insists on someone watching the movie with her for that reason. However, overall this is one of my favourite kid movies and well worth a watch however old you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toy Story (Bilingual)
Toy Story (Bilingual) by John Lasseter (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 28.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews