Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom isn't quite accurate
I just wanted to point out to readers of these reviews that the battery IS replaceable.
Published on May 7 2010 by W. McCormick

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark spot issue as well
Mine has the same dark spot in the lower right coner. I was just about to make a video of it on a white surface and all of a sudden it dissapeared! I don't know what the heck is going on with these units. Just turned it back on and the dark spots are back argh, made a video of it and I caught it dissapearing! Please visit it at: [...] It's a little hard to tell on...
Published on June 26 2010 by Harry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom isn't quite accurate, May 7 2010
By 
W. McCormick (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
I just wanted to point out to readers of these reviews that the battery IS replaceable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little package, wet or dry, March 20 2010
By 
Thomas Douglas "TD" (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
I have not owned this long - yes, as usual a product shipped in the US a while before Canadians were allowed to buy it - but it is a mighty impressive package so far. It is a little short of perfect, but is definitely worth the price tag.

The positives:
- Although not heavy, it has a solid feel and the rubberized surface makes for a sure grip in the wet
- It is smaller than you expect. Genuinely pocket-sized
- The software is easy to use and simple to set up. They have put some thought into the balance between simplicity and functionality
- It happily runs in HD, although is better at 720p than full HD 1080p
- Most importantly, it is a full underwater camera, with a blue filter mode to balance the colours underwater

The negatives:
- Although it takes still pictures, and in good quality, you have to navigate throught he menu to do it. Simple point and snap would have been better
- 1080p quality is not so good. But at 720p and 60fps it is great. If full HD matters to you, then you need a better and much more expensive camcorder
- Low-light quality is poor, it struggles with balance
- The battery is not removable, so no fast swapping with a spare battery
- The front of the device is white, irrespective of the model colour. I'd prefer a single colour both sides

The negatives highlight an important point - this is a pocket-sized, easy-to-use, waterproof camcorder. It isn't intended to be everything to everyone, just a highly practical cam for the active outdoors.

As a robust first camcorder it is great. For many people it will be a second camcorder which can take the shocks, and the water, of outdoor family fun.

The pricing is very well pitched - while it does have some negatives in HD and low-light, it is a great pocket camcorder for the money, and will be your first-choice device on a daily basis.

Four stars - but much nearer to five than three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark spot issue as well, June 26 2010
By 
Harry "Harry" (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
Mine has the same dark spot in the lower right coner. I was just about to make a video of it on a white surface and all of a sudden it dissapeared! I don't know what the heck is going on with these units. Just turned it back on and the dark spots are back argh, made a video of it and I caught it dissapearing! Please visit it at: [...] It's a little hard to tell on u-tube but its there. I'm going to send the video to kodak and see what responce I get... meanwhile I'll have to pack this up and send it back. I have 3 canon dslrs and this is my first experience with Kodak, it may or may not be my last, when this unit is working correctly it's awesome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Battery problems, Feb. 25 2011
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
This product would be a good one if the battery worked fine. It just happened that just after 3 months of purchasing this item the battery began to refuse recharging, and by the 5th month the battery wouldn't charge anymore. It is completely pointless to buy a camera if the battery will not be good in just 5 months. The camera was barely used, it was not exposed to hard conditions. The warranty expires after 30 days, and there is no option for doing a battery replacement. This camera is another example of programed obsolescence in this case, by Kodak. Awful product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good in bright light, only so-so indoors, Sept. 30 2010
By 
Victor P. Panlilio "victorpanlilio" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
As a go-anywhere / vacation pocket camcorder, the Zx3 excels for casual 720p/30fps shooting (I tried 1080p and it's not great) -- at the beach, by the pool, and anywhere that water/dust/sand might be a concern. The main caveat is that the tiny mic aperture can be obstructed by water after a dip, which muffles recorded sound greatly and introduces unwanted variability in audio quality that is difficult if not impossible to fix in post. If you don't care much about the recorded sound, it's no biggie, but if you plan to use the audio as-is instead of layering music/foley/voiceover on top, be warned: you'll be disappointed. Walt Disney once observed that least 50% of the emotional content in a scene comes from the audio. As other reviewers have also noted, battery life isn't great, so be prepared to pack a spare battery or two if you plan to do any extended shooting with a high-capacity (>4GB) SD card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waterproof?????, April 1 2012
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
The camera was great until I decided to use it in water. It lasted maybe 5 minutes. It wasn't even 1m deep. I was going to use it while snorkeling but it didn't last that long. Waterproof? I think not. Fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still ticking after 3 years, Sept. 23 2012
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
The best thing about this camera is that you don't have to worry about it. I've tested it for three years now. It is supper tuff and waterproof. I've brought it on fishing trips, to the ski hills atleast 2 douzen times, in the ocean and in my golf bag so far. I don't use a protective cover so my screen is a little scratched up after 3 years. You'll need an extra battery if you bring it on a 1 week sight seeing trip. The video recording is good and the sound is good for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Works great, until you have battery issues, March 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
As mentioned in numerous locations online, this is a great portable camera, but it does have poewr on issues when the battery gets low. Also, once the battery gets so low that the camera won't turn on, there is now no way to charge the battery. Advice for everyone... always have a spare, charged battery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought in 2011 and was very nice at that point Very nice image Probably outdone buy ..., Oct. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
Bought in 2011 and was very nice at that point
Very nice image
Probably outdone buy newer brand/model, but stil, it was a good buy for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and easy to use, July 11 2010
By 
T. S. Cavanagh "Light Saver" (Bracebridge, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodak PlaySport (Zx3) HD Waterproof Pocket Video Camera (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Camera)
Small package delivers an impressive HD video at 720p, reasonably good stills; fun and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews