Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on May 7, 2010
I just wanted to point out to readers of these reviews that the battery IS replaceable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on July 1, 2010
I recently got to use this camcorder for an extended period of time on vacation. While the film and audio quality are amazing (especially for such a little package), the battery is extremely disappointing. After 30 mins of consecutive filming, the battery was almost completely drained. That is really upsetting when you're on vacation and filming a parade, especially when the memory card I got for it holds over 8 hours of video. Other than the battery not being able to last longer than 45 mins total, it's a great camera and would be perfect for doing short films to capture those special moments.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
I have not owned this long - yes, as usual a product shipped in the US a while before Canadians were allowed to buy it - but it is a mighty impressive package so far. It is a little short of perfect, but is definitely worth the price tag.

The positives:
- Although not heavy, it has a solid feel and the rubberized surface makes for a sure grip in the wet
- It is smaller than you expect. Genuinely pocket-sized
- The software is easy to use and simple to set up. They have put some thought into the balance between simplicity and functionality
- It happily runs in HD, although is better at 720p than full HD 1080p
- Most importantly, it is a full underwater camera, with a blue filter mode to balance the colours underwater

The negatives:
- Although it takes still pictures, and in good quality, you have to navigate throught he menu to do it. Simple point and snap would have been better
- 1080p quality is not so good. But at 720p and 60fps it is great. If full HD matters to you, then you need a better and much more expensive camcorder
- Low-light quality is poor, it struggles with balance
- The battery is not removable, so no fast swapping with a spare battery
- The front of the device is white, irrespective of the model colour. I'd prefer a single colour both sides

The negatives highlight an important point - this is a pocket-sized, easy-to-use, waterproof camcorder. It isn't intended to be everything to everyone, just a highly practical cam for the active outdoors.

As a robust first camcorder it is great. For many people it will be a second camcorder which can take the shocks, and the water, of outdoor family fun.

The pricing is very well pitched - while it does have some negatives in HD and low-light, it is a great pocket camcorder for the money, and will be your first-choice device on a daily basis.

Four stars - but much nearer to five than three!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 28, 2010
In this new market of small, casual camcorders, this product has proven excellent. It is a solid camera and does a fine job of creating casual video in dark and light environemtns. As a camcorder that you would carry with you in all recreational environments, it's great. It is very easy to use, it's sturdy, and practical for the pocket or the purse.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 21, 2010
This is not a bad little camera, especially for the price. I doubt it will replace my Canon HV30 for more serious shooting but I paid about 6 times as much for the HV30 so the comparison is not really a fair one. That said, the PlaySport is far more compact and quite capable of recording decent video even in shallow water. All in all it's a good little backup unit and well worth the cost. You should probably buy a case as well to protect the lens when the camera isn't in use since no cover is provided. I grabbed a decent one at Winner's for about $10 that fits perfectly.

Strengths: Reasonable cost
Takes good sharp video given plenty of light and a steady hand
Compact (roughly the size of an iPhone)
Uses inexpensive recording media

Gripes: Still photos only on par with those my iPhone takes
1080p video has a choppy look unless the camera is held quite still or panned VERY slowly
Sound pick-up is poor unless recorded quite close to the subject

Amazon's delivery services were good and all of the items I ordered(camera, SD card, and extra battery) arrived within the estimated time frame and in good condition.

Post Script: Several months after purchasing this unit it developed a leak while I was vacationing in Hawaii. Although the shots were all ruined, Kodak replaced the camera with a refurbished one without any fuss. The replacement camera is still working perfectly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 8, 2010
it's a pretty nice and pretty cool cam, video quality was quite good, truly pocket size and light weight, can't even feel it in my pocket most of the time,however for still picture quality though, could improve a little bit more, you can see the tiny square on the pitcures though not obvious. night vision was cool, but not necessary always work, piture could get pretty dark, if you want to use it as a regular camera, I would suggest no, but for video camcorder, it is a good buy for the price, wish they could have flash light of some sort build in, that would make the piture quality much better, especially at night. but overall, for a light weight waterproof camcorder, you really can't go wrong with the price!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2011
I like this little gadget was constructed...solid and rigid in its look and feel, and 1080 rez hd is really awesome. The only thing that bugs me is the blinking red light located right in front of the camera. I know that the purpose of the little red light is to let the user know that the camera is up and running, but the constant blinking is such a distraction that people hide and eventually run away, thus spoiling the moment you'd like to film. To remedy this problem, I used a piece of black electrical tape and covered the annoying red light.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2010
I bought this as a gift for my nephew (who is only 3 year old) so I only tried it for several days. It does good what it is designed for: shooting HD videos. The video quality is great and microphone works perfectly. The lens are quite basic though so don't expect great photo quality, but cannot complain with the price I paid. Overall, quite satisfied with the product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2011
I just recived the camera and have only had a few minutes to try it out, but so far it is very easy to use.

Problem is I brought it with me on a business trip but inadvertently left the USB cable at home, plugged into the wall socket adaptor! So, I thought it would be a good idea to order a spare USB cable. After getting bounced between the US and Canadian Kodak support centres (live chat) I was finally given the Canadian item number for the USB cable. The Canadian Kodak store "shows" the item, but there is no "Add to cart" button. A quick telephone call to Kodak revealed that the item is not available for purchase from the Kodak Canada store, and the telephone agent said that the Kodak USA store will not process Canadian orders, even though all items are shipped from the US!!!!

But, it then turns out that the US store doesn't have stock anyway! So, I can't order it and have it shipped to a friend's US address after all.

So, if you do buy this camera in Canada or the US, don't lose the USB cable!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2011
Just got the camera today and shot this video around 4pm. It was sunny outside.
I have not used it under water yet, i have a vacation coming up in a week im going to the Mediterranean so i should be able to take some videos and upload later.
The camera is fairly sturdy. I wasnt expecting a whole lot for a 140$ tax included. The video quality outside though is very good for the price. Im gona be careful when i use it under water because i feel like it wont last a very long time. if im able to use it properly this coming up vacation i will be more than happy with the underwater function!

This is my 3rd camera, I also have a rebel xsi, and a canon Elph and i obviously love them both, This camera will be a great add-on! Dont purchase this as a main camera.

Rating 9/10 mostly due to the value for the $
review image review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.